SERIES I. FORMAL PORTRAITS (1955 – 1985)
Twenty (20) Images
Series Content and Scope
This series contains twenty images of different Miss California title holders. The images generally include some type of Miss California regalia (crown, sash, and scepter). They are all formal portraits taken by Trini Contreras in Santa Cruz, California.
This series is divided into eighteen (18) subseries
Subseries I.A. Miss California ‘55 (Barbara Harris)
Subseries I.B. Suzanne Marie Reamo (1960 Miss California)
Subseries I.C. Miss California 1965 (Sandra Becker)
Subseries I.D. Miss California 1963 (Wendy Lee Douglas)
Subseries I.E. Lisa Gail Davenport 1985 (Miss California)
Subseries I.F. Miss California ’66 (Charlene Diane Dallas)
Subseries I.G. Connie Lee Haugen (Miss California 1977)
Subseries I.H. Miss California 1973 (Susan Kaye Shipley)
Subseries I.I. Cheryl Dianne Vancleave (1981 Miss California)
Subseries I.J. Sharon Kay Jerrill (1968 Miss California)
Subseries I.K. Robin Jelen Brooks (1980 Miss California)
Subseries I.L. Miss California 1985 Donna Cherry
Subseries I.M. Charlene Diane Dallas (1966 Miss California)
Subseries I.N. Miss California 79 (Deanna Fogary)
Subseries I.O. Dianne Wagner (1972 Miss California)
Subseries I.P. Miss California ’55 (Barbara Harris)
Subseries I.Q. Janet Jay Carr (1975 Miss California)
Subseries I.R. Unidentified Portrait
Subseries I.A. Miss California ‘55 (Barbara Harris) (1955)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one portrait. The image is of Barbara Harris, Miss California 1955. The black and white image matted on a large grey board, the photograph is visible through an oval opening. The photo shows Barbara Harris in a formal white tulle top, looking off to the side, wearing her Miss California crown.
Box ID #
1
Subseries I.B. Suzanne Marie Reamo (1960 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one images. The photograph is three fourths image of Suzanne Marie Reamo. She was Miss California in 1960. The photo is color tinted, and shows Suzanne with her Miss California sash, her bejeweled scepter, her crown, and a large white gown. Suzanne Reamo went on to be the first runner-up in the1960 Miss America Pageant.
Box ID #
1
Subseries I.C. Miss California 1965 (Sandra Becker)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large image of Sandra Lynn Becker, Miss California 1965. Sandra was from Los Angeles County. The photograph is printed on heavy paper, and is sepia in tone. The portrait shows Sandra in a feather wrap with a necklace, and a voluminous but short hair do. In the Miss America Pageant of the year Sandra Becker won the Best
Singer award.
Box ID #
1
Subseries I.D. Miss California 1963 (Wendy Lee Douglas)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large color photograph. It is a formal portrait of Wendy Lee Douglas, who won the Miss California title in 1963. She is shown wearing a white fur wrap and long white gloves. Her hands are posed under her chin. She is wearing her crown and has an elaborate hairstyle. The corner of the photograph has an award ribbon around the top left corner. It states: Award of Merit, Professional Photographers of Santa Clara Valley. Wendy Lee Douglas went on to become a semi-finalist in the Miss America pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.E. Lisa Gail Davenport 1985 (Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one color photograph. It depicts Miss California 1985, Lisa Gail Davenport. She is seated in a long white gown. The dress has metallic stripe embellishments on the bodice and sleeves. She is wearing a crown, but instead of a scepter she is holding a yellow rose.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.F. Miss California ’66 (Charlene Diane Dallas)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one black and white photograph. The image is mounted on a black board. It has awards ribbons (for photography) around all four edges of the photo. The image shows Miss California 1966, Carlene Diane Harris. She is shown sitting in a long white dress, decorated with polka dots and jeweled embellishments, holding a scepter and wearing a crown. Charlene Diane Dallas was the first runner-up in the Miss America pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.G. Connie Lee Haugen (Miss California 1977)
Two (2) Images
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains two large color photos of Connie Lee Haugen, who won the Miss California title in 1977. The first of the two images shows her seated in a long pink dress. She is holding her scepter and wearing a crown. The second photograph shows her looking into the distance, her back to the camera. She is wearing a white fur wrap and a crown. Conne Lee Haugen was a semi-finalist in the Miss America pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.H. Miss California 1973 (Susan Kaye Shipley)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large image of Susan Kaye Shipley. She became Miss California in 1973. The color photograph shows her seated in a long white gown and long white gloves. The gown has jeweled embellishment on the skirt and at the neckline. She is holding a scepter and wearing the Miss California Crown. Susan Kaye Shipley went on to become a semi-finalist in the Miss America pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.I. Cheryl Dianne Vancleave (1981 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one color photo of Miss California 1981, Cheryl Dianne Vancleave. The image shows her seated in a coral dress, with embellishments at the waits and collar. She has brown curly hair, is wearing a crown, and holding a scepter. Cheryl Dianne Vancleave was a National Finalist in the Miss America pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.J. Sharon Kay Jerrill (1968 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large color image of Sharon Kay Jerrill. She became Miss California in 1968. The image shows her posing outside in front of a large tree. Though she is outside she is wearing a formal gown and long white gloves. The dress is green with metallic embellishments at the top and strap of the dress. Around the corner of the photograph is a ribbon. The light green ribbon is an “award of merit, professional photographers of Santa Clara Valley.” Sharon Kay Jerrill went on to win a talent award in the Miss America pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.K. Robin Jelene Brooks (1980 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large photograph of Robin Jelene Brooks, Miss California title winner in 1980. The formal portrait shows her seated in a long white gown. The dress has an embellished bodice and a similarly decorated cape piece. She is wearing a crown and holding a scepter. Robin Jelene Brooks went on to be a National Finalist in the Miss America Pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.L. Miss California 1985 Donna Cherry
One Two (2) Images
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains two portraits of Donna Cherry. Donna won the Miss California title in 1985. The first image of her shows her looking straight at the camera. She is wearing white lacy shirt, two gold rings, and seed pearl earrings. The second photograph is also of her looking directly into the camera. In this image she is wearing a bright red shirt, a gold ring, and round gold earrings.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.M. Charlene Diane Dallas (1966 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one very large image. The photo is in color. The photograph shows Charlene Diane Dallas, who won the Miss California title in 1966. The matt around the image is bright pink. It matches well with the image inside as Ms. Dallas is wearing pink clothes and a pink scarf over her head. The scarf partially covers her hair, and shows a glimpse of her large bejeweled earrings. Though she is identified as Miss California, she is not wearing a crown.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.N. Miss California 1979 (Deanna Fogary)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one color image of Deanna Fogary, Miss California 1979. She is wearing a long blue dress. The bodice is embellished with sequins and small stones. Deanna is holding her scepter and is wearing the Miss California crown. Deanna went on to become a National Finalist in the Miss America Pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.O. Dianne Wagner (1972 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large color photograph. The image is of Dianne Wagner, Miss California 1972. She is wearing an embellished green dress and long white gloves. She is holding a scepter and wearing the Miss California Crown. Diane Wagner went on to be a National Finalist in the Miss America Pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.P. Miss California ’55 (Barbara Harris)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large photograph. It is mounted on a board. The woman in the portrait is Barbara Harris, Miss California 1955. The color image shows her wearing a white tulel wrap. She has short brown hair, but no crown. Barbara Harris went on to become a National Finalist in the Miss America Pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.Q. Janet Jay Carr (1975 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one portrait. The image is of Janet Jay Carr, Miss California 1975. In the portrait she is smiling and wearing her crown. She is dressed in a white fur wrap. Janet Jay Carr went on to be second runner up in the Miss America pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries I.R. Unidentified Portrait
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one photograph. The image is of a Miss California winner in her crown. She wears no sash and there is no date or name on the photo. The image is in color. The woman is wearing a gold and blue necklace, a blue dress with a sequined bodice.
Box ID #
2
SERIES II. GROUP PHOTOGRAPHS (1964 – 1965)
Two (2) Images
Series Content and Scope
This series consists of two large photos mounted on boards. The images were gifts to Trini Contreras from Brian Kane in 1995. The two images show multiple contestants in the Miss California pageant.
This series is divided into two (2) subseries
Subseries II.A. Miss California Pageant (Santa Cruz – June 1965)
Subseries II.B. Miss California Pageant (Santa Cruz – June 1964)
Subseries II.A. Miss California Pageant (Santa Cruz – June 1965)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large image, it was a gift to Trini Contreras from Brian Kane in 1995. The image shows contestants from the Miss California Pageant held in Santa Cruz in June of 1965. The image is from ‘Vester Dick Photography, Official Miss California Pageant Photographers.’ The photograph shows thirty-six contestants, in formal dresses, lined up in two rows on what looks like the main stage of the pageant.
Box ID #
1
Subseries II.B. Miss California Pageant (Santa Cruz – June 1964)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large image, it was a gift to Trini Contreras from Brian Kane in 1995. The image shows contestants from the Miss California Pageant held in Santa Cruz in June of 1964. The image is from ‘Vester Dick Photography.’ The photograph shows three contestants, one of whom is the winner of the Miss California title, and the other two are likely the first and second runners up. All three are in formal wear and are holding pageant regalia. On the right of the image is Miss Downey, wearing a sash holding a trophy. On the left hand side is Miss Orange, she is also wearing a sash and holding a larger trophy. The figure in the middle is the Miss California title winner. Sherri Lee Raap won the pageant in 1964. She is wearing a sash, holding a bejeweled scepter, and wearing a crown.
Box ID #
1
SERIES III. INFORMAL PORTRAITS/PHOTOGRAPHS (1961 – 1985)
Ten (10) Images
Series Content and Scope
This series contains ten images of Miss California winners. The photographs were all taken by Trini Contreras. This series of images are more informal than others in the collection. The pictures generally show the contestants outside, and without their Miss California regalia.
This series is divided into nine (9) subseries
Subseries III.A. Image on canvas of Miss California 1969 (Susan Ellen Anton)
Subseries III.B. 1971 Miss California (Carolyn Jean Stoner)
Subseries III.C. Miss California 1961 (Susan Ann Henryson)
Subseries III.D. Lisa Gail Davenport 1985 (Miss California)
Subseries III.E. Cheryl Dianne Vancleave (Miss California 1981)
Subseries III.F. Robin Jelen Brooks (1980 Miss California)
Subseries III.G. Janet Jay Carr (1975 Miss California)
Subseries III.H. Shari Anne Moskau (1983 Miss California)
Subseries III.I. Karin Kascher (1970 Miss California)
Subseries III.A. Image on canvas of Miss California 1969 (Susan Ellen Anton)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains a photograph on a canvas. The image shows Miss California 1969, Susan Ellen Anton. She is posed outside, leaning on a tree branch. She is in casual clothing, but is wearing a gold bracelet, and a number of gold and pearl rings. The photo is much more informal that most of the images in the collection.
Box ID #
1
Subseries III.B. 1971 Miss California (Carolyn Jean Stoner)
Two (2) Images
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries consists of two copies of a very large photograph. The image is of Carolyn Jean Stoner, Miss California 1971. The unique photograph shows Carolyn outside on a field surrounded by trees. She is twirling around in a bright orange dress and gold heels. The second copy of the image (box 2) is mounted on a board and has awards ribbons (likely for photography) around the top corners.
Box ID #
1
Subseries III.C. Miss California 1961 (Susan Ann Henryson)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one photograph. The photo is of Susan Ann Henryson after her Miss California win in 1961. The image is of her on a beach, very likely one in Santa Cruz. She is posed next to a rock, one hand on the rock and the other on her hip. She is wearing a striped swim suit, and has a short hairdo.
Box ID #
1
Subseries III.D. Lisa Gail Davenport 1985 (Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one color photograph of Lisa Gail Davenport, Miss California 1985. The image shows her against a white background. She is wearing a ruffled red blouse, and a wide brimmed red hat. She is posed looking from the side to the camera. Lisa Gail Davenport later competed in the Miss America pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries III.E. Cheryl Dianne Vancleave (Miss California 1981)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one color image of Miss California 1981. Cheryl Dianne Vancleave is shown from the shoulders up, wearing a white fur wrap and a wicker hat. She is wearing no jewelry, and no Miss California regalia.
Box ID #
2
Subseries III.F. Robin Jelene Brooks (1980 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one image of Robin Jelene Brooks. The large color photographs shows her posed outside, holding a tree branch. Her nails are painted red, she is wearing a high necked lace blouse and stud earrings.
Box ID #
2
Subseries III.G. Janet Jay Carr (1975 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large photograph. The image shows Janet Jay Carr, Miss California in 1975. She is posed outside near a brick wall and a number of trees. She is wearing a fantastic full body jumpsuit covered in sequins in a chevron pattern. She is holding a flowing black scarf. Janet Jay Carr went on to be second runner-up in the Miss America Pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries III.H. Shari Anne Moskau (1983 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one photograph. The image shows Miss California 1983, Shari Ann Moskau. The photo shows her looking into the camera from a slightly turned position. The picture was taken outside as she is surrounded by leaves. Shari Ann is wearing a black hat, black triangle earrings, and a small golden chain necklace. She went on be a National Finalist in the Miss America pageant.
Box ID #
2
Subseries III.I. Karin Kascher (1970 Miss California)
One (1) Image
Subseries Content and Scope
This subseries contains one large image. The photograph shows Karin Kascher, Miss California 1970, in an outdoor setting. Her back is to the camera but she is turning towards the camera. Karin is wearing a long white dress with black stripes and flower patters on the bodice and sleeves of the dress.
Box ID #
2
