Guide to the Santa Cruz County (Calif.) Government Records Collection (1850s – Present)

The Santa Cruz County Court Records Collection consists of individual documents, registrar books and other ledgers. This collection was assembled by numerous people from the 1850s to Present. The Santa Cruz County Court was the main repository for court commitment paperwork, registrar records, political candidate income and expense records, burial permits, probate minutes, and mining claim records plus much more. These records have been and are being donated to the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History on various dates and are being added to this collection.

In 1769 the Spanish explorer Don Gaspar de Portola discovered the land area which is now known as the City of Santa Cruz. When he came upon the beautiful flowing river, he named it San Lorenzo in honor of Saint Lawrence. He called the rolling hills above the river Santa Cruz, which means holy cross.

Twenty-two years later, in 1791, Father Fermin de Lasuen established a mission at Santa Cruz, the twelfth mission to be founded in California. Across the San Lorenzo River, in what is now known as East Santa Cruz, Villa de Branciforte was established It was founded by the Spanish as one of three civil settlements or pueblos in California. The other pueblos were San Jose and Los Angeles. Villa de Branciforte later merged with the Mission Santa Cruz community across the river.

By the 1820’s Mexico had assumed control of the area and within the next twenty years, Americans began to arrive in great numbers. California became a state in 1849, and Santa Cruz County was created in 1850 as one of the twenty-seven original counties.

By the turn of the century logging, lime processing, agriculture, and commercial fishing industries prospered in the area. Due to its mild climate and scenic beauty Santa Cruz also became a prominent resort community.

Santa Cruz was incorporated in 1866 as a town under the laws of the State of California and received its first charter as a city in 1876. At that time the city was governed by a Mayor and Common Council consisting of four members.

In 1907, the citizens voted for a new charter designating a Mayor as chief executive and a City Council consisting of seven members. Subsequent charters gave a Mayor and four Commissioners both executive and administrative powers. At that time the city was divided into five departments: Public Affairs, Revenue and Finance, Public Health and Safety, Public Works, and Streets and Parks.

In 1948, the City of Santa Cruz adopted a new City Charter. This charter established a Council-Manager form of government, with a Mayor and six Councilmembers setting policy for the city and a city manager serving as the chief administrator of those policies. The Charter, with amendments, is still in existence today.

SERIES I. SANTA CRUZ CITY CHARTER (1947)

A ledger book and five (5) folders

Series Scope and Content Summary: This series contains documents, correspondence and newspaper clippings related to the rewrite of the Santa Cruz City Charter in 1947.

From Wikipedia: The range of what is considered a “charter city” may lead to definitional ambiguities. Most times, however, a charter city is founded by charter before large-scale development takes place. While a city may adopt a new “charter” long after its first codification of rules, as in the cases of many cities in California, generally the designation of a charter city is reserved for those municipalities whose charter guides development decisions or influences the creation of social structure from the beginning, as in the case of Hong Kong. A charter city may have some exemptions from some state or provincial laws, which varies entirely for each particular region.

With the help of a guiding charter, cities may be able to avoid administrative inefficiencies and establish rules with alternate social motivations. Thus, one benefit of charter cities is the freedom they offer in establishment of rules of governance. For example, many charter cities, like Hong Kong and Singapore as cities, use alternative forms of property taxation. Because charter cities are often founded with a goal of large-scale urban development, efficient use of the city’s limited land is of utmost importance, for both the economic sustainability of the citizens and the government units. Thus, rather than using the traditional tax on both property and land, charter cities may use land value taxation, which taxes only the value of land, thus not providing disincentives for development.

This series contains a ledger book and five (5) folders:

Santa Cruz Board of Freeholders Ledger Book. This ledger is divided into sections for ‘Finance’, ‘Public Works’, ‘Health and Safety’, ‘Streets and Parks’, ‘Rules and Regulations’, ‘City Manager’, and ‘Minutes’ all related to the rewrite of the City Charter in 1947.

Folder #1: Correspondence Between Santa Cruz Members. This correspondence is primarily in reference to the elementary and high school districts.

Folder #2: Copy of the Charter for the City of Burlingame (1946).

Folder #3: Proposed Charter for Santa Cruz.

Folder #4: Correspondence From Outside Entities. This correspondence is from the National Municipal League, League of California Cities, and other cities in California.

Folder #5: Newspaper Clippings

SERIES II. DECK PLAN SHOWING BUILDINGS, DAVITS, ETC. (1933 – 1934?)

One (1) Notebook

Series Scope, Content and Summary: This series contains one (1) notebook in which there are sketches of the wharf with the buildings, who owned or rented them, etc. This notebook also shows the davit locations. Towards the back of the book is a listing of “Buttons” issued. These items are on long-term loan to the Santa Cruz MAH from the City of Santa Cruz. The proper citation for these items is: Municipal Wharf Records, City of Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, CA.

SERIES III. MUNICIPAL WHARFINGERS CASH BOOK (1915 – 1928)

Two (2) Notebooks

Series Scope, Content and Summary: This series contains two (2) notebooks in which there are month by month listing of rent collected. These items are on long-term loan to the Santa Cruz MAH from the City of Santa Cruz. The proper citation for these items is: Municipal Wharf Records, City of Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, CA.

Cash Book, 1 July 1915 to 30 June 1922
Cash Book, 1 July 1922 to 30 June 1928

The mission of the Public Works Department is to protect the public health, safety, and welfare through superior engineering, maintenance, operations, and administrative services that incorporate customer service and integrity with competence and productivity for a sustained commitment to excellence. They are responsible for the maintenance of county roads, parks, and sanitation plus other duties as appropriate.

ARRANGEMENT

SERIES I. CIVIL ENGINEERS AND LICENSED SURVEYORS (1933 – 1944)

Subseries I.A. California News Bulletins for registered civil engineers (1937 – 1944)
Subseries I.B. State Board of Registration for Civil Engineers (1933 – 1939)

SERIES II. COUNTY BUILDING RECORDS (1889 – 1925)

Subseries III.A. County Court House (1900 – 1925)
Subseries III.B. County Hall of Records (1924 – 1925)
Subseries III.C. County Jail (1889 – 1900)

SERIES III. BUILDING CONTRACTS (1886 – 1892)

SERIES IV. COUNTY CLERK AND COMMISSIONER OF ROADS (1904 – 1955)

SERIES V. BLUEPRINTS AND MAPS

SERIES VI. CERTIFICATES FOR THE SALE OF REAL ESTATE (1913 – 1914)

CONTENTS

SERIES I. CIVIL ENGINEERS AND LICENSED SURVEYORS (1933 – 1944)

Two (2) Folders

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the California News Bulletins for registered civil engineers and listings for licensed land surveyors provided by the State Board of registration for Civil Engineers. These materials were received, recorded and filed by Billie Lindsey, County Recorder.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:1-2

Subseries I.A. California News Bulletins for registered civil engineers (1937 – 1944)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains the California News Bulletins for registered civil engineers. These bulletins detail the happenings in the civil engineering community of California including registered members, board activities, and disciplinary actions. In the July 1938 newsletter there was notification that a James C. Foss of Santa Cruz was issued a civil engineer certificate. In the April 1941 newsletter there was notification that W. Robert Jennings and Stanley R. Smith both of Santa Cruz were issued land surveyor licenses. These materials were received, recorded and filed by Billie Lindsey, County Recorder.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:1

Subseries I.B. State Board of Registration for Civil Engineers (1933 – 1939)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains the State Board of Registration for Civil Engineers Licensed Land Surveyors. These bulletins provide a list of licensed land surveyors: name, place of residence and license number. In the May 1934 newsletter there was notification that a Chester Albert Lozier of Santa Cruz was issued a land surveyor license. In the June 1934 newsletter there was notification that Roy Wilbur Fowler, Wm. Hughes and Clayton P. Staples all of Santa Cruz were issued land surveyor licenses. In the July 1934 newsletter there was notification that Lloyd Bowman, E.R. Muttersbach, W.H. Oliver, and E.D. Rodgers all of Santa Cruz were issued land surveyor licenses. These materials were received, recorded and filed by Billie Lindsey, County Recorder.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:2

SERIES II. COUNTY BUILDING RECORDS (1889 – 1925)

Three (3) Folders

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains letters, reports, and contracts related to the building, repair, and maintenance of the county court house, the county hall of records and the county jail.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:5-7

Subseries III.A. County Court House (1900 – 1925)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains letters, reports, and contracts related to the repair and maintenance of the County Court House. Some of the items in this subseries include a contract to install metal shelving in the Recorder’s Office. There are also items related to the repair of the court house after the 1906 earthquake including a letter from Superior Court Judge Lucas Smith requesting the speedy repair of the building due to heavy rent expense due to temporary relocation of the court offices.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:5

Subseries III.B. County Hall of Records (1924 – 1925)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains letters, reports, and contracts related to the repair and alteration of the County Hall of Records. Some of the items in this subseries include proposals and contractor bids to do this work at the Hall of Records. Also included are copies of the Sanborn maps showing the location of the Hall of records and surrounding buildings.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:6

Subseries III.C. County Jail (1889 – 1900)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains two (2) documents related to the County Jail. The first dated 8 October 1889 is the contract for building the jail by A.J. Meany for $25,684. The second dated 9 March 1900 is to allow the City of Santa Cruz to use a portion of the basement of the County Jail. The document is signed by Edward (?) White, John Collins (?), and H. Baldwin.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2:7

SERIES III. BUILDING CONTRACTS (1886 – 1892)

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains building contracts. These contracts contain the owner’s name, the builder’s name, other associated names such as architects, cost and site of work.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

3:X

Information on Building Contracts (.xlsx)

SERIES IV. COUNTY CLERK AND COMMISSIONER OF ROADS (1904 – 1955)

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains petitions, correspondence, reports, and motions by the Santa Crux County Board of Supervisors. This paperwork is related to roads located in Santa Cruz County.

Inventory of County Clerk and Commissioner of Roads (.pdf)

Box ID#: Folder #

1:X

SERIES V. BLUEPRINTS AND MAPS

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series containsblueprints and maps obtained from most probably the Public Works Department

Inventory of Map and Blueprint Collection (.pdf)

One of the maps available in the collection

A higher resolution scan available in the archives.

SERIES VI. CERTIFICATES FOR THE SALE OF REAL ESTATE (1913 – 1914)

One (1) Ledger

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the ledger for the recording of real estate sales. This ledger is for 1913 with some of the sales annotated as buy backs/redeemed in 1914. This ledger contains the seller, buyer, date, lot location and price.

Link to Spreadsheet of Information on Real Estate Sales (.xlsx)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

4:1

ARRANGEMENT

SERIES I. REGISTER OF ARRESTS, 1876 – 1897

SERIES II. SANTA CRUZ COUNTY PRISON REGISTER, 1884 – 1895

SERIES III. CITY OF SANTA CRUZ, COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ, POLICE COURT (1933 – 1952)

SERIES IV. SANTA CRUZ JUDICIAL TOWNSHIP, SANTA CRUZ COUNTY, CALIFORNIA, JUSTICE’S COURT (1928 – 1952)

SERIES V. SANTA CRUZ JUDICIAL TOWNSHIP, SANTA CRUZ COUNTY, CALIFORNIA, JUSTICE’S COURT (1952)

SERIES VI. CITY OF SANTA CRUZ, COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ, POLICE COURT (1933 – 1952)

SERIES VII. SANTA CRUZ JUDICIAL TOWNSHIP, SANTA CRUZ COUNTY, CALIFORNIA, JUSTICE’S COURT (1928 – 1952)

SERIES VIII. RECORD OF THE PROBATE COURT (1850 – 1898)

Subseries VIII.A. Record of the Probate Court Ledger (1873 – 1876)
Subseries VIII.B. Probate Court Documents (1850 – 1898)
Subseries VIII.C. Indenture Statements (1864 – 1886)

SERIES IX. CERTIFICATION OF JUDGE OF SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ (1880 – 1907)

SERIES X. PROBATE AND MINER’S COURT LEDGER (1850 – 1950)

SERIES XI. CORONER’S INQUEST (1901 – 1939)

SERIES XII. SUPERIOR COURT RECORDS (1850 – 1959)

CONTENTS

SERIES I. REGISTER OF ARRESTS, 1876 – 1897

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a leather bound journal for the recording of arrests in Santa Cruz from 1876 to 1897. The entries list individual’s name, arresting official, date and charge. Examples include:

W.H. Stebbon(?) – Past Driving Bridge in 1876
John Collins – Vulgur Language in 1880
Ed Read – Smoking Opium in 1881
Pete Hogan – Visiting House of Ill Repute in 1882
I. Recht – Battery in 1883
John Doe – Violating Gambling Ordnance in 1883

Box ID#: Folder #

1:X

SERIES II. SANTA CRUZ COUNTY PRISON REGISTER, 1884 – 1895

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains a leather bound journal for the recording of incarcerations at the Santa Cruz County Prison from 1884 to 1895. The entries list individual’s name, crime committed, date of commitment, fine, bail and jail time. The length of sentences are measured in days and remarks occasionally describe subsequent destinations such as San Quentin, other prisons or hospitals.

Box ID#: Folder #

2:X

SERIES III. CITY OF SANTA CRUZ, COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ, POLICE COURT (1933 – 1952)

One (1) Ledger

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the General Index for all Traffic Actions for 1933 – 1952. This is an A-Z Index by defendant’s name arranged by year, including number of suit, suit – when commenced (month, day, year), docket volume and page.

Box ID#: Folder #

X:X

SERIES IV. SANTA CRUZ JUDICIAL TOWNSHIP, SANTA CRUZ COUNTY, CALIFORNIA, JUSTICE’S COURT (1928 – 1952)

One (1) Ledger

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the General Index to all Criminal Actions for October 1928 to 1952. Includes an A-Z index by defendant’s name arranged by year, included number of suit, suit when commenced (month, day, year), docket volume, and page.

Box ID#: Folder #

X:X

SERIES V. SANTA CRUZ JUDICIAL TOWNSHIP, SANTA CRUZ COUNTY, CALIFORNIA, JUSTICE’S COURT (1952)

Two (2) Volumes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains two (2) volumes of the Motor Vehicle Docket arranged by Docket Number. The dockets contain the defendant’s name and mailing address, where the offense was committed, date, state license number, and proceedings. At the end of the volume there are the California Highway Patrol Parking Violations for January – December 1952.

– Volume 1: August 7, 1952 – November 29, 1952 (Docket numbers 25500-26299)
– Volume 2: November 29, 1952 – December 28, 1952 (Docket numbers 26300-26446)

Box ID#: Folder #

X:X

SERIES VI. CITY OF SANTA CRUZ, COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ, POLICE COURT (1933 – 1952)

One (1) Ledger

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the General Index to all criminal actions for 16 October 1933 to 1952. It is an A-Z index by defendant’s name, arranged by year and includes number of suit, suit when commenced (month, day, year), docket volume, and page.

Box ID#: Folder #

X:X

SERIES VII. SANTA CRUZ JUDICIAL TOWNSHIP, SANTA CRUZ COUNTY, CALIFORNIA, JUSTICE’S COURT (1928 – 1952)

One (1) Ledger

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the General Index to all criminal actions for October 1928 to December 1952. The index contains the defendant’s name, number of suit, suit when commenced (month, day, year), docket volume and page.

Box ID#: Folder #

X:X

SERIES VIII. RECORD OF THE PROBATE COURT (1850 – 1898)

One (1) Ledger and two (2) Folders

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the ledger and official documents for the Probate Court in Santa Cruz for the period of 1850 to 1898.Probate courts ensure theproper distribution of theassets ofone who has died, determinesthe validity of wills, enforces the provisions of a valid will, oversees estateexecutors and administrators ensuring they are performing all actions required, and provides for the equitable distributionof the assets of persons who diewithout a valid will.

This series contains three (3) Subseries:

Record of the Probate Court Ledger (1873 – 1876)
Probate Court Documents (1850 – 1898)
Indenture Statements (1864 – 1886)

Subseries VIII.A. Record of the Probate Court Ledger (1873 – 1876)

One (1) Ledger

Subseries Scope, Content and Summary

This subseries contains the ledger recording the Santa Cruz Probate Court activities for the period from 24 November 1873 to 5 January 1876 (Note: the ledger is labelled Volume 4). The Accession Number for this ledger is 1996.11.5. The ledger lists the deceased individual’s name, date and action taken or ordered by the judge in relation to the estate including the appointment of guardians, and administrators and executors of the estate.

Subseries VIII.B. Probate Court Documents (1850 – 1898)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Content and Summary

This Subseries contains Probate Documents for Santa Cruz County from 1850 to 1898. These documents are related to the appointment of Executor, Administrative Sales, Payments, etc. for various individuals.

Inventory of Probate Court Documents (.pdf)

Subseries VIII.C. Indenture Statements (1864 – 1886)

One (1) Folder

Subseries Scope, Content and Summary

This subseries contains Indentures from 1864 to 1886. Indentures are legal; contracts reflecting a debt or purchase obligation. These indentures appear to be for the purchase of property in Santa Cruz County.

– 1 November 1864: Lewis Dodero, as guardian of Nicolas Dodero, and Henry Johans. Also, appears to be a second indenture dated 30 January 1863 between Lewis Dodero and Frank (?) and James Corcoran.
– 3 August 1868: Alfred and Mary Walker C. Hoffman.
– 6 May 1870: Nicholas and Marie Castro Valencia and the Santa Cruz Bank of savings and Loan.
– 1 March 1886: Joseph Poggi and Santa Cruz Bank of Savings and Loan. (Accession # 1990.20115).

SERIES IX. CERTIFICATION OF JUDGE OF SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ (1880 – 1907)

One (1) Ledger

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the ledger for the certification by the Judge of the Superior County for the County of Santa Cruz. The judge was certifying that there were no pending court decisions greater than 90 days old. For the period of 1880 to 1896 these certifications were signed by Judge J.H. Logan. For the period of 1896 to 1907 the certifications were signed by Lucas F. Smith.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

4:2

SERIES X. PROBATE AND MINER’S COURT LEDGER (1850 – 1950)

One (1) Ledger

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the ledger for the early probate’s from 1850 to 1853. The probate records are for Bennett, Williams, Neil, Ivial(?), Wade, Hernandez, Rodriguez, Armas, Castro, and Bacon. The remainder of the ledger contains the ByLaws for the County Mining District adopted 24 May 1856. There are also the mining court business of registering the mining companies and claims from 1856 to 1950. The first two pages are a copy of the original ByLaws and contained 13 sections that specified how large the claims were to be, how to register the claims, how much business a claim had to produce etc. There was then a reaffirmation of the ByLaws on 22 August 1863 with the Santa Cruz County Court House, Joseph Stringers (?) was elected Chairman and Edward Render was elected Secretary. The mining companies that registered with the court include:

Box ID#: Folder ID#

4:3

SERIES XI. CORONER’S INQUEST (1901 – 1939)

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series includes coroner’s inquest reports conducted at various locations in Santa Cruz County. A Coroner’s duties always include determining the cause, time, and manner of death. This uses the same investigatory skills of a police detective in most cases, because the answers are available from the circumstances, scene, and recent medical records. In many American jurisdictions, any death not certified by the person’s own physician must be referred to the medical examiner. If an individual dies outside of his/her state of residence, the coroner of the state in which the death took place issues the death certificate. Only a small percentage of deaths require anautopsy to determine the time, cause and manner of death.

Link to Spreadsheet of Information on Coroner’s Inquest (.xlsx)

SERIES XII. SUPERIOR COURT RECORDS (1850 – 1959)

Eight (8) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

The mission of the Santa Cruz Superior Court is to preserve and protect the rights and ideals of society through the interpretation and enforcement of law. It frequently oversees matter of probate (Probate and conservatorship matters address a person’s finances upon death or the care of an adult person that is unable to care for themselves or their finances). The court also handles cases where one party sues another to recover money or property, enforce a contract, collect damages, or protect civil rights.

Inventory of Contents in Superior Court Files (.pdf)

The county treasurer, as the chief custodian of all county funds, including the general fund and special funds, such as those dedicated to a certain purpose and those under the control of an elected official other than the commissioners court.  The treasurer has a duty to receive all money received by the county from any source and place it in the appropriate county depository. All county money received by any official must be delivered promptly to the county treasurer for proper handling.  The county treasurer is also responsible for disbursing county funds as directed by the commissioners court consistently with the law. The county treasurer often acts as the chief liaison between the county and all depository banks. In this capacity, he or she maintains records of all deposits and withdrawals, and reconciles all bank statements, thus assuring their accuracy and the safety of county funds. The county treasurer, who may be designated as the county’s investment officer, is required to submit regular reports to the commissioners court about the county’s finances.

ARRANGEMENT

SERIES I.   ASSESSMENT NOTICES (1977 – 1984)

SERIES II.   BOND REGISTERS (1954 – 1981)

SERIES III.   ABSTRACT OF COUNTY COURT HOUSE PROPERTY (1927)

SERIES IV.   ASSESSMENT OF PROPERTY FOR 1871 & 1873

SERIES V.   SANTA CRUZ COUNTY TREASURER – COUNTY FUND LEDGER (1916 – 1926)

SERIES VI.   CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION – BOARD ROLL OF STATE ASSESSED PROPERTY FOR SANTA CRUZ COUNTY

CONTENTS

SERIES I.   ASSESSMENT NOTICES (1977 – 1984)

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the assessment notices for various improvement projects in Santa Cruz from 1977 to 1984.  These notices include taxpayer’s name, address and amount owed and payment due.

Box ID#: Folder #

1:X

SERIES II.   BOND REGISTERS (1954 – 1981)

Two (2) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the bond registers for various improvement projects in Santa Cruz from 1954 to 1981.  These notices include taxpayer’s name, address and amount owed and payment due.

Altivo Avenue et al Improvements, 1954 – 1969
Soquel Knolls Assessments, 1956 – 1972
Green Valley Estates Sub-Division, 1960-1970
Poplar Park Improvement Project, 1961 – 1976
Big Basin Woods, 1965 – 1981
Boulder Creek Country Club Estates, 1962 – 1981
Crystal Heights Sub-Division and Adjacent Territory, 1967 – 1981
Flintridge Heights Sub-Division, 1966 – 1980
Green Acres, Tract #285, 1964 – 1978
Mesa Village Unit No. 2, Tract #373, 1966 – 1980
Pasatiempo Pines Unit No. 2, 1963 – 1977
Pasatiempo Pines Units No.s 3 & 4, 1964 – 1978
Quail Hollow Terrace, 1964 – 1978
Rolling Green Estates, 1963 – 1977
Senior Homes, Tract #294, 1965 – 1979
Timber View Sub-Division Improvement Project, 1966 – 1980
Bond Register Journal #1: Starting in 1955 – 1968 for various projects
Bond Register Journal #2: Starting in 1966 – 1973 for various projects
Bond Register Journal #3: Starting in 1965 – 1979 for various projects
Bond Register Journal #4: Starting in 1961 – 1969 for various projects
Bond Register Journal #5: Starting in 1963 – 1972 for various projects
Bond Register Journal #6: Starting in 1963 – 1978 for various projects

Box ID#: Folder #

2 & 3:X

SERIES III.   ABSTRACT OF COUNTY COURT HOUSE PROPERTY (1927)

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the abstract of county court house property conducted by Dake Title and Abstract Company on 1 June 1927.

Box ID#: Folder #

4:X

SERIES IV.   ASSESSMENT OF PROPERTY FOR 1871 & 1873

One (1) Journal and One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the journals for the assessment of property in Santa Cruz.  The journals list the taxpayer’s name, description of the property, value of land, value of any improvements, personal property and taxes.

Box ID#: Folder #

5 & 6:X

SERIES V.   SANTA CRUZ COUNTY TREASURER – COUNTY FUND LEDGER (1916 – 1926)

Two (2) Ledgers

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the Santa Cruz County Fund Ledgers.  The ledgers include payments to named county funds (i.e. Salary Fund, San Lorenzo Road Fund, General School Fund, Inheritance Tax Fund, Law Library Fund, Good Road Fund, etc.).  One of the ledgers is for April 1916 to September 1917.  The other ledger is for May 1925 to June 1926.

Box ID#: Folder #

X:X

SERIES VI.   CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION – BOARD ROLL OF STATE ASSESSED PROPERTY FOR SANTA CRUZ COUNTY

Two (2) Volumes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the assessments of all state assessed property for the purposes of taxation in the County of Santa Cruz.  This includes Pacific Gas & Electric Company, Pacific Telephone & Telegraph Company, and Southern Pacific Transportation Company.

Box ID#: Folder #

X:X

Per Wikipedia the clerk often serves as the official keeper of the municipal records, and as such, is sometimes described as the “historian” of the community. Sometimes the Clerk’s Office is limited to just presenting the agenda and minutes for the legislative and committee meetings. Clerks may also be responsible for issuing licenses, overseeing local elections, maintain financial records, registrar of vital statistics, and increasingly, for assuring the transparency of the municipality’s conduct of business.

ARRANGEMENT

SERIES I. CANDIDATE STATEMENTS – RECORD OF INCOME AND EXPENSES FOR CANDIDATES (1894 – 1956)

SERIES II. BURIAL PERMITS (1897 – 1914)

SERIES III. VOTER REGISTRATION (1866 – 1976)

SERIES IV. NATURALIZATION RECORDS (1871 – 1927)

Subseries IV.A. Declaration of Intention
Subseries IV.B. Petition and Record of Naturalization
Subseries IV.C. Naturalization Citizenship Certificates

SERIES V. MARRIAGE APPLICATIONS (1900 – 1975)

CONTENTS

SERIES I. CANDIDATE STATEMENTS – RECORD OF INCOME AND EXPENSES FOR CANDIDATES (1894 – 1956)

One (1) Ledger plus eight (8) boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the ledger for the income and expenses of political candidates. In 1893, the California State Legislature enacted a law entitled “Purity of Elections” based on an English statute that had been passed ten years earlier. The California law covered every aspect of election corruption then of concern, including bribery, coercion, fraud, and secret financing of campaigns. Provisions of the Purity of Elections law included requirements that candidates and their committees file with the Secretary of State detailed financial statements disclosing campaign receipts and expenditures.

In 1911, as part of the Progressive reform movement in California, the initiative, referendum, and recall were added to the State Constitution. Consequently, ballot measures began to play an increasing role in the creation of public policy. However, proposition campaigns were not covered by the Purity of Elections law. So, in 1921, legislation was enacted to require financial disclosure by organizations supporting or opposing statewide propositions. There are nine (9) boxes containing candidate statements from 1894 – 1956. There is also a ledger that covers the period of 1926 to 1934.

– Candidate Statements, 1894-1896
– Candidate Statements, 1898-1908
– Candidate Statements, 1902-1905
– Candidate Statements, 1905-1912
– Candidate Statements, 1908-1912
– Candidate Statements, 1912-1918
– Candidate Statements, 1918-1930
– Candidate Statements, 1926-1948
– Candidate Statements, 1940-1956

SERIES II. BURIAL PERMITS (1897 – 1914)

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the Form 132’s Santa Cruz County Registrar’s Burial Permits, the Form 10’s Stet Board of Health Permit for Burial or Removal, and the ledger for Removal Certificates. More definite rules for the registration of deaths were adopted in a statute approved March 18, 1905. This act gave to the State Bureau of Vital Statistics the general supervision of the records of death. In that they were to be assisted by local registrars, the city clerk or recorder in incorporated cities and towns, and the county recorder in the district lying outside of the incorporated municipalities. No Burial Permit was to be issued until after the return of a satisfactory certificate of death. This certificate must be of standard form recommended by the United States census office and the American Public Health Association and must contain information as to the exact time and place of death; the name, sex, race and color of the deceased; whether married, single or widowed; date and place of birth; name and birthplace of the father; maiden name and birthplace of the mother; and the occupation of the deceased. Other items regarding the cause of death, place of burial, etc.., are to be supplied by the physician and undertaker. The local registrar is required to make a complete and accurate copy of each certificate upon a form identical with the original certificate, this copy to be filed in his office as the local record of such death. The original certificate is then sent on to the state office. In 1907 further amendments were made in regard to the registration of deaths, but none of these affected the method or form of the records as above described. These forms provide information such as the person’s name, sex, age, date of death, who their doctor was plus more:

Link to Spreadsheet with Burial-Permits (.xlsx) currently maintained at the Santa Cruz MAH (21 May 2014). If you notice any errors entered on this spreadsheet please let the museum staff know so they can be corrected. During the transcribing of this information the following was identified:

– These permits appear to be just for individuals buried in cemeteries in northern Santa Cruz County. None of the cemeteries for the south county are included – currently not aware where the permits for the south county are maintained.

– For the majority of individuals who died outside of the county when their remains were transferred the document only stated Santa Cruz. No cemetery was identified.

– For some people who died in Santa Cruz their remains were transferred to San Mateo and then back to Santa Cruz.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

6:X

SERIES III. VOTER REGISTRATION (1866 – 1976)

Series Scope and Content Summary

Great Registers are compiled lists of registered voters that included such information as birth dates, naturalization dates, address and occupation. According to Jim Faulkinbury: “The earliest Great Registers were produced in 1866 as a result of the enactment of Chapter CCLXV, Laws of the 16th Session of the California State Legislature; 1865-66. … This legislation, approved 19 March 1866, and known as the Registration Act provided ‘for the registration of the citizens of the State, and for the enrollment in the several election districts of all the legal voters thereof, and for the prevention and punishment of frauds affecting the elective franchise.’” Please note that women were given the right to vote in 1911 in California, and first appear in the 1912 registers.

– Great Register – 1866-1874
– Great Register – 1875-1879
– Great Register – 1880-1886 (cloth cover is loose)
– Great Register – 1888-1890, Volume 1, A-L
– Great Register – 1888-1890, Volume 2, M-Z
– Great Register – 1888-1890, Volume 3, Supplement

Stanley Stevensin 2010 compiled the information in the GreatRegister to act as a substitute for the 1890 census. The following pdf files are the result of this project.

Link to pdf Document by Stanley Stevens 1890 Introduction (.pdf)
Link to pdf Document of entire Transcribed 1890 Database PDF (.pdf)
Link to Spreadsheet of entire Transcribed 1890 Great Register (.xlsx)
Link to 1890 GR Appendix A Names of Precincts (.pdf)
Link to 1890 GR Appendix B Legal Notices (.pdf)
Link to 1890 GR Appendix C News Items (.pdf)
Link to 1890 GR Table 1 Precinct Totals (.pdf)
Link to 1890 GR Table 2 Registrants by Birth Place (.pdf)
Link to 1890 GR Table 3 Registrants by Occupation (.pdf)

– Great Register – 1892-1896, L-Z
– Great Register – 1892-1896, A-K
– Great Register – 1896-1899, A-K
– Great Register – 1896-1899, L-Z
– Great Register – 1898-1899
– Great Register – 1900-1901, Volume 1, A-L
– Great Register – 1900-1901, Volume 2, M-Z
– Great Register – 1902, A-K
– Great Register – 1902, L-Z
– Great Register – 1904-1905, Volume 1, A-L
– Great Register – 1904-1905, Volume 2, M-Z
– Great Register – 1906-1907, Volume 1, A-L
– Great Register – 1906-1907, Volume 2, M-Z
– Great Register – 1908-1909, Volume 1, A-L
– Great Register – 1908-1909, Volume 2, M-Z
– Index to Great Register – 1900
– Partial Reprint of Great Register, 1892-1894, Daubenbis – Uren
– Reprint of Great Register – 1888
– Index to Great Register – 1900
– Index to Great Register – 1902
– Index to Great Register – 1904
– Index to Great Register – 1906
– Index to Great Register – 1908
– Index to Great Register – 1910
– Index to Great Register, Alphabetical – 1910
– Index to Great Register – 1910
– Index to Great Register – 1912
– Index to Great Register – 1912
– Index to Great Register – 1916
– Index to Great Register – 1916-1917
– Index to Great Register – 1918
– Index to Great Register – 1920
– Index to Great Register – 1920
– Index to Great Register – 1922
– Index to Great Register – 1924
– Index to Great Register – 1926
– Index to Great Register – 1928
– Index to Great Register – 1930

1930 Index to Great Register – First Supervisory District (.xlsx)

– Index to Great Register – 1932

1932 Index to Great Register – First Supervisory District (.xlsx)

– Index to Great Register – 1934
– Index to Great Register – 1936
– Index to Great Register – 1938
– Index to Great Register – 1940
– Index to Great Register – 1940
– Index to Great Register – 1940, Watsonville #17
– Index to Great Register – 1942
– Index to Great Register – 1942
– Index to Great Register – 1944
– Index to Great Register – 1944
– Index to Great Register – 1946
– Index to Great Register – 1946
– Index to Great Register – 1948
– Index to Great Register – 1948
– Index to Great Register – 1950
– Index to Great Register – 1950
– Index to Great Register – 1952 (Office Copy)
– Index to Great Register – 1952
– Index to Great Register – 1954 (Office Copy)
– Index to Great Register – 1954
– Index to Great Register – 1956 (Office Copy)
– Index to Great Register – 1956, Amesti – San Lorenzo
– Index to Great Register – 1956, Santa Cruz – Zayante
– Index to Great Register – 1958 (Office Copy)
– Index to Great Register – 1958, Amesti – San Lorenzo
– Index to Great Register – 1958, Santa Cruz – Zayante
– Index to Great Register – 1960 (Office Copy)
– Index to Great Register – 1960, Amesti – San Lorenzo
– Index to Great Register – 1960, Santa Cruz – Zayante
– Index to Great Register – 1962, Precincts 1001 – 2207
– Index to Great Register – 1962, Precincts 3001 – 5107
– Index to Great Register – June 1964
– Index to Great Register – November 1964
– Index to Great Register – 1964
– Index to Great Register – 1964
– Index to Great Register – 1964
– Index to Great Register – 1966
– Index to Great Register – 1968
– Index to Great Register – 1968
– Index to Great Register – 1970
– Index to Great Register – 7 November 1972, 1st Supervisorial District
– Index to Great Register – 7 November 1972, 2nd Supervisorial District
– Index to Great Register – 7 November 1972, 3rd Supervisorial District
– Index to Great Register – 7 November 1972, 4th Supervisorial District
– Index to Great Register – 7 November 1972, 5th Supervisorial District
– Index to Great Register – 5 November 1974, Precincts 5023 – 5406
– Index to Great Register San Lorenzo Valley – 5 November 1974, Alphabetical
– Index to Great Register San Lorenzo Valley – 5 November 1974, Precincts 1001-1031
– Index to Great Register San Lorenzo Valley – 5 November 1974, Precincts 1101-2028
– Index to Great Register San Lorenzo Valley – 5 November 1974, Precincts 2201-3113
– Index to Great Register San Lorenzo Valley – 5 November 1974, Precincts 3114-3136
– Index to Great Register San Lorenzo Valley – 5 November 1974, Precincts 4001-4315
– Index to Great Register – 2 November 1976, 1st Supervisorial District, Precincts 1001 – 1401
– Index to Great Register – 2 November 1976, 2nd Supervisorial District, Precincts 2001 – 2211
– Index to Great Register – 2 November 1976, 3rd Supervisorial District, Precincts 3001 – 3141
– Index to Great Register – 2 November 1976, 4th Supervisorial District, Precincts 4001 – 4318
– Index to Great Register – 2 November 1976, 5th Supervisorial District, Precincts 5001 – 5499

SERIES IV. NATURALIZATION RECORDS (1871 – 1927)

Series Scope and Content Summary

People applying to become citizens must satisfy certain requirements. For example, there have been requirements for applicants to have lived in the nation for five years (three if married to a U.S. citizen,) be of “good moral character” meaning no felony convictions, be of “sound mind” in the judgment of immigration officials, have knowledge of the Constitution, and be able to speak and understand English unless they are elderly or disabled. Applicants must also pass a simple citizenship test. Up until recently, a test published by the Immigration and Naturalization Service asked questions such as “How many stars are there in our flag?” and “What is the Constitution?” and “Who is the president of the United States today?” At one point, the Government Printing Office sold flashcards for $8.50 to help test takers prepare for the test.

This series is divided into three (3) subseries:

Subseries IV.A. Declaration of Intent
Subseries IV.B. Petition and Record of Naturalization
Subseries IV.C. Naturalization Citizenship Certificates

Subseries IV.A. Declaration of Intention

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains the Declaration of Intention for individuals wanting to become naturalized US Citizens. Naturalization was a two-step process that generally took a minimum of 5 years. In general, after living in the United States for 2 years, an alien could file a Declaration of Intention (also called First Papers) to become a citizen. Information found on this Declaration of Intention includes: Name, age, occupation, physical description, place and date of birth, current residence, how he immigrated from Canada to USA, his ports of arrival and departure, date of immigration, marital status, name of wife, original signature

– 1880-1890
– 1890-1906
– 1906-1909
– 1909-1911
– 1911-1913
– 1913-1918
– 1918-1922
– 1922-1927

Subseries IV.B. Petition and Record of Naturalization

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains the Petition and record of Naturalization including any supporting documentation (declaration of intention, witness statements, affidavits, etc.). After 2 additional years, the alien could Petition for Naturalization. After the petition was granted, a Certificate of Citizenship was issued to the alien.

– 1870s – binding is coming loose
– 1903-1906
– 1909-1913
– 1913-1916
– 1916-1920
– 1920-1923
– 1923-1927

Subseries IV.C. Naturalization Citizenship Certificates

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries contains certificate of citizenship which is a legal document that serves as a proof of U.S. citizenship.

– 1884-1896
– 1888-1902
– 1898-1903

SERIES V. MARRIAGE APPLICATIONS (1900 – 1975)

Series Scope and Content Summary

In general, a marriage license application includes similar information in most states. While the state required records be kept on marriage certificates and contracts as early as 1851, it wasn’t until 1858 that any further information was kept, such as births, divorce and death. At that time the office of the state Registrar was created. The requirements are also generally the same for both the potential bride and the potential groom. The information requested include full name, age, address, mother’s maiden name, and previous marriages.

– Affidavits for Marriage License Register, 17 September 1900 – 12 October 1907
– Affidavits for Marriage License Register, 3 August 1905 – 9 April 1907
– Affidavits for Marriage License Register, 14 October 1907 – 4 September 1912
– Affidavits for Marriage License Register, 7 September 1912 – 20 April 1917
– Affidavits for Marriage License Register, 20 April 1917 – 25 August 1920
– Affidavits for Marriage License Register, 27 August 1920 – 2 July 1923
– Marriage Applications, 1 August 1927 – 17 October 1929
– Marriage Applications, 1929
– Marriage Applications, 1933
– Marriage Applications, 1946
– Marriage Applications, 1947
– Marriage Applications, 1948
– Marriage Applications, 1949
– Marriage Applications, 1950
– Marriage Applications, 1951
– Marriage Applications, 1952
– Marriage Applications, 1953
– Marriage Applications, 1954
– Marriage Applications, 1955
– Marriage Applications, 1956
– Marriage Applications, 1957
– Marriage Applications, 1958
– Marriage Applications, 1959
– Marriage Applications, 1960
– Marriage Applications, 1961
– Marriage Applications, 1962
– Marriage Applications, 1963
– Marriage Applications, 1965, A-L
– Marriage Applications, 1965, L-Z
– Marriage Applications, 1966, A-J
– Marriage Applications, 1966, K-Z
– Marriage Applications, 1967, A-K
– Marriage Applications, 1967, L-Z
– Marriage Applications, 1968, A-K
– Marriage Applications, 1968, L-Z
– Marriage Applications, 1969, A-K
– Marriage Applications, 1969, L-Z
– Marriage Applications, 1970, A-K
– Marriage Applications, 1970, L-Z
– Marriage Applications, 1971, A-K
– Marriage Applications, 1971, L-Z
– Marriage Applications, 1972, A-L
– Marriage Applications, 1972, M-Z
– Marriage Applications, 1973, A-F
– Marriage Applications, 1973, G-N
– Marriage Applications, 1973, O-Z
– Marriage Applications, 1974, A-G
– Marriage Applications, 1974, H-O
– Marriage Applications, 1974, P-Z
– Marriage Applications, 1975, A-G
– Marriage Applications, 1975, H-O
– Marriage Applications, 1975, P-Z

The Santa Cruz County Health Services Agency exists to protect the public health of Santa Cruz County and to help assure residents access to medical care and treatment.  The Health Services Agency (HSA) exists to protect and improve the health of the people in Santa Cruz County. The Agency provides programs in Environmental Health, Public Health, Medical Care, Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment, and Mental Health.  The ultimate goal of the Health Services Agency is healthy people living in healthy communities. HSA is responsible for promoting community health in the public and private sectors.

ARRANGEMENT

SERIES I.:  MEDICAL LICENSE REGISTER (1876 – 1939)

SERIES II.:  REGISTER FOR COUNTY HOSPITAL (1873 – 1928)

SERIES III.:  PRESCRIPTION SCRAPBOOKS FOR PALMER DRUG COMPANY/PALMER PRESCRIPTION DRUGGIST (1897 – 1910)

SERIES IV.  SANTA CRUZ COUNTY COMMITMENTS TO STATE MENTAL HOSPITALS (circa 1862 – 1913)

CONTENTS

SERIES I.:  MEDICAL LICENSE REGISTER (1876 – 1939)

One (1) Ledger

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains copies of licenses to practice medicine in California.  These licenses are recorded by the Santa Cruz County Clerk and issued by the California State Boards.  Medical practices identified include medicine, homeopathy, osteopathy, optometry, and chiropractic.  The Medical Board of California dates back to 1878 revision of the Medical Practice Act of 1876.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

X:X

SERIES II.:  REGISTER FOR COUNTY HOSPITAL (1873 – 1928)

Two (2) Ledgers

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains two (2) register ledgers for the county hospital.  One register is for 1873 to 1910.  The other register is for 1911 to 1928, interesting note while most patients up to 1917 and 1919 and after had a diagnosis listed for 1918 during the time of the Spanish Flu Epidemic none of the patients had a diagnosis listed.  The registers list patient’s name, occupation, nativity, age, marital status, diagnosis, and days present at the hospital.  Note: The AMI Community Hospital was a privately funded hospital that first started accepting patients 1 October 1959.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

X:X

SERIES III.:  PRESCRIPTION SCRAPBOOKS FOR PALMER DRUG COMPANY/PALMER PRESCRIPTION DRUGGIST (1897 – 1910)

Two (2) Scrapbooks

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains two (2) scrapbooks for the Palmer Drug Company/Palmer Prescription Druggist with the original prescriptions filled out by doctors.  The Palmer Drug Company was owned by Sylvester A. Palmer and was located at 40 Pacific Avenue in Santa Cruz. His advertisements first appeared in the Santa Cruz Sentinel in 1888 and he continued in business for many years, until he passed away 31 December 1919 (Santa Cruz Sentinel 1888:Palmer Drug Advertisement; Santa Cruz Sentinel 1920: S.A. Palmer Obituary). – 1888 “S.A. Palmer Druggist and Apothecary Advertisement.” 14 October, Santa Cruz, California., 1920 “S.A. Palmer Obituary.” 1 January:1, Santa Cruz, California.  The scrapbook for 1897 to 1898 (Accession # 1991.26.1) includes prescriptions from Dr.s Congdon, Knight, Nicholls, Anderson, Cain, Clark and others.  The scrapbook for 1909 to 1910 (Accession # 1995.12.1) includes prescriptions from Dr.s McGuire, Bush, Price, Cothran, Congdon, Keck, Anderson and others.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

X:X

SERIES IV.  SANTA CRUZ COUNTY COMMITMENTS TO STATE MENTAL HOSPITALS (circa 1862 – 1913)

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the Santa Cruz County Court Commitment paperwork for 118 individuals from the 1860s to about 1900.  A civil commitment is a legal process whereby an individual with symptoms of severe mental illness is court-ordered into treatment in a hospital.  This paperwork is fragile and worn and has possibly been exposed to moisture and mold.  These are four page documents that are approximately 11” x 17”.  These documents record the individuals name, age, residence, and other personal information.  There is also a physician’s examination and statement.  Finally, there is a note on how the care and maintenance at the asylum will be paid for, either the state or through a guardian appointed by the judge.

Link to Spreadsheet of Information on State Hospital Commitments (.xlsx)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

 1:X

A certificate of incorporation is a legal document relating to the formation of a company or corporation. It is a license to form a corporation issued by state government.  In the United States a certificate of incorporation is usually used as an alternative description of a corporation’s articles of incorporation. The certificate of incorporation, or articles of incorporation, form a major constituent part of the constitutional documents of the corporation.

SERIES I.  INDEX TO INCORPORATIONS (1864 – 1881)

One (1) Ledger Book

Series Scope, Content and Summary

This series contains a tan cloth covered ledger book for the recording of Certificates of Incorporation for various entities in Santa Cruz County.  Many of the entities applying for incorporation include churches, banks plus many other companies and organizations.

SERIES II.  INDEX TO INCORPORATIONS (1853 – 1980)

One (1) Ledger Book

Series Scope, Content and Summary

This series contains the red covered master index for the articles of incorporation files for Santa Cruz County.  This index lists a control number, company name, and when the original and/or certified copies were filed.

SERIES III.  ORIGINAL AND/OR CERTIFIED COPIES OF ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION

Five 4-Drawer File Cabinets

Series Scope, Content and Summary

This series contains the original and/or certified copy of articles of incorporation.  The articles of incorporation include the company or organization name, date, the purpose of the incorporation, principal business location, the number and name of the directors and amount of capital stock.  The articles of incorporation are filed by date of incorporation.  There is a blue alphabetical card index of the articles of incorporation.

SANTA CRUZ COUNTY RECORDS INVENTORY, 1977 – 1978

Three (3) Boxes

 Series Scope and Content Summary

The Santa Cruz County Historical Records Commission conducted an inventory of county governmental records pertinent to the history and development of the county.  The Program was funded by CETA (Comprehensive Employment and Training Act), with approval by the County Board of Supervisors.  The two member survey team inventoried original county documents held by the departments and agencies to find what existed, where stored, conditions of storage, etc.  The team was then to recommend appropriate storage, retrieval, conservation, and disposition.  This material was collected by Albert Schadel, Santa Cruz County Historical Museum Director who reported to the Director of parks, Open Space, and Cultural Services Department (POSCS) and staff of the Historical Resources Committee of POSCS (replaced by the Historical Resources Preservation Commission).  This series contains progress reports and folders arranged by county department with detailed, handwritten inventory of records.

–  Box #1/Folder #1: Memos and documents related to the initial organization of the Inventory Program.
–  Box #1/Folder #2: Inventory at the County Recorder’s Office.  Includes such items as Marriage Records starting from 1851, Birth Records starting from 1873, Death Certificates starting from 1873, Property Records starting from 1850, other agreements starting from the 1850s, plus many other documents starting from various times of the early history of the county.
–  Box #1/Folder #3: Municipal Court records at the Santa Cruz County Records Center.
–  Box #1/Folder #4: Great Registers and indexes.  All of these appear to be already at the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History.
–  Box #1/Folder #5: County Clerk Civil and Probate Inventory.  Includes County Court Civil and Criminal Minutes starting from 1852.  Plus other court actions starting from the 1850s.
–  Box #1/Folder #6: Agency History.
–  Box #1/Folder #7: Resource Management Agency.
–  Box #1/Folder #8: Community Resources.
–  Box #1/Folder #9: County Clerk.
–  Box #2/Folder #10: Office of Education.
–  Box #2/Folder #11: Boards, Commissions, and Committees.
–  Box #2/Folder #12: Planning Department.
–  Box #2/Folder #13: Probation.
–  Box #2/Folder #14: Sherriff and Coroner.
–  Box #2/Folder #15: Highway Lighting District.
–  Box #2/Folder #16: County Surveyor.
–  Box #2/Folder #17: Bibliography.
–  Box #2/Folder #18: Department Inventory.
–  Box #3/Folder #19: Treasurer and Tax Collector.
–  Box #3/Folder #20: First Inventory List.
–  Box #3/Folder #21: Social Services.
–  Box #3/Folder #22:  Accessions Worksheets.
–  Box #3/Folder #23: Social Services.
–  Box #3/Folder #24: Social Services.
–  Box #3/Folder #25: County Administrative Office.
–  Box #3/Folder #26: Treasurer and Tax Collector.
–  Box #3/Folder #27: Personnel.
–  Box #3/Folder #28: Mechanical Services.
–  Box #3/Folder #29: Superior Court.
–  Box #3/Folder #30: District Attorney.
–  Box #3/Folder #31: Probation.
–  Box #3/Folder #32: Public Works.
–  Box #3/Folder #33: Health Services Agency.
–  Box #3/Folder #34: Agricultural Commission.
– Box #4/Folder #35: Record Retention and Disposition.
– Box #4/Folder #36: Auditor Controller.
– Box #4/Folder #37: Various Inventories of Records from Multiple Departments.
– Box #4/Folder #38: Descriptions of the various County Offices.
– Box #4/Folder #39: Weekly Status Reports.
– Box #4/Folder #40: Handwritten Notes #1.
– Box #4/Folder #41: Handwritten Notes #2.
– Box #5/Folder #42: Handwritten Notes #3.
– Box #5/Folder #43: Handwritten Notes #4.