DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Title
Guide to the Mattei Family Photo Album Collection (1900s – 1930s)
Collection Number
2007H.1
Creator
This collection was assembled by the Mattei Family. It was donated to the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History in 2006 by Judith Steen.
Extent
Number of Containers: 1 Box
Linear Feet: 0.5 Linear Feet
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
Pasqual Sonognini (1846-1904) was born in Sonogno, Ticino, Switzerland. He married Theresa (Teresina) Davico (1873-1941) in Santa Cruz, in 1890. She was born in Gordola, Ticino, Switzerland. They lived in Laurel Grove, California, which was later renamed Swanton. Pasqual was the first postmaster of Laurel Grove. Pasqual and Theresa owned and operated the Laurel Grove Inn. They had three children, Sylvester (1891-1962), Angelina “Lena” (1893-1985), and Elvezia (1896-1966). In 1904 a forest fire swept through Swanton, Bonny Doon, and Boulder Creek. Pasqual died while attempting to fight the fire, he drowned in a Big Creek Lighting and Power Company water flume possibly trying to escape the flames. His widow, Theresa, became the new postmaster for Laurel Grove. She married Riccardo “Richard” Mattei (1878-1932) in 1906. He was an immigrant from Cevio, Ticino, Switzerland. They had three children, Lillie Amelia (1908-1995) and Marguarita “Rita” (1908-1987) who were twins, and Constance (1912-1986). Lillie Mattei married John Lewis “Jack” Chiorini. The photo albums contain approximately 200 images of the Mattei family, friends, neighbors in the Swanton, Scotts Creek, and Mill Creek area.
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Preferred Citation
The Mattei Family Photo Album Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
Process By
G. Gardner
Date Completed
2013
This collection consists primarily of photographs of the Mattei family, friends, and neighbors (1900s-1930s). There are photos related to family life, interests, pursuits, and livelihoods from the early 1900s. This collection contains materials of family history and events and of locations primarily in the Swanton and Laurel Grove area. These photographs were collected from about 1900 to the 1930s. The collection primarily reflects the Mattei Family’s interests and livelihoods.
Series I: Photographs (1900s-1930s)
Series II: Photograph Album (1900s-1930s)
Series III: Photograph Album (1900s-1930s)
SERIES I. PHOTOGRAPHS (1900s-1930s)
One (1) Envelope
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains photographs collected by the Mattei Family. There is one photograph of the Laurel Grove Inn and two picture postcards of a cheesemaking shop. (3 x Photographs)
Box ID#/Folder ID#
Box 1: Envelope 1
SERIES II. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1900s-1930s)
One (1) Envelope
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains a photograph album collected and saved by the Mattei Family. This album is black, approximately 7” x 10”. The cover is embossed in white with “Snapshots.” There are photographs of the Mattei Family, friends, and neighbors mainly in the Swanton, Scotts Creek, and Mill Creek area. There are photographs of the lumber industry, railroad, plus many others of the family. (148 x Photographs)
Box ID#/Folder ID#
Box 1, Envelope 2
SERIES III. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (1900s-1930s)
One (1) Envelope
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains a photograph album collected and saved by the Mattei Family. This album is black, approximately 7” x 10”. The cover is embossed in brown with “Snapshots.” There are photographs of the Mattei Family, friends, and neighbors mainly in the Laurel Grove and Swanton area. There are photographs of the Laurel Grove Inn, the lumber industry, the railroad, plus many others of the family. (57 x Photographs)
Box ID#/Folder ID#
Box 1, Envelope 3
