DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Collection Number
86.1.20
Creator
This collection was assembled and created by Warren Baldwin.
Extent
Number of Containers: Two (2) Boxes
Linear Feet: One (1) Linear Foot
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
This collection consists of two hand-tooled photograph albums plus loose photographs. One album is 9” x 13” and has a thistle design on the cover. The cover and pages are in good shape. This album primarily contains photographs of the Big Creek area, West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz Beach, Pogonip, and the family trip to Alaska. The other album is 9” x 13” and has a ribbon and bows design on the cover. The cover is worn and fading, the pages are in good shape. This album primarily contains photographs of Santa Cruz, Santa Barbara, and the Santa Cruz Mountains. The photographs in this collection are of friends, family, places and events of Warren Baldwin.
Warren Baldwin was born in 1903 in San Francisco. He moved to Santa Cruz and lived here for more than 60 years before he died on March 1, 1984. He retired from the Santa Cruz City Water Department after 40 years of service. He was a member of the Calvary Episcopal Church, the Santa Cruz Bird Club, and the Santa Cruz Historical Society.
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Preferred Citation
The Warren Baldwin Photograph Albums Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
Process By
G. Gardner
Date Completed
2014
SERIES I. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (circa 1900)
One (1) Box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains a suede covered photograph album. This album is 9” x 13”. It has a hand tooled design of a thistle on the cover. The cover and interior pages are in good condition. The photographs in this album are of friends, family, places or events visited by Warren Baldwin or family. There are photographs of the Big Creek area, along West Cliff Drive, the San Lorenzo River, and other sites in and out of the county. There are also a group of photographs of the Pong Fang Family in Santa Cruz. (159 photos)
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1
SERIES II. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (circa 1890 – circa 1920)
One (1) Box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains a suede covered photograph album. The album is 9” x 13”. It has a hand tooled design of bows and ribbons on the front and back cover. The cover is in fair condition, it is worn and some of the suede is peeling. The interior pages are in good condition, many of the pages are empty. The photographs in this album are of friends, family, places, or events visited by Warren Baldwin or family. There are photographs of the Aiken Ranch in the Santa Cruz Mountains. There are also photographs of leading members of the Santa Cruz community including Episcopal Minister Wilkinson, Reverend Albert Kinnon, and Pong Fang (a leading member of the local Chinese community). (200 photos)
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2
SERIES III. LOOSE PHOTOGRAPHS (early 1900s)
One (1) Envelope
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains loose photographs. These photographs are in good condition. These photographs were taken or collected by Warren Baldwin. They depict friends, family, places, or vents visited by Warren Baldwin. There are photographs of road repair work along Pacific Avenue. (40 photos)
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2: 1
