DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Collection Number
86.16.1
Creator
This collection was assembled by Clarence Codiga. It was donated to the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History in 1991 by Mr. and Mrs. George Giannino.
Extent
Number of Containers: One (1) Box
Linear Feet: 0.5 Linear Feet
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
This collection consists of photographs of various operations at the California Powder Works. These photographs were collected by Clarence Cardoga in June 1890. The collection reflects his interest in the operations and people at the California Powder Works.
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Preferred Citation
The California Powder Works Photo Album Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
Process By
G. Gardner
Date Completed
2013
The California Powder Works Photo Album Collection consists of a small photograph album of the California Powder Works operations and employees from June 1890. The photograph album includes 12 photographs of various buildings and people at the California Powder Works.
The California Powder Works was the first explosive powder manufacturing company west of the Rockies. It was incorporated in 1861, began manufacturing in 1864, and ceased operations in 1914. It was located on the San Lorenzo River about 2.5 miles north of the city of Santa Cruz, CA. The California Powder Works was rated as second to none to other operations in the United States and Europe. In 1898 there were a series of explosions that rocked Santa Cruz. These explosions at the powder works killed 13 men and injured 25 others. These also raised public concern about a dangerous operation located near a populated area. With the construction of the Panama Canal and improvement in transportation Dupont concentrated manufacturing operations at his New Jersey plant. The Powder mill facilities were dismantled and property sold in 1924.
Santa Cruz County History – The California Powder Works, http://www.santacruzpl.org/history/articles/11/
Wikipedia – California Powder Works, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Powder_Works
PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM
One (1) Box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the photograph album of Clarence Cardoga from June 1890. The photograph album has olive-green covers with an olive-green tie string. The photographs include workers in various settings. There are photos of various facilities at the powder works including mills, machine shop, packing house and the testing location. (12 x Photos)
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:X
