Guide to the Otto Kunitz Music Collection (1904 – 1942)

Otto Gustave Kunitz (1871-1935) was born in Santa Cruz, the son of Ernest and Henrietta (Marwede) Kunitz. Otto’s father arrived in Santa Cruz in 1851 with Frederick A. Hihn. Ernest became a prosperous businessman, a soap and glue manufacturer. His son, Otto, graduated from Santa Cruz High School and began his training in music. Later, he spent six years at the Schwarenka Conservatory of Music in Berlin, where he studied piano and composition. He returned to California in 1902 and for fifteen years lived in Los Angeles, where he played professionally, taught, and composed songs and music for the piano. He returned to the family’s Locust Street home in Santa Cruz in 1917, where he continued to teach and contribute to community appreciation of classical music. He was a well known philatelist, stamp collector, and flower enthusiast. He died on July 31, 1935. On December 29, 1935 the local musicians contributed to a musical program conducted at the First Methodist Church to commemorate Otto Kunitz’s interest in and contribution to music in Santa Cruz County. The donation of the Otto Kunitz Music Library in 1937 formed the nucleus of what became the Art and Music Room of the Santa Cruz Public Library. The collection is currently made available by The Museum of Art & History.

The above photo is of Otto Kunitz’s old house on Locust Street.  The lady sitting down in the middle is Otto’s mother.

SERIES I.  SCRAPBOOKS AND NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS (1904 – 1942)

Two (2) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains scrapbooks with newspaper clippings, and music programs he performed in and/or attended. Some of the newspaper clippings have dates, either included with the clipping or handwritten on the clipping. The music programs are also dated. The newspaper articles are primarily of music programs, concerts, and recitals. These scrapbooks do not appear to have been assembled by another individual, some of the articles are after Otto Kunitz’s death.

Box 1: Brown covered scrapbook. On the front cover is Scrap Book, written underneath is Hope Swinford. There are quite a few articles about meetings, and events organized by the Library Musical Club. There are also programs from the Knight’s Opera House and a concert held at the IOOF Hall.
Box 1: Two Envelopes containing loose programs for concerts conducted at the Opera House and other locations like the Armory. Some of these concerts were conducted by the Santa Cruz Choral Club and the Cheerful Workers Society. Many of these were charity or benefit concerts, proceeds going to the local aid society or the high school athletics association.
Box 1: Two light brownish grey gray cloth covered scrapbooks. These appear to be study books. These contain various articles about music history, composition, orchestras, musical scales, etc. There are extensive notes, inspirations. There are also essays about various composers.
Box 2: A Brown Cloth Covered Record Book containing hand written music education notes. Some of the notes are in German.
Box 2: A Black Covered Scrapbook titled ‘Souvenir Post Cards.’ Contains clippings of poems, news stories and cartoons that are music related. There are also some hand written poems apparently by Otto Kunitz.
Box 2: A Forest Green Cloth Covered Ledger Book. This ledger book contains hand written notes on various performers, the notes appear to be of songs played at different locations. Inside of the ledger book are memorial cards. One of the cards is for Alice Cecilia Boston of Santa Cruz who died December 4, 1882.
Box 2: Programs for concerts in Germany, circa 1900.
Box 2: Two small note books. A black covered note book from 1900, all of the notes in this book are in German. A brown covered note book that appears to be tracking musical programs on tour.
Box 2: 1902 letter to Otto Kunitz. The letter appears to be in German.
Box 2: Black faux cloth covered scrapbook. Contains clippings for music education.
Box 2: A scrapbook pamphlet contains newspaper clippings of the dedication of the Kunitz Memorial Music Library, and clippings of the Music Teachers Association Convention held in Santa Cruz.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

1-2:X

SERIES II.  ORIGINAL MUSICAL SCORES BY OTTO KUNITZ (1894 to 1920s)

Two (2) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains original handwritten musical scores by Otto Kunitz.

1.  “To the Waternymphs Drinking at the Fountain.” Based on a poem, of the same name, by Robert Herrick (1591 – 1674).
2.  “Valse.” La Valse was written by Maurice Ravel in 1919 -1920. It is a tribute to the waltz.
3.  “Two Romances, Opus 15.” “Romance” by Anton Arensky (1861 – 1906), suite for two pianos.
4.  “Fantasia No. 1, The Sagittar Loyal.”
5.  “Vision of Sir Launfal.” Based on a poem, of the same name, by James Russell Lowell (1819 – 1891). This poem is Lowell’s contribution to Arthurian literature.
6.  “Suite.” Original unfinished work by Otto Kunitz. The prelude is unfinished.
7.  A small approximately 8” x 10” brown covered composition book containing short untitled works. The works are dated 1895 to 1924.
8.  Miscellaneous poems and compositions.
9.  “The Primrose.” Based on Poem by Robert Herrick (1591 – 1674).
10.  Miscellaneous Piano and Vocal Compositions by Otto Kunitz.
11.  “Feenreigen” (German for fairy circle?). Rough Drafts and Variants.
12.  “Because of Thee.” Based on poem of same name by Celia Thaxter (1835 – 1894). Song for High Voice with Pianoforte Accompaniament.
13.  “Gavotte & Musette.” Opus 2, No. 1.
14.  “In a Bounding Boat.” Opus 3, No. 1.
15.  Incomplete Manuscripts by Various Composers.
16.  Manuscripts by Various Composers.
17.  “Minuet.” Opus 2, No. 2.
18.  Motifs for Compositions.
19.  “Romance in D.” Opus 15, No. 1.
20.  Untitled and Unnumbered.
21.  “Stray Leaves.” Opus 9. Three numbers for Piano.
22.  Studies for Songs.
23.  1890 Class Song by Miss Emma Kerr and W.R. Hervey.
24.  1895 Class Song by Florence Bliss and Otto Kunitz.
25.  A 12” x 10” black covered book with red binding titled “Otto Kunitz Miscellaneous Piano and Vocal Compositions, Vol. 2.” There are also copies of the “Essay Read by Otto Kunitz at the Graduation Exercises at Santa Cruz, Cal., May 28^th, 1891.”
26.  A 15” x 11” black covered book with red binding. There are various scale exercises.
27.  Light brown cloth covered notebook. On the cover is written “List of Pianoforte Compositions which I have used in my teaching career.”
28.  Black covered notebook containing various exercises and notes.
29.  A play written by local resident Jack Stockfleth, “Mother’s Lined Face.” It was presented by the Stockfleth’s to Otto Kunitz.
30.  Black covered notebook by Otto Kunitz. The notebook is titled “Methodik des Klaviersfriels.” Translation appears to be “Keyboard Methods.”
31.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “October 10, 1896.”
32.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “January 16, 1897.”
33.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “April 7, 1897.”
34.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “January 26, 1898.”
35.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Meine Fugen, April ’99.”
36.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “January 1900.”
37.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Stimainge (?) Fugen, September 21, 1900.”
38.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “October 1900.”
39.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “October 1900.”
40.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Fuge D Moll, December 1900.”
41.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Freie Fuge, December 1900.”
42.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “January 1901.”
43.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “August 1901.”
44.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Fuge D Moll, December 1901.”
45.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Walzer E Dur, December 1901.”
46.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Beethoven Op 1, December 1901.”
47.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Beethoven Op 10 No. 1, February 5, 1902.”
48.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Javei (?) Lieder, Fabruary 1902.”
49.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Adagio (?) Adur Mozart Quartet.”   Inside page is date April 19, 1902.
50.  Blue covered music composition book. Untitled.
51.  Blue covered music composition book. Untitled.
52.  Blue covered music composition book. Book cover “Canon (?).”
53.  Blue covered music composition book. Untitled.
54.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Stakienischer (?) Konzert aus Streich Quartet.”
55.  Blue covered music composition book. Untitled.
56.  Blue covered music composition book. Untitled.
57.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Harmonie.”
58.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Fuge D.”
59.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Meine Fugen (3 Stimning) und Cantres Firmir.”
60.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “3 Stimmige Fugen & Praludium.”
61.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “Prelude D, Fuge G.”
62.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “La Melancolie.”
63.  Blue covered music composition book. On cover “La Melancolie.”
64.  Brown covered notebook. On cover “Books on Music, Otto Kunitz, 85 Locust St., Santa Cruz, Calif.”
65.  Beige covered notebook with various notes inside.
66.  Beige covered notebook. On the cover “Recent Song Publications”, “List of Compositions for Violin, Compositions for Cello”, “Concerning Books”, and “About Pianos.”
67.  Beige cloth covered notebook with various handwritten notes and newspaper clippings.
68.  Large beige cloth covered notebook with handwritten notes and clippings of music exercises.
69.  A red covered notebook with a print of a small girl, framing the girl is a pattern of ferns, roses and other flowers. This notebook contains music related cartoons and poems.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

3-7: X

SERIES III.  WEEKLY PAMPHLET “PACIFIC COAST MUSICIAN” (1930 – 1935)

Two (2) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains copies of the publication “Pacific Coast Musician.” This was a weekly publication from Los Angeles, California with representatives at San Francisco, New York, Chicago, Long Beach and Pasadena. The first issue in this starts is dated December 27, 1930 to the last issue, June 1, 1935.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

8-9: X

SERIES IV.      EPHEMERA (1930 – 1935)

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains ephemera and photographs collected by Otto Kunitz. Includes a certificate from the National Academy of Music enrolling him as an affiliated teacher. Four printing plates for a song written by Jack Stockfleth with music by Otto Kunitz “I am Happy Tonight.” There is an envelope containing eight (8) photographs – one of his old house on Locust Street and several protrait style of Otto Kunitz.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

10: X