Guide to the Santa Cruz County Bicentennial Committee Collection (1976)

The Santa Cruz County Bicentennial Committee was established as an advisory body reporting to the Santa Cruz County Parks, Open Space & Cultural Services Commission. The committee had its first meeting on June 12, 1974. The nine-member committee was composed of one representative from each district and one representative from each city. Each supervisor nominated the representative for his district, and each mayor nominated the representative for his city. County Museum Coordinator Albert Schadel served as staff to the committee and assembled the documents in this collection. The committee served through July 3, 1976.

Series I. Commemorative Ephemera
Series II. School Projects
Series III. Newspapers/Clippings

Subseries III.A. Bicentennial Times
Subseries III.B. Loose Newspapers/Clippings

Series IV. Committee/Commission Documents

Subseries IV.A. County Bicentennial Committee Bi-Lingual Slide-Tape Project
Subseries IV.B. County Bicentennial Committee Film Series
Subseries IV.C. American Revolution Bicentennial Commission of California
Subseries IV.D. Congress for the Continuation of the American Revolution
Subseries IV.E. Bicentennial Committee Meetings
Subseries IV.F. County Bicentennial Committee Minutes
Subseries IV.G. County Bicentennial Committee: Funding Sources
Subseries IV.H. County Bicentennial Committee: Correspondence
Subseries IV.I. County Bicentennial Committee: “Bicentennial Community” Application
Subseries IV.J. County Bicentennial Committee: Members
Subseries IV.K. County Bicentennial Committee: Publications
Subseries IV.L. County Bicentennial Committee: Proposed Budget, 1975-76

Series V. Bicentennial Activities/Additional Documents

Subseries V.A. Scotts Valley Bicentennial
Subseries V.B. Correspondence
Subseries V.C. Bicentennial
Subseries V.D. Bicentennial Activities – General and in Santa Cruz
Subseries V.E. County Fair – Bicentennial Tent Project (S.C. Ethnic Groups)
Subseries V.F. Assorted Documents
Subseries V.G. American Revolution Bicentennial: General Information
Subseries V.H. Bicentennial, 1976
Subseries V.I. Additional Correspondence

Series VI. American Issues Forum
Series VII. County Bicentennial

SERIES I. COMMEMORATIVE EPHEMERA

One (1) Box

Series Content and Scope

This series is contained in one box. The first item in the box is a poster (possibly a draft) created to celebrate the American bicentennial celebrations in Santa Cruz, California. The poster is red, white, and blue. It seems to show the natural bridges formations near the beaches. The tagline on the poster reads “A natural bridge over troubled waters.” The next item is a ‘Bicentennial Commemorative Edition 1776-1976’ of the Register-Pajaroian newspaper. The next document is a large eight page pamphlet that contains the ‘Documents of Democracy.’ It includes: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights. Next in the series is ‘A Bicentennial Message’ from President Gerald R. Ford. The last piece of commemorative ephemera is a cardboard poster that held patriotic tie pins that were for sale. There are two pins remaining and in 1976 they each cost forty cents.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
3: No folder

SERIES II. SCHOOL PROJECTS

One (1) Box

Series Content and Scope

This series consists of one folder. It contains bicentennial seals for the occasion. The two seals seem to have served as inspiration for a school assignment. In the folder are various hand drawn seals meant to celebrate both the bicentennial and Californian history.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
3: 1

SERIES III. NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS

Two (2) Folders + Loose documents

Series Scope and Content

This series contains many documents pertaining to news about the bicentennial celebrations in the Santa Cruz area. The series mainly consists of newspapers.

This series is divided into three (3) subseries

Subseries III.A. Bicentennial Times
Subseries III.B. Loose Newspapers/Clippings
Subseries III.C Bicentennial

Subseries III.A. Bicentennial Times

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content

This series contains three copies of the ‘Bicentennial Times’ newspaper. These newspapers were distributed by the American Revolution Bicentennial Administration in Washington DC. The first is Volume 2 from April of 1975. The second paper is also labeled Volume 2, but is from June 1975. The third, yet again labeled Volume 2, is from August 1975.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 9

Subseries III.B. Loose Newspapers/Clippings

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content

This series is a large collection of documents. It includes promotional materials, correspondence, and great number of whole newspapers and newspaper clippings pertaining to Bicentennial celebrations both on the national level and in Santa Cruz.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: No folder (documents are loose in back of box)

Subseries III.C. Bicentennial

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries consists of a large number of newspaper clippings. Many of the clippings are articles that acted as adds for the upcoming celebrations and commemoration. Other articles are write ups on the events themselves. The articles come from newspapers all over the area and cover events all throughout the Santa Cruz region.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 5

SERIES IV. COMMITTEE/COMMISSION DOCUMENTS

Twelve (12) Folders

Series Content and Scope

This series consists of various documents from different groups (commissions, committees, and congresses) working toward and planning the Bicentennial celebrations.

This series is broken into twelve (12) subseries

Subseries IV.A. County Bicentennial Committee Bi-Lingual Slide-Tape Project
Subseries IV.B. County Bicentennial Committee Film Series
Subseries IV.C. American Revolution Bicentennial Commission of California
Subseries IV.D. Congress for the Continuation of the American Revolution
Subseries IV.E. Bicentennial Committee Meetings
Subseries IV.F. County Bicentennial Committee Minutes
Subseries IV.G. County Bicentennial Committee: Funding Sources
Subseries IV.H. County Bicentennial Committee: Correspondence
Subseries IV.I. County Bicentennial Committee: “Bicentennial Community” Application
Subseries IV.J. County Bicentennial Committee: Members
Subseries IV.K. County Bicentennial Committee: Publications
Subseries IV.L. County Bicentennial Committee: Proposed Budget, 1975-76

Subseries IV.A. County Bicentennial Committee Bi-Lingual Slide-Tape Project

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries contains information on a bi-lingual slide show that was to be presented during the bicentennial celebrations in Santa Cruz. The documents in the folder include a proposal submitted by C. Frederick Gray and Miguel Espino, letters and memos about meetings on the subject, a synopsis of the project, a second proposal by Ken Goodrich, and a report.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 1

Subseries IV.B. County Bicentennial Committee Film Series

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries contains information and documents on a film series presented during the bicentennial celebrations in 1976. The various documents include: a schedule for showings, correspondence planning which movies to show, official documents on scheduling, handwritten notes, contracts with film makers, and promotional materials.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 2

Subseries IV.C. American Revolution Bicentennial Commission of California

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This is a very small subseries. It contains two pamphlets. They are both editions of The California Bicentennial Dispatch. Both are part of Volume Two from 1974, the first document being number three of the volume and the second being number four.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 7

Subseries IV.D. Congress for the Continuation of the American Revolution

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This is another small subseries. It contains one copy of a newsletter; Voice of Congress. This newsletter was the first volume, number two of the series from March of 1976. The document contains various articles and a few registration forms.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 10

Subseries IV.E. Bicentennial Committee Meetings

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries contains information from various Bicentennial Committee Meetings. A large part of the folder is made up of correspondence and handwritten meeting minutes and roll calls. There are also a number of typed meeting minutes on County of Santa Cruz letterhead. The folder also contains agendas, committee by-laws, and other associated documents.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 1

Subseries IV.F. County Bicentennial Committee Minutes

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries consist of minutes from County Bicentennial Committee meetings. Many of the documents are hand written, but a large number are typed. The notes date from 1974, 1975, and 1976.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 2

Subseries IV.G. County Bicentennial Committee: Funding Sources

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries contains three documents. The first explains where funding for the bicentennial celebrations is coming from (ABRA, Natinonal Park Service, National Endowment for the Arts, and many others). The second document is titled ‘Fund Development & Technical Assistance Report.’ The last item in the folder is a newspaper with a large article titled ‘Bicentennial Funds Tight, but Why Not Try Anyway’ that was printed on December 16th 1974.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 3

Subseries IV.H. County Bicentennial Committee: Correspondence

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries consist of correspondence. The first page in the folder is a small and incomplete record of the letters included in the folder. There are letters to and from members of the committee, many include information on scheduling and events.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 4

Subseries IV.I. County Bicentennial Committee: “Bicentennial Community” Application

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries contains all of the documents that Santa Cruz County submitted to the American Revolution Bicentennial Commission to be an official Bicentennial Community. The forms were submitted in November of 1974. The many documents include application forms, application guidelines, press releases, and official correspondence.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 5

Subseries IV.J. County Bicentennial Committee: Members

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This is a smaller subseries. It contains a few lists of people on committees throughout the county. The documents include a list of members of the Watsonville Bicentennial Committee, and members of the Santa Cruz County Bicentennial Committee (from the various districts in the county). There is also a small newspaper clipping about a committee member from Watsonville named George Washington (no relation to the founding father). The last item in the subseries is a letter from July 1st 1974 from Albert Schadel to Keith E. Kelly.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 6

Subseries IV.K. County Bicentennial Committee: Publications

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This contains many documents. There are copies of two newspapers/letters called Common Sense (published by the People’s Bicentennial Commission) and the Bicentennial times. The folder also contains some correspondence from the American Revolution Bicentennial Commission.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 8

Subseries IV.L. County Bicentennial Committee: Proposed Budget, 1975-76

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries contains meeting minutes, correspondence (both formal and informal), and various memos. The folder also has a large number of document showing the propsed budget of the Santa Cruz County Bicentennial Committee in 1975 and 1976.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 10

SERIES V. BICENTENNIAL ACTIVITIES/ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS

Eight (8) Folders

Series Scope and Content

This series contains various documents pertaining to the planning and advertising of the US bicentennial celebrations in the Santa Cruz area.

This Series is divided into eight (8) subseries

Subseries V.A. Scotts Valley Bicentennial
Subseries V.B. Correspondence
Subseries V.C. Bicentennial Activities – General and in Santa Cruz
Subseries V.D. County Fair – Bicentennial Tent Project (S.C. Ethnic Groups)
Subseries V.E. Assorted Documents
Subseries V.G. American Revolution Bicentennial: General Information
Subseries V.H. Bicentennial, 1976
Subseries V.I. Additional Correspondence

Subseries V.A. Scotts Valley Bicentennial

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries consists of documents on the Scotts Valley bicentennial celebration. The folder contains a schedule, plans for the day, letters, and arts project proposal forms.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 3

Subseries V.B. Correspondence

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This large subseries handwritten notes, a large volume of letters, and County Bicentennial Committee minutes. These documents address the planning, scheduling, and importance of the local commemoration of the US bicentennial. The documents in this folder are from 1975 and 1976.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 4

Subseries V.C. Bicentennial Activities – General and in Santa Cruz

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries beings with a pamphlet titled ‘Centennial Celebrations 1946-1950.’ The subtitle is: Suggestions for Community Programs, Centennial Celebrations Committee, California State Chamber of Commerce. Also contained in the folder are some notes and many newspaper clippings. Many of the newspaper clippings discuss the planning and scheduling of the celebrations. The folder also has two editions of a newsletter called Common Sense.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 8

Subseries V.D. County Fair – Bicentennial Tent Project (S.C. Ethnic Groups)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This small subseries consists of just one document. The two page document addresses a Bicentennial Tent Project for the Santa Cruz County Fair. The paper was submitted to a committee and mentioned tent size, a section labeled ‘If our fair were a World’s Fair…”, a section discussing what the group would stress, and tentative contacts.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 11

Subseries V.E. Assorted Documents

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This folder is filled with many documents. It contains letters, and various correspondence with local companies and committees. The subseries also has a number of newsletters and ads discussing the bicentennial, its importance, and the celebrations to mark the event. The largest part of the file is a ‘Guide for Authorized Usage’ of the graphic standards for the event. The large booklet shows the various logos in official use, and how to use them.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 12

Subseries V.G. American Revolution Bicentennial: General Information

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries includes a large number of documents containing general information on the American Revolution Bicentennial. The folder holds a number of newspaper clippings that cover the beginnings of the planning for the celebrations. Also included are ads for thematically patriotic trash bins, information on a logo contest, correspondence, and ads with the tag line ‘Coming Soon: First Annual Independence Day Fair.’

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 7

Subseries V.H. Bicentennial, 1976

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This subseries contains lots of general information on the Bicentennial. Half of the folder is filled with newspaper clippings that cover the national Bicentennial celebration planning and local planning. The other half of the folder contains correspondence between various government agencies, both local and federal.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 9

Subseries V.I. Additional Correspondence

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Scope

This folder contains a very large volume of correspondence. Some of the letters are still in their envelopes while others are loose. Many are official letters, and some are informal handwritten notes.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
2: 11

SERIES VI. AMERICAN ISSUES FORUM

One (1) Folder

Series Content and Scope

This series consists of documents pertaining to the American Issues Forum. This was held around the time of the Bicentennial as it was a good time to look at national issues. The folder holds correspondence and invitations to participate in the forum.

Box ID#: Folder ID #
1: 6