DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Collection Number
Pending
Creator
This collection was assembled by an unknown person, possibly Allan Rennie, circa 1910. It was donated to the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History on an unknown date.
Extent
Number of Containers: One (1) Box
Linear Feet: 0.5 Linear Feet
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
This collection consists of loose photographs of various sites in and around Santa Cruz County plus two panoramic photographs of California Spanish American War Veteran Association Annual Meetings and the Santa Cruz High School Cardinals for 1947-1949. There are a total of 45 photographs in this collection.
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Preferred Citation
The Rennie Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
Process By
G. Gardner
Date Completed
2013
The Rennie Collection consists of loose photographs, two panoramic photographs of California Spanish American War Veterans Association Annual meetings, and the Santa Cruz High School Cardinals for 1947-1949. Allan Rennie was a veteran of the Spanish American War. He served in the California Naval Militia on one of the ships patrolling off the coast of California. He was a Coxswain in the Fourth Division. A coxswain was usually a more senior naval enlisted member who was responsible for the navigation and steering of a boat. Mr. Rennie also served in the California Spanish American War Veterans Association. In 1940 he was the Quarter Master for the Santa Cruz Camp Number 92, at that time there were apparently 80 Spanish American War veterans in the local area. The photographs reflect the interest and activities of Allan Rennie.
SERIES I. SANTA CRUZ HIGH SCHOOL CARDINALS (1947 – 1949)
Three (3) Yearbooks
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the Santa Cruz High School Cardinals for 1947 – 1949. These possible belong to a Thomas Druet. We are unsure of the association with Allan Rennie.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
Reference Library
SERIES II. PHOTOGRAPHS (c. 1890s – 1940s)
Three (3) Folders, two (2) Panoramic and one (1) mounted in protector
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains loose photographs, two panoramic photographs of California Spanish American War Veterans Association Annual meetings that apparently Allan Rennie collected. Allan Rennie was a veteran of the Spanish American War. He served in the California Naval Militia on one of the ships patrolling off the coast of California. He was a Coxswain in the Fourth Division. A coxswain was usually a more senior naval enlisted member who was responsible for the navigation and steering of a boat. Mr. Rennie also served in the California Spanish American War Veterans Association. In 1940 he was the Quarter Master for the Santa Cruz Camp Number 92, at that time there were apparently 80 Spanish American War veterans in the local area. The panoramic photographs are of association meetings held at Santa Cruz for 1927 and 1944. The other photographs include George Webb Photography Studio Cabinet Cards from circa 1890s to 1910s. There are also photographs, postcards, and two (2) stereographs of sites in and around Santa Cruz.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:1-4
Panoramic Photograph Drawer
