Guide to the Olivia Rudolph Young Collection

 Author and Poet Olivia Rudolph Young was born on May 15, 1894 in Lompoc California. After living in Lompoc for most of her childhood, Olivia’s father then moved the family all over Northern California until they finally settled in the town of Alameda. While going to high school in Alameda, Olivia was startled to hear the news that her father had dropped dead of a heart attack. In response to this event, Olivia joined the local church choir. Although she took her father’s death fairly hard, Olivia’s involvement in church activities would last a lifetime, thus helping shape her poetry later in life. After high school Olivia took more courses to enhance her skills in calligraphy and eventually got a job. Shortly thereafter, Olivia met George Young, a fellow member of the choir and the two were soon married on June 25, 1913. George and Olivia Young then started a family after they purchased their first home in Oakland California.

 By the time the children were on their own, Olivia had learned to play piano and organ at the local church. She also taught piano lessons during her time as the Choir Director/ Organist at the church she attended. Once Olivia had more time to herself she decided to attend poetry classes in 1946.  After these classes, Olivia’s writing became more eloquent as she wrote short stories about her early life along with countless poems related to her life experiences. Despite the fact that she was fairly new at writing poetry, Olivia’s work would eventually begin to be published in magazines in the mid 1950s. These early successes would lead to the publication of her first book, Take the Dirt Road in 1960. As a collection of poems and photos taken by Olivia to accompany her writing, Take the Dirt Road was a feat in itself but she wanted more. It was around this time that the Young family moved to Auburn and later Carmel where George studied painting as Olivia began to teach poetry classes. Then in 1963 George and Olivia moved to Santa Cruz after an invitation by the Santa Cruz Chaparral requested Olivia’s help.  While in Santa Cruz, Olivia became a member of the Santa Cruz Art League where she was curator for five years.  Mrs. Young was also able to continue teaching poetry classes in Santa Cruz and was also honored by the Santa Cruz Chaparral many times. After spending a decade in Santa Cruz, the young family moved to Pacifica. After moving to Pacifica, George unfortunately passed away in 1972.  Although her marriage of 59 years had ended, Olivia Young continued to publish poetry until her death in 1975.

 Aside from her many personal accomplishments, Olivia Young’s poetry and short stories are what really set her apart from the average Santa Cruz patron. After her brief success in the 1950s and 60s, Olivia Young continued to publish poems in magazines and other literary works including another book of poetry called The Honey and the Root.  Mrs. Young also published a textbook on the art of poetry with the help of her daughter Winnie Washburn called Rime Rhythm and Diction.  Although she only lived in Santa Cruz for a short time, I believe that the life of Olivia Young is still a piece of history that must be explored due to the breadth and significance of her accomplishments. Overall, I hope that whomever reads this uses it as a tool to explore an amazing person and uses her experiences to enhance their own.

 

SERIES I: BIOGRAPHY (1968-1975):

SERIES II: LETTERS AND PERSONAL WRITINGS (1877-1963):

Subseries II.A. Rudolph Family Letters
Subseries II.B. The Young Family Letters
Subseries II.C. The Young Family Post Retirement.

SERIES III: MISCELLANEOUS

SERIES IV: POETRY AND SHORT STORIES (1933-1991):

Subseries IV.A. Olivia Young Early Works (1933-1961)
Subseries IV.B. Olivia Young Later Works (1966-1991)

SERIES V: LARGE ITEMS (1908-1975):

Olivia Rudolph Young May 15, 1894-Nov. 29, 1975:

SERIES I: BIOGRAPHY (1968-1975):

One (1) folder

Series Scope and Content Summary

This folder contains various biographical information of Olivia Rudolph Young and some obituaries of the Santa Cruz poet. Some highlights in the folder include: A brief autobiography written by Mrs. Young in 1968 along with various stories and poems selected by Olivia. The folder also includes a photo of Olivia Rudolph Young later in life.

Box ID#: Folder #:

1: 1

SERIES II: LETTERS AND PERSONAL WRITINGS (1877-1963):

Thirty Seven (37) folders

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains letters, stamps and other personal writings of the Rudolph and Young family spanning almost a ninety year period. While most of the folders just contain envelopes and stamps, some also have letters that highlight certain periods of Olivia Rudolph Young’s life.

This series is divided into three subseries.

Subseries II.A. Rudolph Family Letters
Subseries II.B. The Young Family Letters
Subseries II.C. The Young Family Post Retirement.

Subseries II.A. Rudolph Family Letters (1877-1914)

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of eight folders chronicling some events in the life of Olivia’s parents J.C. and Nina Rudolph. Some of the early folders are mostly stamps and envelopes, but there is one letter of particular interest due to the fact that Olivia’s Grandmother, W.A. Moorehead, talks about the effects of the Great Sacramento Flood of 1878. Another letter from 1905 is also important, because it is the first letter with Olivia’s name on it. In the letter, W.A. Moorehead tells her to appreciate the nice dress her mother made her. Mrs. Moorehead also tells Olivia about her time on the Ranch that they own.

Box ID#: Folder #:

1: 2-9

Subseries II.B. The Young Family Letters (1917- 1950)

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of 20 folders that give readers a glimpse into the life of Olivia Rudolph Young. Beginning with a folder that features a letter to the newly married Mrs. George Young, the subseries then delves into a folder containing letters from Olivia’s brother Phillip during his time in the military in World War I. The letters give Olivia an insight into what her brother is doing in the war from when he was stationed in Virginia to “Somewhere in France.” Other highlights of the subseries include: Letters from Olivia’s son Bill during World War II and various letters from Government Agencies in the 1940s. The folder entitled “1945” also contains the Young Family ration information as well as ration books from the time period.

Box ID#: Folder #:

1: 10-29

Subseries II.C. The Young Family Post Retirement (1954-1963)

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists 9 folders that feature letters and an article about the Young Family post retirement. In the folder entitled “1954” there is an article on the Young family that sheds light on what they were doing post retirement. In the article, the author talks about how George and Olivia Young do something they have always wanted to do, own a farm. After discussing the layout of the farm, the author then explains that the couple is enjoying retirement and making money by writing articles and poetry as well as creating 3 dimensional art. The folder entitled “1963” is also important due to the fact that it contains a letter that has a Santa Cruz address. With this information, it is safe to assume that this is when George and Olivia moved to Santa Cruz.

Box ID#: Folder #:

1: 30-38

SERIES III: MISCELLANEOUS

Three (3) folders
Six (6) Documents
Three (3) Postcards

Note: The documents and postcards are in folder number 41 entitled Loose Documents.

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains miscellaneous documents and one folder pertaining to Olivia Young’s poetry. Some highlights of the series include a poem called “The Road Leads Home” which talks about Olivia’s path thru life and a large folder featuring numerous poems and articles from books she published. There is also a letter to the social security office, where Olivia states that she moved from Santa Cruz to Pacifica.

Box ID#: Folder #:

1-2: 39-42

SERIES IV: POETRY AND SHORT STORIES (1933-1991):

Twenty (20) folders
Six (6) books

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains twenty folders and six books that chronicle Olivia Young’s long career as a poet and author. Beginning with poems published in magazines in 1933, the series continues thru the 30s 40s and 50s with various examples of Olivia’s poetry and short stories that chronicle her life experiences. As the series moves into the 1960s, a copy of Olivia’s first book Take the Dirt Road is included as well as her later work into the 1970s. Along with her later published works, the series also chronicles Olivia’s involvement in the Santa Cruz Chaparral, a prolific society of poets in Santa Cruz.

This series is divided into three subseries.

Subseries IV.A. Olivia Young Early Works (1933-1961)
Subseries IV.B. Olivia Young Later Works (1966-1991)

Subseries IV.A. Olivia Young Early Works (1933-1961)

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of eleven folders and one book that gives patrons an in depth look at the documents that shaped the early work of Olivia Young. Although Olivia did not take formal classes until 1946, this series begins with a folder containing poetry that was published in various magazines from 1933- 1936. As we move thru the 1930s and into the 1940s, this subseries features notes taken by Olivia from her first formal poetry class as well as poetry written about her early life experiences such as the construction of the Oakland highway. Toward the end of this subseries, short stories and published works highlight Olivia’s early successes including the Saga of Snow Shoe Thompson and her first book Take the Dirt Road.

Box ID#: Folder #:

2: 43-53

Subseries IV.B. Olivia Young Later Works (1966-1991)

Subseries Scope and Content Summary

This subseries consists of nine folders and five books that shed light on the later work of Olivia Young. At this point in her life, Olivia had dedicated herself to participating in the community and helping other learn the craft of poetry. One major highlight of this subseries is a book published by the Santa Cruz Chaparral Poet Society. This book was given to Olivia in 1973 and contains most of the poet’s signatures with their poems. There is also a letter from Lola Graham that talks about her poem “For Every Monkey Child.” Another major highlight of this subseries is Olivia’s later works that were published. Beginning with her first foray into textbook writing in 1974 with Rime Rhythm and Diction, Olivia’s other published works include The Honey and the Root, How to Write a Sonnet, and a Handbook For Sonneteers.

Box ID#: Folder #:

3:54-65

SERIES V: LARGE ITEMS (1908-1975):

Two (2) Folders
Two (2) Photos
One (1) Scrapbook
One (1) Photo Album
One (1) Music Certificate

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series consists of mainly large Items in two boxes that give the life of Olivia Young further depth. One highlight of the series includes a folder entitled “Documents, Family Matters (John C. Rudolph, Nina and Mary)” that consists of personal letters from the Rudolph family and the estate of John C. Rudolph. This series also contains one of Olivia’s Diaries that give us a glimpse into her high school years. Other highlights of the series include a photo of Olivia’s mother Nina Rudolph and a large scrapbook made by the Young family that spans a twenty year period from the 1930s-1950s.

Box ID#: Folder #:

4-5: 66-68