Guide to the Elsie Jameson Collection (1880s – 1920s)

Elsie Mabel Jameson was born near Boulder Creek, California, in 1894.  She was the daughter of Henry Alexander and Rose Marie (Sarpy) Jameson.  Her father was owner of the Oak Grove Ranch on Bear Creek Road in Boulder Creek.  He died in 1901 when Elsie was seven and her sister Gertrude was six.  Elsie’s brother George died at the age of one and a half in 1902.  Her mother then married John Howland.  John died in 1911.  Elsie’s mother apparently never married again.  Elsie’s grandparents were William Locke and Aurilla (Crandall) Jameson , who owned a ranch below today’s Delaveaga Park in Santa Cruz.  Grandfather Jameson was a brother of Mary Jameson (Mrs. David M. Locke) who owned Locke’s Dairy on Mount Hermon Road in Scotts Valley.  He was also a brother of Laura Jameson (Mrs, Isaac Dakin) whose husband and family owned the Laurel Glen Fruit Farm on Laurel Glen Road near Soquel.  Elsie’s family moved in 1907 to Santa Cruz, where they lived on Washburn Avenue.  In 1911 Elsie left Branchiforte Grammar School to work in the office of the Santa Cruz Surf.  She was associated with local newspapers, principally in the bookkeeping department, for almost 50 years.  In 1915 she began working for the Santa Cruz Evening News.  When the News was sold to the Santa Cruz Sentinel in 1941, Elsie went to work in the Sentinel office, retiring in 1961.  She and her mother lived at 1301 King Street for over 30 years.  Elsie’s sister, Gertrude (Jameson) Main, died in 1956.  Her mother died in 1965.   Elsie died in 1966.

SERIES I. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1913 – 1919)

SERIES II. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1922 – 1930)

SERIES III. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (c1900)

SERIES IV. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (c1900)

SERIES V. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1920s)

SERIES VI. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1880s – 1901)

SERIES VII. LOOSE PHOTOGRAPHS (1880s – 1920s)

SERIES I.  PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1913 – 1919)

One (1) Album

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a photograph album of Elsie Jameson from 1913 – 1919.  The photograph album cover is black embossed in gold in the upper left corner “Photographs.”  The photographs in this album include the Panama Pacific International Exhibition in San Francisco in 1915, a July Fourth Parade in 1913, the Beach Boardwalk and the coast, Opal Race Track, San Jose, Pacific Grove, Twin Lakes, Roy Boekenoogen, railroad, Waddell, aerial photos of Santa Cruz, and in the back of the album are collector’s photos of film, stage, and vaudeville stars. (140 x Photos)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

1:1

SERIES II.  PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1922 – 1930)

One (1) Album

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a photograph album of Elsie Jameson from 1922 – 1930.  The photograph album cover is black embossed in gold in the upper left corner “Photographs.”  The photographs in this album include the Big Basin, Big Trees, railroad, aerial photos of Santa Cruz, San Francisco, San Juan Capistrano, Lompoc, Yosemite, Feliz Shipwreck, and Sacramento. (70 x Photos)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

1:2

SERIES III.  PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (c1900)

One (1) Album

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a photograph album of Elsie Jameson from circa 1900.  The photograph album cover is black with a label on the front “Elsie Jameson.”  The photographs in this album include Boulder Creek, the Jameson Place, the Dougherty Mill, pack train, Ben Lomond, railroad. (38 x Photos)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

1:3

SERIES IV.  PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (c1900)

One (1) Album

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a photograph album of Elsie Jameson from circa 1900.  The photograph album cover is maroon cloth covered.  The photographs in this album include Boulder Creek, Bear Creek, sawmill, school house, railroad, wharf, farm life, M.C. Sarmento Saloon, the Dougherty Mill, pack train, Ben Lomond, and railroad. (55 x Photos)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:4

SERIES V.  PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1920s)

One (1) Album

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a photograph album of Elsie Jameson from the 1920s.  The photograph album cover is black with a photo pasted on the front.  The photographs in this album include Santa Cruz, Hihn Mansion, and a photograph of Madge Bellamy in “Soul of the Beast”. (19 x Photos)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:5

SERIES VI.  PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1880s – 1901)

One (1) Album

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a photograph album of Elsie Jameson from the 1880s to 1901.  The photograph album cover is lightish red decorative with lettering across the top “SCRAPS”.  On the inside cover is written a note “Picture for Elsie” and “H A Jameson La Grande Oregon, February 1881, Pictures taken by Henry Papa, Boulder Creek, Cal”.  The photographs in this album include family photos, the Anderson Home near Big Tree, the Jameson Ranch near DeLaveaga, and Bear Creek.  (43 x Photos)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:6

SERIES VII.  LOOSE PHOTOGRAPHS (1880s – 1920s)

One (1) Envelope

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a loose photographs of Elsie Jameson from the 1880s to 1920s.   These photographs include photos of a trip to Hawaii, an office with a calendar on the wall dated 1921, a photo labelled “Sam Cummings Pack Train, and another photo labelled :On the Road to the Old Jameson Home.”  (14 x Photos)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:7