Guide to the Rose Rostron Collection (1879-1970)

The Rostron Family Collection consists of a variety of materials relating to family life, interests, pursuits, and livelihoods from the end of the 19th Century to 1974. The collection also contains materials from the Aichberg (Eichberg) family as they were Rose’s foster parents. The bulk of the materials was generated from the 1880s to the 1930s, and includes photographs, correspondence, personal journals, family records, bibles, and genealogical information. Materials primarily reflect Rose Rostron’s education, organization affiliation, finances and church.

Christian Aichberg (Eichberg), a native of Switzerland, and his wife Anna set up business and residence in Santa Cruz, CA in 1880. They established the Philadelphia Gallery on the top floor of the old Ely block on Pacific Avenue. They lived on the second floor of the same building. While Christian did the photography it was his wife Anna who did most of the photo printing and developing. He was one of only four photographers in Santa Cruz during the 1880s. He took most of the prizes for photography at the county fairs. Their foster daughter, Rose, did most of the interpreting for the family. In an interview with the Santa Cruz Sentinel Rose recalled being called ‘the little interpreter.’

Richard Rostron established his home and homesteaded in Santa Cruz County in 1866. He subsequently moved to Salt Lake City where he was a leading member of the Church of Latter Day Saints (Mormons). His son, George Henry, stayed in Santa Cruz where he bought a farm in 1884, growing grapes and apples. He met and married his wife Rose Aichberg in 1899. In 1914 George was appointed by the governor to fill a vacancy on the Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors. He retained this position until his death in 1930. During his time as county supervisor he was a strong advocate for bettering roads and bridges and improving the character of the highways. For his services he was appointed by Governor Richardson to represent the state of California at the Good Roads Movement National Convention held at Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Rose (Aichberg, Eichberg) Rostron in 1930 was appointed by Governor Clement C. Young to her husband’s county supervisor position. She was the first female county supervisor for Santa Cruz County and only the second woman supervisor for the entire state of California. She won her first election in 1932 and was reelected three more times before she retired in 1948. She was also a strong advocate for road and bridge improvement. Most notably she was at the forefront for replacing the substandard Glen Canyon covered bridge, but also in the name of preservation she had the bridge moved to DeLaveaga Park. During her time of service to the county she could frequently be seen clearing drainage ditches if need be. In her words “I always have believed a public official is a public servant and responsible to the people who elect him or her.”

Vivian Rostron was Rose’s and George’s younger daughter. At a young age she was a resident at Agnew State Hospital. As a result of her experience she was a strong advocate for mental health issues. She not only stayed abreast of the latest news in mental health. But she also wrote state senators and assemblymen advocating for the budgets of state mental health facilities. In addition, she was a strong advocate for her mother’s legacy – writing letters to the newspaper for recognizing her mother or a Mrs. Koch for recognizing another women, not her mother, as the first female county supervisor.

Showing genealogical connections between the Aichberg and Rostron families.

Rostron Family: Richard Rostron (1827-1896) marries Ellen ? (1826-1864) in 1846

Children

Joseph Rostron (1847-1885)
William Rostron (1849-1917)
Ephraim Pratt Rostron (1852-1853)
Alice Ann Rostron (1854-1926)
George Henry Rostron (1856-1930) marries Rose Aichberg (Eichberg) in 1899 (1874-1970)

Children

Marcella Rostron (?)
Vivian Rostron (1913-2001)

Clara Ellen Rostron (1858-?)
Albert Edward Rostron (1860-1936)
Arthur Rostron (1862-1862)
Julia Rostron (1863-1937)

Aichberg (Eichberg) Family: Christian Aichberg marries Anna Kirchhof

Children

Rose Ochsenbein (foster daughter)(1874-1970) marries George Henry Rostron 1899 (1856-1930)

Children

Marcella Rostron (?)
Vivian Rostron (1913-2001)

The collection is organized into two (2) series as follows:

SERIES I. PHOTOGRAPHS,

SUBSERIES I.A. BRAUN FAMILY PICTURE
SUBSERIES I.B. AICHBERG ART PHOTOGRAPHS, SALT LAKE CITY, 1879
SUBSERIES I.C. VIVIAN ROSTRON FAMILY PHOTOS, ca 1930s
SUBSERIES I.D. VIVIAN ROSTRON PHOTO CARDS, 1915
SUBSERIES I.E. PHOTOGRAVURE, GEORGE HENRY ROSTRON
SUBSERIES I.F. PHOTOGRAVURE, GEORGE HENRY ROSTRON
SUBSERIES I.G. ROSE AND GEORGE ROSTRON, 1900
SUBSERIES I.H. VIVIAN ROSTRON
SUBSERIES I.I. HOUSE ON BERKELEY
SUBSERIES I.J. UNIDENTIFIED COUPLE
SUBSERIES I.K. APTOS (?)
SUBSERIES I.L. VIVIAN ROSTRON’S YOSEMITE PHOTOS
SUBSERIES I.M. FAMILY PHOTO NEGATIVES
SUBSERIES I.N. GEORGE ROSTRON
SUBSERIES I.O. VIVIAN ROSTRON GRAMMAR SCHOOL GRADUATION
SUBSERIES I.P. ROSTRON FAMILY PHOTOS
SUBSERIES I.Q. PHOTO COLLECTION FROM POLITICAL LEADERS OR ORGANIZATIONS

SERIES II. FAMILY RECORDS (1882-1973)

SUBSERIES II.A. ROSE AICHBERG FAMILY BIBLE, 1882
SUBSERIES II.B. VIVIAN ROSTRON’S COLLEGE JOURNAL, 1931
SUBSERIES II.C. GENEALOGIES

SERIES III. GLASS PLATE NEGATIVES

SERIES IV. PANORAMIC PHOTOGRAPHS

SERIES I.  PHOTOGRAPHS, 1879-1973

Seventeen Folders

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the photographs of the Aichberg (Eichberg) and Rostron families. It includes portraits of family members plus individual and group photos of family friends and colleagues. The photos were taken primarily in Santa Cruz though some were taken in Salt Lake City and Yosemite. (78 photos and 31 negatives)
This series is divided into seventeen (17) subseries:

Subseries I.A. Braun Family Picture
Subseries I.B. Aichberg Art Photographs, Philadelphia Gallery, 1879
Subseries I.C. Vivian Rostron family photographs, ca 1930s
Subseries I.D. Vivian Rostron photo cards, 1915
Subseries I.E. Photogravure of George Henry Rostron
Subseries I.F. Photogravure of George Henry Rostron
Subseries I.G. Rose and George Rostron, 1900
Subseries I.H. Vivian Rostron
Subseries I.I. House on Berkeley
Subseries I.J. Unidentified couple
Subseries I.K. Aptos(?)
Subseries I.L. Vivian Rostron’s Yosemite photos
Subseries I.M. Family photo negatives
Subseries I.N. George Rostron
Subseries I.O. Vivian Rostron grammar school graduation
Subseries I.P. Rostron family photos
Subseries I.Q. Photo collection from political leaders or organizations

SUBSERIES I.A.  Braun family picture

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains a photo of the Braun family. Not sure of their connection to the Rostron’s. (One Photo).  From a Santa Cruz Newspaper Social Notice Rose was accompanied by an Addie Braun on her trip to Europe in which she was kidnapped by her biological mother.

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:1 Braun family picture

SUBSERIES I.B.  Aichberg Art Photographs, Philadelphia Gallery, 1879

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of two (2) photographs, one clearly identified as an Aichberg Art Photograph. Both photos were taken in Salt Lake City in 1879. The larger photo of the Salt Lake Opera House(?) has Rose and a servant girl as the subject. (2 photos).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:2 Aichberg Art Photographs, Philadelphia Gallery, 1879.

SUBSERIES I.C.  Vivian Rostron family photos, ca 1930s

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of Rostron family photos from the 1930s. Of particular note is a gem sized tintype of Marcella, Vivian and another girl. (14 photos).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:3 Vivian Rostron family photos, ca 1930s

SUBSERIES I.D.  Vivian Rostron photo cards, 1915

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of photo cards of Vivian Rostron as a baby and 2 years(?) old. (4 photos).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:4 Vivian Rostron photo cards, 1915

SUBSERIES I.E.  Photogravure, George Henry Rostron

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of a photogravure of George Henry Rostron. (One copper plate).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:5 Photogravure, George Henry Rostron

SUBSERIES I.F.  Photogravure, George Henry Rostron

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of a photogravure of George Henry Rostron. (One copper plate mounted on a printing block).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:6 Photogravure, George Henry Rostron

SUBSERIES I.G.  Rose and George Rostron, 1900

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of portraits of Rose and George Rostron. (3 photos)

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:7 Rose and George Rostron, 1900

SUBSERIES I.H.  Vivian Rostron

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of portraits of Vivian Rostron, grammar school and high school(?). (3 photos).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:8 Vivian Rostron

SUBSERIES I.I.  House on Berkeley

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of photographs of the house on 242 Berkeley Way, originals and one reproduction. Of note, one of the photos is of the house as it is nearing completion. (4 photos).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:9 House on Berkeley

SUBSERIES I.J.  Unidentified couple

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of a portrait of an unidentified couple. (One photo).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:10 Unidentified couple

SUBSERIES I.K.  Aptos(?)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of photographs possibly of a farm in Aptos. One of the photos is a reproduction from a book or magazine. (5 photos).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:11 Aptos(?)

SUBSERIES I.L.  Vivian Rostron’s Yosemite Photos

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of photographs by Vivian Rostron of Yosemite. There are some good scenic photos of Half Dome and some of the falls. Of particular note is one blown up photo that appears to be Rose in fron of a rock tunnel. (16 photos).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:12 Vivian Rostron’s Yosemite Photos

SUBSERIES I.M.  Family Photo Negatives

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of what appear to be family photo negatives. Some of them appear to be of family members but others are scenic. (31 negatives).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:13 Family Photo Negatives

SUBSERIES I.N.  George Rostron

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of a card mounted photograph of George Rostron. (One photo).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:14 George Rostron

SUBSERIES I.O.  Vivian Rostron Grammar School Graduation

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of Vivian Rostron’s grammar school graduation portraits. (2 photos).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:15 Vivian Rostron Grammar School Graduation

SUBSERIES I.P.  Rostron Family Photos

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of Rostron family photographs. One of the photos is a portrait of Marcella and Vivian from 1916. Of particular note is a photo of Rose sitting on a coach with photos and photo albums that was used in a Santa Cruz Sentinel Newspaper article. (5 photos).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:16 Rostron Family Photos

SUBSERIES I.Q.  Photo Collection From Political Leaders or Organizations

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of photographs from political leaders or organizations. Includes a photograph of Franklin Delano Roosevelt, several autographed photos of George and Barbara Bush, and several autographed photographs of Bill and Hilary Clinton. (15 photos).

Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:17 Photo Collection from Political Leaders or Organizations

SERIES II.  FAMILY RECORDS, 1882-1973

Two (2) Folders

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains copies and originals of family documents, including genealogical information. Includes a family bible.
This series is divided into three (3) subseries:

Subseries II.A. Rose Aichberg Family Bible, 1882
Subseries II.B. Vivian Rostron’s College Journal, 1931
Subseries II.C. Genealogies

SUBSERIES II.A.  Rose Aichberg Family Bible, 1882

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains a family bible for Rose Aichberg. Appears to have been givern to her by a ‘Rufus Offmuler’ [sic].

Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:1 Rose Aichberg Family Bible, 1882

SUBSERIES II.B.  Vivian Rostron’s College Journal, 1931

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains a college journal for Vivian Rostron. Also contains typed and handwritten notes and poetry of Vivian’s. She was apparently studying to be a journalist.

Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:2 Vivian Rostron’s College Journal, 1931

SUBSERIES II.C.  Genealogies

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains genealogies for the Rostron family. Contains a couple of letters from George Henry Rostron’s father, Richard, primarily discussing his life with the Church of Latter Day Saints (Mormons). There also typed and handwritten notes on the genealology of the Rostron’s. There is also a color copy and histiorography of the Aichberg Coat of Arms.

Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:3 Genealogies

SERIES III.  GLASS PLATE NEGATIVES

Three (3) Boxes in Glass Plate Storage Shelf

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains glass plate negatives most likely from Christian Aichberg’s (Eichberg) photography studio.  In this collection are three vest pocket negatives, information provided by the George Eastman House is attached, Vest Camera Information.  (3 x Vest Pocket Glass Plate Negatives, 38 x Glass Plate Negatives)

SERIES IV.  PANORAMIC PHOTOGRAPHS

Drawer 12 of Map Case

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains panoramic photos of the Annual California County’s Board of Supervisors Meetings. Most of these appear to have been collected by Rose Rostron though some may have been collected by George Rostron. (21 x Panoramic Photographs)

SERIES V.  MARCELLA ROSTRON, SECRETARIAL SCHOOL

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains information from when Marcella attended Secretarial/Business School.  This series includes a typewriting book signed by Marcella on the inside cover.  Also includes the typewriter manual for an ‘Underwood Typewriter’ plus some practice sheets.

Box ID#: Folder ID#
6