DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Collection Number
2014H.022
Creator
This collection was assembled by multiple persons. It was donated to the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History by The Diversity Center.
Extent
Number of Containers: Twenty (20) Boxes
Linear Feet: 17.38
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
The Santa Cruz County LGBTQ+ collection is comprised of approximately 1300 objects in various formats, including: photographs, newsletters, periodicals, ledgers, manuscripts, newspaper clippings, flyers, mailers, posters, cassettes, VHS tapes, and oral history recordings documenting the history of the LGBTQ Community in Santa Cruz County.
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
CLICK HERE to view a selection of collection items online
Preferred Citation
The Santa Cruz County LGBTQ+ Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
Processed By
Jessie Durant
Date Completed
2021
The Santa Cruz County LGBTQ+ collection is comprised of approximately 1300 objects in various formats, including: photographs, newsletters, periodicals, ledgers, manuscripts, newspaper clippings, flyers, mailers, posters, cassettes, VHS tapes, and oral history recordings documenting the history of the LGBTQ Community in Santa Cruz County.
The collection started with a 2009 donation of two boxes of materials documenting LGBTQ+ activism in Santa Cruz by local resident Dan Dickmeyer. This was the spark for the LGBTQ+ Trailblazers History Project from our longtime partners at The Diversity Center, through which they amassed a larger collection of materials and donated them in 2014 for safekeeping in our archives. Since then, The Diversity Center has continued to collect historical materials and donate them to the MAH.
ARRANGEMENT
Series I. Publications
Subseries A. Monographs
Subseries B. Comics
Subseries C. Periodicals
Series II. Organizations and Associations
Subseries A. BAYMEC
Subseries B. The Diversity Center
Subseries C. Gay and Lesbian Alliance (GALA)
Subseries D. The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Community Center
Subseries E. Lesbian and Gay Men’s Union
Subseries F. Lesbian Exploration
Subseries G. The Lesbian Umbrella
Subseries H. Mattachine Society
Subseries I. The Men’s Chorus
Subseries J. The Moms’ Group
Subseries K. Santa Cruz AIDS Project
Subseries L. Santa Cruz Gay Youth
Subseries M. Santa Crus High Rainbow Alliance
Series III. Events
Subseries A. Day of Dialogue, Direction and Action
Subseries B. A Gay Evening in May
Subseries C. AIDS Memorial Quilt Display
Subseries D. Amazon Music Project
Subseries E. Day of Engagement
Subseries F. Defeat the Briggs Initiative
Subseries G. The Last Laugh
Subseries H. Latex Follies
Subseries I. Love & Resistance Stonewall 50
Subseries J. A Normal Heart
Subseries K. Pincurlz Fundraisers / Drag Shows
Subseries L. Political Action
Subseries M. Pride – San Francisco
Subseries N. Pride – Santa Cruz
Subseries O. Queer Youth Awards
Subseries P. Santa Cruz International LGBT Film Festival
Subseries Q. Trans March / Rally
Subseries R. Transexual Panel Discussion
Subseries S. Vito Russo Speaks
Subseries T. Volleyball
Subseries U. WomensWorks events
Series IV. People
Series V. Oral History
Series VI. Scrapbooks / Albums, Slideshows
Series VII. Textiles
Subseries A. Clothing
Subseries B. Flags
Subseries C. Totes
Series VIII. Souvenirs
Series IX. Posters & Banners
Series X. Clippings
Series XI. A/V
