Santa Cruz MAH Online Collections Database

The Museum of Art and History (MAH) authorizes the use of the Online Collections, under the same Terms and Conditions as the physical collections. The terms and conditions include, but are not limited to, existing conditions of loan or protection of copyright, within the limitations of the Mission Statement for MAH as follows: The Museum of Art & History is a non-profit educational institution with a mission to bring people together through art and local history to explore our diverse cultures.

The MAH is pleased to provide the items to the public for research, educational, and personal use.

User assumes all responsibility for questions of copyright and invasion of privacy that may arise from the use of materials.

Credit should be given as follows: Courtesy of the Museum of Art & History @ The McPherson Center, Santa Cruz, California

Content owned by the MAH is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-Share Alike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

The MAH welcomes and encourages members of the community to contribute tags, context, and comments on our digital objects and archival descriptions. These contributions enhance search capabilities and improve access to the records.

Examples include:

• Identifying objects, people, events, topics, locations, or actions represented visually or described in the text of a record
• Telling a personal story related to an item
• Providing biographical information about people represented in the collection.

Contribute via the “Submit Feedback” button on an individual record or by emailing archives@santacruzmah.org. All submissions will be reviewed by Archives staff before being published.

If you wish to contribute, you agree to the following terms:

• You will not add comments or tags that contain abusive, vulgar, offensive, threatening or harassing language; personal attacks of any kind; or offensive terms that target specific individuals or groups. If a historical document contains such language, it should be transcribed accurately.
• The MAH will not post comments that promote services or products, or that promote or oppose any political party, person campaigning for elected office, or any ballot proposition, unless these political promotions or oppositions are part of the historical documents.
• The MAH will not post contributions with personally identifiable information not related to the historical document such as social security numbers, addresses, and telephone numbers. If a document contains archival or historical personally identifiable information, it may be transcribed. Also, the names of individuals identified in photographs and general geographic information, such as where the photo was taken, are permitted.
• The MAH will not post gratuitous links to sites viewed as spam.
• The MAH does not discriminate against any views, but reserves the right not to post content that does not adhere to these standards.
• If you think any of the information in the Catalog is subject to a valid copyright claim, please contact us at archives@santacruzmah.org

Adapted from NARA’s Citizen Contribution Policy