DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Collection Number
TR.16.92
Creator
This collection was created by unknown person or persons of the Aptos Beach Club.
Extent:
Numberof Containers: One (1) Box
Linear Feet: One (1) Foot
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
This collection contains a record book, a ledger book, and a few loose accounting papers. These items are from the Seascape Aptos Beach Club, from the years 1977-1981.
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Preferred Citation
The Seascape Aptos Beach Club Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
ProcessBy
Shannon E. Barry
Date Completed
2015
The Seascape region of Aptos has a long history of tourism and use of the beach as a leisure area. In 1928 a dam was on Aptos Creek to create the world’s largest fresh water swimming pool, a bathing pavilion was also built. In 1931 Seacliff was established as a California State Beach, one of the first. By 1937 a beach club was built. Hotels started to be built in the area, and the Bayview Hotel was moved to its current location in 1946. In 1955 the State of California added Rio Del Mar Beach to the Seacliff State Beach. By 1963 the Aptos Seascape Corporation of San Diego bought King Ranch and planned to build a golf course. Seascape now has a resort, golf club, and sport club, it is a popular place for vacationers.
SERIES I. LEDGER BOOK (1970s – 1980s)
One (1) Book
Series Content and Scope
This series contains a thin black book. ‘Ledger’ is embossed in gold lettering on the front cover. The first six pages of the book were meant to be a directory of sorts. These pages as well as nine of the regular lined pages in the book have handwritten notes and accounting information. This includes information such as dues paid, loans, deposits, and balances. The remaining 129 pages are blank.
Box ID #
1
SERIES II. RECORD BOOK
One (1) Book
Series Content and Scope
This series consists of thin red book. The book has ‘Record’ embossed in gold lettering on the cover. The first pages have a list of attendance for the Fourth Annual Meeting on March 10th of 1978, for the Seascape Aptos Beach Club. Written mostly in green marker, the list contains more than 170 names. On the page after this original list, there are notes from the 5th Annual Meeting, held on March 23, 1979. Written in blue pen, there are thirty three names and addresses written down. Yet another few pages shows the list of attendees of the 1981 Annual Dinner. The list has fifty people on it. The last notes in the book show who came to the Octagon Dinner, though there is no clear year written. The rest of the pages are blank.
Box ID #
1
SERIES III. LOOSE PAYMENT PAPERS
One (1) Book
Series Content and Scope
This series contains a few small papers. The papers include a note mentioning deposits, a check showing membership fees, and other accounting information.
Box ID #
1
