SERIES I. PERSONAL ITEMS AND MEMORABILIA
One (1) box.
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of one (1) box out of fourteen (14) in the Lillian McPherson Rouse collection. This box contains personal items and memorabilia such as a graduation diploma, printed flyers and travel brochures, personal correspondence, a textbook and booklets of California history, and numerous Cabrillo College class notes.
This series is divided into five (5) subseries:
Subseries I.A. Personal Items
Subseries I.B. Printed Flyers an Brochures
Subseries I.C. Books and Booklets
Subseries I.D. Newspapers
Subseries I.E. Miscellaneous
SUBSERIES I.A. Personal Items
Six (6) items.
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains personal items of Lillian McPherson Rouse. These items include one (1) Memorial and/or obituary notice for Fred McPherson two (2) pages of transparent paper, folded within a blue paper sheath, and one (1) page of a handwritten inventory by Lillian M. Rouse of her personal collection on yellow notepaper. There is also one (1) Santa Cruz High School Diploma dated 1926 and contained in a red, possibly leather or synthetic leather envelope with Lillian Adele McPherson written in gold lettering on the front, one (1) letter with envelope dated 1934 to Robert Rouse from Palo Alto, one (1) handwritten page with the title “United States Stamps”, and one (1) personal letter dated 1993.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1
SUBSERIES I.B. Printed Flyers and Brochures
Five (5) items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains four items that are flyers or brochures. These items are: one (1) UC Santa Cruz Map Guide from 1972-3, a brochure for a Pope Gallery Exhibit entitled “All Works Great and Small” Oct. 1994, an itinerary for Annual Excursion of the California Press Association to Yosemite Valley in 1940, a flyer for Long Marine Lab Open House, 1983, and a Publishers flyer from the Capitola Book Company for Sandy Lydon’s Chinese Gold.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1
SUBSERIES I.C. Books and Booklets
Ten (10) items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains ten (items). These items include booklets on California history, such as two (2) California History Nuggets booklets [vol.VII 1939 and VI 1959], and one (1) 1905 booklet on Santa Cruz by A.O. Goldstein. Other items include one (1) 1969 Automobile Club of Southern CA guide from 1969, one (1)1923 Santa Cruz County Telephone Directory, a University of Washington Class of 1930 booklet, Hope Springs Eternal 1978 Salesian Missions Prayer Booklet, and one (1) History of Santa Cruz Sentinel News booklet by Leon Rowland. Books include one (1) Human Geography textbook 1922 by J.Smith, and A Selective Bibliography by Patricia Pfremmer, 1976.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1
SUBSERIES I.D. Newspapers
Three (3) items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of one (1) “Norse Times” newspaper from Scandinavian Airlines, one (1) 1984 Santa Cruz Sentinel article, one (1) photocopy of Watsonville Pajaronian article from 1979 on the Trafton family.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1
SUBSERIES I.E. Miscellaneous
Nine (9) folders, 100 plus loose and contained papers
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of numerous pages of Cabrillo College Class notes and syllabi from courses taken by Lillian M. Rouse at Cabrillo College. The notes appear to be primarily from History classes taught by Sandy Lydon on Chinese and/or Japanese history. There are also eleven (11) pages from Santa Cruz Archaeological Notes, and information of Pajaro Valley by F.W. Atkinson, a sticker from the 1940 California Press Association, and a paper bag with University of Washington Register Stamp.
SERIES II. NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS, FLYERS, AND BROCHURES (1930s – 1990s)
One (1) box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of numerous newspaper clippings and several flyers and brochures from Missions in California. There is also one large leather-bound scrapbook filled with newspaper clippings and envelopes.
This series is divided into four (4) Subseries:
Subseries II.A. Newspapers 1980’s and 1990’s
Subseries II.B. Newspapers 1930’s-50’s
Subseries II.C. Flyers/Brochures
Subseries II.D. Personal Items
SUBSERIES II.A. Newspapers (1980s – 1990s)
Two (2) folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of newspaper articles and newspaper clippings from the Santa Cruz Sentinel, Watsonville Register Pajaronian, and two (2) Cabrillo College View papers, and one (1) Santa Cruz Mission Day Fiesta 1981 paper, and one (1) Santa Cruz Good Times. Newspapers are from the 1980’s and 1990’s
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2: 1 and 2
SUBSERIES II.B. Newspapers (1930s – 1950s)
One (1) folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of newspaper articles and clippings from the Santa Cruz Sentinel and San Francisco Chronicle as well as other newspapers that date from the 1940’s and 1930’s. One article is from 1957 and features the Santa Cruz High School Class of 1920s Reunion of which Lillian M.Rouse was an attendee. There is also one (1) page from the S.C. Sentinel which features Lillian McPherson’s 1933 wedding to Robert Rouse and a 1940 article on Frederick Duncan McPherson’s death.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2
SUBSERIES II.C. Flyers and Brochures
One (1) folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of six (6) brochures and flyers from Missions in California such as Soledad Mission and Mission San Juan Bautista.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2: 3
SUBSERIES II.D. Personal Items
One (1) book
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of one (1) leather-bound scrapbook filled with newspaper clippings from various papers and envelopes. The scrapbook is bound with twine to keep it closed, the cover is slightly worn. Appears fragile; this item should be handled with care.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2
SERIES III. PERSONAL AND HISTORIC ITEMS (1898 – 2000)
One (1) box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of one (1) box containing various items of personal and historic value. Some of these items include (1) red folder of certificates awarded to Lillian M. Rouse or family members, three (3) folders newspaper clippings, club and association publications, and a few photos in folder 4.
This series is divided into three (3) subseries:
Subseries III.A. Certificates
Subseries III.B. Personal and Photos
Subseries III.C. Newspapers
Subseries III.D. Miscellaneous
SUBSERIES III.A. Certificates (1950s – 1990s)
Fourteen (14) items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of fourteen (14) certificates within a red folder in Box 3. Some of the certificates include a Community Heroes 1999 Certificate to Lillian Rouse from the Santa Cruz County Chapter of the American Red Cross, an Outstanding Service in Furthering Good Government in S.C. County awarded to Maytie McPherson in the 1950’s and five (5) Cultural Council of S.C. County certificates awarded to Lillian McPherson for support of community art awarded yearly, 1988-1993 among others.
Box ID #: Folder ID#
3: 1
SUBSERIES III.B. Personal Items and Photos (1930)
Approximately five (5) items and one folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of five items in Box 3. These items consist of a 1930 University of Washington Diploma awarded to Lillian Adele McPherson, a Cabrillo College Foundation thank you letter, a Program for the Baptism of Lillian Adele Irons at First Congregational Church in Santa Cruz, and two (2) photos (the same photo) of Lillian M. Rouse. Photos of Lillian Rouse and Sandy Lydon are contained in a folder labeled “folder 4 Photos”. There is also a photo printed on a metal plate of an unidentified boy on a bicycle, a 1930 photo of Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, and one (1) Veterans of Foreign Wars card.
Box ID #: Folder ID#
3: 4
SUBSERIES III.C. Newspapers (1898 – 2000)
Three (3) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of three (3) folders labeled “News Clippings Vol.1 1884”. The first folder contains and inventory list revealing that the newspaper articles cover a date range from 1898-2000. Some items in the subseries include an 1898 article on the Santa Cruz Powder explosion from the San Francisco Examiner, and 1851 Sons of Temperance Certificate awarded to Thomas W. Hinds, 1957 Evergreen Cemetery S.C. Sentinel article, 1965 Duncan McPherson Tree Planting Ceremony article S.C. Sentinel,1981 Santa Cruz Fiesta Day Schedule, among many others.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
3: 1-3 “News Clippings Vol.1 1884”
SUBSERIES III.D. Miscellaneous
Approximately twenty (20) items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains items such as music and lyrics for Amazing Grace from L.M. Rouse celebration at First Congregational Church, a First Congregational Church Events Program, 2002, California Press Association Meeting booklets, and Journal of Clan MacPherson Association no.99, 2001 among other items.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
3: 1
SERIES IV. PHOTOS AND NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS (1939 – 1984)
Four (4) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of four (4) folders. Two (2) folders are of personal photos from a trip to Yugoslavia and the Louisiana World Exposition, among others. Photos date from 1984. The other two (2) folders in this series contain newspaper clippings from Ernest Otto dating approximately from 1939-1957.
This series is divided into two (2) subseries:
Subseries IV.A. Photos
Subseries IV.B. Newspaper
SUBSERIES IV.A. Photos (1984)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of two (2) folders of photos from Lillian Rouse’s trips in 1984. Folder 1 is labeled “Whaling Class, Trip to Yugoslavia, Louisiana World Expo, Natchez Mississippi. This folder contains brochures, business cards, luggage tags, and a postcard to Ruth from Lillian M. Rouse’s Yugoslavia Home Tour of 1984. Photos are of Kosova, Pristina; Titograd, Dubrovnik, Croatia; Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina and others as well as a 1984 Sarajevo Winter Olympics Booklet. Folder 2 contains more photos of Yugoslavia; Split, Croatia; Dubrovnik and other cities. There are also lists of the Yugoslavia tour members, a California Press Association Louisiana Expo. Schedule, and a 1984 U.C. Davis Commencement Ceremony Booklet, some personal photos of the Wenz family, and two certificates, one from the YXCA and one from the CA Republican Party.
Box ID#: Folder ID#:
4: 1 and 2 “Yugoslavia”
SUBSERIES IV.B. Newspapers (1939 – 1957)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of two (2) folders of newspaper clippings from Ernest Otto’s Old Santa Cruz column mounted on parchment paper. The clippings appear to span a date range from 1939-1957.
Box ID#:Folder ID#:
4: 1 and 2 “Ernest Otto”
SERIES V. PHOTOS OF AFRICA AND SOUTH AMERICA TRIPS (1981 – 1983)
Four (4) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of four (4) folders, two (2) contain photos of Lillian Rouse’s 1981 Africa trip, and the other two are of her trip to South America.
This series is divided into two (2) subseries:
V.A. Africa
V.B. South America
SUBSERIES V.A. Africa (1981)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of two (2) folders. Folder 1 contains three or four maps of Coastal Cape South Africa and Kenya, as well as approximately twenty-three (23) double-sided scrapbook pages with photos, brochures and other mementos from Lillian M. Rouse’s Africa trip of 1981. Along with the many great photos of wildlife, there is also a Mariner Club Certificate and Safari Guest List and Itinerary. Folder 2 contains photos from Lillian M. Rouse’s time spent at the Masai Mara Game Reserve, Premier Diamond Mine and Pretoria, Johannesburg, Capetown, South Africa and a few photos from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Box ID #: Folder ID #:
5: 1 and 2 “Africa”
SUBSERIES V.B. South America (1983)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of two (2) folders. Folder 1 contains photos from Lillian M. Rouse’s 1983 trip to South America with photos of Lima Peru, Cuzco, La Paz, Bolivia among other places. There is also a small journal of Lillian Rouse’s detailing the trip, a Machu Pichu Guide Booklet and a Santa Cruz High Graduation photos and souvenirs for John Irons’s 1983 graduation among other items. Folder 2 has more photos from the trip with places such as Lake Titicaca, Santiago, Chili, and some lovely pictures of Iguasu Falls among others. Other items include a Lake Titicaca and Eternal Springs Tour Certificate, Watsonville YMCA Certificate, Pajaro Valley Historical Association Membership, and photos from Sandy Lydon’s 1983 Birthday, and Lillian Rouse’s 75th Birthday celebration.
Box ID #: Folder ID #:
5: 1 and 2 “S. America
SERIES VI. PHOTOS AND MEMORABILIA (1930s – 1990s)
Two (2) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of two folders filled with memorabilia and photos from Lillian M. Rouse’s 1981-2 Hawaii Trip and photos from the “1992 Celebrity Roast” of Soroptimist International of Santa Cruz.
This Series is divided into two (2) subseries:
Subseries VI.A. Folder 1 Photos
Subseries VI.B. Folder 2 Photos
SUBSERIES VI.A. Hawaii Trip (1982)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists on one (1) folder that contains an itinerary of Lillian M. Rouse’s 1982 Cabrillo College Trip to Hawaii as part of the “History of Hawaii Group” with Sandy Lydon. There are numerous scrapbook pages with photos of Waikiki, Honolulu, Chinatown in Honolulu; Pali, Oahu; the Kona Coast; Molokai and more. There are also a few pictures of Lillian M. Rouse’s youngest granddaughter Hannah.
Box ID #: Folder ID:
6: 1
SUBSERIES VI.B. Soroptimist (1930s – 1990s)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of one (1) folder that contains memorabilia such as a 1992 Mayor’s Proclamation and Lillian M. Rouse Achievement Recognition from the City of Santa Cruz, CA, a mini biography of Lillian Rouse from the CA State Senate, a photo from Lillian Rouse’s Roast in handmade frame, Molokai Resort map and guide, Hawaii Travel Brochure, (4) Hawaii Trip Reunion Invitations 1984, a card addressed to Lillian Rouse, and two (2) pages with approximately seven (7) photos of 1930’s black and white Hawaiian scenes.
Box ID #: Folder ID:
6: 2
SERIES VII. PHOTOS OF EUROPE AND CHINA TRIP (1943 – 1989)
Five (5) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of two (folders) of photos and other memorabilia from Lillian M. Rouse’s 1989 “Flowers and Fairy Tales” tour and trip to Europe. There are also two (2) folders of photos and brochures from Lillian M. Rouse’s 1983 trip to China, and one folder labeled: “Scrapbook II Leon Rowland’s Circuit Rider” of newspaper clippings.
This series is divided into three (3) subseries:
Subseries VII.A. Flowers and Fairy Tales
Subseries VII.B. China
Subseries VII.C. Rowland Articles
SUBSERIES VII.A. Flowers and Fairy Tales (1989)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of two (2) folders from a tour Lillian M. Rouse took through Europe in 1989 called the “Flowers and Fairy Tales Tour”. In Folder 1 are photos and brochures from places such as Keukenhof, Holland; Madurodam (a miniature city of model houses, cathedrals and other structures); Kassel, Germany and the “Sleeping Beauty Castle”; the Netherlands; Amsterdam, and the Aasmeer Flower Auction among others. There is also a CSF Itinerary for the trip. In Folder 2 are more photos from the Europe trip including Delft, Holland; Bruges, Belgium; Alsace, France, Luxembourg and Strasbourg other places. There is also a CA Press Association Spring Outing registration and a few photos from their trip to Ashland, Oregon.
Box ID #: Folder ID:
7: 1 and 2 “Flowers and Fairy Tales 1989”
SUBSERIES VII.B. China (1983)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consist of two (2) folders with photos and other memorabilia from Lillian M. Rouse’s 1983 Trip to China, Tokyo, Japan and Hong Kong. In Folder 1 are photos of places such as Beijing, the Ming Tombs, the Great Wall of China, the Forbidden City and some wonderful photos of the famous Terra Cotta Warriors of Qin Shi Huang among other places and sights. Folder 2 included photos from Nanjing, China; Suzhou, China; Guilin, China; Hong Kong, and the Ancient Asian Grand Canal, the longest manmade waterway in the world according to Lillian M. Rouse, along with photos of other places and sights. There are also two (2) booklets, one entitled China: A Brief Survey, and the other entitled Qin Shi Huang Pottery Figures of Warriors and Horses A Corpus of Data No. 1 complied by the Qin Shi Huang Museum.
Box ID #: Folder ID #:
7: 1 and 2 “China 1983”
SUBSERIES VII.C. Leon Rowland Articles (1943 – 1952)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of two (2) folders of Leon Rowland’s newspaper column known as “Circuit Rider”. The clippings date from 1943-1952 and are mounted on pages of thin, semi-transparent paper. There are fifty (50) double-sided pages of clippings. Some titles include “McPherson was Reporter in 1845” (1947), “First Jury Trial in California”, “Body of Founder of Santa Cruz Identified”, and “Sentinel News nears its 89th B-Day” as well as “Donner Party started in Illinois” among many others.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
7: 1 and 2 “Leon Rowland’s Circuit Rider”
SERIES VIII. CHRISTMAS AND GOLDEN ODYSSEY PHOTOS (1940s – 1988)
Five (5) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of (5) folders. Two (2) folders are of newspaper clippings from Preston Sawyer’s Santa Cruz Yesterday’s column in the Santa Cruz Sentinel-News, two (2) folders of “Christmas 1987-88” photos, and one (1) folder of photos from “Golden Odyssey Cruise 1979”.
This series is divided into three (3) Subseries:
Subseries VIII.A. Santa Cruz Yesterdays
Subseries VIII.B. Christmas
Subseries VIII.C. Cruise
SUBSERIES VIII.A. Santa Cruz Yesterdays (1940s – 1950s)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of two (2) folders of newspaper clippings from Preston Sawyer’s Santa Cruz Yesterdays column from the Santa Cruz-Sentinel-News. Folder 1 contains approximately sixty-two (62) double-sided pages of newspaper clippings mounted on semi-transparent paper. Some titles include “Visit of President Roosevelt” (1948) and “Telephone Anniversary Group at Local Plant” (1952). These clippings date from 1941-1955. Folder 2 contains approximately forty-two (42) double-side pages of newspaper clippings dating from 1955-1958. Some titles include “Nickelodeon Days in Santa Cruz” (1958) and “Where Santa Cruz Got its Start”(1956).
Box ID#: Folder ID#
8: 1 and 2
SUBSERIES VIII.B. Christmas (1987 – 1988)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of two (2) folders labeled “Christmas 1987 1988 folder 1 of 2” and “folder 2 of 2.” Folder 1 in the subseries contains three (3) booklets and/or maps of Vienna, Salzburg and Switzerland, one (1) 1987 appointment book of Lillian McPherson Rouse’s as well as one (1) Long Marine Lab Donor Honorary Dinner Invitation and 3 newspaper clippings from the Watsonville Register-Pajaronian (1987). Photos rather than being of Christmas are in fact from Lillian M. Rouse’s May 1987 Budapest, Hungary trip which includes fourteen (14) double-side pages of photos from Budapest, Prague, Salzburg and other places. Other photos include a few pictures from the 1987 Clan McPherson potluck luncheon. Folder 2 of the “Christmas” series includes, among other items, two (2) more double-sided pages from Lillian Rouse’s Hungary trip, several pages of photos from her September 1987 Virginia trip and an Excursion to San Francisco CA. There are also a few photos from her 79th Birthday in 1987 and a 198 Christmas card from Ceda and Phil McCombs.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
8: 3 and 4
SUBSERIES VIII.C. Cruise (1979)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of one (1) folder labeled “Golden Odyssey Cruise 1979”, this folder is number 1 in the subseries but number five in the Series of Box 8. This subseries included numerous double-sided pages of photos, brochures and other memorabilia from Lillian M. Rouse’s May 1979 trip to Tokyo, Japan, Kyoto, Hong King and other places in China. There are also a few photos from her March 1979 trip to Death Valley, CA. The rest of the photos are from Lillian and Robert Rouse’s November-Dec. 1979 Golden Odyssey Cruise. Photos are from Monaco, Morroco, Cote d’Azur, France, and Barcelona among other places. There is also one (1) Irons Family Christmas Card from 1979.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
8: 5
SERIES IX. SCRAPBOOKS FOR SCOTLAND, ASIA, AND IRELAND TRIPS (1978 – 1990)
Five (5) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of five (5) folders. Two folders are labeled “Scotland 1990” and contain scrapbook pages of photos and other memorabilia from Lillian M. Rouse’s trip to Scotland in 1990. Two Folders contain photos from her National Newspaper Association Trip to Asia in 1978. The fifth folder contains photos and memorabilia from her Ireland trip in 1990.
This series is divided into three (3) subseries:
Subseries IX.A. Scotland
Subseries IX.B. Asia
Subseries IX.C. Ireland
SUBSERIES IX.A. Scotland (1990)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of two (2) folders. Folder 1 contains scrapbook pages (double-sided) with photos from Lillian M. Rouse’s 1990 trip to Scotland. Photos are of Edinburgh Castle, Sterling Castle, Dunvegan Castle, Isle of Skye, among other places and sites. Folder 2 in the subseries contains more scrapbook pages with photos from the trip that include such sites as Glenfiddich and Hadrian’s Wall among others.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
9: 1 and 2
SUBSERIES IX.B. Asia (1978)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consist of two (2) folders from Lillian M. Rouse’s National Association Newspaper Trip to Asia in 1978. Folder 1 includes photos, brochures, personal notes, guide booklets, and other memorabilia from Kabul, Afghanistan; Tehran, Iran; and India. There are also photos from London, England; Oslo, Norway; and Stockholm, Sweden among other places and sites. Photos are mounted on semi-transparent paper, pages are double-sided. Folder 2 in the subseries includes scrapbook pages with photos from paces such as Stockholm, Sweden; Copenhagen, Denmark; Boston, Massachusetts and other areas in New England such as Maine. These New England photographs are from Lillian M. Rouse’s September 1978 Fall Foliage Tour with the California Press Association. There are also some photos from Maui, Hawaii among other places.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
9: 3 and 4
SUBSERIES IX.C. Ireland (1990)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consist of one (1) folder with scrapbook pages of photos from Lillian M. Rouse’s trip to Ireland in 1990. Photos include such sights as the Cliffs of Mohr, Dingle Peninsula, the Aran Islands, and Dublin, among others.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
9: 5
SERIES X. SNAP SHOTS VOL.2 (1930s – 1950s)
One (1) Book
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of one (1) large photo album. The photo album, labeled, “Snap Shots 1937-1953 Vol.2” contains many double-sided pages of photos of Lillian McPherson Rouse’s family. Photos include childhood pictures of Lillian M. Rouse’s son and daughter Robert “Bobby” McPherson Rouse, and Mary Ellen Rouse. Photos are from such events as Bobby’s third Birthday Celebration 1/1939, Christmas 1937, Mary Ellen’s Fifth Birthday Party 8/1939, the California Press Association Annual Excursion to Yosemite National Park 5/1940, Golden Gate International Exposition at Treasure Island, San Francisco 1940, a 1949 trip to Niagara Falls and 1951 trip to Alaska, as well as the arrival of baby Ruth Rouse 9/1941 among many others. Note: Album is fragile, with much breakage and ware, this item should be handle with care.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
10
SERIES XI. VOLUME ONE (1920s)
One (1) Book
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consist of one (1) Scrap Book belonging to Lillian McPherson and labeled “Volume One”. In the scrapbook are many personal items dating from the 1920’s. Items include newspaper clippings from the Santa Cruz High School Trident primarily about the Girl Reserves, clippings from the San Francisco Chronicle of which some titles include “Stag Dinner at McPherson Home” (1924) and Santa Cruz Beauty Pageant 1924” which includes photos of the contestants and winners. There are also many mementos from events at First Congregational Church, and High School Plays as well as several small dance cards and invitations to formal dances such as the 1922 Junior Prom. These invitations are small in size; dance cards offer a look into how dances of the past were conducted, and include miniature pencils attached. There are many other items as well.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
11
SERIES XII. SNAP SHOTS (1890s – 1930s)
One (1) Book
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consist of one (1) photo album labeled Snap Shots” that belonged to Lillian McPherson. Photos are mainly of her family and friends. Some items include an 1898 photo of Mr. and Mrs. Fred McPherson on their honeymoon in San Francisco, CA, family pictures form 1916 including one of young Lillian McPherson in Santa Cruz in 1913. There are also some photos of snow in the Santa Cruz mountains in 1923, the Berkley Fire in 1923 and numerous photos of Lillian McPherson’s high school friends and Girl Reserves Club of Santa Cruz High School, as well as formal school portraits of Mary Belle McPherson, and Lillian’s friends, some of which are autographed. There are also photos taken at U.C. Berkeley c.1927 and University of Washington 1928, Alaska 1929, Stanford University 1930, the birth of Mary Ellen and Robert Jr. Rouse, among many others. Note: this album is fragile and is frayed and worn; this item should be handle with care.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
12
SERIES XIII. ALBUM-SCOTLAND (1996)
One (1) Photo Album
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of one (1) photo album labeled “1996 Scotland Shetlands”. The photos in this album are from the Clan McPherson 50th Annual Rally located at Newtonmore and Kingussie, according to captions. There are also photos from Lillian M. Rouse’s excursions to Lochness, Stirling Castle, Callander and more. Color photos are contained in a bound scrapbook and are in excellent condition.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
13
SERIES XIV. PHOTO ALBUMS AND CERTIFICATES
Two (2) Albums, Two (2) Photos, One (1) Plaque, Two (2) Certificates
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of several items packed in one large box marked Box 14 in the Lillian M. Rouse collection. Some of the items include a large photo album filled with photos from the 1980’s-90’s, as well as certificates and other mementos, a framed photo of Lillian Rouse at the Great Wall of China, a large black-and white photo c.1890 by McKean “Photografist”, among other items.
This series is divided into three (3) subseries:
Subseries XIV.A. Albums and Photos
Subseries XIV.B. Certificates
Subseries XIV.C. Miscellaneous
SUBSERIES XIV.A. Albums and Photos
One (1) Photo Album, One (1) Album/Sketchbook, One (1) unframed c.1890 photo
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consist of one (1) large white and pink C.R. Gibson Magnetic Page Photo Album with photos and mementoes such as a Mayor’s Proclamation from the City of Watsonville, CA for a Celebrity Roast of Soroptomist International of Santa Cruz for Lillian M. Rouse, a State of California Legislature Woman of the Year Award to Lillian Rousse, a CA Legislature Assembly Resolution 1992 by Sam Farr to L. Rouse, and a Mabel Rouse Curtis Award 1998 from the Pajaro Historical Association to L. Rouse, among other awards and some photos of Lillian Rouse and others. There is also a paper album and/or sketchbook filled with blank paper pages, bound in twine, with “China” stamped in red on the spine and an orange painted Chinese vase or lamp on the cover. Also in this subseries is an unframed c.1890 photo of young men and women (unidentified) wearing white caps and the fashion of the time. The reverse of the photo bears the stamp, “McKean 123 ½ Pacific Ave. Santa Cruz, CA Photografist”. The photo is datable to about 1890 considering McKean’s period of activity under the name McKean from 1886-to late 1890’s or 1900. [Thanks to Stan Stevens for the information on McKean]
Box ID#: Folder ID#
14
SUBSERIES XIV.B. Certificates
Two (2) Certificates
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consist of two (2) loose certificates (not bound or contained in an album). One certificate is to Robert Rouse and the other two Mrs. Robert Rouse. Both are awarded from Alaska Airlines and certifies’ that Mr. Robert Rouse and Mrs. Rouse crossed the Arctic Circle in 1951.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
14
SUBSERIES XIV.C. Miscellaneous
One (1) Framed photo and one (1) wood and metal plaque
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of one (1) framed photo of Lillian M. Rouse on the Great Wall of China and bears a caption that reads “Spiritual and Most Reserved Lady of Perpetual Movement, Great Wall of China 1986”. The other item in this subseries is a Membership Plaque from First Congregational Church in Santa Cruz, CA, in honor of sixty-six years of membership to Lillian M. Rouse. Plaque is wood and metal.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
14
