SERIES I. PHOTOGRAPHS AND EPHEMERA (1854 – 1971)
Two (2) folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains photographs, slides, and ephemera that relate to the history of Green Oaks Ranch and the Steele Family land, as well as the family history research conducted by Wilfred and Catherine.
This series is divided into two subseries.
Subseries I.A Green Oaks Ranch
Subseries I.B Research
SUBSERIES I.A. Green Oaks Ranch (1854 – 1971)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of fourteen photographs from Catherine Baumgarten Steele that depict the Ranch land, structures, and life on the ranch in the late 1800s and early 1900s. These photographs are accompanied by a list of notes corresponding to each image. Other photographs include one of the house on a holiday card, Pigeon Point Lighthouse, a plaque celebrating Green Oak Ranch’s membership in the One Hundred Year Club, two saddles, and an aerial view of the property [located in Box #2 (OS)]. This subseries also contains photocopies of a sketch of the house, and a real estate flyer advertising the sale of a portion of the land that once belonged to the Steeles.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:1
SUBSERIES I.B. Research (1970 – 1971)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains photographs from Wilfred and Catherine’s research efforts. Including prints with original slides of the Founders Memorial in Hartford Connecticut, the Masonic Apron, and a drawing of the family coat of arms.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:2
SERIES II. NEWSPAPER AND MAGAZINE CLIPPINGS (1951 – 1979)
One (1) folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains newspaper, newsletter, and journal clippings related to Green Oaks Ranch, Año Nuevo State Reserve, and Pescadero.
This series is divided into three subseries.
Subseries II.A Green Oaks Ranch
Subseries II.B Año Nuevo State Reserve
Subseries II.C Pescadero – Williamson Store
SUBSERIES II.A. Green Oaks Ranch (1967 – 1979)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains six articles from local newspapers. The articles discuss Steele family history, the gifting of the Ranch to San Mateo County, and a lecture by UCSC Graduate student John Selby about the family and the ranch.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:3
SUBSERIES II.B. Año Nuevo (1963 – 1964)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains two articles on the state and preservation of the Año Nuevo State Reserve during 1963 and 1964. The 1963 article from The San Francisco Examiner, Pictorial Living is located in Box #2.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:3
SUBSERIES II.C. Pescadero – Williamson Store (1951 – 1971)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains 2 articles and a historical journal that discuss Pescadero history and the Williamson store which was run, in part, by a Steele relative.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:3
SERIES III. RESEARCH CORRESPONDENCE (1970 – 1971)
One (1) folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
Throughout their research efforts, Catherine and Wilfred contacted many librarians and masons in California, Wyoming, New York and Connecticut, in an effort to gather information about the Steele family history and share their findings. This series contains these letters as well as letters written by Wilfred to his children about the progress of his research. The letters are arranged chronologically.
Box ID#: Folder#
1:4
SERIES IV. FAMILY RESEARCH – INDIVIDUAL FAMILY MEMBERS (1859 – 1971)
One (1) folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains primary and secondary source information on individual Steele family members collected as research materials by Catherine and Wilfred. The information is divided into subseries by individual family member, chronologically.
This series is divided into eight subseries.
Subseries IV.A Sir Richard Steele
Subseries IV.B John B. Steele
Subseries IV.C Major General Frederick Steele
Subseries IV.D I.C. Steele
Subseries IV.E George B. Steele
Subseries IV.F E.W. Steele
Subseries IV.G Mary (Steele) Finney and Hulda Emeline Steele
Subseries IV.H George H. Steele
SUBSERIES IV.A. Sir Richard Steele (1859)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains three photocopies of a reproduction of a painting depicting Sir Richard Steele and his children.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:5
SUBSERIES IV.B. John B. Steele (1866)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains two photocopies of a tribute to John B. Steele upon his death in 1866.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:5
SUBSERIES IV.C. Major General Frederick Steele (1864 – 1971)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains a newspaper clipping, an invitation, and exhibition guide to the General Frederick Steele Papers exhibit at the Stanford Library. It also contains a photocopy of an envelope and letter addressed to the General as well as photocopies of biographical information from three different sources.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:5
SUBSERIES IV.D. I.C. Steele (1893 – 1904)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains two copies of old lithographs depicting I.C. Steele, a photocopy of biographical information and photocopies of Grangers Bank Association business papers and correspondence.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:5
SUBSERIES IV.E. George B. Steele (1874 – 1894)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains photocopies of biographical information on George B. Steele as well as photocopies of a Masonic announcement, a letter from George to one of his brothers, discussing politics, and a letter to George from his sister Effie, updating him on various family happenings.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:5
SUBSERIES IV.F. E.W. Steele (1883)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains a photocopy from the History of San Luis Obispo County of E.W. Steele’s biography including a portrait of him.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:5
SUBSERIES IV.G. Mary (Steele) Finney and Hulda Emeline Steele (1874 – 1881)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains a photocopy of a Grange obituary for Hulda Emeline Steele. This series also contains two original letters, one to Hulda from Mary and one to Mary from her deceased husband S.J. Finney.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:5
SUBSERIES IV.H. George H. Steele (1875 – 1904)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This series contains two photocopies: one of a third grade report card and another of a biographical sketch of George H. Steele.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:5
SERIES V. GENEALOGIES AND PUBLICATIONS (1859 – 1971)
One (1) folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains items used as research materials for Catherine and Wilfred as well as the family history that resulted from their research. There are photocopies of large portions of the two editions (1859 and 1862) of Steele Family: A Genealogical History of John and George Steele by Daniel Steele Durrie. The series contains a family history report done by George H. Steele as part of a college class in 1948. Also in this series is a draft as well as two published copies of the 1971 family history compiled by Catherine and Wilfred. The series also contains photocopies of information used in recreating the Steele family coat of arms. Additional publications in the series (found in box #2) include: Laws of the United States relating to Internal Revenue (1866), Resources of San Luis Obispo County (1875), Chapters in the History of Delaware County New York (1949), San Mateo County-Its Story (1967), and Delaware County History Vol 4 no. 1 (1970).
Box ID#: Folder #
1:6
SERIES VI. ANO NUEVO CREAMERY BUTTER WRAPPERS (n.d.)
One (1) folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains 10 original butter wrappers from the G.H. Steele Año Nuevo Creamery.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:7
SERIES VII. CAPTAIN O.N. STEELE’S MARCH, SHEET MUSIC (1902)
One (1) folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the original sheet music as well as a photograph of the cover of Captain O.N. Steele’s March.
Box ID#: Folder #
1:8
SERIES VIII. EPHEMERA
One (1) Box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains various ephemera collected by the Steele Family. The ephemera includes a booklet of laws related to Internal Revenue dated August 1, 1866. A couple of pamphlets/books about the history of Delaware County, New York.
Box ID#: Folder #
2
