SERIES I. PHOTOGRAPHS (1846-1960s)
Three (3) Folders and One (1) Volume
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains photographs of the Tross, Adams, and Jenne families. It includes portraits of family members, and individual and group snapshots of family, friends, and colleagues. The photos were taken primarily in Bonny Doon, Felton, and Santa Cruz. Although some photo reproductions are included, most are black and white prints in good to excellent condition.
This series is divided into three (3) subseries:
Subseries I.A. Trotts Family Photographs, ca. 1846, 1905-1960s
Subseries I.B. Adams Family Photographs, 1905-1914
Subseries I.C. Jenne Family Photographs, mid to late 1800s
SUBSERIES I.A. Trotts Family Photographs, 1846-1960s (bulk 1905-1926)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains Trotts family portraits, and snapshots of family, friends, and colleagues, taken primarily in Felton and Santa Cruz. Of special note are a photograph of William and mamie Trotts on the front porch of the Felton farmhouse they built, which is now 5869 Hillside Drive, and a photo of Vic Trotts as a player with the Henry Cowell baseball team, the Lime Burners, in 1913. All team members are identified. Thus subseries contains 36 photographs and two oversized photographs housed separately: the 404 High Street house, at Storey and Davis (Escalona Drive) Streets, ca. 1910 (now replaced by apartments) and the Lime Burners baseball team.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:1 Trotts Family Photographs, 1846-1960s (bulk 1905-1926)
3:X Oversize Photos: 404 High Street house and the Lime Burners
SUBSERIES I.B. Adams Family Photographs, 1905-1914
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains Adams family portraits and snapshots of family and friends, taken primarily in Bonny Doon and Santa Cruz. Of particular note are a photo of Phelps Ray Adams on horseback with his dog on his lap at Last Chance, Waddell Beach, and a photo of Ruth (Adams) Trotts on an abalone excursion at the beach in 1914. This subseries contains nine (9) photos and an oversized photo of Everett Adams and the I.O.O.F Drill Team, housed separately.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:2 Adams Family Photographs, 1905-1914
3:X Oversize Photo: Everett Adams and the I.O.O.F Drill Team
SUBSERIES I.C. Jenne Family Photographs, mid to late 1800s
One (1) Folder and One (1) Volume
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains a photograph album with 34 nineteenth- century Jenne family portraits, all unidentified. Some are by Santa Cruz photographers, such as McKean and Ort, Webb, and Godfrey. This series also includes a broken glass plate photo of Ida and Ada Jenne, as toddlers, ca. 1860s.
Note: Bound in the back of the Jenne family bible are an additional seven (7) family portraits, including photos of Emma (Jenne) Adams Ormund D. Jenne, and Emily Maria (Sawyer) Jenne.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
3:X Photo of twins, Ida and Ada Jenne, ca. 1860s
X:X Photo album
SERIES II. CORRESPONDENCE 1908-1980 (bulk 1908-1920)
Five (5) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the collected correspondence received by several family members. The bulk of the correspondence was received by Mrs. Williams Trotts (Mary Catherine (Bernstein), better known as “Mamie”) some of which was also addressed to her husband, William. Also included are letters received by Rev. Phelps R. Adams and Ruth (Adams) Trotts.
This series is divided into three (3) subseries:
Subseries II.A. Letter to Rev. Phelps R. Adams
Subseries II.B. Letters to Ruth (Adams) Trotts
Subseries II.C. Correspondence to Mamie and/or William Trotts
SUBSERIES II.A. Letter to Rev. Phelps R. Adams, 1930
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This is a single letter written to rev. Phelps R. Adams at his home on Caledonia Street in Santa Cruz by his brother James W. Adams in Los Angeles as both were approaching death. The letter acknowledges that they will not meet again until they meet in “the knigdom.”
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:1 Letter to Rev. Phelps R. Adams, 1930
SUBSERIES II.B. Letters to Ruth (Adams) Trotts 1973, 1980
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of two letters. The first (1973) is a letter to Ruth from M. Adams in Davenport which contains an excerpt from the Adams genealogy book, tracing their lineage back to the end of the 13th Century, and making the connection to the John Adams, and John Quincy Adams family. The second letter (1980) is from Miriam Karlson of Lafayette, CA and shares information about the death and memorial service of her mother, Ada Alice Kelly. Other family news is also included.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:5 Letters to Ruth (Adams) Trotts 1973, 1980
SUBSERIES II.C. Correspondence to Mamie and/or William Trotts 1907-1930
Three (3) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
Of particular interest is a series of seven (7) letters written by George and Victor Trotts to their parents in 1919 and 1920 as they explored their post WWI job options and travels in the western states. Also of interest is a chatty and charming 1907 letter from William, who was spending time at the Fair in Hanford, Kings County, CA, to Mamie back at home in Felton, and two summer vacation letters from grandchildren, Maybelle and Lois Quistorf, who wrote in 1930 from the Manzanita Lodge in Doyles Springs, Springville, CA. The subseries also includes cards, announcements, and telegrams. Also, noteworthy is a 1919 congratulatory letter to Mamie from Mrs. W.H. Vlock, Woman Director of Food Conservation for Santa Cruz County during the war.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:6 Family letters to Mamie and/or William Trotts, 1907-1930
2:7 Family cards and telegrams to Mamie and/or William Trotts, 1907-1930
2:8 Other Correspondence to Mamie and/or William Trotts, 1907-1930
2:X Christmas cards, birth notices, and wedding invitations. Also a map of Hong Kong and vicinity in 1897.
SERIES III. REAL ESTATE RECORDS, 1886-1932
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains records of real estate transactions in Santa Cruz, Felton, Bonny Doon, and the Swanton area which several family members participated in. Included are copies and original documents, such as a Declaration of Homestead by Alma Hale Caldwell, notarized in 1913, an ownership trail for what later became the 404 High Street residence of the Adams/Trotts family, the Adams’ Bonny Doon property, and a copy of the land grant letter from F.A. Hihn to William Trotts for Rancho Zayante land in San Lorenzo Township, dated 1890.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:9 Real Estate Records, 1886-1932
SERIES IV. FAMILY RECORDS, 1864-1977
Three (3) Folders and three (3) Volumes
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains copies and originals of family documents, including genealogical information, and newspaper clippings. Also included are two family bibles, and an Illinois historical encyclopedia.
This series is divided into five (5) subseries:
Subseries IV.A. Certificates and Family Documents, 1864-1940
Subseries IV.B. Genealogies
Subseries IV.C. News Clippings, 1881-1986
Subseries IV.D. Family Bibles
Subseries IV.E. Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County
SUBSERIES IV.A. Certificates and Family Documents, 1864-1940
Three (3) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains originals and copies of certificates, awards, and other documentation relating to school, military, pension, naturalization, memberships, activities, etc. of Trotts and Adams family members. Of particular interest are the account book of the Felton Water Company, 1912-1918, and the Final Account, Report, and Petition of Distribution for the estate of Everett W. Adams, 1940. Also of note are copies of student and visitor records from Ocean View School in Bonny Doon, 1935, when Blanche Adams was in the 9th grade, and O.D. Jenne, Miss Grace Adams, and the Rev. P.R. Adams were among the visitors.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:10 Certificates and Family Documents: Adams 1864-1940
2:11 Certificates and Family Documents: Wm. and Mamie Trotts 1884-1934
2:12 Certificates and Family Documents: Ruth (Adams), Victor, and George Tabor Trotts 1915-1977
SUBSERIES IV.B. Genealogy
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains pedigree charts and genealogical information related to Jenne, Trotts, Adams, and Sawyer families. (Ruth Adams Trotts’ maternal grandmother was Emily Maria Sawyer). Some of this information was copied from the Sawyer, Kelly, and Jenne family bibles.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:13 Genealogies
SUBSERIES IV.C. Newspaper Clippings, 1881-1986
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains news clippings related to the family, family interests, or to Santa Cruz history. Of particular note is an interview with Ruth (Adams) Trotts by Bill Kirkham in the Valley Press, 1986, in which she discusses, among other things, some history about “the little white church on the hill” in Felton.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:14 News Clippings, 1881-1986
SUBSERIES IV.D. Family Bibles
Two (2) Volumes
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains two family bibles: The Illustrated Polyglot Family Bible. 1872. H.S. Goodspeed and Co.: New York. “O.D. and E.M. Jenne” is engraved on the cover. The bible has bound in genealogical information: marriages, births,, and deaths ca. 1798-ca. 1983, related to Jenne, Kelly, and Adams family members (pg 117). Also bound in the back of the bible are seven (7) family portraits, with subjects identified, in dilapidated cardboard frames. The binding and some of the pages are in poor condition. The Holy Bible. 1846. Luther Roby: New Hampshire. Handwritten on the inside cover is the inscription “Alice A. (Kelly) Conrad to Ruth Adams Trotts, June 12, 1976.” Bound in the bible is genealogical information on the Sawyer, Jenne, Kelly, and Trotts families (page 97 of the Apocrypha, approximately 2/3 of the way through the book).
Box ID#: Folder ID#
X:X <i>The Illustrated Polyglot Family Bible</i> or “Jenne Family Bible”
1:X <i>The Holy Bible</i> or “Sawyer Family Bible” 1846
SUBSERIES IV.E. Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County
One (1) Volume
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County. 1899. Munsell Publishing Co.: Chicago. This book contains biographical information on the Adams family.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
X:X Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County. 1899
SERIES V. EPHEMERA AND MEMORABILIA
One (1) Box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains ephemera and memorabilia related to family history and the Santa Cruz area, including an autograph album belonging to Everett Adams with autographs of Mr. Chestnutwood and students of Chestnutwood Business College, and a 1915 Santa Cruz High School Trident year book, when Victor Trotts and Glen and Ruth Adams were students (housed separately).
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:15
3:X
