Guide to the Camera Shop Collection (1940s – 1970s) – Contents

SERIES I. INVENTORY OF PHOTOGRAPHS (1940s – 1970s)

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a Pdf File of the inventory of photographs in this collection. This inventory contains detailed descriptions of the photographs and negatives. The archive curator also has a database file for photographs by dates, descriptions, etc.

Camera Shop final data Alpha order (.pdf)

SERIES II. PHOTOGRAPH PROOFS AND NEGATIVES (1940s TO 1970s)

Thirty-Six (36) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains photograph proofs and/or negatives of patrons of the Camera Shop. These photograph proofs and/or negatives are of individuals, families or groups who went to the Camera Shop for professional photography services. The majority of these photographs are from the 1940s and 1950s, many of the photographs from the 1940s are of military members who may have been residents of Santa Cruz County, stationed in the vicinity, or visiting while on pass or leave. This series is arranged in alphabetical order by last name.

Box 1 (A – Bak)                                Box 2 (Bak – Bets)                Box 3 (Bett – Boy)
Box 4 (Br – By)                                 Box 5 (Ca – Ci)                      Box 6 (Cl – Cres)
Box 7 (Crew – Demos, A.)             Box 8 (Demos, M. – Eh)      Box 9 (Ei – Fis)
Box 10 (Fit – Fug)                            Box 11 (Ful – Gio)                 Box 12 (Gir – Ham)
Box 13 (Han – Hern)                       Box 14 (Hert – Hun)             Box 15 (Hur – Jon)
Box 16 (Jor – Kli)                              Box 17 (Klo – Lem)              Box 18 (Len – Maci)
Box 19 (MacK – Mat)                       Box 20 (Mau – Meh)            Box 21 (Mek – Mis)
Box 22 (Mit – Morta)                       Box 23 (Morti – Net)            Box 24 (Neu – O)
Box 25 (Pa – Pier)                            Box 26 (Piex – Reid)             Box 27 (Reio – Rog)
Box 28 (Roh – Sc)                           Box 29 (Se – Sol)                    Box 30 (Som – Su)
Box 31 (Sw – Tem)                          Box 32 (Ten – Th)                  Box 33 (Ti – Trott)
Box 34 (Trotte – Walb)                  Box 35 (Wald – Williams, Tom)
Box 36 (Williams, Tom P. – Z)

SERIES III. COPIES OF PHOTOGRAPHIC ENVELOPES (1940s TO 1970s)

Five (5) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains copies of the photographic envelopes the proofs and/or negatives were originally stored in. These envelopes contain some identifying information. This material is arranged in alphabetical order.

Box 37 (A – Fug) Box 38 (Ful – Mat) Box 39 (Mau – Sc)
Box 40 (Se – Trott) Box 41 (Trotte – Z)

SERIES III. EPHEMERA AND CORRESPONDENCE (1940s – 1970s)

One (1) Box, Four (4) Folders

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains ephemera and correspondence from the Camera Shop. There are coupons, receipts, photograph envelopes, and letters from patrons.

Subseries III.A. Coupons (1950s)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains coupons used by the Camera Shop.

A coupon for making of personalized Christmas cards and envelopes.
A business card from Moderne Studio, Portrait Photography (on the back is written Mrs. Irene Searles)
A newspaper clipping coupon for a $2.00 cash deposit for a sitting
Three (3) coupons from Van’s Super Market, offer expires February 28, 1954
Three (3) coupons from Economy Drug Store, offer expires February 28, 1954
Three (3) coupons for Vi Park Studio & Camera Shop for Baby’s First Picture
Coupon for Vi Park Studio & Camera Shop for Baby’s First Picture (on back is written Mrs. Roger M. Thompson, 415 Clinton St., Santa Cruz. Vickie Susan Thompson, 3 mos. Old)
Four (4) coupons for Moderne Studio and Camera Shop for Baby’s First Picture
Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written L.W. Bechtel, 3431 Roland Dr., Phone GR-5-1560. Salesperson – Hill Williams. Issue Date – 7-20-57)
Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Mrs. Evelyn Berry, 225 Seaside Ave., Phone GA3-8763. Salesperson – Marilyn Allen, #15 Operator. Issue Date – July 15, 1957)
Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Mr. Albert Bispa, 128 Dufore St., Phone GA3-9193. Salesperson – Marilyn Allen. Issue Date – July 16)
Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Edna Thompson, 130 Reed Way, Phone GA3-3362)
Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Salesperson – VP William, Issue Date – 7-19-57)
Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Mrs. C. Carmean, 36 Hollins Dr., Phone GA3-4297)
Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Mrs. C.M. Ward, 124 Seaside, Phone GA-3-1592)
Coupon for “One Beautiful Sepia-Toned Tapistry Finished Photograph” (on back is written Salesperson – VP William. Issue Date – 7-22-57)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

42: 1

Subseries III.B. Receipts (1948 – 1958)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains for various customers for payment for photographs.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

42: 2

Subseries III.C. Photograph Envelopes (1940s – 1970s)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains photograph envelopes used by the Camera Shop. These envelopes may have patrons name, reason for photograph, date and possibly other information. These provide insight into the type of envelopes used by photography studios in the past.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

42: 3

Subseries III.D. Correspondence (1944 – 1951)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains two letters written by Mrs. Bagnall and Mrs. Faris Rogers either confirming an order or something related to an order.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

42: 4