SERIES I. NEWSLETTERS, AGENDAS, AND OTHER CORRESPONDENCE, 1931-1999 (bulk 1960s-1970s)
Four (4) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains various newsletters from the Santa Cruz High School and other organizations.
This series is divided into three (3) subseries:
Subseries I.A. Santa Cruz High School Alumni Newsletters, 1962-1990
Subseries I.B. Miscellaneous newsletters and event programs
Subseries I.C. Vivian Rostron 1930 University Journal, miscellaneous notes and poetry
Subseries I.D. Letters for Rose Aichberg from Switzerland, 1899 and 1906
SUBSERIES I.A. Santa Cruz High School Alumni Newsletters, 1962-1990
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains high school alumni newsletters. Most of the newsletters contain notes about distinguished alumni around the world. Of particular interest was a survey sent out by the alumni association in 1962 – it provides some insight into how Vivian viewed herself. She answered “It seems quite obvious that I really have never done anything that is of interest to either myself or anyone else.”
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:1 Santa Cruz High School Alumni Newsletters, 1962-1990
SUBSERIES I.B. Miscellaneous newsletters and event programs
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of miscellaneous newsletters and event programs. Of particular note is a Santa Cruz City Council Meeting Agenda for May 8, 1973. Mentions she submitted a written protest to Special Use Permit SUP-72-80 for development of apartment complex. There are also two letters from Edmund G. Brown (1966) requesting and thanking her for her support.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:2 Miscellaneous newsletters and event programs
SUBSERIES I.C. Letters for Rose Aichberg from Switzerland, 1899 and 1906
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of letters to Rose Aichberg from Switzerland.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:3 Letters for Rose Aichberg from Switzerland, 1899 and 1906. They appear to be from a legal firm.
Rose_Letter_1899
Rose_Letter_1905
Rose_Letter_1906
SERIES II. FINANCIAL RECORDS, 1958-1971
Two (2) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains various financial records for both Rose and Vivian Rostron. Includes bank records and retirement pay statements.
This series is divided into two subseries:
Subseries II.A. Financial Records, Rose Rostron, 1962-1970
Subseries II.B. Financial Records, Vivian Rostron, 1958-1971
SUBSERIES II.A. Financial Records, Rose Rostron, 1962-1970
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contain financial records for Rose Rostron. Includes retirement pay statements for her time in public office.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:4 Financial Records, Rose Rostron, 1962-1970
SUBSERIES II.B. Financial Records, Vivian Rostron, 1958-1971
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contain financial records for Vivian Rostron. Includes her bank statements and hand written notes for bills paid. Of particular note is a letter from the US Post Office – there had apparently been a mixup in her order for stamps, she had requested a book and received a roll. Noticing the difference she contacted the post office for cost and sent them an additional payment.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:5 Financial Records, Vivian Rostron, 1958-1971
SERIES III. FAMILY RECORDS, 1928-1973
Seven (7) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the daily journals for Vivian Rostron. Also included are newspaper clippings collected by Vivian.
This series is divided into seven (7) subseries:
Subseries III.A. Notes on important days in Vivian’s life, 1928-1952
Subseries III.B. Two notebook journals, 1925 & 1927
Subseries III.C. Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1928-1932
Subseries III.D. Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1933-1937
Subseries III.E. Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1938-1942
Subseries III.F. Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1952
Subseries III.G. Newspaper clippings, 1955-1973
SUBSERIES III.A. Notes on important days in Vivian’s life, 1928-1952
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content
This subseries contains notes on important days in Vivian’s life. They appear to have been written after the fact but unsure how long. They also appear to have greater detail than her journals. For example, she lists the dates she had driving lessons.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:1 Notes on Important Dates in Vivian’s life, 1928-1952
SUBSERIES III.B. Two notebook journals, 1925 & 1927
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content
This subseries contains two notebook journals. The one for 1925 did not notice the month however it appears to cover a camping trip. The notebook for 1927 covers the months of July and August. There are dates that relate to outings with her mother or Marcella and other dates that include camping, dining, or shopping.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:2 Two notebook journals, 1925 & 1927
SUBSERIES III.C. Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1928-1932
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the daily journal for Vivian Rostron. She recorded her daily activities and thoughts, primarily includes notes on cleaning, doing the dishes, or going to school. She does include a note on a small earthquake on March 1, 1928.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:3 Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1928-1932
SUBSERIES III.D. Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1933-1937
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the daily journal for Vivian Rostron. She recorded her daily activities and thoughts. Mentions on 25 August 1936 that her mother won election again.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:4 Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1933-1937
SUBSERIES III.E. Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1938-1942
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the daily journal for Vivian Rostron. She recorded her daily activities and thoughts. Mentions on September 3, 1939 “War – England” and for December 1941 war and blackout.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:5 Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1938-1942
SUBSERIES III.F. Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1952
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the daily journal for Vivian Rostron. She recorded her daily activities and thoughts.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:6 Vivian Rostron Daily Journal, 1952
SUBSERIES III.G. Newspaper clippings, 1955-1973
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains newspaper clippings related to the family, family interests, or to Santa Cruz history. The majority of the clippings are health related advertisement or articles concerning health.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:7 Newspaper clippings, 1955-1973
SERIES IV. EPHEMERA AND MEMORABILIA
One (1) Box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains ephemera and memorabilia related to family history and the Santa Cruz area. Of particular note is a partially used World War II ration book, a reelect Rose Rostron for supervisor business card, and business cards and stationary from various local businesses.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
3:X Ephemera and memorabilia
SERIES V. PHOTOGRAPHS
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains Vivian Rostron’s photographs. It primarily includes individual and group photos of family and friends. There are also two landscape photos. (12 photos)
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4:1 Photographs
SERIES VI. CORRESPONDENCE, 1932-1974
Eight (8) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the outgoing and incoming correspondence for Vivian Rostron.
This series is divided into six (6) subseries:
Subseries VI.A. Outgoing correspondence, 1963-1974
Subseries VI.B. Incoming correspondence from Phil Cardoga(?), 1973
Subseries VI.C. Incoming correspondence from Margaret Lhacheim(?), 1963-1973
Subseries VI.D. Incoming correspondence from Kitty Delmar, 1959-1977
Subseries VI.E. Incoming correspondence from Jack Moxom
Subseries VI.F. Miscellaneous incoming correspondence, 1932-1972
SUBSERIES VI.A. Outgoing Correspondence, 1963-1974
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains letters or notes to various individuals. Of particular note is a letter Vivian wrote to a Mrs. Koch scolding her about a speech she made to the League of Women’s Voters. In her speech, Mrs. Koch stated a Hulda Mclean was the only woman to be elected to the county board of supervisors. Vivian corrected her as to the facts. There were also letters to Assemblyman Murphy and Senator Grumsky concerning budget cuts to the State Mental Health program.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4:2-3 Outgoing correspondence, 1963-1974
SUBSERIES VI.B. Incoming Correspondence from Phil Cardoga(?), 1973
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains letters and cards from Phil Cardoga(?). From some of the statements in the letters he appears to have been a prior Santa Cruz resident. He may have even gone to high school with Vivian.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4:4 Incoming correspondence from Phil Cardoga(?), 1973
SUBSERIES VI.C. Incoming Correspondence from Margaret Lhocheim(?), 1963-1973
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains letters and cards from Margaret Lhocheim(?). Believe she is the same lady as identified in the photo folder. From statements in the letters Vivian and her may have met at Agnew State Hospital.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4:5 Incoming correspondence from Margaret Lhocheim, 1963-1973
SUBSERIES VI.D. Incoming correspondence from Kitty Delmar, 1959-1977
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains letters and cards from a Kitty Delmar of San Jose. She appears to have been a friend of the family. In one of her letters she complained about the glut of teachers in the San Francisco bay area, at least 10 applicants for every position.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4:6 Incoming correspondence from Kitty Delmar, 1959-1977
SUBSERIES VI.E. Incoming Correspondence from Jack Moxom
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains letters from Jack Moxom. Jack Moxom was a WPA Artist out of San Francisco. One of his sculptures is displayed at Golden Gate Park. He also assisted with the mural at San Francisco State College (the library of the Frederic Burk Training School). He was very open in his letters to Vivian discussing his family, art, health, thoughts, and other subjects. One of his letters mentions he is recovering from a bad attack of pessimism. The second folder contains photographs and original pencil drawings he included in his letters to Vivian (8 photos and 10 drawings).
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4:7-8 Incoming correspondence from Jack Moxom
SUBSERIES VI.F. Miscellaneous Incoming Correspondence, 1932-1972
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains letters and cards from various individuals. Of particular note are letters from several residents at Agnew State Hospital thanking Vivian for the cake she left for them.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4:9 Miscellaneous Incoming Correspondence
SERIES VII. POETRY
Five (5) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains poems Vivian wrote or was in progress of writing. She also collected poems from various writers.
This series is divided into five (5) subseries:
Subseries VII.A. Personal notes.
Subseries VII.B. Poems listed as “Ideas (new) to be worked out”
Subseries VII.C. Poems listed as “Work in progress”
Subseries VII.D. Poems listed as “Poems that didn’t work out”
Subseries VII.E. Poems from other writers collected by Vivian
SUBSERIES VII.A. Personal notes
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains various personal notes by Vivian.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
5:1 Personal notes
SUBSERIES VII.B. Poems listed as “Ideas (new) to be worked out”
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains poems written by Vivian. She maintained them in a folder labeled as “Ideas (new) to be worked out.”
Box ID#: Folder ID#
5:2 Poems listed as “Ideas (new) to be worked out”
SUBSERIES VII.C. Poems listed as “Work in progress”
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains poems written by Vivian. She maintained them in a folder labeled as “Work in Progress.”
Box ID#: Folder ID#
5:3 Poems listed as “Work in progress”
SUBSERIES VII.D. Poems listed as “Poems that didn’t work out”
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains poems written by Vivian. She maintained them in a folder labeled as “Poems that didn’t work out.”
Box ID#: Folder ID#
5:4 Poems listed as “Poems that didn’t work out”
SUBSERIES VII.E. Poems from other writers collected by Vivian
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains poems collected by Vivian. They were written by various writers. She maintained them in a folder labeled as “Poems I would like to have written myself.”
Box ID#: Folder ID#
5:5 Poems from other writers collected by Vivian
