Guide to the Vera McKenna Clayton Scrapbook Collection (1925 – 1952)

Vera McKenna Clayton (1896—1978) was a prominent and popular piano teacher active in Santa Cruz during the mind-1920’s to 1950’s.  Vera McKenna Clayton was born in Oakland, and later moved to Reno, Nev. With her mother Nancy Laughton McKenna (1871-1940) and sister Melba McKenna (1904-1989) Vera moved to Reno, Nevada after the death of her father James McKenna (1870-1909). In 1921 Vera wed Donald Clayton, and in 1923 Vera, her mother, and sister were in Santa Cruz where Vera began giving piano lessons. Vera was also skilled on the concert organ, having had one organ and two pianos in her Santa Cruz home (S.C. MAH) Once in Santa Cruz, Vera M, Clayton became involved in the community through music and also her involvement in local clubs. Just four years after moving to Santa Cruz Vera became President of the Santa Cruz Women’s Club (also known as Saturday Afternoon Club), and became chair of County Federation of Women’s clubs in music ( 1928 newspaper clipping from Vera’s scrapbook, source unknown). Vera was also an organist and director for the First Methodist Episcopal Church as evidence by her many concert programs and was director of the choir at the church of whom her sister was a member. Vera M. Clayton also was accompanist for many Santa Cruz organizations such as the Santa Cruz Male Chorus, Kiwanis, Exchange and High Service Clubs, the Elks Lodge, and the Monday Musical Club, which Vera’s numerous newspaper clippings and programs attest to kept within her scrapbooks. She was also a composer, her first composition having been composed around 1928  for the grand opening of the Spanish Gardens at Casa del Rey, and the Spanish influenced melody entitled “Senorita Mia” was much praised in a 1928 article preserved by Vera in one of her many scrapbooks (source unknown). During World War II Vera M. Clayton preserved many War Ration Books, stamps, and newspaper clippings on the injured and wounded in her scrapbooks while still continuing her many recitals in Santa Cruz until leaving briefly in the 1940’s to become a clerk typist in San Francisco (1944 newspaper clipping source unknown). She lived until 1978.

SERIES I. STUDIO SCRAPBOOK
SERIES II. SCRAPBOOK 1932-1937
SERIES III. SCRAPBOOKS 1936-37 AND 1925-27

Subseries III.A. Scrapbook 1936-37
Subseries III.B. Scrapbook 1925-27
Subseries III.C. Cards

SERIES IV. SCRABOOK 1951-52
SERIES V.  SCRAPBOOK 1943-1944

Subseries V.A. Scrapbook 1943-1944
Subseries V.B. Programs and Newspaper Articles

SERIES VI. SCRAPBOOKS 1945

Subseries VI.A. Scrapbook Jan.1945-Aug.1945
Subseries VI.B. Scrapbook Aug.1945-Dec.1945
Subseries VI.C. Programs and Letters

SERIES VII. SCRAPBOOK 1925-1935

Subseries VII.A. Scrapbook 1929—1931
Subseries VII.B. Scrapbook 1925-1928
Subseries VII.C. War Rations
Subseries VII.D. Scrapbook 1932-1935

SERIES VIII. SCRAPBOOK 1950

Subseries VIII.A. Scrapbook May 1950-Dec.1950
Subseries VIII.B. Newspaper Clippings

SERIES IX. SCRAPBOOK 1940-41

Subseries IX.A. Scrapbook 1940-41
Subseries IX.B. Programs

SERIES I. STUDIO SCRAPBOOK

One (1) scrapbook

Series Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one 10” x 16” black and white polka dot Scrapbook with ephemera dating from1937-39.  The Scrapbook features multicolored letters forming the word “Scrapbook” along with handwritten notes of  “Studio Scrapbook” Oct. 20^th-1939 to May 1939. The scrapbook contains newspaper clippings and photos primarily of or about prominent pianists or other musicians, and opera brochures, personal letters  from friends, pupils, and employers, and telegrams about recitals or piano lessons, Theatre programs and brochures, recital programs. Other items in this Scrapbook consist of an interesting Constitution for the 1936-7 Music Teacher’s Association of Santa Cruz County written by Vera Clayton, Christmas cards, birthday Cards from Vera’s husband and from friends and pupils,  prgrams from Concerts given by Vera’s pupils, newspaper clippings from 1938 relating to The Juniors of the McKenna Clayton Piano Studio, an interesting 1938 newspaper clipping about a nine year old piano prodigy and one also from 1938 about a five year old girl who could imitate bird calls, and much more.

Box ID#:

1

SERIES II. SCRAPBOOK 1932-1937

One (1) Scrapbook

Series Scope and Content Summary:

This series consists of one (1) 10”x 16” black and white polka dot scrapbook with multi-colored letters spelling the word “Scrapbook”. This scrapbook bears dates of 1932-1937 handwritten on the cover, as well as two (2) magazine clippings of illustrations of children. One is of a baby with a bottle in the left corner of the scrapbook cover and the other is in the lower right of a child with paints and palette. Also on the cover is a poem entitled “Mould Them Wisely”. This scrapbook contains several articles from a publication entitled “The Knave Section” of the Editorial and Editorial Features of the Oakland Tribune dated 1931. These articles are primarily about musicians, writers such as Edgar Allen Poe, and one is about Society of California Pioneers Museum. There are also newspaper clippings from the Oakland Tribune and other sources (unidentified) from 1937 about visiting Quartets in Oakland and about plays and Quartets visiting the University of California. There are many newspaper clippings and advertisements for dancers, and musicians in this scrapbook, such as a clipping (source unknown) of Agnes Boone, dancer and great granddaughter of Daniel Boone, as well as Michio ITO internationally famous dancer and solo dance tour, a 1933 advertisement. There are many other newspaper clippings advertising musicians and dancers, recital programs, and music course class and faculty brochures.

Box ID#:

2

SERIES III. SCRAPBOOKS 1936-37 AND 1925-27

Two (2) Scrapbooks, One (1) Envelope

Series Scope and Content Summary:

This series consists of one (1) 10” x 16” scrapbook bound with a black and red plaid paper cover with the word “Scraps” in yellow and green and two blue and yellow Scotty dogs on the cover.  This Scrapbook covers the date range of 1936-37. This series also contains a 10” x 13” black bound scrapbook with violets on the cover that spans the dates of 1925-27. Also in this subseries is  a 10”x10” Manila envelope filled with Christmas cards from the 1950’s, letters dated 1951 from friends and pupils, programs (4) for a 19521 recital given by Melba McKenna and Vera McKenna Clayton, and nine (9) newspaper clippings from the S.C. Sentinel dated 1951.

This series is divided into three subseries:

Subseries III.A. Scrapbook 1936-37
Subseries III.B. Scrapbook 1925-27
Subseries III.C. Cards

SUBSERIES III.A. SCRAPBOOK 1936-37

One (1) Scrapbook

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one (1) 10” x 16” scrapbook bound with a black and red plaid paper cover with the word “Scraps” in yellow and green and two blue and yellow Scotty dogs on the cover.  This Scrapbook covers the date range of 1936-37.   This scrapbook contains newspaper clippings dated 1936 about concerts, musicians, and programs from Santa Cruz High School 1936 Band Concerts and commencement exercises, and an interesting newspaper clipping from 1936 Oakland Tribune about an eight year old piano prodigy deemed “the second Mozart” to name a few items.

Box ID#

3

SUBSERIES III.B. SCRAPBOOK 1925-27

One (1) Scrapbook

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of a 10” x 13” black bound scrapbook with violets on the cover that spans the dates of 1925-27. This scrapbook contains a program for Kajetan Attl Solo Harpist, Newspaper clippings (no source) dated 1925 about Vera McKenna Clayton’s organ and piano performances and other musicians, some clippings on Saturday Afternoon Club meetings (no date), recital programs, a newspaper clipping stating Vera Clayton was elected President of the Saturday Afternoon club (no date), ribbons from C.F.W.C. State Convention, to name a few items.

Box ID#

3

SUBSERIES III.C. CARDS

One (1) Envelope

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of an approx.10”x10”Manila envelope filled with Christmas cards from the 1950’s, letters dated 1951 from friends and pupils, programs (4) for a 19521 recital given by Melba McKenna and Vera McKenna Clayton, and nine (9) newspaper clippings from the S.C. Sentinel dated 1951, one dated 1924 about a Community Chorus, and one from the Riptide dated 1957 concerning a soprano named Ruth Turley, the column is written by Vera McKenna Clayton. The S.C. Sentinel 1951 primarily concerns a production of the Prodigal Son. There is also one (1) postcard of the 1951 Wax figure Last Supper at the S.C. Art League and ten (10) pages from Better Homes and Gardens April 1951.

Box ID#

3

SERIES IV. SCRABOOK 1951-52

One (1) Scrapbook

Series Scope and Content Summary:

This series consists of one (1) large 12”x15” leather bound black scrapbook with a border of embossed vines and a gold and orange emblem in the center. The scrapbook has gold lettering on the cover and is tied shut with string. Some of the items in this scrapbook include: Music Teachers Association Concert programs, S.C. Women’s Club and Music Teachers’ Association 1950’s membership cards, Carmel Bach Festival 1951 Program, Veterans of Foreign Wars advertising, personal letters, obituaries of musicians and recital notices clipped from 1951 S.C. Sentinel, a clipping about S.C. Women’s Club of whom Vera M. Clayton was President, concert invitations, some engagement notices, and much more.

Box ID#:

4

SERIES V.  SCRAPBOOK 1943-1944

One (1) Scrapbook, One (1) Envelope

Series Scope and Content Summary:

This series consists of one large 12”x15” leather bound brown scrapbook with embossed war images such as eagles, tanks, ships and planes on the cover. The scrapbook covers the dates 1943-44 and held together with brown twine. Also in this series is one (1) Manila Envelope filled with First Methodist Church 1944 Programs, a Kiwanis Club Program, cards, and newspaper articles.

This series is divided into two (2) subseries:

Subseries V.A. Scrapbook 1943-1944
Subseries V.B. Programs and Newspaper Articles

SUBSERIES V.A. SCRAPBOOK 1943-44

One (1) Scrapbook

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one large 12”x15” leather bound brown scrapbook with embossed war images such as eagles, tanks, ships and planes on the cover. The scrapbook covers the dates 1943-44 and held together with brown twine. Some of the items in this scrapbook are : War Ration Books, newspaper clipping about wedding receptions and piano recitals and about Vera M. Clayton’s time as clerk typist in San Francisco, personal letters, Monday Music Club 1943 programs, a manila envelope filled with approximately twenty (20) Christmas Cards, 1944 Newspaper clippings about Santa Cruz Art Show, a newspaper clipping about a Civil War Veteran (1944), Monday Music Club Programs, First Methodist Church Easter Service Programs, Easter and birthday Cards, and more.

Box ID#:

5

SUBSERIES V.B. PROGRAMS AND NEWSPAPER ARTICLES

One (1) Envelope

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one (1) 10”x10” Manila Envelope filled with First Methodist Church 1944 Programs, a Kiwanis Club Program, cards, an envelope with four (4) Valentines, and a San Francisco Chronicle article on “The World of Music” (no date), and an article by J.D. Ratcliff on the benefits of tyrothricin for fighting infection on and off the battlefield (source unknown).

Box ID#

5

SERIES VI. SCRAPBOOKS 1945

Two (2) Scrapbooks, Two (2) Envelopes

Series Scope and Content Summary:  

This series consists of two (2) scrapbooks and one (1) small manila envelope and one large manila envelope. The scrapbooks are approximately 12”x15” inches and are decoratively bound, one in cream with gold lettering and the other with embossed war images on black leather. There are two (2) manila envelopes in this series. Each envelope contains items such as concert and club programs, newspaper clippings, cards and letters.

This series is divided into three (3) subseries:

Subseries VI.A. Scrapbook Jan.1945-Aug.1945
Subseries VI.B. Scrapbook Aug.1945-Dec.1945
Subseries VI.C. Programs and Letters

SUBSERIES VI.A. SCRAPBOOK JAN.1945-AUG.1945

One (1) Scrapbook

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one (1) 12”x15” Scrapbook with a cream cardboard cover with gold lettering and border of vines. This scrapbook covers the Date range of January 1945—August 1945. This scrapbook contains newspaper clippings about Monday Music Club, and concerts, as well as concert programs, Kiwanis Club Programs, newspaper articles about missing, wounded or fallen soldiers (1945), Valentines, photos possibly of pupils, Vera M. Clayton’s piano students’ recital programs, 1945 newspaper clippings about death of Franklin D. Roosevelt, letters from friends and pupils and more.

Box ID#:

6

SUBSERIES VI.B. SCRAPBOOK AUG.1945-DEC.1945

One (1) Scrapbook

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one large 12×15” black bound scrapbook with gold lettering and embossed vines and flowers on the cover. This Scrapbook spans the dates of Aug.1945—Dec.1945. This scrapbook contains newspaper clippings from the Riptide about weddings and engagement announcements, recital programs, newspaper clippings on soldiers’ deaths and eugenics experiments, articles on music teachers, cards and letters and more.

Box ID#

6

SUBSERIES VI.C. PROGRAMS AND LETTERS

Two (2) Envelopes

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consist of two manila envelopes, one large and one small (approx.6”x7”) among the contents of Box 6.  In the small manila envelope: Monday Music Club programs, Kiwanis Club Program, concert advertisements, and newspaper clippings to name a few.  The large manila envelope (approx. 12×15”) contains a white manila envelope filled with personal letters and concert programs, approx. thirty (30) newspaper clippings from various sources about concerts, atomic power and effects of World War II, among other topics.

Box ID#

6

SERIES VII. SCRAPBOOK 1925-1935

Three (3) Scrapbooks, (1) envelope

Series Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of three (3) scrapbooks belonging to Vera McKenna Clayton. The first scrapbook is 12”x9” and is bound in a brown paper cover with a “High Grande” logo of a star on the front. The scrapbook covers the date ranges of 1929-1931. The second scrapbook in this subseries covers the date ranges of 1925-1928 and is a brown 12”x9” book with “High Grande” logo on the cover. Included with this scrapbook is one (1) small 8”x6” manila envelope with approximately thirty 1945 War ration booklets with sheets of stamps inside. The third Scrapbook is approx. 10×16” bound in yellow paper and covering the date ranges of 1932-1935.

This subseries is divided into the following subseries:

Subseries VII.A. Scrapbook 1929—1931
Subseries VII.B. Scrapbook 1925-1928
Subseries VII.C. War Rations
Subseries VII.D. Scrapbook 1932-1935

SUBSERIES VII.A. SCRAPBOOK 1929-1931

One (1) Scrapbook

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one 12”x9” bound in a brown paper cover with a “High Grande” logo of a star on the front. The scrapbook covers the date ranges of 1929-1931. Some of the items in this scrapbook are: programs for Musicales, concert programs, Santa Cruz Women’s Club concert programs, newspaper clippings about recitals, stage performers, musicians, a 1929 S.C. Sentinel article about Vera M. Clayton’s personal life and her piano teaching, newspaper clippings about Veterans of Foreign Wars Meetings, an interesting newspaper article entitled “Last of the San Juan Indians to be Buried”c.1930,  a Santa Cruz Lodge No.38 Diamond Jubilee 1929 program, CA Federation Women’s Clubs ribbons and more.

Box ID#

7

SUBSERIES VII.B. SCRAPBOOK 1925-1928

One (1) Scrapbook

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one (1) scrapbook that covers the date ranges of 1925-1928 and is a brown 12”x9” book with “High Grande” logo on the cover. Some items in the scrapbook include: Memorial Service program for S.C. Lodge No.824 Benevolent Order of the Elks booklet c.1925, concert programs, newspaper clippings about concert, Monday Music Club Events, and a newspaper clipping about Vera M. Clayton’s first musical composition (approx.c.1928 source unknown), and newspaper clippings and programs for pageants featuring Vera’s original song “Floating down the San Lorenzo (c.1929).

Box ID#

7

SUBSERIES VII.C. WAR RATIONS

One (1) Envelope

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one (1) small manila 8”x6” envelope. Inside are approximately thirty 1945 War ration booklets with sheets of stamps inside that belonged to Vera M. Clayton.

Box ID#

7

SUBSERIES VII.D. SCRAPBOOK 1932-35

One (1) Scrapbook

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one large approx.10”x16” yellow paper bound scrapbook with a collage of red flowers and a mother and child on the front, and the words “Whopper Scrapbook” on the reverse with illustrations of people and animals. This scrapbook covers the date ranges of 1932-35. Some items include: birthday cards, newspaper clippings about Saturday Women’s Club events, Monday Music Club Programs, concert programs, Santa Cruz High School 1932 commencement invitation, Carmel Theatre Programs, postcards, recital programs, and may newspaper clippings pertaining to visiting musicians rehearsals, galas, concerts and more.

Box ID#

7

SERIES VIII. SCRAPBOOK 1950

One (1) Scrapbook, One (1) Envelope

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This series consists of one (1) large 12”x15” scrapbook bound in brown leather with an embossed border or vines. The scrapbook covers the date range of May 1950-Dec.1950. Also in this series is a manila envelope aprrox. 10”x10”filled with newspaper clippings.

This subseries is divided into the following subseries:

Subseries VIII.A. Scrapbook May 1950-Dec.1950
Subseries VIII.B. Newspaper Clippings

SUBSERIES VIII.A. SCRAPBOOK MAY 1950-DEC.1950

One (1) Scrapbook

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one (1) 12”x15” brown leather bound scrapbook with embossed border of vines and teal and gold floral emblem on the cover and is held with brown twine. The scrapbook covers the date range of May-December 1950. Some items in this scrapbook include membership cards to Santa Cruz Civic Music Associations, Newspaper clippings on concerts, and local performers, S.C. Chapter of the American Red Cross 1950 Annual Report, concert programs, Kiwanis club programs, Richard Nixon for U.S. Senate advertisement, Christmas cards, personal letters, napkins from “Tides Café” Santa Monica, 1950 Music teacher’s Convention Application, Theatre advertisements and more. Note: this scrapbook is fragile.

Box ID#

8

SUBSERIES VIII.B. NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS

One (1) Envelope

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists one (1) approx. 10”x10” manila envelope filled with approx. fifteen newspaper clippings from various sources, a book of Christmas carols, and one personal letter as well as Vol.I No. 10 and no.12 of the First Methodist Church publication “The Visitor” c.1950. Newspaper clippings cover varying topics such as “Rules for Survival in Atomic Explosion (1950) and “San Antonio Padua Mission Dedication (both from S.F. Examiner, 1950).

Box ID#

8

SERIES IX. SCRAPBOOK 1940-41

One (1) Scrapbook, one (1) Envelope

Series Scope and Content Summary:

This series consists of one (1) large 12”x15” scrapbook bound in green leather with gold lettering that covers the date range of Dec.1940-Dec.1941. Also in this series is a 10”x10” manila envelope filled with newspaper clippings and programs.

This series is divided into two (2) subseries:

Subseries IX.A. Scrapbook 1940-41
Subseries IX.B. Programs

SUBSERIES IX.A. SCRAPBOOK 1940-41

One (1) Scrapbook

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one (1) large 12”x15” scrapbook bound in green leather with gold lettering and an embossed floral pattern that covers the date range of Dec.1940-Dec.1941. Some contents include: Christmas cards, Monday Music club programs, wedding announcements, 31^st annual Music Teachers association convention ribbon, church programs, Daughters of the American Revolution Program, birth announcements, and more.

Box ID#

9

SUBSERIES IX.B. PROGRAMS

One (1) Envelope

Subseries Scope and Content Summary:

This subseries consists of one 10”x10” manila envelope filled with approx. ten (10) Music Teachers Association and Monday Music Club programs, seven (7) Christmas cards, two (2) seasonal choir books, and a newspaper clipping from the S.C. Sentinel on a fraternity dance dated 1941, and a Santa Cruz Trident publication c.1941.

Box ID#

9