SERIES I. PRINTS
Nine (9) Prints, Two (2) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of nine (9) prints total in two (2) folders. Six (6) of these prints are silk screen prints by Louise S. Lovett of covered bridges in Felton, Paradise Park, and Glen Canyon Road. The other three (3) prints are by artist Hulda Hoover McLean and are prints of original sketches done of buildings throughout Santa Cruz County. More of these sketches can be seen in the Hulda Hoover McLean Collection. The prints as a whole are in good condition except for some staining on the edges of the Hulda Hoover Prints.
This series is divided into the following subseries:
I.A. Louise Lovett Silk Screens
I.B. Hulda McLean Prints
SUBSERIES I.A. LOUISE LOVETT SILK SCREENS
Six (6) Prints, one (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of six (6) silk screen prints by Louise S. Lovett. The prints are roughly 12”x9” in size and are on thick, beige paper folded in half. The prints are of covered bridges in Paradise Park, Felton and Glen Canyon. Three prints have captions identifying the place drawn, and the rest do not. All the prints have the initials or the signature of the artist and are rendered in black and white. Some examples of identified bridges drawn include: “Glen Canyon Covered Bridge, San Lorenzo, River”, “Felton Covered Bridge, San Lorenzo River”, and “Paradise Park Covered Bridge, San Lorenzo River”.
BOX ID#: FOLDER ID#:
1:1
SUBSERIES I.B. HULDA MCLEAN PRINTS
Three (3) Prints, one (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of three (3) Hulda Hoover McLean prints contained in a folder. These prints are of sketches done by Hulda in 1974 of buildings in Santa Cruz County. These prints are in good condition except for some staining on the edges. Two prints are roughly 8”x10” and the third is 6”x12”. The prints have no captions identifying the building drawn although one appears to be of Soquel Congregational Church. Hulda Hoover McLean was a friend of Margaret Koch, and the two accompanied each other on a trip to Guatemala and Mexico where they created some watercolors that were displayed in the Santa Cruz Sentinel Building in 1973 (S.C. Sentinel 3/11/1973.) These prints are part of the MAH Archives Koch Collection. More of Hulda McLean’s work is part of the Hulda Hoover McLean Sketches Collection at the Santa Cruz MAH, a collection guide can be viewed on the Santa Cruz MAH website.
BOX ID#: FOLDER ID#:
1:2
SERIES II: SCRAPBOOKS (1960 to 1976)
Four (4) Boxes
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of ten (10) scrapbooks plus three (3) folders of additional material. This series document Margaret Koch’s career as a reporter with the Santa Cruz Sentinel plus her other activities. These scrapbooks are in good condition.
Scrapbooks
Box 1: Margaret Koch Scrapbook – 12” x 12”, Light green scrapbook. On cover is written “Margaret Koch, May – October 1964.” On inside cover is the handwritten name of Margaret Koch. Contains newspaper clippings and articles by Margaret Koch from May to October 1964. There are many human interest stories plus some historical articles such as “The Day the Girls Took Control of Santa Cruz’ Trolley System”, “Time Runs Out For SC’s Best-Known Landmark”, “Back When Santa Cruz Was A One-Gas-Station Town”, plus others.
Box 1: Margaret Koch Scrapbook – 12” x 13”, light brown cover, gold embossed with “Scrapbook”. On cover is written “Santa Cruz County Bicentennial Report, 1769 – 1969.” On inside cover is written “Santa County Bicentennial Report, 1769 – 1969, Margaret Koch Co-Chairman.” Contains correspondence, flyers, and newsletters related to the Bicentennial Committee, and schedule for Bicentennial activities. There are also photographs and newspaper clippings of bicentennial events. A handwritten note towards back of scrapbook “I’m proud to report that Santa Cruz County was one of three counties in the State of California that had an active Bicentennial Celebration. Margaret Koch, Co-Chairman.”
BOX 2: Margaret Koch Scrapbook – 12” x 15”, Brown with some gold embossing. Contains newspaper clippings of articles by Margaret Koch from February 1963 to November 1963. There are human interest articles plus some historical articles. “Pioneer Artists Recorded The Beauties of Old Santa Cruz” and “Fremont – The General Who Camped In A Tree.”
Box 2: Margaret Koch Scrapbook – 12” x 13”, cream colored with gold lettering. On cover is written January to May 1962. Contains newspaper clippings of articles by Margaret Koch. Articles include “In Good Old Days, Santa Cruz Had Three Horse Race Tracks”, “Progress Comes as Twin Lakes Ponders Happy Past” plus other human interest stories.
Box 2: Margaret Koch Scrapbook – 12” x 12” brown with gold lettering. On cover is written June to November 1962. Contains newspaper clippings of articles by Margaret Koch. Articles include “The Town Turned Out in 93”, and “Santa Cruzan Was One Of First Women Dentists In California” (Dr. Harriet Gardner) plus other human interest stories. There are also fourteen (14) loose pages of the scrapbook.
Box 3: Margaret Koch Scrapbook – 14” x 11”, cream colored with gold lettering. On cover is written “Margaret Koch, Sept. – Dec. 1964.” Contains newspaper clippings of articles by Margaret Koch. Articles include “Historic Bonny Doon To Become Duffer’s Paradise”, and “Scott’s Valley To Have Its Own Zoo” plus other human interest stories.
Box 3: Margaret Koch Scrapbook – 12” x 13”, cream colored with gold lettering. On cover is written “Margaret Koch, March – July 1964.” Contains newspaper clippings of articles by Margaret Koch. Articles include “Museum Volunteers At Work”, “Old Barn’s Weathered Boards Hold Memories of 1870s”, “They Preserve The Past”, “When Balloons Rose From SC Beach”, “Building Of First Santa Cruz Library Was Task For Community’s Pioneers”, and “Historic Soquel Congregational Church Celebrates 96th Birthday With Repairs” plus other historical and human interest stories.
Box 4: Margaret Koch Scrapbook – 9” x 12”, red spiral bound scrapbook. On inside cover is written “Margaret Koch, Trip to Orient Cabrillo College Study Tour, July 17/76 to August 7/76. Contains newspaper clippings of articles by Margaret Koch, plus photographs, receipts, notes and watercolors or oriental scenes by Margaret Koch.
Box 4: Margaret Koch Scrapbook – 11” x 13”, cream colored with gold lettering. Contains newspaper clippings of articles by Margaret Koch from January to November 1960. Articles include “Hall of Records – Unique Architectural Monument”, and “Sempervirens Club Has Fought For 60 Years To Keep Big Basin’s Redwoods” plus other human interest stories.
Box 4: Margaret Koch Scrapbook – 12” x 15”, off white, decorative embossed hardcover, “Scrap Book” in green letters. Contains newspaper clippings of articles by Margaret Koch. Articles include many historical related stories. There is also a set of prints from a 1974 calendar of various historic sites in Santa Cruz County.
Folders
Box 1: Folder containing correspondence related to the Bicentennial Commission including budget and audit reports. There are also newspaper clippings. There are nine (9) photographs related to the two historic markers placed October 1969 – 1) Laurel, and 2) Don Gaspar de Portola.
Box 3: Envelope containing loose newspaper clippings of articles by Margaret Koch from September to December 1964.
Box 3: Envelope containing loose newspaper clippings of articles by Margaret Koch from March to July 1964.
SERIES III. PHOTOGRAPHS (1880s to 1950s)
One (1) Box plus Four (4) Folders in second box
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series contains family photographs plus photographs collected by Margaret Koch. These photographs document family gatherings, trips, activities, and interests. These photographs are organized by subject.
Box 5: Oakland Native Sons of the Golden West (NSGW) 1940 Parade (11 x Photos)
Box 5: San Jose Native Sons of the Golden West 1949 Parade (19 x Photos)
Box 5: Native Sons of the Golden West 1950 Parade (37 x Photos)
Box 5: Santa Cruz Portola Celebration 1948 Parade (20 x Photos)
Box 5: Santa Cruz Portola Celebration 1949 Parade (24 x Photos)
Box 5: Santa Cruz Holy Ghost 1952 Parade (11 x Photos)
Box 5: Merced County Fair 1952 Parade (15 x Photos)
Box 5: Fresno Native Sons of the Golden West 1956 Parade (14 x Photos)
Box 5: Out of County Motels (47 x Photos)
Box 5: Santa Cruz Floods, 1940 to 1955 (21 x Photos)
Box 5: Santa Cruz Sewer (10 x Photos)
Box 5: Santa Cruz Elks Convention 1948 Parade (17 x Photos)
Box 5: Parades 1951 to 1955, includes Shriners and Memorial Day and Veterans Day (23 x Photos)
Box 5: Los Banos 1951 Parade (37 x Photos)
Box 5: Moose Parade August 4, 1951 (28 x Photos)
Box 5: Saratoga Blossom Festival April 14, 1951 Parade (10 x Photos)
Box 5: Monterey Blessing of the Boats September 15-16, 1951 Parade (14 x Photos)
Box 5: I.D.E.S. 1949 Parade (2 x Photos)
Box 5: Davenport Parade (2 x Photos)
Box 5: Railroad Scenes – Capitola, Tunnel #3, Watsonville, Davenport, and Out of County (38 x Photos)
Box 5: Cemeteries – Santa Cruz IOOF, and Out of County (7 x Photos)
Box 5: Churches – Watsonville, Capitola, Soquel, Felton, Davenport, and Santa Cruz (46 x Photos)
Box 5: Funerals (5 x Photos)
Box 5: Fires, Wrecks, etc. – Santa Cruz, and Out of County (24 x Photos)
Box 5: Big Trees and Big Basin (17 x Photos)
Box 5: Buildings and Construction (33 x Photos)
Box 5: Tiny (cat) (8 x Photos)
Box 5: Santa Cruz Hospital Dedication, May 5, 1951 (5 x Photos)
Box 5: Calaveras Big Trees (10 x Photos)
Box 5: Light Houses – Santa Cruz, Pigeon Point, and Out of County (6 x Photos)
Box 5: Freeway Highway 1 (10 x Photos)
Box 5: Monterey, 17 Mile Drive (14 x Photos)
Box 5: Monterey, Historic Sites (39 x Photos)
Box 5: San Juan Celebration (12 x Photos)
Box 5: Carmel Mission (5 x Photos)
Box 5: Mission San Juan (10 x Photos)
Box 5: Santa Cruz Mountain Scenes (13 x Photos)
Box 5: Stanford University (5 x Photos)
Box 5: Santa Cruz Scenes (59 x Photos)
Box 5: Seashore, including Boardwalk (59 x Photos)
Box 5: Family Photographs (29 x Photos)
Box 5: Miscellaneous Photographs (38 x Photos)
Box 6: Duabenbiss Family Photos – 2 Folders (18 x Photos)
Box 6: Miscellaneous Photos, One of Marie Horning Langenbeck and her husband John Frederick Langenbeck. Early resident of Santa Cruz, established a shoes and boots store on Front Street in 1866. He was appointed animal control officer in 1878. (3 x Photos)
Box 6: Picture postcards of Sea Beach Hotel and Casino, two of 1940 Santa Cruz Flood, and of the Santa Cruz High School. ( 4 x Photos)
SERIES IV. CORRESPONDENCE AND RESEARCH NOTES (1900s to 1980s)
Nine (9) Boxes
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series contains correspondence to and research notes by Margaret Koch. This correspondence and research is related to articles she wrote for the Santa Cruz Sentinel. This material reflects her interests. Most of this material was collected in the 1970s and 1980s.
Box 6: Newspaper clippings many of them related to the Daubenbiss Family
Box 7: Correspondence
Box 7: Kenneth Ketchum
Box 7: Miscellaneous Correspondence
Box 7: Simon Newcomb
Box 7: Psychic Series
Box 7: Holy City
Box 7: Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA)
Box 7: Rancho Del Oso
Box 7: Rancho Del Oso
Box 7: 1953 – 1954 Santa Cruz County Public Schools Directory
Box 7: San Jose
Box 7: Salinas
Box 7: Monterey, includes two (2) postcards of the whaling station at Moss Landing, a photograph of a Spanish Mission, three (3) postcards of Pacific Grove, and a 1907 map of the Monterey County School Districts.
Box 7: Santa Cruz Mission
Box 7: Vigilance Committee of San Francisco
Box 7: The New Idria Mine
Box 7: Churches, Hotels and a Copy of the Rules and Regulations from 1911 or 1912 for the Santa Cruz Hospital
Box 7: James Frazier Reed
Box 7: Centennial Progress Report
Box 7: Fiestas and History Preservation
Box 7: Loans in Process, 1995
Box 7: Human Race
Box 7: Miscellaneous
Box 7: R.O. Lincoln
Box 7: Alexis E. and Maria Teresa Frye, includes a photo of a photo or drawing of the couple plus a photo from Ms. Smith, and a copy of an article by Edward Fitchen titled “Alexis E. Frye and Cuban Education, 1898-1902”
Box 7: Ohlone Indians, includes an article by Michael Galvan titled “’People of the West’, The Ohlone Story”
Box 7: Arthur Borland, includes a transcript of talk by George P. Connor to the Santa Cruz Historical Society
Box 7: George P. Connor
Box 7: Henry Cowell & Family
Box 7: Dr. Charles W. Doyle
Box 7: Louis Hihn
Box 7: Watsonville First 100 Years
Box 7: Teachers
Box 7: Trees
Box 7: 1906 Earthquake – San Jose, includes six (6) photos clipped from a newspaper of magazine
Box 8: Charles Arcan
Box 8: Santa Cruz, California Bicentennial Commission, includes newspaper clippings, notes, flyers, etc.
Box 8: Valencia Hall, includes maps of the Soquel Augmentation and Subdivisions of the Aptos Rancho
Box 8: Valencia Hall Survey
Box 8: Valencia Hall Proposals
Box 8: Valencia Hall Blueprints
Box 8: Valencia Hall
Box 8: Valencia Hall Historic Building Analysis
Box 8: Valencia Hall General Information
Box 8: Historic Landmark Preservation
Box 8: Historic Preservation Planning
Box 8: Historic Preservation – Watsonville, Pajaro Valley
Box 8: Santa Cruz Organization for Progress and Euthenics (SCOPE)
Box 8: Historic Preservation
Box 8: Historical Spots in California
Box 8: Points of Historical Interest
Box 8: National Register of Historic Places
Box 8: Newspaper Clippings on Historic Preservation
Box 8: Historical Landmarks Inventory
Box 8: Columnists – Sandy Lydon, Santa Cruz County History
Box 8: Columnists – Cynthia Mathews
Box 8: Law and Order
Box 8: Cooper House
Box 8: Watsonville, Pajaro Judges
Box 8: Santa Cruz County Grand Jury
Box 8: Santa Cruz County Courthouse, includes a statement from the Freemasons about the cornerstone and its contents
Box 8: Government Center of Santa Cruz County, includes six copies of newspaper photographs from circa 1894, and copies of Poll Tax Receipts from 1857 and 1859
Box 8: 2001 Santa Cruz County Redistricting Plan
Box 8: Coastal Commission
Box 8: Memories of the Pajaro Valley by Edward Pfingst, includes stories on the Pajaro Valley Consolidated Railway Company, the Watsonville Transportation Company, the Story of Charley Darkey Parkhurst, and Watsonville’s Sugar Factory.
Box 8: Schools of Santa Cruz County – Watsonville
Box 8: Food Plants
Box 8: Names of Santa Cruz
Box 8: Fossils
Box 8: Sanchez Treasure
Box 8: Tent City
Box 8: Monterey Bay Paleontological Society
Box 8: Santa Cruz County Paleontological Sites
Box 8: Scotts Valley Archeology
Box 8: Los Fundadores by Leon Rowland
Box 9: The Encyclopedia of Education
Box 9: Annals of Santa Cruz County by Leon Rowland
Box 9: Chronology of Schools in Santa Cruz County
Box 9: History of Schools in Santa Cruz County
Box 9: Schools of Santa Cruz County
Box 9: Schools of Santa Cruz County
Box 9: School Interviews
Box 9: Camp Joy Garden Project, Boulder Creek
Box 9: Chamber of Commerce
Box 9: Twin Lakes Trestle
Box 9: University of California Santa Cruz, Marine Lab
Box 9: University of California Santa Cruz, Special Collections
Box 9: Santa Cruz County Courthouses
Box 9: Green Oaks Ranch (Rancho Ano Nuevo)
Box 9: Emergency Preparedness and Response
Box 9: News and Notes Santa Cruz Historical Society
Box 9: Mid-County Industrial Sites
Box 9: Oral Histories
Box 9: City of Santa Crus Convention Center – Study and Information
Box 9: Newspaper clippings of Articles by Carolyn Swift
Box 9: Newspaper clippings of Articles by Carolyn Swift
Box 9: Newspaper clippings of Articles by Carolyn Swift
Box 9: Chestnut Street Project
Box 9: Stoesser Block
Box 9: Sommer’s House
Box 9: Sesnon Family
Box 9: Isabel Thompson Home (California and Rigg Street)
Box 9: Mission Adobe
Box 9: Santa Cruz Mountains
Box 9: Felton Incorporation Study
Box 9: Felton Community Hall
Box 9: Santa Cruz County Quarries
Box 9: Day Valley
Box 9: Santa Cruz Small Craft Harbor
Box 9: Santa Cruz Lumber Mills
Box 9: Felton Miscellaneous
Box 9: Transportation and Traffic Issues
Box 9: Palmer Drug Store
Box 9: Sempervirens Fund
Box 9: R.O. Lincoln
Box 9: Mission Santa Cruz
Box 9: Mission Santa Cruz
Box 9: Mission Santa Cruz
Box 9: San Lorenzo Valley Historical Inventory
Box 9: Wharf to Wharf
Box 9: Rock Climbing
Box 9: Sports
Box 9: Newspaper Clippings of Articles by Ross Gibson
Box 9: Santa Cruz County Churches
Box 9: Santa Cruz County Ethnic Groups
Box 9: Chaminade
Box 9: Brookdale Lodge
Box 9: White Magnolia
Box 9: Shalamar Restaurant
Box 9: Ristorante Barolo
Box 10: Miscellaneous Research Materials
Box 11: Photographs, these are 1” x 1” photographs from her collection. Many of these photographs have historical and descriptive information. There is a separate folder with additional information. (204 x Photos)
Box 12: Black leather with brown leather spine and corners photograph album, 8 ½” x 11”. This album has been reused, annotations on the pages do not correspond to the photographs. It is possible these are Jameson Family photographs. These photographs are of people places or events in Santa Cruz County including the mountains, the boardwalk, and the old covered bridge in Santa Cruz. (94 x photos)
Box 12: Loose photographs or picture postcards. Some of these have written notes on the back. There are photographs taken in the mountains, along the shore, and at farms. (140 x Photos)
Box 12: Loose photographs. (16 x Photos)
Box 13: Theodore Roosevelt
Box 13: Newspaper Clippings of Articles by Bruce Bratton
Box 13: Newspaper Clippings of Articles by Bruce Bratton
Box 13: Joe DiMaggio
Box 13: Jane Borg
Box 13: Brooks
Box 13: Helen Isadora Clemensen
Box 13: John Chase
Box 13: Bertha Roberts Edmund
Box 13: Rob Edwards
Box 13: Ben Lomond Library
Box 13: William Everson
Box 13: Mary Hallock Foote
Box 13: Myrtle Garaventa
Box 13: Joseph Ghio
Box 13: John Steinbeck
Box 13: Sheriff J.R. Devitt
Box 13: Quotes
Box 13: Hip Pocket Bookstore
Box 13: Kitchen Brothers
Box 13: Aptos Cemetery
Box 13: Daken’s Orchard
Box 13: 905 Walnut Avenue
Box 13: Rancho Refugio
Box 13: Court Maps of Rancho Refugio, Majors vs. Hihn
Box 13: Court Map for the Old Probate Court, Estate B. Moller
Box 13: Court Map for the Old Probate Court, Estate A. Rodriguez
Box 13: Court Map for the Old Probate Court, Estate Nicholas Dodero
Box 13: Court Map for the Probate Court, Estate George R. Foard
Box 13: Court Map for the Probate Court, Estate J. Archibald
Box 13: Court Map for the Probate Court, Estate of Samuel Clark
Box 13: Court map for the Probate Court, Estate of Gerbrand Lothman
Box 13: Court Map for the Probate Court, Estate of Lizzie Moore
Box 13: Court Map for the Probate Court, Estate of Thomas W. Moore
Box 13: Neary Rodriguez Adobe
Box 13: Branchiforte Adobe
Box 13: Santa Cruz County Lime Industry
Box 13: Collectors and Collections
Box 13: Diphtheria Epidemic
Box 13: Flu Epidemic 1918
Box 13: Ghosts and Haunted Houses
Box 13: Inventions and Local Inventors
Box 13: Clothing and Costumes
Box 13: Camp Paradise
Box 13: Murder Capitol, 1973
Box 13: Criminals
Box 13: Feminists, Santa Cruz County
Box 13: Women in Santa Cruz History
Box 13: Festivals, Fairs, and Parades – Watsonville
Box 13: Festivals, Fairs, and Parades – Soquel and Aptos
Box 13: Festivals, Fairs, and Parades – City of Santa Cruz
Box 13: Festivals, Fairs, and Parades – San Lorenzo Valley
Box 13: farmer’s Cooperative Exchange
Box 13: Farmers’ Markets
Box 13: Public Art and Murals
Box 13: Artists
Box 13: Films and Film Making
Box 13: Movie Theaters
Box 13: Greene & Greene, Architects
Box 13: Cooper Street Mall
Box 13: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Issues
Box 13: Airplanes, Aviation
Box 13: County Roads
Box 13: County Fairground
Box 13: Santa Cruz County Parks
Box 14: Lighthouses
Box 14: Redwood Village, Aptos
Box 14: Opera House, Watsonville
Box 14: American Foods Warehouse, Watsonville
Box 14: Camp Goodall, Watsonville
Box 14: Santa Cruz County Cemeteries
Box 14: Santa Cruz County Covered Bridges
Box 14: Santa Cruz Bridges
Box 14: Santa Cruz County Bridges
Box 14: San Lorenzo Valley Bridges
Box 14: Beaches
Box 14: Felipe and Joaquin Armas
Box 14: Aram Family
Box 14: Santa Cruz County Transportation
Box 14: Manufacturing
Box 14: High Tech Industry
Box 14: Computer Software Companies
Box 14: Newspapers
Box 14: Population Santa Cruz County
Box 14: Radio Stations
Box 14: Miscellaneous Retail
Box 14: Santa Cruz County Businesses
Box 14: Santa Cruz County Businesses
Box 14: Miscellaneous Retail
Box 14: Clubs and Organizations
Box 14: Mortuaries
Box 14: Wineries and Vineyards
Box 14: Breweries
Box 14: Saloons, Bars, and Ballrooms
Box 14: Tannery Industry
Box 14: Railroads
Box 14: Early Hotels
Box 14: Goodwill Industries
Box 14: Salvation Army
Box 14: Independent Bookstores
Box 14: Old General Store, Boulder Creek
Box 14: Cowell Carriage House
Box 14: Rio Del Mar Country Club
Box 14: Logging and Lumbering
Box 14: Correspondence and legal documents related to the Flume Road, Aptos right-of-way of property owners.
Box 14: Copies of maps, deeds and titles for the Soquel Augmentation Rancho
SERIES V. ESTELLA G. SHEARER AND ADIST BOYLAN SCRAPBOOK
One (1) box, One (1) Scrapbook and one (1) folder
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of one (1) approx. 15” (length) x 11” (width) spiral-bound book featuring a red cover with an illustration of a scotty dog and basket of papers on the cover along with the words “Scrapbook”. Also in this series is a 12×9” acid-free envelope “folder” containing seven paper items. These items include: page 1 and page 6 from the Santa Cruz Sentinel 1/15/1967 featuring an article written by Margaret Koch entitled “For the Birds…and People, Schwan Lagoon a Gem of a Park”; newspaper clipping of unknown source and date of a partial newspaper column about Thanksgiving including a poem “Thanksgiving” by Adist G. Boylan; type written of poem “Bob-White by Adist G. Boylan along with hand-written version of the same poem; two sheets of paper on ferns and their characteristics and scientific names; two magazine pages (source unknown) of Ford Lincoln advertisements and St. Regis Paper Co. advertisements featuring variations of tree bark and more. Inside the scrapbook is a note dated 1946, bequeathing the scrapbook to a Mrs. John Boylan from Estella Shearer. Items in this scrapbook include: newspaper clippings (source unknown) of Adist G. Boylan’s “Nature Study” column from 1937-1940 which ran in the San Lorenzo Valley Journal. Adist Boylan was the sister of Mrs. A.E. Shearer. These columns include stories on the migration of monarch butterflies called “milkweed butterflies” in the column, sea otters and other animals, birds, specific plants and where to find them such as holly, hazel and Knob Cone pines , among other subjects. Other newspaper articles by Adist Boylan are in the scrapbook as well such as “Nature is Teacher and Provider-Early Signs of Winter Heeded” (San Lorenzo Valley Journal, no date); “Nothing But the Truth” (1926); “Cats Abandoned in Big Tree Park Wreak Havoc on Birds”; “Unsightly Highways Deplored” (1940) and more. Other items include: “Geologists Told Activity of Atoms Changing Earth” by Howard W. Blakeslee newspaper clipping of a about a Geological Society of America meeting (undated, no source); poems by Adist G. Boylan printed in the newspaper; poems Adist Boylan wrote under the pen name “Hill Billy” published in the Santa Cruz County Herald in 1930; article from the S.C. Herald “Now You Have the Secret…” identifying ‘Hill Billy’ as Adist Boylan; poem by Carrie Stevens to Adist; type-written poem drafts by Adist, and more. This scrapbook is in fair-poor condition. The cover is mostly intact, with some tears. Clippings and columns inside the book are in fair condition with little to no tears, yet the scrapbook pages are cracking at the edges and coming loose from the binding. Handle with care. Date range: 1920’s-l940’s
BOX ID#:
Box 16
SERIES VI. ROBERT BURTON SCRAPBOOK (1938 – 1939)
One (1) Scrapbook
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of one approx 12×12” scrapbook featuring a black cover with an embossed medallion design, and gold floral decorations at the corners. On the cover a sticker reads “Otto & Burton” above the title “Scrapbook”. This scrapbook consists of approx. thirty (30) pages of newspaper clippings and original pen and ink drawings done by Robert Burton who wrote a newspaper column for the Santa Cruz Sentinel entitled “In Search of Santa Cruz”. There are approx. twenty-seven or more drawings in this scrapbook and they are often accompanied by newspaper clippings of Burton’s column which discusses the history of the place or historic site featured in the original sketch. These clippings appear pasted onto the page near the sketch, or inside envelopes underneath the sketches. Other items in this scrapbook included newspaper clippings of an article by Leon Rowland entitled “Early Pathfinders Choose Santa Cruz Gap As Best Mountain Route” from Santa Cruz Evening News 1939, and three 1930’s “Our Old Santa Cruz” column clippings by Ernest Otto. The original sketches in this scrapbook are well preserved and a wonderful and beautiful depiction of historic sites and places such as: Natural Bridges, Glen Canyon Bridge, Pogonip Creek, Santa Cruz Light Station and more. Also in this scrapbook is a handwritten history of places such as the Bartlett Ranch, Mr.W.W. Wadell’s saw mill, Elihu Anthony’s saw mill, and other places of historic interest written by C.P. Bachelder. This scrapbook should be handled with care. Although the front and back cover are intact, the pages inside are mostly loose and cracking at the edges. The sketches inside are in good condition, but some newspaper clippings are peeling from the pages. Date range: 1938-39
Throughout his life, Robert E. Burton displayed an interest in nature and conservation efforts such as saving the Covered Bridge at DeLaveaga Park. A University of California graduate (class of 1915), Burton taught at Santa Cruz High School where he interested his students in chemistry, physics and biology (S.C. Sentinel 7/16/1973). He could often be found taking his students on nature hikes (S.C. Sentinel 10/1/1933) or giving lectures on topics such as the Cliff Dwellers of the American Southwest to Nature Study Classes (S.C. Sentinel 9/27/1937). Burton’s observations on nature and the weather can be seen in the Santa Cruz Sentinel. Burton served as Weather Observer for the Sentinel as well as authoring a column entitled “In Search of Santa Cruz” which can be found in the Sentinel during the 1930’s. These columns featured drawings done by Burton as well as interesting historical facts regarding a place or historic building in Santa Cruz (S.C. Sentinel 11/27/1944 &7/16/1973). In World War II Burton served in the South Pacific and Thailand with American government forces. Burton’s interest in government and politics continued when he ran for City Council in 1957 (S.C. Sentinel 3/24/1947). Burton also served two terms on both the Santa Cruz City Council and the Board of Supervisors, respectively, and was an advocate for such projects as the Santa Cruz County Air Pollution Control District. Later, in 1970 he served on the County Planning Commission, retiring in 1973 (S.C. Sentinel 7/6/1973).
Box ID#:
Box 17
