The mission of the Public Works Department is to protect the public health, safety, and welfare through superior engineering, maintenance, operations, and administrative services that incorporate customer service and integrity with competence and productivity for a sustained commitment to excellence. They are responsible for the maintenance of county roads, parks, and sanitation plus other duties as appropriate.
ARRANGEMENT
SERIES I. CIVIL ENGINEERS AND LICENSED SURVEYORS (1933 – 1944)
Subseries I.A. California News Bulletins for registered civil engineers (1937 – 1944)
Subseries I.B. State Board of Registration for Civil Engineers (1933 – 1939)
SERIES II. COUNTY BUILDING RECORDS (1889 – 1925)
Subseries III.A. County Court House (1900 – 1925)
Subseries III.B. County Hall of Records (1924 – 1925)
Subseries III.C. County Jail (1889 – 1900)
SERIES III. BUILDING CONTRACTS (1886 – 1892)
SERIES IV. COUNTY CLERK AND COMMISSIONER OF ROADS (1904 – 1955)
SERIES V. BLUEPRINTS AND MAPS
SERIES VI. CERTIFICATES FOR THE SALE OF REAL ESTATE (1913 – 1914)
CONTENTS
SERIES I. CIVIL ENGINEERS AND LICENSED SURVEYORS (1933 – 1944)
Two (2) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the California News Bulletins for registered civil engineers and listings for licensed land surveyors provided by the State Board of registration for Civil Engineers. These materials were received, recorded and filed by Billie Lindsey, County Recorder.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:1-2
Subseries I.A. California News Bulletins for registered civil engineers (1937 – 1944)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the California News Bulletins for registered civil engineers. These bulletins detail the happenings in the civil engineering community of California including registered members, board activities, and disciplinary actions. In the July 1938 newsletter there was notification that a James C. Foss of Santa Cruz was issued a civil engineer certificate. In the April 1941 newsletter there was notification that W. Robert Jennings and Stanley R. Smith both of Santa Cruz were issued land surveyor licenses. These materials were received, recorded and filed by Billie Lindsey, County Recorder.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:1
Subseries I.B. State Board of Registration for Civil Engineers (1933 – 1939)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the State Board of Registration for Civil Engineers Licensed Land Surveyors. These bulletins provide a list of licensed land surveyors: name, place of residence and license number. In the May 1934 newsletter there was notification that a Chester Albert Lozier of Santa Cruz was issued a land surveyor license. In the June 1934 newsletter there was notification that Roy Wilbur Fowler, Wm. Hughes and Clayton P. Staples all of Santa Cruz were issued land surveyor licenses. In the July 1934 newsletter there was notification that Lloyd Bowman, E.R. Muttersbach, W.H. Oliver, and E.D. Rodgers all of Santa Cruz were issued land surveyor licenses. These materials were received, recorded and filed by Billie Lindsey, County Recorder.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:2
SERIES II. COUNTY BUILDING RECORDS (1889 – 1925)
Three (3) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains letters, reports, and contracts related to the building, repair, and maintenance of the county court house, the county hall of records and the county jail.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:5-7
Subseries III.A. County Court House (1900 – 1925)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains letters, reports, and contracts related to the repair and maintenance of the County Court House. Some of the items in this subseries include a contract to install metal shelving in the Recorder’s Office. There are also items related to the repair of the court house after the 1906 earthquake including a letter from Superior Court Judge Lucas Smith requesting the speedy repair of the building due to heavy rent expense due to temporary relocation of the court offices.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:5
Subseries III.B. County Hall of Records (1924 – 1925)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains letters, reports, and contracts related to the repair and alteration of the County Hall of Records. Some of the items in this subseries include proposals and contractor bids to do this work at the Hall of Records. Also included are copies of the Sanborn maps showing the location of the Hall of records and surrounding buildings.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:6
Subseries III.C. County Jail (1889 – 1900)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains two (2) documents related to the County Jail. The first dated 8 October 1889 is the contract for building the jail by A.J. Meany for $25,684. The second dated 9 March 1900 is to allow the City of Santa Cruz to use a portion of the basement of the County Jail. The document is signed by Edward (?) White, John Collins (?), and H. Baldwin.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2:7
SERIES III. BUILDING CONTRACTS (1886 – 1892)
One (1) Box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains building contracts. These contracts contain the owner’s name, the builder’s name, other associated names such as architects, cost and site of work.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
3:X
Information on Building Contracts (.xlsx)
SERIES IV. COUNTY CLERK AND COMMISSIONER OF ROADS (1904 – 1955)
One (1) Box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains petitions, correspondence, reports, and motions by the Santa Crux County Board of Supervisors. This paperwork is related to roads located in Santa Cruz County.
Inventory of County Clerk and Commissioner of Roads (.pdf)
Box ID#: Folder #
1:X
SERIES V. BLUEPRINTS AND MAPS
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series containsblueprints and maps obtained from most probably the Public Works Department
Inventory of Map and Blueprint Collection (.pdf)
One of the maps available in the collection
A higher resolution scan available in the archives.
SERIES VI. CERTIFICATES FOR THE SALE OF REAL ESTATE (1913 – 1914)
One (1) Ledger
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the ledger for the recording of real estate sales. This ledger is for 1913 with some of the sales annotated as buy backs/redeemed in 1914. This ledger contains the seller, buyer, date, lot location and price.
Link to Spreadsheet of Information on Real Estate Sales (.xlsx)
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4:1
