SERIES I. ADMINISTRATIVE PAPERS, 1919-1985 (NON-INCLUSIVE)
Twenty-six (26) folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series includes the documentation of the history and administration of the Santa Cruz Art League 1919-1985, including By-Laws, Board Rules, the Constitution and papers pertinent to significant events and programs developed by the League and individuals who supported and served the League,
This series is organized both chronologically and by provenance
This series is divided into 4 subseries.
Subseries I.A General Membership Meeting minutes, Board of Directors Meeting Minutes, Treasurer’s Reports, 1919-1985
Subseries I.B Membership Rosters, 1949-1985
Subseries I.C Gallery Attendance, 1956-1967
Subseries I.D Documents Pertinent to the Abstract Art Controversy, 1981
Subseries I.E Assessor’s Map and Landscaping Agreement
Subseries I.A. General Membership Meeting Minutes, Board of Directors Meeting Minutes, Treasurer’s Reports, 1919-1985
Seventeen (17) folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries includes manuscript and typescript minutes of the monthly general membership and Board of Directors meetings, and the Treasurer’s reports from 1919-1985 removed from original binders.
1:1 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1919-1929, typescript Constitution and By-Laws, dated June 5, 1929
1:2 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1930-1933
1:3 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports,1938-1943; typescript Constitution revision signed by Lillian Howard, n.d., and type- script By-Laws, n.d.
1:4 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1944-1947
1:5 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1948-1951; correspondence to and from Ralph N. Gray, 1951 regarding resignation from the office of President
2:6 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1951-1954
2:7 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1955-1959; County First Savings Bank, Santa Cruz, Calif. bank book (October 1, 1954-February 10, 1960); correspondence to Glenn E. Coolidge, State Assemblyman regarding state tax waiver (1955-1956)
2:8 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1960
2:9 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1961-1963; County Bank of Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, Calif. bank book (February 23, 1960- June 1, 1963); list of contents of deposit box as of May 15, 1956
2:10 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1964-1966
2:11 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1968-1969
3:12 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1969-1970
3:13 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1972-1975
3:14 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1976-1978
3:15 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1979-1980
3:16 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1981-1983
3:17 – Minutes and Treasurer’s Reports, 1984-1985
Subseries I.B. Membership Rosters, 1949-1985
Six (6) folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries includes membership rosters 1949-1985 non-inclusive
4:18 – Membership Rosters, June 4, 1949, 1950 April 1957
4:19 – Membership Rosters, 1960, 1962, 1964-1965, 1966, 1968
4:20 – Membership Roster, Board 1969-1970
4:21 – Membership Rosters, 1970-1971, 1972-1973, 1974-1975, 1975- 1976
4:22 – Membership Rosters, 1977-1978, 1978-1979
4:23 – Membership Rosters, 1980, 1981-1982, 1982-1983, 1985
Subseries I.C. Gallery Attendance, 1956-1967
One (1) folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the official Record Book of Gallery Attendance: total count of visitors 1956-1967
4:24 – Record Book of Gallery Attendance
Subseries I.D. Documents Pertinent to the Abstract Art Controversy, 1981
One (1) folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains resignation letters and other correspondence, newspaper clippings, and photocopies of meeting minutes pertinent to the discussion regarding restrictions on the display of abstract art in the Art League galleries, 1981. Includes two copies of “Communist Conspiracy in Art Threatens American Museums,” speech of Hon. George A. Dondero of Michigan, in the House of Representatives, March 17, 1952, Congressional Record, 996380-42567.
4:25 – Documents Pertinent to the Abstract Art Controversy, 1981
Subseries I.E. Assessor’s Map and Landscaping Agreement
One (1) folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains Assessors Map (“Rev. May 1961”) and Landscaping Agreement (n.d.)
4:26 – Assessors Map (“Rev. May 1961”) and Landscaping Agreement (n.d.)
SERIES II. PERSONAL HISTORICAL COLLECTIONS BY OFFICERS OR MEMBERS OF THE ART LEAGUE, 1949-1980 NON-INCLUSIVE
Twenty-four (24) folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series includes memoirs, brochures, photographs, newspaper clippings, and manuscripts written and collected by Walter J. Huebner, member of the League and Jim Price, President of the League 1987-1988.
This series is organized by provenance.
This series is divided into 2 subseries
Subseries II. A Walter J. Huebner Papers, 1949-1980
Subseries II. B Jim Price Papers, 1949-1990
Subseries II.A. Walter J. Huebner Papers, 1951-1980 non-inclusive
Two (2) folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries includes correspondence manuscripts, drafts of speeches and articles written and collected by Walter J. Huebner.
5:27 – Drafts, speeches, and articles about the history of the Art League, received from Gloria Huebner
5:28 – “The Last Supper”: Manuscript and typescript pages (circa 1951) pertinent to the history of the acquisition of “The Last Supper” by the Art League; newspaper clippings, copy of the lease agreement between Santa Cruz Art League and Santa Cruz Citizens Committee (1951); Constitution and By-Laws as of October 1955
Subseries II.B. Jim Price Papers, 1949-1990 non-inclusive
Eleven (11) folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries includes memoirs, brochures, photographs and correspondence collected by Jim Price in 1987.
5:29 – Correspondence regarding non-profit status written by John Fuller, President, Santa Cruz Art League, 1949
5:30 – Photocopy of the playbill for “Story of the Prodigal Son, the original presentation by Cor DeGavere in 14 tableau silhouette scenes,” a benefit for the Santa Cruz Art League, 1951
5:31 – Photocopy of exhibit catalog entitled “Art and Artists in Santa Cruz: A Historic Survey” June 22 – August 15,1973, presented by Santa Cruz City Museum at The Octagon Museum, Cooper Street, San Jose
5:32 – Photocopy of exhibit catalog: “Frederick William Billing: 19th century landscape paintings, Santa Cruz Public Library, June 28- September 9, 1975, presented by the Santa Cruz City Museum
5:33 – Photocopies of letters of resignation by Dorothy J. Rose, President and Millie Piraino, Vice President written during the controversy over abstract art, photocopies of legal documents, and proxy votes by members, 1981
5:34 – Centennial Showcase #1, black and white photographs, 1986
5:35 – Photocopies of historical manuscripts and documents, identified as “The Santa Cruz Art League in its Community” compiled by Jim Price in 1987, including: an article titled “Santa Cruz Art League, Inc.” compiled by Iulus A. McCullough, curator; membership rosters (n.d.); 1960 Santa Cruz Art League Roster; contract for a painting to be donated by Claude Buck, artist (1949); text of a speech by Margaret Rogers (1960); Santa Cruz Art League Inc. Bulletin (March, 1987); Past Presidents of the Santa Cruz Art League 1919-1965, letter from Dorothy C. Miller to June Baker regarding memories of the Santa Cruz Art League (1984); announcement from Philip S. Breck, Jr., General Manager of the Santa Cruz Chamber of Commerce proclaiming Art Week (1947); Letter addressed to Mr. President regarding the recent history of the League and addressing criticism of the installation of “The Last Supper” as an exhibit in the League gallery and recommendations for motions for actions (unsigned, n.d.); certificate of incorporation and legal document (County Clerk’s index no. 1575) issued by the State of California, Frank Jordan, Secretary of State, March 4,1949.
5:36 – Photocopies of articles by Walter J. Huebner about the history of the League
5:37 – Letter of intent regarding retrospective exhibition of Frank and Lillian Heath paintings during February 1987; photocopies of two articles (“Toward Artistic Development: The Legacy of Frank and Lillian Heath” and “Frank and Lillian Pioneered Santa Cruz Art League”) by Margaret Koch; biographical chronology of Frank and Lillian Heath
5:38 – Brochures, newspaper clippings, black and white photographs, postcards about “The Last Supper,” (1951-1990); carbon copy of the By-Laws of Last Supper Citizens Committee, Inc. (unsigned 1972); fund raising letter from The Last Supper Citizens Committee (n.d.)
5:39 – Black and white photographs and negatives of ground breaking ceremony, art sales, exhibit installations, “The Last Supper,” color photographs of gallery building, furniture and grounds, Christmas cards from Margaret E. Rogers, photocopy of the Constitution of the League (n.d.), flyer from the Beaux Arts Ball, 1957; Santa Cruz Art League promotional postcards, membership application (n.d.); “History of Santa Cruz Art League Galleries” by Margaret E. Rogers (32 p. pamphlet, n.d.)
SERIES III. EXHIBITION, ART SALES, FUNDRAISERS, AND PROMOTIONAL MATERIALS, 1955- 1991 NON-INCLUSIVE
Three (3) folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series includes brochures and announcements for the exhibits and events sponsored by the League.
This series is divided into 3 series.
Subseries III.A General exhibit and art sales promotional materials, 1960-1991
Subseries III.B California Statewide Art Exhibit. 1955-1991
Subseries III.C Beaux Arts Ball Committee Papers, 1953-1957
Subseries III.A. General exhibit and art sales promotional materials, 1960-1991
Seven (7) folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries includes advertisements and promotional materials for exhibits and events at the League, Art League Theater, and “Remarkable Artist Series.”
6:40 – Promotional materials for exhibits, brochures for theater productions, 1960 -1991. Includes two copies of catalog entitled “Frank and Lillian Heath : Towards Artistic Development, (title from cover, n.d.)
6:41 – Guidebook for Open Studios, sponsored by the Cultural Council of Santa Cruz County, 1990 and 1991
6:42 – Receipts, correspondence, list of paintings sold, etc., pertinent to the Summer Sale, 1959, a fundraiser for the League.
Subseries III.B. California Statewide Annual Art Exhibit, 1955-1991
Two (2) folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This series includes invitations to artists, promotional materials, etc., pertinent to the annual California Statewide Art Exhibit. This competition and exhibition, which began in 1928 has continued to be a premier art event, and is known for high standards of acceptance. Prizes are awarded.
6:43 – California Statewide Art Exhibit, 1955-1963
6:44 – California Statewide Art Exhibit, 1964-1991
Subseries III.C. Beaux Arts Ball Committee Papers, 1953-1957
One (1) folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the planning documents of the Beaux Arts Ball. Includes committee meeting minutes, treasurer’s reports, promotional materials, and newspaper clippings. This fundraiser, which was a themed masquerade ball, was a very popular social event in Santa Cruz.
7:45 – Beaux Arts Ball Committee Papers, 1953, 1954, from portfolio labeled “Beaux”
7:46 – Beaux Arts Ball Committee Papers, 1957, 1958, from portfolio labeled “Beaux”
SERIES IV. SANTA CRUZ COUNTY ART CLUB, 1958-1962 NON-INCLUSIVE
Seven (7) folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series includes the administrative papers of the Santa Cruz County Art Club and the papers and memorabilia of Lillian Huebner, officer of the club.
This series is organized chronologically.
This series is subdivided into two subseries.
Subseries IV.A Membership Rosters and Meeting Minutes, 1958-1962
Subseries IV.B Lillian Huebner papers, notes and correspondence, 1957-1971
Subseries IV.A. Administrative Papers, Membership Rosters and Meeting Minutes, 1958-1962
Two (2) folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries includes the membership rosters and meeting minutes.
7:47 Santa Cruz County Art Club, Membership Rosters, 1958, 1962
8:48 Santa Cruz County Art Club, Minutes, 1958-1960, 1960-1962, Constitution and By-Laws of the Santa Cruz County Art Club: President’s Book (1963), Santa Cruz County Art Club C.F.W.C. [California Federation of Women’s Clubs] 1960-1961 Report.
Subseries IV.B. Lillian Huebner Papers, 1957-1971
Five (5) folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries includes the personal notes and memorabilia of Lillian Huebner, officer of the club
8:49 Notes, correspondence, newspaper clippings 1965-1971, including carbon copy of Resolution by the members of the Santa Cruz County Art Club against “vulgarity in art and pornographic magazines,” dated November 4, 1965; The Student Illustrator: A Magazine For Art Students, vol. 1, no. 3, [1916?]; California Clubwoman: the Magazine of the California Federation of Women’s Clubs, December 1964, and correspondence regarding the Report of Malta Shrine, Supreme Material Objective, 1965.
8:50 Santa Cruz Art League general meeting notes March 1968- December 1971; Santa Cruz Woman’s Club Report, Penny Art, Chair 1964-1965
8:51 Form letters sent by jurors for the Art League gallery, Minutes and Standing Rules for the Art League and other documents regarding procedures written by Iulus McCullough, Parliamentarian of the Santa Cruz Art League (1958), financial documents, rosters of the Board of Directors 1963, 1964, committee notes and correspondence for the 1969 Santa Cruz Art League Sponsor Show.
8:52 Newspaper clippings about art and artists in Santa Cruz, California 1952-1966, including some columns written by Walt J. Huebner.
8:53 Needs description
SERIES V. PHOTOGRAPHS (N.D.)
Three (3) folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series includes black and white and color photographs of League events and League members and guests.
9:50 Black and white photographs of artists and artwork, for newspaper articles and promotional materials about the Art League ca. 1960- 1980
9:51 Two (2) Italian postcards of “The Last Supper”(one dated 1904), black and white photographs of a fashion show event (n. d.), photocopy of newspaper articles announcing winners of 1986 statewide exhibition, and black and white photographs for newspaper articles and promotional materials about the Art League, ca. 1960-1980.
9:52 60th Anniversary (removed from album)
SERIES VI. NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS BY DECADE, 1930-1993
Nine (9) folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series includes newspaper clippings from local newspapers regarding League sponsored events, art sales and demonstrations, exhibits and some obituaries of members.
This series is arranged chronologically by decade.
10:53 Newspaper Clippings, 1930’s
10:54 Newspaper Clippings, 1940’s
10:55 Newspaper Clippings, 1950’s
10:56 Newspaper Clippings, 1960’s
10:57 Newspaper Clippings, 1970’s
10:58 Newspaper Clippings, 1980’s
10:59 Newspaper Clippings, 1980’s
10:60 Newspaper Clippings, 1992-1993
10:61 Newspaper Clippings, (n.d.)
SERIES VII. SCRAPBOOKS, 1938-1984
Four (4) folders
Two (2) boxes
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series includes scrapbooks compiled by unidentified League members or officers. The scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings of League events, art sales, promotions, correspondence, and photographs.
This series is arranged
11:62 Archival photocopies of scrapbook of newspaper clippings, 1975- 1977. Original scrapbook discarded for preservation reasons.
11:63 Newspaper clippings 1968-1973 including articles about the 1973 43rd Annual Statewide Exhibit (removed from binder)
11:64 Black and white photograph of Santa Cruz Historical Society, Inc. window display, Heritage days, 1964 and newspaper clippings 1973-1981 (removed from binder)
11:65 Newspaper clippings, 1981-1984 (removed from binder marked “Crochet Books”)
Box 12
Scrapbook Beaux Arts Ball newspaper clippings 1954, newspaper articles about the activities of the League 1947-1969
Scrapbook Beaux Arts Ball, newspaper clippings and correspondence collected by Kathleen Turbett, General Chairman 1953-1954
Box 13
Scrapbook Beaux Arts Ball, Santa Cruz Art League 1951-1961
Scrapbook Newspaper clippings 1938-1965
