DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Accession Number
1991.29.41
Creator
This collection was the property of Edith Fikes and was likely created by her. The album was donated by her sons, Tim and Bobbie Fikes, after she passed away in 1991.
Extent
Number of Containers: One (1) Box
Linear Feet: approx. 1.5 Linear Feet
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
This collection consists of photos taken of Victorian Houses throughout Santa Cruz County in the 1960’s-1970’s. The photos were likely taken by Edith Fikes of Felton, CA and are compiled in a 11″ x 14″ pink photo album. There are approximately one-hundred and forty-three (143) photos in this collection appearing on about twenty-two double-side pages with an average of six photos per page. Most photos have descriptive captions identifying the house featured in each photo as well as labels sorting the photos into categories based on locations. The album contains photos of houses such as the Rennie House on Cliff Street and the Fikes’ own home on 52 Sunset Ave.
Location
Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History, Santa Cruz, CA
Preferred Citation
The Victorian Houses Photo Album Collection, Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
Process By
Renata McRee
Date Completed
2014
Edith Fikes was a Felton resident for many years. She opened the Felton library and worked there as a librarian. She was also a pilot when she was younger, and as female pilots were unusual her uniform was offered by her sons to the Smithsonian. She was survived by sons Tim and Bobbie Fikes of Felton, CA. After Edith Fike’s passing in 1991 her sons donated much of her ephemera to the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History. The donated ephemera consists of many photos, newspapers, plaques and letters, and writings of W.S. Rogers editor of the Mountain Echo, as well as a lovely photo album of Victorian Houses taken in the 1960’s and 1970’s. The album includes a photo of the Fikes’Home located on 52 Sunset Ave (Citation S.C. MAH Deed of Gift).
SERIES I. ALBUM
One (1) Box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of one (1) large dusty pink photo album. Inside are approx. one-hundred and forty-three photos (143) of Victorian Houses taken in areas of Santa Cruz County during the 1960’s and 1970’s. Most of the photos have labels identifying the name of the house and/or street the house in the photo is on. The photos appear to be sorted into categories with labels based on locations. These labels include: “West Cliff Drive”, “Beach Hill” and “Ocean View”, “Mission Hill”, “Down Town”, “Walnut Ave.” and “Eastside and Seabright”. Some houses in the album include: “Lynch House, Old Hanley Hospital”, “Fikes Home 52 Sunset Ave.”, Tvietmoe Almar Ave. on West Cliff Drive. Some houses of Beach Hill include: “Rennie House-Cliff Street”, “Palais Monte Carlo-3rd St.” and “Hotel McCray”.
BOX ID#:
Box 1
