Guide to the True/Lund Family Collection (1893-1989)

Overview +

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY

Collection Number

2013H.2.1

Creator

This collection was assembled by Mary Ann (Thomas) True, Trella Luene (True) Jensen, and Truella Louise (Jensen) Lund.  It was donated to the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History on May 20, 2013 by Otto and Joyce Lund.

Extent

Number of Containers: 4 Boxes
Linear Feet: 12 Linear Feet

Repository

Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Abstract

This collection consists primarily of the personal diaries of Mary Ann (Thomas) True, Trella Luene (True) Jensen, and Truella Louise (Jensen) Lund (1893-1989).  James Rawlings True and his new bride Mary Ann moved to Santa Cruz in 1878/79.  Trella Luene True was born in Santa Cruz, CA in 1889 – she lived her entire life in Santa Cruz dying in 1976.  She married Otto William Jensen in 1914, he was a carriage maker and automobile dealer.  Truelle Louise Jensen was born in Santa Cruz in 1915.  She was a police officer for Santa Cruz from 1944 to 1948, she was then a social worker.  She married Virgil Victor Lund 1945.  He was a mechanic for Lone Star Industries.  The collection reflects the personal observations and feelings of Mary Ann (Thomas) True, Trella Luene (True) Jensen, and Truella Louise (Jensen) Lund.

Location

The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA

Preferred Citation

True/Lund Family Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA

Publication Rights

All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH.  Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.

Process By

G. Gardner

Date Completed

2013

Scope +

This collection consists primarily of the personal diaries for Mary Ann (Thomas) True, Trella Luene (True) Jensen, and Truella Louise (Jensen) Lund.  These diaries span a century (1893-1989) providing insight to their family life, interests, pursuits, livelihoods, and their personal experiences, thoughts, and feelings.  This collection contains material the family felt was important to save for posterity.  The collection includes personal diaries and a family home movie from the 1930s.

History +

Mary Ann Thomas was a covered wagon baby.  She was born near Angels Camp, Calaveras County on October 16, 1856.  The wagon team had started from Arkansas heading to California in the middle of April 1856 with Captain Mat Sewell.  The wagon crossed the boundary of California at sundown and Mary Thomas was born the next morning

James Rawlings True and Mary Ann Thomas were married circa 1876 in Yuba City, CA.  James and his brother Isaac hauled freight first in Nevada then out of Sacramento, CA.  In 1869 James left Sacramento and settled in Sutter County where he was involved in agriculture.  After marrying Mary Ann they moved to Santa Rosa and then finally settled in Santa Cruz.  Per their great grandson Otto they purchased the 303 Ocean View Avenue property from Martha Pilkington Wilson.  The 1880 and 1900 census reports showed his occupation as a farmer but there is no information on where he farmed in Santa Cruz County.  In 1899 they purchased a 2,700 acre ranch in Lompoc, Santa Barbara County, CA.

Trella Luene True was born in 1889 in the house on Ocean View in Santa Cruz.  She married Otto William Jensen 17 June 1914 in Santa Cruz.  Trella worked as a milliner, hat maker, for Lulu Carpenter.  She was also a book keeper.  Otto was a carriage maker and an automobile dealer.  Trella died 15 March 1976 while there is no confirming information it is possible she died in the Ocean View home.

Truella Louisie Jensen was born 20 March 1915 in Santa Cruz, CA most likely in the house on Ocean View.  She married Virgil Victor Lund 14 October 1945 in Santa Cruz.  Truella was the first female police officer for the city of Santa Cruz from 1944 to 1948.  Per her son Otto she joined the police force when the opportunity arose during World War II.  After leaving the police force she then became a social worker.  Virgil was a mechanic for Lone Star Industires.  Truella died 25 October 2008 in Santa Cruz.  She died in the same house she was born, 303 Ocean View Avenue.

Genealogy +

Carl Wilhelm Jensen (May 1842 – 19 Mar 1909) married Louise Schroder (7 Sep 1845 – 25 Jan 1934) circa 1881 in San Francisco, CA

 Otto William Jensen (17 Dec 1883 – 16 Feb 1946) married Trella Luene True 17 June 1914 in Santa Cruz, CA

Truella Louise Lund (20 Mar 1915 – 25 Oct 2008) married Virgil Victor Lund (16 Jan 1919 – 17 Jun 1977) 14 Oct 1945 in Santa Cruz, CA

Otto Lund (21 Sep 1951 – ) married Joyce L. Trachtenbarg in 1979
Truene Lund (23 Apr 1949 – )

 Fred Carl Jensen (21 Nov 1885 – 12 Mar 1974) married Edna M. Riedman 2 Jun 1920 in Santa Cruz, CA

James Rawlings True (26 Nov 1843 – 19 Nov 1921) married Mary Ann Thomas (16 Oct 1856 – 31 Mar 1945) circa 1876 in Sutter, CA

(Bertha) Edna True (9 Jul 1884 – 11 Jul 1926) married Allen C. Rennie 6 Jul 1904 in Santa Cruz, CA
Alverda Everlina True (26 Jul 1887 – 9 Nov 1982) married Rollin Varis Wyman 6 Aug 1913 in San Jose, CA
Trella Luene True (18 Nov 1889 – 15 Mar 1976) married Otto William Jensen 17 Jun 1914 in Santa Cruz, CA

Truella Louise Lund (20 Mar 1915 – 25 Oct 2008) married Virgil Victor Lund (16 Jan 1919 – 17 Jun 1977) 14 Oct 1945 in Santa Cruz, CA

Otto Lund (21 Sep 1951 – ) married Joyce L. Trachtenbarg in 1979
Truene Lund (23 Apr 1949 – )

Arrangement +

Series I:  Diaries of Mary Ann (Thomas) True (1893 – 1939)

True Diary 1893 Jan June     True Diary 1893 July Dec
True Diary 1894 Jan – May     True Diary 1894 Jun – Dec
True Diary 1895
True Diary 1896
True Diary 1897
True Diary 1898
True Diary 1899
True Diary 1900
True Diary 1901
True Diary 1902
True diary 1903
True Diary 1905
True Diary 1907
True Diary 1910
True Diary 1914

 

Series II:  Diaries of Trella Luene (True) Jensen (1941 – 1979)

Series III:  Diaries of Truella Louise (Jensen) Lund (1980 – 1989)

Series IV:  Home Movie by Otto Jensen from the 1930s

Contents +

SERIES I.  DIARIES OF MARY ANN (THOMAS) TRUE (1893 -1939)

Two (2) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the personal diaries of, Mary Ann (Thomas) True, who settled in Santa Cruz, CA in 1878 with her husband James Rawlings True (also known as, Pop).  In 1893, while her children were young, she began writing of her daily experiences in a series of journals that will eventually span forty-six years.  Her writings provide a view into the life of Santa Cruz County from a domestic, yet liberal Victorian viewpoint.  Mary is a woman of her times, influenced by both the Victorian and Edwardian eras.  A time of great change- electricity, automobiles, telephones, moving pictures, gas stoves, and indoor plumbing all come of age as she writes. Modern medicine is in its infancy, she still applies poultices and nostrums concocted by local pharmacists.  Her daily entries consistently tell of the weather, and domestic work such as- sewing, preparing meals and housework.  She describes  many of her interactions with a large eclectic group of friends and acquaintances, from politicians to plowmen. Yet, she is a much more complex woman than she would lead us to believe.  Mary is an avid reader of national magazines and romantic novels. Although she is unable to vote in the early years, she is influenced by Socialist politicians. She attends meetings of the Unity Spiritualist Society.  A non-denominational organization inspired by many religions across the globe. She visits Palmists with friends.  And attends dances, vaudeville shows and moving pictures with Pop and her children.  She closes most of her busy days with the reassuring phrase, “All Well.”

This series is divided into forty-seven (47) folders:

Box 1, Folder 1: Diary, Black (1893).  This is the first diary kept by Mary True. She was born Mary Ann Thomas, supposedly a California native, but actually born crossing the plains on October 16, 1865. She married James Rawlings True on September 20, 1876, at her parents residence near Yuba City, Sutter County, California. James True, born November 26. 1843, in Ohio, was at that time also a resident of Sutter County.  In 1893 they lived at 120 (now 303) Ocean View Avenue in Santa Cruz with their three daughters: Bertha Edna True, born July 9, 1884, known as Edna; Alverda Everlina True, born July 26, 1887, known as Alverda; and Trella Luene True, born November 18, 1889, known as Luene.  Another member of the household was Rosa (later called Rose), a live-in helper to Mrs. True, a hired “girl”. There would be other girls in subsequent years who, like Rose, were treated as members of the family.  True Diary 1893 Jan June & True Diary 1893 July Dec.

Box 1, Folder 2: Diary, Black, “Mrs. M.A. True” (1894).  Mrs. True seems to be a well accomplished cook.  One day she is cooking eight abalone.  Another day she is frying doughnuts, in her words “not sweet enough.”  True Diary 1894

Box 1, Folder 3: Diary, Tan (1895). Per Kiera Stasny “It’s interesting to see how some slang words withstand time and how there are phrases and words in the diary entries that I use myself, like ‘Hoofing it’ for having to walk somewhere and “Feeling pretty lame” when describing a not-so-healthy disposition.” True Diary 1895

Box 1, Folder 4: Diary, Tan, “Mrs. J.R. True” (1896).  In August of 1896, The True’s were awaiting the arrival of their cousins Marie and Bessie on the steamer ship St. Paul coming up from Los Angeles. The ship did not arrive as scheduled and Mr and Mrs True spent the next two days anxiously at the wharf when finally they received word that the ship had wrecked and sank. They left the wharf and went down to the train station and “Lo & behold Marie & Bessie Cox were on Board all safe & well”!  True Diary 1896 Jan-June and Jul-Dec.

Box 1, Folder 5: Diary, Black, “Mrs. True” (1897). The entries in Mrs. True’s diaries I found the most captivating were of her travels in the greater San Francisco Bay Area. She went on a “Piano tour” (looking to purchase a piano) in the city for a weekend in March 1897 where she described her days spent there. She made mention of a pharmacy she was trying to find, and after searching on Google to confirm spelling, I stumbled across a listing for an old medicine container from Dugan’s Pharmacy on eBay, the very same pharmacy Mrs True wrote about, from around the same time that Mrs. True herself was in Dugan’s Pharmacy in San Francisco! True Diary 1897

Box 1, Folder 6: Mary True and her family were friends to many of the movers and shakers of Santa Cruz County.  For this year she made note of four (4) fires in town and the month of August must have been a hot, dry month – there were many fires in the mountains.  True diary 1898

Box 1, Folder 7: Diary, Tan, “Mrs. M.A. True” (1899).  The family spends a month in the summer at Olive Springs, a resort in the Soquel hills. A typical day:  Friday, June 23, 1899 At Olive We did not get up very early for it was so foggy it seemed early we all hurried around and got the Breakfast over then the Dyer Girls and our family went up the hill and got a few Black berries enough for a Pudding had a late dinner I went over and sit a while with Miss Austin & Effie . . . . We all went down to the Parkers Bon fire we had Singing and refreshments of Cake & Lemonade got home late. All well.  True Diary 1899

Box 1, Folder 8: Diary, Tan (The Pacific Coast Diary), “Mrs. J.R. True” (1900): The mystery of C.R.C. has been solved.  After researching numerous religious and other groups and organizations we finally saw what was staring us in the face the whole time.  C.R.C. was a monthly visit for the women.  Women of that time used various code words or phrases.  We think this may be “Crimson Red Curse”.  True Diary 1900

Box 1, Folder 9: Diary, Tan (The Pacific Coast Diary) (1901): 1901 was a year in which Mary’s misery was profound. She often complained of fatigue, and the amount of work she put in every day would make anyone tired. But this year, she also mentions heartache. Some examples from her diary:  Friday, July 19, 1901: . . . I feel Miserable But Manage to Keep up just the same I wonder every day How much longer I will be able to endure it… Saturday, August 3, 1901: . . . I tell you I am so tired I don’t care if I live or die… Thursday, October 17, 1901: . . . Oh I never put in such a night as last night was. I felt so Miserable I did not even know Yesterday was my Birthday . . . Oh is it better to suffer and live or die and end it All.  Friday, October 25, 1901: . . . Am almost beside Myself it is just one continual rangle all the time Where and when will it all end. . . . I feel Miserable tonight again… Saturday, December 28, 1901: . . . My burnt wrist hurt me but I don’t care it is heart aches that Kill Me and I am fated for those stabs the last few years but time and death heals all wounds so will it heal Mine.  True Diary 1901

Box 1, Folder 10: Diary, Red, (Excelsior Diary) (1902): Mary Trus is frequently amused by the high jinks of her three daughters.  An entry on October 19 displays her benevolent attitude towards children..  “Pop took us all for a ride down to Aptos he got angry with the ones on the back seat and let his temper flie got the best of him completely.  Oh fie on such people No good.  A little nonsense in injoyed [sic] by the Best of Men.  be a child as long as you can.”  True Diary 1902

Box 1, Folder 11: Diary, Black (Pacific Coast Diary), “Mrs. J.R. True” (1903):  Some highlights from this year include “Jan 23. CRC called on Luene for the first time some time today. Feb 20. …made a big Plum pudding & 2 layers cakes one for the chicken dinner tomorrow given by the W.C.T.U(Women’s Christian Temperance Union)… Apr 1. …Well at last the storm has at last subsided a little just a few little showers today with some sunshine. So perhaps we are to have a little clear weather… May 11. …Pop drove Alverda to School then he and Edna and myself went to the Depot to see the President (Roosevelt) come in he Arrived a little after ten Edna got 3 snaps of him but I fear none will be very good… True diary 1903

 Box 1, Folder 12: Diary, Black, (PC Diary) (1904)

Box 1, Folder 13: Diary, Tan (PC Diary) (1905):  Some of the highlights from this year include “Jan. 3. A neighbor, Morgan R. Everts has his house broken into and ransacked while he is away.  Jan. 8. Trues go to the beach to watch the baloon ascension.  Jan. 17. East Santa Cruz, a portion of Branciforte Township is annexed in the greater Santa Cruz city limits.  Feb. 3. Judge Lucas F. Sr., Smith, Judge of the Superior Court of Santa Cruz Co., who lives across the street, is being impeached. Mary mentions this in her diary because Dell Smith the Judges wife came in to complain about the charges.  June 23. Santa Cruz hosts, The National Editorial Association. The Girls and James True are among hundreds of volunteers who help with transportation and serving over 360 guests.  July 7. Mary mentions the Forest Fires On Love Creek.  Aug. 11. Dr. John Sundberg attempted to have his wife committed to the Agnew State Hospital. The issue drew a large crowd to the courthouse.  Oct. 10. Big fires around Watsonville and Corralitos.  Dec. 4. Charles Steinmetz, a trustee of Santa Cruz School District and an old citizen of Santa Cruz passes away.”  True Diary 1905

Box 1, Folder 14: Diary, Red, (Excelsior Diary) (1906):

Box 1, Folder 15: Diary, Red, (Excelsior Diary) (1907):  Some of the highlights from this year include “The year 1907 brought the family some modern devices. In June they bought an electric iron for $4.50; in August, they had a telephone installed. Mary’s married daughter Edna, had both a phone and an electric iron before her mother did. The year also brought new entertainment. The Plunge opened at the Boardwalk and the Swain Theatre began showing plays.”  True Diary 1907

Box 1, Folder 16: Diary, Red (Excelsior Diary) (1908)
Box 1, Folder 17: Diary, Red, (Excelsior Diary) “Mrs. M.A. True” (1909)

Box 1, Folder 18: Diary, Red, (Excelsior Diary) “Mrs. M.A. True” (1910): Jan. 26. Mary mentions that she had, “Seen the much talked of Comet.” Although it was presumed to be Halley’s Comet in some parts of the country. What Mary saw was, Comet A of 1910, a newly discovered comet.  Feb. 2. The True’s were great fans of Vaudeville in earlier years attending the Unique Theatre on Pacific Avenue about once a week, as motion pictures come of age in 1910 the True’s begin to attend the Moving Picture Shows at the Grand and Jewel Theatres.  May 12. Mary and Pop up at 3:30am to view Halley’s Comet for the first time.  May 23. Although automobiles are becoming more numerous on county roads, Pop remains a horseman. After buying a new horse he proudly takes the surrey out on excursions around the county with the entire family.  October 6. Mary discovers a gas leak in the basement by using a match to find it.  True Diary 1910

Box 1, Folder 19: Diary, Red, (Excelsior Diary) “Mrs. M.A. True”- lock of hair inside with ribbon (1911)
Box 1, Folder 20: Diary, Red, (Standard Diary) (1912)
Box 1, Folder 21: Diary, Tan, (Standard) (1913)
Box 1, Folder 22: Diary, Red, (Standard) (1914)
Box 1, Folder 23: Diary, Black, (Standard) “Mrs. M.A. True” (1915)
Box 1, Folder 24: Diary, Tan (Standard) (1916)
Box 1, Folder 25: Diary, Tan (Standard) “Mrs. M.A. True” (1917)
Box 1, Folder 26: Diary, Tan, (Standard) “Mrs. M.A. True” (1918)
Box 1, Folder 27: Diary, Red, (Excelsior Diary)”Mrs. M.A. True” (1919)
Box 1, Folder 28: Diary, Tan, (Standard), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1920)
Box 1, Folder 29: Diary, Tan, (Standard)”Mrs. M.A. True” (1921)
Box 1, Folder 30: Diary, Dark Blue, (Standard) “Mrs. M.A. True” (1922)
Box 1, Folder 31: Diary, Dark Blue, (Standard), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1923)
Box 1, Folder 32: Diary, Dark Blue, (Standard), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1924)
Box 1, Folder 33: Diary, Black, (Excelsior), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1925)
Box 1, Folder 34: Diary, Tan, (Standard), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1926)
Box 1, Folder 35: Diary, Black, (Standard), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1927)
Box 1, Folder 36: Diary, Black, (Standard), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1928)
Box 1, Folder 37: Diary, Dark Red (Excelsior), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1929)
Box 2, Folder 38: Diary, Dark Red, (Daily Reminder) “Mrs. M.A. True” (1930)
Box 2, Folder 39: Diary, Black, (Date Book), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1931)
Box 2, Folder 40: Diary, Dark Red (Daily Reminder), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1932)
Box 2, Folder 41: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1933)
Box 2, Folder 42: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1934)
Box 2, Folder 43: Diary, Red, (Daily Reminder), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1935)
Box 2, Folder 44: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1936)
Box 2, Folder 45: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder), “Mrs. M.A. True” (1937)
Box 2, Folder 46: Diary, Black (Standard), “Mrs. M. A. True” (1938)
Box 2, Folder 47: Diary, Red, (Daily Reminder), “To Mamma, From Otto” (1939)

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1-2

SERIES II.  DIARIES OF TRELLA LUENE (TRUE) JENSEN (1941 – 1979)

Three (3) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the personal diaries for Trella Luene (True) Jensen.  She was born in Santa Cruz, CA.  She married Otto William Jensen in 1914. Otto was born near Soquel, in Santa Cruz, CA.  He was a carriage maker and automobile dealer.  She made hats for Lulu Carpenter and was also a book keeper.   She picked up the family tradition of diary writing in 1941 after her mother stopped in 1939.  She wrote about her daily experiences, thoughts, and feelings.  She was born and died in the same house at 303 Ocean View Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA.

This series is divided into thirty-five (35) folders:

Box 2, Folder 48: Diary, Small Red, (Daily Reminder) “Mrs. Otto Jensen” (1941)
Box 2, Folder 49: Diary, Black, (Desk Calendar… and Diary) “Mrs. Luene Jensen” (1942)
Box 2, Folder 50: Diary, Small Green, (Diary), “Mrs. Otto Jensen” (1943)
Box 2, Folder 51: Diary, Small Blue, (Diary), “Mrs. Ottto W. Jensen” (1944)
Box 2, Folder 52: Diary, Small Blue, (Diary), “Mrs. Otto W. Jensen” (1945)
Box 2, Folder 53: Diary, Black, (Diary), “Mrs. Trella True Jensen” (1946)
Box 2, Folder 54: Diary, Blue, (Daily Aide), “Mrs. Otto Jenson [Mrs. Luene Jensen]” (1947)
Box 2, Folder 55: Diary, Black (Yearbook), “Mrs. Otto Jensen or Mrs. Trella Luene Jensen” with Santa Cruz Lumber Co. balance sheet (1948)
Box 2, Folder 56: Diary, Blue, (Daily Aide), “Mrs. Otto Jensen or Trella Luene Jensen” (1949)
Box 2, Folder 57: Diary, Red, (Daily Aide) “Trella Luene Jensen” (1950)
Box 2, Folder 58: Diary, Red, (Daily Aide) (1952)
Box 2, Folder 59: Diary, Green (Yearbook) “Mrs. Otto Jensen/ Trella Luene True Jensen” (1953)
Box 2, Folder 60: Diary, Green (Yearbook) “Mrs. Otto Jensen/ Trella Luene Jensen” (1954)
Box 2, Folder 61: Diary, Red (Yearbook) “Trella Luene True Jensen (Mrs. Otto W. Jensen)” (1955)
Box 3, Folder 62: Diary, Red (Yearbook) “Trella Luene True Jensen” (1956)
Box 3, Folder 63: Diary, Green (Yearbook) “Trella Luene True Jensen” (1957)
Box 3, Folder 64: Diary, Brown (Yearbook) “ Trella Luene True Jensen” (1958)
Box 3, Folder 65: Diary, White (Daily Aide- Silent Secretary) “Trella Luene True Jensen” (1959)
Box 3, Folder 66: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Trella Luene True Jensen” (1960)
Box 3, Folder 67: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Trella Luene True Jensen” (1961)
Box 3, Folder 68: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Trella Luene True Jensen” (1962)
Box 3, Folder 69: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “ Trella Luene Jensen” (1963)
Box 3, Folder 70: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “ Trella Luene Jensen”  (1964)
Box 3, Folder 71: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Trella Luene True Jensen” (1965)
Box 3, Folder 72: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Trella Luene True Jensen” (1966)
Box 3, Folder 73: Diary, Blue (Diary) “Trella Luene Jensen” (1967)
Box 3, Folder 74: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Trella Luene Jensen” (1968)
Box 3, Folder 75: Diary, Blue (Diary) “Trella Luene Jensen” (1969)
Box 4, Folder 76: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) (1970)
Box 4, Folder 77: Diary, Blue (Diary) “Trella Luene True Jensen” (1971)
Box 4, Folder 78: Diary, Red, (Daily Reminder) “Trella Jensen- two ads for tv repair stuck in pages” (1972)
Box 4, Folder 79: Diary, Red, (Daily Reminder) “Trella Jensen- ads for Harbor High booster club fundraiser” (1973)
Box 4, Folder 80: Diary, Red, (Daily Reminder) “Trella Jensen” (1974)
Box 4, Folder 81: Diary, Red, (Daily reminder) “Trella Luene True Jensen” (1975)
Box 4, Folder 82: Diary, Red, (Daily Reminder) “Trella Luene Ture Jensen” (1976)

Box ID#: Folder ID#
2-4

SERIES III.  DIARIES OF TRUELLA LOUISE (JENSEN) LUND (1980 – 1989)

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the personal diaries for Truella Louise (Jensen) Lund.  She was born in Santa Cruz, CA.  She married Virgil Victor Lund, who was born near in Rainey, North Dakota, in Santa Cruz, CA in 1945.  He was a mechanic for Lone Star Industries.  She was the first female police office for the City of Santa Cruz, from 1944 to 1948.  Per her son she joined the police force when the opportunity arose during World War II.  After leaving the police force she then became a social worker for Santa Cruz.  She picked up the family tradition of diary writing in 1978 after her mother died in 1976.  She wrote about her daily experiences, thoughts, and feelings.

This series is divided into twenty-nine (29) folders:

Diary, Brown “A Line A Day Five Year Diary” (1935-1939)
Diary, Dark Brown “Five Year Horoscope Diary” (1940)
Travel Diary, Red “Tripbook” (1975-1977)
Travel Diary, Dark Brown “Travels Abroad” (1970-1976)
Diary, Red “Daily Reminder 1977” (1977)
Box 4, Folder 83: Diary, Red, (Daily Reminder) “Trella Jensen” (1978)
Travel Diary, Red “Travel Diary” (1978-1990)
Box 4, Folder 84: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Trella Jensen” (1979)
Box 4, Folder 85: Diary, Red, (Daily) “Trella Lund” (1980)
Box 4, Folder 86: Diary, Red (Daily reminder) “Truella Lund” (1981)
Box 4, Folder 87: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Truella Lund” (1982)
Box 4, Folder 88: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Truella Lund” (1983)
Travel Diary, Light Brown “Bon Voyage” (1983-1984)
Box 4, Folder 89: Diary, Red, (Daily Reminder) “Truella Lund” (1984)
Box 4, Folder 90: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Truella Lund” (1985)
Travel Diary, Reddish Brown “Travel Diary” (1985-1987)
Box 4, Folder 91: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Truella Lund” (1986)
Box 4, Folder 92: Diary, Red (Daily Reminder) “Truella Lund – some papers inside, one for Gold card and other a memo” (1987)
Box 4, Folder 93: Diary, Red, (Daily Reminder) “Truella Lund, Truene Lund-daughter and Otto Lund-son” (1988)
Box 4, Folder 94: “Dell Williams” Address Book
Box 4, Folder 95: Diary, Red and Black (Travel Diary) “Truella lund” (1989)
Box 4, Folder 96: Memo Book
Travel Diary, Red “Daily Reminder, 1989” (1989)
Travel Diary, Red “Daily reminder, 1990” (1990)
Travel Diary, Dark Brown “Travel Diary” (1990-1991)
Travel Diary, Red “Daily Reminder 1991” (1991)
Travel Diary, Red “Daily Reminder, 1992” (1992)
Travel Diary, “Bon Voyage” (1993)
Travel Diary, Dark Blue (1994)

Box ID#: Folder ID#
4

SERIES IV.  HOME MOVIES, 1930s

One (1) DVD

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a DVD of home movies taken by Otto William Jensen in the 1930s.  The movie is 3 minutes 30 seconds long and includes shots of family, trains and lumber, and a visit to San Francisco.  There are several copies of this movie one in the museum network drive and the original reel and DVD in the archives.  (One DVD).

Box ID#: Folder ID#