Guide to the Camera Shop Collection (1940s – 1970s)

Violet Mary Park was a photographer in Santa Cruz from 1942 to 1951. She was born in Portsmouth, England on December 9, 1897. She married Charles Whichelow in September 1919. They had a son, John Lionel Whichelow, who was born on December 19 but the year was not legible may have been 1916. Violet and Charles Whichelow apparently divorced, Charles did not die until 1934. She then married William Walter Morey in 1922. They immigrated to the United States on 27 May 1922, immigration records show her name as Violet Mary Morey. It appears that William and Violet divorced. Violet then married Elmer Joel Park on 14 or 18 May 1929. Violet Mary Park purchased the William Hollway Melliar’s Studio in 1942, this studio was located at 150 Pacific Avenue. Seven years later Vi Park bought the Camera Shop at 119 Walnut Avenue. By 1956 there were apparently two locations for the Camera Shop: one at 445 Main Street, Watsonville, phone 4-9770; and the other at 119 Walnut Avenue, Santa Cruz, phone GA 3-7103. Violet operated the Vi Park Camera shop on Walnut Avenue from 1948 until her retirement in 1951. She turned the shop over to her son, John Whichelow, who operated the firm until it was bought out by Lightning Lab. Violet Mary Park died on January 10, 1965, in Santa Cruz. She is buried in Oakwood Cemetery, Santa Cruz.

This chronology was assembled by Stanley Stevens.

1897 Dec 9
– Source: England & Wales, Birth Index, 1837-1915

Violet Mary Fry
Date of Registration: Jan-Feb-Mar 1898
Registration District: Portsea Island
Inferred County: Hampshire

1897 Dec 9
– Source: England & Wales, Birth Index, 1837-1915

Occupation: School
Mary Ann Fry 44 Widow Occupation: Big Dealor, Employee
b. Cornwall, St. Ives.
James J. Fry 11
Gladys M. Fry 10
Thomas D. Fry 9
Catherine J. Fry 4
James Thomas White 50 Labourer, Big Dealing, Worker; b. Surry, Richmond

1897 Dec 9
– Source: England & Wales, Birth Index, 1837-1915 (Births registered in January, February, and March 1898)

FRY, Violet Mary Portsea Vol. 2b Page 405

1901 Dec 9
– Source: England & Wales 1901 Census (Administrative County: Hampshire; Civil Parish of Portsmouth, Ecclesiastical Parish of St. Marks, County Borough of Portsmouth, Ward of Municipal Borough of North End and Buckland)

James Fry 45 yrs. old General Labourer, worker, born in Ireland
Mary Fry wife 35 yrs. old born in Cornwall
John son 16 yrs. old born in Cornwall General Labourer, worker
Ethel dau 10 yrs. old born in Cornwall
Violet dau 3 yrs. old born in Portsmouth
James son 2 yrs. old born in Portsmouth
Gladys dau 9 mo. old born in Portsmouth

1911 Dec 9
– Source: England Census, 1911

Violet Mary Fry
Age in 1911: 13
Est. Birth Y: abt 1898
Birth Place: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England
Civil Parish: Portsmouth
County: Hampshire
Street Address: 3 Kingswood Terrace, Walker Road Stamshaw

[Transcriber’s Note: Portsmouth is the second largest city in the ceremonial county of Hampshire on the south coast of England. Portsmouth is notable for being the United Kingdom’s only island city; it is located mainly on Portsea Island.[2] It is situated 64 miles (103 km) south west from London and 19 miles (31 km) south east of Southampton; Portsea Island is a small, flat and low lying island just off the south coast of England. The island is totally within, and contains a large proportion of, the city of Portsmouth. It has the third-largest population of any island in the British Isles, after the mainlands of Great Britain and Ireland.]

1897 Dec 9

born England Violet Mary Fry
Died 1965 Jan 10 in Santa Cruz
Residence: Capitola
Husband: Elmer J. Park

1900 June 22
– Census for Placer County, CA, Twp. 13, Colfax Precinct

Himself: Elmer J. Park, b. California, May 1895, 5 yrs. old
Father: Jehu D. Park, b. Ohio, June 1850, 49 yrs. old, occupation:
Justice of Peace
Mother: Maria J. Park, b. New York, July 1856, 43 yrs. old, married 26 yrs., 8 children born, 5 living.
Brother: Leroy J. Park, b. California, May 1876, 24 yrs. old, occupation: Gold Miner Gravle
Sister: Laura O. Park, b. Nevada, Jan. 1881, 19 yrs. old, occupation: Saleswoman Candy Store
Brother: Orlando L. Park, b. Nevada, Nov. 1883, 16 yrs. old, at school
Sister: Ellie I. Park, b. Nevada, Feb. 1881, 13 yrs. old, at school

1916 Dec 19
– Source: U.S. Social Security Death Index, 1935-Current

Born: John Lionel Whichelow b. 19 Dec 1916 (d. 13 Feb 2010, Spokane, WA)

1919 Sep
– Source: England & Wales, Marriage Index, 1916-2005

Violet M Fry
Spouse Surname: Whichelow [Charles]
Date of Registration: Jul-Aug-Sep 1919
Registration District: Portsmouth
Inferred County: Southampton

1920 Jan 13
– Source: U.S. Census Santa Cruz, Ward 5, January 13, 1920

4½ Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz
Parks [sic] Jehu, 69 yrs. Old, b. Ohio, Lodginghouse keeper
Parks, Maria J., wife, 64 yrs. Old, b. New York, no occupation
Parks, Elmer J., son, 24 yrs. Old, b. California, Printer, Type machine
Smith, Park, grandson, 12 yrs. Old, Kentucky, no occupation
Smith, Gertrude, granddaughter, 10 yrs. Old, California, no occupation
Duggan, William T., lodger, 62 yrs. Old, Rhode Island, boilermaker
Lambert, Gertrude, lodger, 40 yrs. Old, England, teacher, public school
Pollard, Elliott, lodger, 46 yrs. Old, Tennessee, farmer, poultry
Carr, Albert, lodger, 46 yrs. Old, Vermont, merchant, stationery prop.?

1922 Jan-Feb-Mar
– Source: England & Wales, Marriage Index, 1916-2005

William W Morey
Spouse: Violet M. Whichelow
Date of Registration: Jan-Feb-Mar 1922
Registration District: Winchester
Inferred County: Hampshire

1922 May 27
– Source: New York, Passenger Lists, 1820-1957

Violet Mary Morey
Arrival: 27 May 1922
Birth: abt 1899
Location: England, Portsmouth
Age: 23 years 3 months
Ethnicity: English
Depart: Southampton, May 20, 1922
Arrival: New York, New York, 27 May 1922
Ship: Berengaria

Passengers: Morey, William Walter 22 y old Military [written over:] Farmer
Morey, Violet Mary 23 y old H’wife
Whichelow, John Lionel [written in margin:] Ch of wife; under 16
5 y old
Last city or town of Residence: Winchester
Nearest Relative: Mother, Mrs. Morey, 86 Colrbrook St., Winchester.
Final Destination: Laton, California [Fresno County?]

1929

May 14, May 18, 1929, Marriage, Santa Cruz County
Morey, Violet Mary 31 yrs. Old, b. England, # of Marriages 3 [including this one]; marital status: Divorced; Occupation: Beauty Shop Proprietor, Residence: 23-B Locust St., Santa Cruz; Bride’s father: James Fry b. Ireland; Bride’s mother: Mary Jones, b. England.
Park, Elmer Joel, age 34, birthplace: California, # marriages 1; Marital Status: Single; Occupation: Printer; residence: 436 Mission St., Santa Cruz, Groom’s father: Jehu D. Park, birthplace Ohio; mother: Maria Thorne, birth: New York.

1930
– Source: R. L. Polk & Co. Directory of Santa Cruz 1930

p. 154 Park, Elmer J (Violet) lino[type] op[e]r[ator], Santa Cruz Morning Sentinel, h 436 Mission
Park, Jehu D gro 436 Mission [listed in Retail Grocers, p. 466]

1930
– Source: U.S. Census of California, Santa Cruz

The Park family was living at 432 Mission Street, Santa Cruz.

Elmer J. Park, 34 yrs. Old
Violet M. Park, 32 yrs. Old
John L. Whichelow, 13 yrs. Old (he was born in 1916?)

1932
– Source: R. L. Polk & Co. Directory of Santa Cruz 1932

p. 134 Park, Elmer J (Violet M) lino opr, Sentinel Pub Co., h 432 Mission
Park, Jehu D gro 436 Mission

1933
– Source: R. L. Polk & Co. Directory of Santa Cruz 1933

p. 134 Park, Elmer J (Violet M) lino opr, Sentinel Pub Co., h 432 Mission
Park, Jehu D gro 436 Mission

1934 Dec
– Source: England & Wales, Death Index, 1916-2007

Charles Whichelow b. abt. 1852 d. Dec 1934
Age at Death 82 Portsmouth, Hampshire

1934
– Source: R. L. Polk & Co. Directory of Santa Cruz 1934

Park, Elmer J (Violet M) lino opr, Sentinel Pub Co., h Bonny Doon Route bx 11
Park, Jehu D. [not listed]

1935
– Source: R. L. Polk & Co. Directory of Santa Cruz 1935

Park, Elmer J (Violet M) lino opr, Santa Cruz Morning Sentinel, h 206 N Parkway
Park, Jehu D. [not listed]

1936
– Source: R. L. Polk & Co. Directory of Santa Cruz 1936

Park, Elmer J (Violet M) lino opr, Santa Cruz Morning Sentinel, h 73 San Juan av
Park, Jehu D. r 66 Locust

1937
– Source: R. L. Polk & Co. Directory of Santa Cruz 1937

Park, Elmer J (Violet M) lino opr, Santa Cruz Morning Sentinel, h 73 San Juan av

1938
– Source: R. L. Polk & Co. Directory of Santa Cruz 1938

Park, Elmer J (Violet M) lino opr, Santa Cruz Morning Sentinel, h 47 Mora

1940 Apr 4
– Source: U.S. Census, California, City of Santa Cruz, April 4, 1940

47 Mora St. Elmer Park 44 8th-grade education, b. CA, occupation: printer Income: $2,444 yr. Newspaper

Violet 42 H-4 grade education, b. England no occupation

1949 Mar 14
– Source: Santa Cruz Sentinel 1949 Mar 14 6:1 (with her photo)

Photographic

Her business outgrowing the quarters on Pacific avenue after seven years, Vi Park recently bought the Camera Shop at 119 Walnut avenue and moved into the larger space, and is operating under the name of Vi Park Studio and Camera Shop, where she is carrying on her portrait work.
Mrs. Park, whose son, John Whichelow, is manager, carries a complete line of cameras, equipment and supplies, and has built up a large retail and wholesale business in photo finishing.
Under the direction of “Spence” Chamberlain, the framing department has become widely and favorably known in this area.

1950
– Source: R. L. Polk & Co. Directory of Santa Cruz 1950

Whichelow, John L (L Jean) mgr Mrs V M Park h313 Cal

1953 Jan 30
– Source: Santa Cruz Sentinel 1953 Jan 30 8:1 [accompanied by photo]

Sentinel-News Employes On Magazine Cover

[photo from Linotype NEWS, Fall, 1952 Vol. 31, No. 1]

Sentinel-News Shop Foreman Sewall March (left) and Elmer Park, mechanical superintendent, were surprised to find their pictures on the fall issue of the Linotype News, published by the Mergenthaler Linotype company.
The picture was taken last year in the Sentinel-News parking lot when two new Blue Streak linotypes were installed in the plant.
The two machines were sold to the Sentinel-News by Harry V. Tait, executive of the Mergenthaler company. Tait is a well-known former Santa Cruzan.

1956 Mar 25
– Source: Santa Cruz Sentinel 1956 Mar 25 1:4

Sentinel-News Gets New Linotype [accompanied by photo]

Seated at the keyboard of the new model 36 Rangemaster linotype, the latest addition to the type-setting machines used by The Sentinel-News, is Elmer Park, mechanical superintendent of the newspaper. Watching the operation of the machine to the left is Emil (Mike) Hadley, linotype production engineer, who installed the big machine, and watching Park is Sewall March, foreman of The Sentinel-News plant. The Rangemaster is a “mixer” and used primarily for advertising type faces.

1965 Jan 11
– Source: Santa Cruz Sentinel 1965 Jan 11 1:2-3 Obituary

Retired SC Businesswoman
Mrs. Violet Mary Park Dies
Mrs. Violet Mary (Vi) Park, 67, retired Santa Cruz businesswoman, died yesterday at the Community hospital after an extended illness.
Mrs. Park purchased the Mellier Studio in 1942 and later operated the Vi Park Camera shop on Walnut avenue from 1948 until her retirement in 1951, when she turned the shop over to her son, John Whichelow, who still operates the firm.
A native of England, she came to Santa Cruz in 1922. She was a member of the Santa Cruz Soroptimist club. Mrs. Park was highly interested in photographic art for many years. Her husband, Elmer J. Park, has been head machinist, in charge of equipment in The Sentinel’s composing room for many years. The Park residence is at 104 King street.
She is also survived by her son, John L. Whichelow of Santa Cruz; two sisters, Mrs. Katherine Surgey of Los Gatos and Mrs. Gladys Bennie of Riverside and a brother, Thomas D. Fry of Riverside. Also two granddaughters and a grandson.
Services will be conducted at White’s chapel Wednesday afternoon at 2 p.m. with the Rev. Alexander Anderson of the Calvary Episcopal church officiating. Interment in Oakwood Memorial park.

1965 Jan 12
– Source: Santa Cruz Sentinel 1965 Jan 12 7:7 Funeral Notices.

PARK — In Santa Cruz, California, January 10, 1965, Violet Mary Park. Survived by her husband, Elmer J. Park of Santa Cruz; a son, John L. Wichelow [sic] of Santa Cruz; two sisters, Mrs. Katherine Surgey of Los Gatos; Mrs. Gladys Bennie of Riverside; a brother, Thomas D. Fry of Riverside. Also survived by 2 granddaughters, and a grandson. Native of England, aged 67 years. Member of Santa Cruz Soroptimist Club.
Services will be conducted at White’s Chapel, 138 Walnut Ave., Wednesday, January 13 at 2 p.m., with Rev. Alexander Anderson of the Calvary Episcopal Church officiating. Friends are respectfully invited to attend.
Interment in Oakwood Memorial Park. 1-11-9

1965 Jan 13
– Source: Santa Cruz County Recorder’s Office Death Certificates

All data recorded on the Death Certificate confirms what the record above shows. She was identified as a Photographer for 12 years.
The cause of death was Congestive heart failure due to hypertension and coronary heart disease. She also had phlebitis and pulmonary inflation.
The attending physician signing the Death Certificate: Luther Newhall, M.D.

– California Death Index: 1940-1997

Elmer J. Park, b. 10 May 1895, California
Death: 23 August 1969, Santa Clara County

– U.S. Social Security Death Index, 1935-Current

Elmer Park, b. 10 May 1895, California
Death: Aug. 1969, Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, California

1969 Aug 24
– Source: Santa Cruz Sentinel 1969 Aug 24 10:1-2

Elmer Park, Long-Time Sentinel Employe, Dies
Elmer J. Park, 74, retired Sentinel printer and Linotype operator, died Saturday in a Santa Clara hospital. He lived at 104 King street.
He came to Santa Cruz when his father, a railroad man, was sent here to repair the tracks disrupted by the 1906 earthquake. The family like it here and stayed.
His first job with The Sentinel was in 1909 as a carrier for The Morning Sentinel.
Later he worked in the print shop in 1911 and remained with the paper through its various stages of development until his retirement in 1965.
He worked as a printer and Linotype operator and then as a maintenance man for the machines.
He had worked for the paper 54 years and was a member of Santa Cruz Typographical Union No. 589.
Surviving his are a step-son, John L. Whichelow of Santa Cruz; a niece, Mrs. Gertrude M. Foreman of San Mateo, and a nephew, Park Smith of Sonoma.
Services will be conducted at White’s Chapel, 138 Walnut Avenue, Tuesday at 2 p.m. Interment will be in the IOOF Cemetery.

1969 Aug 23
– Source: SANTA CRUZ MEMORIAL PARK CEMETERY (Formerly Santa Cruz IOOF Cemetery) Including Burials in the former Santa Cruz County Cemetery. And the SANTA CRUZ MAUSOLEUM Compiled Records. Santa Cruz: Santa Cruz County Genealogical Society, 2000.

Park, Elmer Joel b. 10 May 1895 d. 23 Aug 1969 74 y b. CA d. San Jose Buried: Block L, Lot 10 unmkd SCMP

Park, Jehu/John Davis d. abt 2 Dec 1939 89 y b. OH
Buried: Block L, Lot 10 unmkd SCMP

Park, Maria Jane d. abt 3 Nov 1927 71 y b. NY NY
Buried: Block L, Lot 10 unmkd SCMP
Park, Orland L [no data]
Buried: Block L, Lot 10 SCMP
Park, Leroy James abt 18 Jul 1916 40 y b. CA Pvt 3 US Art
Buried: Block L, Lot 10 SCMP

1969 Aug 24
– Source: Santa Cruz Sentinel 1969 Aug 24 10:8 White’s Mortuary

PARK – In Santa Cruz, California [sic] August 23, 1969. Elmer J. Park. Survived by a step-son, John L. Wichelow [sic] of Santa Cruz, a niece, Mrs. Gertrude M. Foreman of San Mateo and a nephew, Park Smith of Sonoma. Native of Santa Cruz, Calif., aged 74 years. Member of Santa Cruz Typographical Union No. 589.
Services will be conducted at White’s Chapel, 138 Walnut Avenue, Tuesday, August 26th at 2 p.m. Friends are respectfully invited to attend. Interment in IOOF Cemetery, Santa Cruz. 8-24-201

SERIES I. INVENTORY OF PHOTOGRAPHS (1940s – 1970s)

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a Pdf File of the inventory of photographs in this collection.  This inventory contains detailed descriptions of the photographs and negatives.  The archive curator also has a database file for photographs by dates, descriptions, etc.

Camera Shop final data Alpha order (.pdf)

SERIES II. PHOTOGRAPH PROOFS AND NEGATIVES (1940s TO 1970s)

Thirty-Six (36) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains photograph proofs and/or negatives of patrons of the Camera Shop. These photograph proofs and/or negatives are of individuals, families or groups who went to the Camera Shop for professional photography services. The majority of these photographs are from the 1940s and 1950s, many of the photographs from the 1940s are of military members who may have been residents of Santa Cruz County, stationed in the vicinity, or visiting while on pass or leave. This series is arranged in alphabetical order by last name.

Box 1 (A – Bak)                                Box 2 (Bak – Bets)                Box 3 (Bett – Boy)
Box 4 (Br – By)                                 Box 5 (Ca – Ci)                      Box 6 (Cl – Cres)
Box 7 (Crew – Demos, A.)              Box 8 (Demos, M. – Eh)      Box 9 (Ei – Fis)
Box 10 (Fit – Fug)                            Box 11 (Ful – Gio)                 Box 12 (Gir – Ham)
Box 13 (Han – Hern)                       Box 14 (Hert – Hun)             Box 15 (Hur – Jon)
Box 16 (Jor – Kli)                              Box 17 (Klo – Lem)              Box 18 (Len – Maci)
Box 19 (MacK – Mat)                       Box 20 (Mau – Meh)            Box 21 (Mek – Mis)
Box 22 (Mit – Morta)                       Box 23 (Morti – Net)            Box 24 (Neu – O)
Box 25 (Pa – Pier)                            Box 26 (Piex – Reid)             Box 27 (Reio – Rog)
Box 28 (Roh – Sc)                           Box 29 (Se – Sol)                    Box 30 (Som – Su)
Box 31 (Sw – Tem)                          Box 32 (Ten – Th)                  Box 33 (Ti – Trott)
Box 34 (Trotte – Walb)                  Box 35 (Wald – Williams, Tom)
Box 36 (Williams, Tom P. – Z)

SERIES III. COPIES OF PHOTOGRAPHIC ENVELOPES (1940s TO 1970s)

Five (5) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains copies of the photographic envelopes the proofs and/or negatives were originally stored in. These envelopes contain some identifying information. This material is arranged in alphabetical order.

Box 37 (A – Fug)                  Box 38 (Ful – Mat)               Box 39 (Mau – Sc)
Box 40 (Se – Trott)               Box 41 (Trotte – Z)

SERIES III. EPHEMERA AND CORRESPONDENCE (1940s – 1970s)

One (1) Box, Four (4) Folders

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains ephemera and correspondence from the Camera Shop. There are coupons, receipts, photograph envelopes, and letters from patrons.

Subseries III.A. Coupons (1950s)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains coupons used by the Camera Shop.

• A coupon for making of personalized Christmas cards and envelopes.
• A business card from Moderne Studio, Portrait Photography (on the back is written Mrs. Irene Searles)
• A newspaper clipping coupon for a $2.00 cash deposit for a sitting
• Three (3) coupons from Van’s Super Market, offer expires February 28, 1954
• Three (3) coupons from Economy Drug Store, offer expires February 28, 1954
• Three (3) coupons for Vi Park Studio & Camera Shop for Baby’s First Picture
• Coupon for Vi Park Studio & Camera Shop for Baby’s First Picture (on back is written Mrs. Roger M. Thompson, 415 Clinton St., Santa Cruz. Vickie Susan Thompson, 3 mos. Old)
• Four (4) coupons for Moderne Studio and Camera Shop for Baby’s First Picture
• Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written L.W. Bechtel, 3431 Roland Dr., Phone GR-5-1560. Salesperson – Hill Williams. Issue Date – 7-20-57)
• Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Mrs. Evelyn Berry, 225 Seaside Ave., Phone GA3-8763. Salesperson – Marilyn Allen, #15 Operator. Issue Date – July 15, 1957)
• Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Mr. Albert Bispa, 128 Dufore St., Phone GA3-9193. Salesperson – Marilyn Allen. Issue Date – July 16)
• Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Edna Thompson, 130 Reed Way, Phone GA3-3362)
• Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Salesperson – VP William, Issue Date – 7-19-57)
• Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Mrs. C. Carmean, 36 Hollins Dr., Phone GA3-4297)
• Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Mrs. C.M. Ward, 124 Seaside, Phone GA-3-1592)
• Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Salesperson – VP William. Issue Date – 7-22-57)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

42: 1

Subseries III.B. Receipts (1948 – 1958)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains for various customers for payment for photographs.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

42: 2

Subseries III.C. Photograph Envelopes (1940s – 1970s)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains photograph envelopes used by the Camera Shop. These envelopes may have patrons name, reason for photograph, date and possibly other information. These provide insight into the type of envelopes used by photography studios in the past.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

42: 3

Subseries III.D. Correspondence (1944 – 1951)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains two letters written by Mrs. Bagnall and Mrs. Faris Rogers either confirming an order or something related to an order.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

42: 4