Guide to the Hastings Family Collection (1870s – 1900s)

Back to Collection Guides Page

George W. Hastings (1853-1923) was born in Illinois, the son of William Henry Harrison Hastings and Louisa R. (Shannon) Hastings. He married Cynthia Bell “Tinnie” Waters (1857-1936) in Bloomington, Illinois, in 1879. After their marriage, they moved to Santa Cruz, where their daughter, Orene (Hastings) Smith Hutchin (1888-1970), was born. George was a jeweler, musician, pipe organist, and leader of the noted Hastings Band. He had first seen Santa Cruz as leader of the Montgomery Queen Circus Band. From 1890 to 1907 Professor Hastings organized and conducted the Santa Cruz Beach Band. He was also the director of an orchestra of fifty or more pieces and an even larger Brownie Orchestra of children. His students and musicians played at all the performances at the Opera House and for dances and parades. By 1910 the family had moved to Fresno. Orene later returned to Santa Cruz, where she was a music teacher and organist. The family home was at 329 Lincoln Street. The collection includes a scrapbook of clippings documenting musical performances and a photograph album with images of band members, family members, and the music room.

George Hastings and Music in Santa Cruz

George Hastings had a profound impact on the music scene of Santa Cruz. In 1873, Santa Cruz was devoid of records and radios, according to Ross Gibson, local historian, songwriter and researcher of Santa Cruz musical culture. After settling in Santa Cruz at twenty years of age, Gibson opened a watch, jewelry and musical instrument store which would be the catalyst for introducing the big-band scene in Santa Cruz. Hastings started by offering music lessons which gradually led to the formation of the Hastings Band. Professor Hastings had an office where he Gve lessons at 38 Pacific Avenue. Hastings and his band wore Civil War Uniforms, and then uniforms reminiscent of the era of Napoleon III which made the musicians a notable sight (Source: S.C. Sentinel “’Music Man’ of Santa Cruz” 1/21/1995). Hasting’s also formed the Santa Cruz Musician’s Union in 1903. In 1912, the Hastings Band gained the moniker the Santa Cruz Beach Band. In 1946, the band expanded when forty musicians from the San Francisco Symphony joined and the band was re-named the Santa Cruz Beach Symphonic Band by Skip Littlefield of the Seaside Company (S.C. Sentinel “Boardwalk Easter Concert Revives Custom” 4/14/1974). Hastings’s E-flat cornet, engraved with the names of the band-members, was on loan to the Santa Cruz County Historical Trust in 1995 and was put on display at the Museum of Art and History and History as recently as 2014. The cornet is owned by the American Federation of Musicians (Info. from Marla Novo).

 

Back to Collection Guides Page

SERIES I. SCRAPBOOK

SERIES II. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM

SERIES III. PHOTOGRAPHS

Subseries III.A. Tin Types
Subseries III.B. Portraits of Orene Hastings
Subseries III.C. Portraits of George and Tinnie Hastings
Subseries III.D. Group Portraits
Subseries III.E. Other Portraits
Subseries III.F. Residential and Business Photos
Subseries III.G. People and Towns

Back to Collection Guides Page

SERIES I. SCRAPBOOK (1890s – 1900s)

One (1) Scrapbook

Series Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one (1) approx. 7” (length) x 10” (height) “Trade-Mark Mark Twain’s scrapbook” (patented 1873-1881), with a brown, red, blue and beige cover resembling marbled paper and black binding that resembles leather and contains gold embellishments and the title “Scrap-book” in gold. Inside the book are one hundred-fifty pasted with newspaper clippings, as well as several loose newspaper clippings and programmes for concerts stuffed into the front pages. The source of these clippings and programs are unknown, and they are undated. One newspaper clipping may tentatively date these clippings as it is for a celebration held at Big Trees by the Hastings Band in 1892. Many of the clippings pertain to George Hastings himself and his activities teaching music, his musical performances, advertisements for his teaching, newspaper about his travels to study music in “the East”, and much more. Other items in this book include: Chicago Opera House Balcony ticket stubs, World’s Columbian Exposition Tickets Stubs, articles on brain-teasing puzzles, business cards from musical instrument purveyors such as Jerome Thibouville-Lamy who was featured in a World’s Fair exhibit, photo from a magazine or other publication of Hastings’ Ladies Orchestra, a clipping of sheet music “The Man Who Beats The Drum” as sung by Fanny Rice, and much more. Date range: 1890s-1900s

Box ID#:
1

SERIES II. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1809s – 1900s)

One (1) Album

Series Scope and Content Summary:

This series contains one (1) photo album measuring 12×6” in size bound with red half-leather by Vive Albums, made specifically for preserving photos. This album contains twenty-five double sided pages with photos that are 4×3”—4×5” in size. The photos are of: a cabin entitled “Ranch Orene”, photos of a residence on Chestnut Ave.; photo of a train on train tracks in a forest setting, and photo of train in a town setting, one of tracks (3 total); photo of women and children at what may be an amusement park, carnival or fair setting, indicated by sign “Tunnel of the—“; photographs of unidentified beaches, and people on the beach (about a dozen photos), some may be natural Bridges; several group portraits of children, women, and men, including about three of Hastings’ Ladies Orchestra; forest scenes; photos of a women and infant, and little girl which may be Orene, Hastings’ daughter; Christmas photos; scenes of horse carriages, leisurely activities; church altar (unidentified); and much more. Scrapbook in fair condition with tears and a battered binding, though none of the pages are coming loose from binding. The photos range from great to fair condition (none are damages, some are blurry with slight spotting). Date range: mid 1890s-1900s

Box ID#: Folder#:
1:1

SERIES III. PHOTOGRAPHS (1870s – 1900s)

Series Scope and Content Summary:

This series consists of studio, portraits, tin-types and other types of photos of the Hastings family and other individuals. Photos in this series include portraits of George Hastings’ daughter Orene , his wife Cynthia “Tinnie” and George himself, as well as many other photos of businesses and other subjects. Date range: 1870s-1900s

This series is divided into the following subseries:

Subseries III.A. Tin Types
Subseries III.B. Portraits of Orene Hastings
Subseries III.C. Portraits of George and Tinnie Hastings
Subseries III.D. Group Portraits
Subseries III.E. Other Portraits
Subseries III.F. Residential and Business Photos
Subseries III.G. People and Towns

SUBSERIES III.A. TIN TYPES (1880s – 1900s)

Five (5) Items, one (1) folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of five (5) tin type studio portraits. These portraits are 4×3” in size and include: studio portrait of unidentified young woman, age 14-18; studio portrait of two women in their mid-twenties, seated; studio portrait of man and woman (unidentified), man may be Prof. Hastings; studio portrait purple envelope and red and white frame, captioned “your Geo. Hastings of Wagners Minstrels”; studio portrait of man in uniform with an instrument, likely a Hastings band member. Date range: 1880s-1900s

Box ID#: Folder ID#:
1:2

SUBSERIES III.B. PORTRAITS OF ORENE HASTINGS (1880s – 1890s)

Nine (9) portraits, one (1) folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of nine (9) portraits in one (1) folder, of Orene Hastings. These studio portraits are of Orene at the following ages: 1-2 months of age taken by McKean and Recht of Santa Cruz; 7 months of age taken by McKean & Ort of Pacific Ave.; two portraits by Wolfe & Recht at one year; two portrait at 2 years by Wolfe & Hanson of Santa Cruz; studio portrait at age 5 dated 1893, taken with Lottie Mary Woods age 10, by Mages (?) of Bloomington, ILL.; one by the same studio of Orene age 5, by herself. Portraits range from 10×7” to 7×5” and are in good condition. Date range: 1880s-90s

Box ID#: Folder ID#:
1:3

SUSBSERIES III.C. PORTRAITS OF GEORGE AND TINNIE HASTINGS (1870s – 1890s)

One (1) Folder, six (6) photos

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of six (6) portraits that range in size from 10×7” at the largest to 2.5×4” at the smallest. These portraits include: two identical studio portraits of George Hastings, 10×7” taken by Elite Studio of Santa Cruz; two 6.5×4” portraits of Tinnie Hastings taken by Garrett of Bloomington, ILL. (1884) And “Mages” of Bloomington ILL. taken in 1879 age range of mid-twenties to thirties; two 2.5×4” portraits of Tinnie by Miller & Tankersley of Bloomington, one with caption “Tinnie Hastings to Uncle Joe”, taken as a young women. In good condition, date range: 1870s-90s

Box ID#:Folder ID#:
1:4

SUBSERIES III.D. GROUP PORTRAITS (1880s – 1900s)

One (1) Folder, four (4) photos

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one (1) folder containing four (4) studio portraits with two people or more in the photo, ranging in size from 8×4” to 4×2.5”.These photos include: portrait of three individuals, one woman (possibly Tinnie), child (Orene?) and man (possibly George) by McKeans of Santa Cruz; portrait of two unidentified children taken by Joe Scibird of Bloomington, ILL.; portrait of two woman, (unidentified) taken by Mr. and Mrs. Morris of Santa Cruz; portrait of unidentified woman and young girl reading in a nature setting. Date range: 1880s-1900s

Box ID#:Folder ID#:
1:5

SUBSERIES III.E. OTHER PORTRAITS (1880s – 1900s)

One (1) Folder, twenty photos

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of twenty photos of unidentified individuals, including studio portraits and snap shot-type photos of women, children, and men—largely unidentified. These photos range in size from 3×5” snap-shot type photos to 10×5” formal studio portraits complete with studio cardboard cover and frame. These portraits include: studio portrait of a woman, in her mid-sixty years of age, with caption “Miss Stella Finkeldey, Donor, Otto Kunitz Memorial Music Library” taken by Mellian of Santa Cruz; three portraits of an unidentified woman (2 duplicates) dated 1909-1910 taken by J.C.? Olive; photo of a girl holding a star-tipped wand age 7-12 taken by Novelty Foto Co. of Santa Cruz; studio portrait of unidentified woman (possibly Tinnie?) taken by Mrs. Ella M. Morris of Santa Cruz dated 1882; 4×2” studio portrait captioned “Dr. Young” taken by C.F. Schroeder of Green Bay, Wis.; studio portrait of a man in his mid twenties, taken by Fisher Bros. of Boston; twelve snapshot type photos (non-studio, on paper and not cardboard) of an unidentified woman, dog, and man, and man enjoying nature and other activities. Photos are in Date range: 1880s-1900s

Box ID#: Folder ID#:
1:6

SUBSERIES III.F. RESIDENTIAL AND BUSINESS PHOTOS (1890s – 1900s)

One (1) Folder, five (5) photos

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of five (5) photos in one (1) folder. These photos are in good condition and range in size from 7×10” to 4×5” in size. These photos include: photo date 1890 from Hanson’s Photo Studio of Santa Cruz of a house, woman, and man with baby on a horse carriage; large 7” (height)x10” (high) photo of an unidentified school room with caption on reverse identifying some of the children in the 5th year class, studio unknown; 7×10” photo of unidentified business, or school—photo depicts men and women at rows of tables, dated 1907, studio unknown; photo dated 1911 of men and women behind a counter of an unknown business, studio unknown, and more. Date range: 1890s-1900s

Box ID#: Folder ID#:
1:7

SUBSERIES III.G. PEOPLE AND TOWNS (1900s)

One (1) Folder, five (5) photos

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of five (5) photos ranging in size from 4×2” to 3×4” in size. These photos are of unidentified individuals in nature settings and town settings, animals, an unknown church, one man and two women in a car decorated with flowers in a town setting, a photo of a town in the 1915 Panama Pacific Exposition of San Francisco, a ranch house, and more. Date range: 1900s

Box ID#: Folder ID#:
1:8