Guide to the MAH Postcard Collection (1900s – 1980s)

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County, California, and beyond (c. 1900s – 1980s). These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas. Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked. There are other postcards that have not been used. This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

The history of picture postcards in the United States started in 1873 with postcards developed by the Morgan Envelope Factory of Springfield, Massachusetts.  These first postcards depicted Interstate Industrial Exposition that took place in Chicago.  The development and use of postcards continued to grow – in 1873 Post Master John Creswell introduced the first pre-stamped “penny postcards”.  Souvenir postcards were introduced in the United States in 1893 to advertise the World’s Columbian Exposition in Chicago.

Initially the Post Office was the institution allowed to print postcards, holding this monopoly until May 19, 1898.  Congress passed the Private Mailing Card Act allowing private publishers and printers to produce postcards. Until December 24, 1901 these cards were known as ‘souvenir cards’ and had to be labeled as ‘Private Mailing Cards’.

There are two distinct eras for postcards.  The first is pre-1907, during this time postcards were not allowed to have a divided back correspondents could only write on the front of the postcard. This was known as the “undivided back” era of postcards. From March 1, 1907 the Post Office allowed private citizens to write on the address side of a postcard.  It was on this date that postcards were allowed to have a “divided back”.

Before 1903 any picture postcards produced generally used glass plate negatives and cropping of the image to size.  In 1903 Kodak introduced the No 3A Folding Pocket Camera which produced negatives sized to postcards, 3 ½” x 5 ½”.  In 1907 Kodak pioneered a service for the general public, ‘Real Photo Postcards.’  This service allowed the public to create a postcard from any photo they took.

One method for dating postcards is to check the postmark.  The other method is to look at the characteristics of the card, a range of dates can be determined.  For example, if there is a stamp box, and it is visible, the table below can be used.

 

 

The following website provides information on the appearance and dating of postcards, http://www.vintage-american.com/.

This website provides some information on the dating of postcards, http://www.thepostcardweb.com/To_Date_Real_Photos.html.

SERIES I.  APTOS, CAPITOLA, SOQUEL, AND OTHER AREAS

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

1.  Seabright
2. Twin Lakes
3. Rio Del Mar Beach
4. Soquel
5. Aptos
6. Capitola

Box ID#: Folder ID#

1:X

SERIES II.  SAN LORENZO VALLEY, SANTA CRUZ MOUNTAINS, AND OTHER AREAS

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

1. Happy Valley
2. Bridges
3. Bean Creek Summer Home Farm
4. Scotts Valley
5. Ben Lomond
6. Boulder Creek
7. Brookdale
8. Santa Cruz County
9. Skyline Drive
10. Felton
11. Glenwood
12. Holy City
13. Mount Hermon
14. Mountain View Ranch
15. Mystery Spot
16. Mountains
17. Skyland
18. Wright’s

 Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:X

SERIES III.  CITY OF SANTA CRUZ

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

1. Santa Cruz – General
2. Churches
3. Parks
4. Santa Cruz Depot
5. Banks
6. Stores
7. Flood – 1940
8. Hotels
9. Santa Cruz Mission
10. City Hall
11. Court House
12. Post Office
13. Library
14. Schools
15. Restaurants
16. San Lorenzo River

Box ID#: Folder ID#

3:X

SERIES IV.  SANTA CRUZ BEACH AND BOARDWALK

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

1. Boardwalk Casino – Storm Scene
2. Boardwalk – Cottage City
3. Boardwalk – General
4. Boardwalk – Bath House
5. Boardwalk Casino – New
6. Boardwalk Casino – Old
7. Boardwalk – Hotel Casa Del Rey
8. Santa Cruz Wharf

Box ID#: Folder ID#

4:X

SERIES V.  CORRALITOS AND WATSONVILLE

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

1. Corralitos
2. Watsonville

Box ID#: Folder ID#

5:X

SERIES VI.  WEST CLIFF

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

6:X

SERIES VII.  STATE PARKS

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

1. Big Basin
2. Henry Cowell

Box ID#: Folder ID#

7:X

SERIES VIII.  CALIFORNIA

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

1. San Francisco
2. San Francisco – Earthquake and Fire
3. Panama Pacific International Exposition
4. Golden Gate Exposition
5. San Jose
6. California – General

Box ID#: Folder ID#

8:X

SERIES IX.  CALIFORNIA AND BEYOND

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

1. California – General
2. Agriculture
3. Flora and Fauna
4. Outside California

Box ID#: Folder ID#

9:X

SERIES X.  POSTAL GREETINGS AND HOLIDAYS

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

1. Birthdays
2. Christmas
3. Easter
4. Fourth of July
5. General
6. Halloween
7. Love and Romance
8. New Years
9. Thanksgiving
10. Valentines

Box ID#: Folder ID#

10:X

SERIES XI.  POSTCARD SETS AND INDIVIDUAL POSTCARDS

Two (2) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains picture postcards for various regions and cities of Santa Cruz County (c. 1900s – 1980s).  These postcards depict various buildings, sites, events and people in these areas.  Some of these postcards have been used and are stamped and postmarked.  There are other postcards that have not been used.  This collection reflects the interest of the individual purchasing the postcard and the individual the postcard may have been mailed to.

Box 11:  This box contains various postcard sets that depict such scenes as the Santa Cruz Boardwalk, miscellaneous images of Santa Cruz and the surrounding area, the Santa Cruz Mountains, the Mystery Spot, and Big Basin and Henry Cowell State Parks.

Box 12:  This box contains various individual postcards pending receipt of supplies for integration into remainder of collection.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

11 and 12:X