SERIES I. PHOTOGRAPHS (1860s – 1980, bulk 1880s-1940s)
2.17 Linear ft.
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series is made up of photographs generated by the Knight family from the 1860s to 1980. It includes family photographs covering five generations, and photos of Santa Cruz and the surrounding areas, particularly in the late 1880s. There are also several photographs of Knight’s Opera House (circa 1888), and the California Restaurant. The bulk of the photographs range in date from the 1880s to the 1940s. Most photographs are black and white prints in excellent condition. A few glass negatives are also included in this collection. Items of note include a photograph of President Theodore Roosevelt during a visit to Cowell State Park.
Photographs are arranged chronologically, and by main subjects in the picture.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:1 Benjamin Knight, Sr., and Amey B. Knight, 1897
1:2 Benjamin Knight, Jr., and family, circa 1863-1922
1:3 Benjamin K. Knight and family: Early Years, 1888-1906. Also stored in Oversize, Box 11
1:4 Benjamin K. Knight, and family, circa 1910- circa 1943. Also stored in Oversize, Box 11
1:5 Benjamin K. Knight, portraits, 1895- 1900
1:6 Benjamin K. Knight, portraits, circa 1905- circa 1940s
1:7 Marion K. Jones, and family, 1910-circa 1960s
1:8 Benjamin B. Knight, and family, 1899-1980
2:9 Edith Knight, circa 1912-1923
2:10 Benjamin K. Knight and family, 40th Wedding Anniversary, 1946
2:11 Lucina K. Plant, circa 1860-1870
2:12 Stipovich family and California Restaurant, 1866-1913
2:13 Stipovich family, circa 1935-1945
2:14 Knight’s Opera House, circa 1888
2:15 Edith K. Dodge and family, 1892-1947. Also stored in Oversize, Box 11
2:16 Thomas Mathewson, Jr., 1926-1928
2:17 42 Locust Street, n.d.-1942
2:18 Santa Cruz, circa 1870s-1901. Also stored in Oversize, Box 11
2:19 Outside Santa Cruz, n.d. Also stored in Oversize, Box 11
2:20 No Identification, circa 1880s- circa 1905
Glass Plate Negatives of Benjamin Knight and Benjamin Knight, Jr in Box 4 of MAH Glass Plate Photograph Collection.
11:X Oversize Photographs
12:X Scrapbook (1918 – 1920), a gray covered scrapbook with orange squares and green leaves. Book is labelled “Post Cards”. A bronze colored embossing of a woman in a flower field.
12:X Scrapbook, Benjamin Knight (1933 – 1935), a blue marbled colored cover labelled “Scrapbook”. Photo of woman with US Flag draped around her and Statue of Liberty in the background.
13:X Photograph Album, black marbled cloth cover. Photographs are primarily of family gatherings.
13:X Scrapbook of Judge Benjamin Knight (1833 – 1890s), brown colored cover.
14:X Photograph Album, black cover. The pages are loose. Photos are primarily of family gatherings. There are photographs of the Great White Fleet, and sites around Santa Cruz.
Map Case Drawer labelled “KNIGHT”
– Certificate of Membership in Masons for Benjamin Knight, 16 January 1899
– Genealogy proof for Daughters of the American Revolution
– Large Photo of the Elk’s Club or Native Sons
– Election Certificate for Benjamin Knight to Judge of the Superior Court, 6 December 1920
– Political Cartoons
– Certificate for Benjamin Knight as attorney for Ninth Judicial Certificate
– Certificate for Ben Knight as District Deputy Grand President of the Native Sons of the Golden West
– Certificate of Membership in Masons for Benjamin Knight, Jr., 3 April 1869
– Genealogy for Benjamin Knight
– Appointment Certificate for Benjamin K. Knight as Associate Justice, District Court of Appeal, 25 February 1924
– Election Certificate for Benjamin Knight as Associate Justice, District Court of Appeal, 15 December 1942
– Genealogy for Benjamin Knight
– Discharge Certificate from 1st Massachusetts of Benjamin Knight, Jr., 14 October 1861
– Map of Glenwood Basin Tract with names on the various lots, June 1910
– A Centennial copy of the Declaration of Independence
– Certificate for the Great Seal of California
– Medical Certificate for Benjamin Knight from Massachusetts, 10 March 1869
– Map of Brookdale, 1910
– Certificate from the Elks for Benjamin Knight appointed as District Deputy, July 1917
– Medical Certificate for Benjamin Knight from California, 1 August 1887
– Board of Examiners Certificate for Benjamin Knight from California, 17 April 1873
SERIES II. CORRESPONDENCE (1866 – 1950)
0.834 Linear ft.
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series includes the collected correspondence of the Knight family. A majority of the correspondence was received by Dr. Benjamin Knight, Jr., generated by both his personal and professional life. A majority of the correspondence dates from the late 19th to the early 20th century. Envelopes were kept with the letters unless they were found empty.
This series is organized both chronologically and by whom letters were addressed to.
This series is organized into three subseries.
Subseries II.A Benjamin Knight, Jr., Family Correspondence
Subseries II.B Benjamin Knight, Jr., Business Correspondence
Subseries II.C Knight Family Correspondence
SUBSERIES II.A. Benjamin Knight, Jr., Family Correspondence (1866 – 1903)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the letters and postcards received by Benjamin Knight, Jr., from various members of his immediate family over the course of his life.
The folders are arranged alphabetically by sender, and chronologically within each folder
Box ID#: Folder ID#
3:21 Melissa Knight to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1878-1880
3:22 Noah Knight to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1875-1880
3:23 Obadiah Knight to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1873-1875
3:24 Lucina K. Plant to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1875-1876
3:25 Various family to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1866-1903
SUBSERIES II.B. Benjamin Knight, Jr., Business Correspondence (1874 – 1905)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the letters and correspondence that Dr. Benjamin Knight, Jr. accumulated through his work as a prominent physician in the county and as a state senator during the first half of the 1880s. This series includes letters from fellow doctors, constituents, politicians, and local business persons.
Folders are arranged alphabetically by sender, and then chronologically. Items are also arranged chronologically within each folder.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
3:26 Charles Brigham to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1874-1875
3:27 J.D. Carr to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1881-1884
3:28 J.D. Carr to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1885-1888
3:29 Various to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 187[?]-1879
3:30 Various to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1880-1883
3:31 Various to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1884
4:32 Various to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1885
4:33 Various to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1886-1893
4:34 Various to Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1900-1905
4:35 Various to Benjamin Knight, Jr., n.d.
4:36 Empty Envelopes to Benjamin Knight, Jr., n.d.
SUBSERIES II.C. Family Correspondence (1868 – 1950)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the letters, postcards, and other correspondence sent to various members of the Knight family and their relatives, throughout their lives.
This series is arranged alphabetically by whom the letters were sent to, and chronologically within each folder.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4:37 Edith K. Dodge, 1919-1942
4:38 Louise B. Gibb, 1904-1905
4:39 Benjamin B. Knight, 1950
4:40 Benjamin K. Knight, 1905-1946
4:41 Helen B. Knight, 1924-1947
4:42 Lydia K. Knight, 1875-1909
4:43 Obadiah Knight, 1875
4:44 Mary K. Mathewson, 1885
4:45 Jabez Plant, 1873
4:46 Lucina K. Plant, 1868-1909
4:47 Ida K. Stack, 1903-1905
SERIES III. FAMILY DOCUMENTS (1855 – 1984)
1.79 Linear ft.
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series includes the family documents generated by the Knight family over three generations. It includes family genealogies compiled by various family members to cover the Knight family, the Ballou family, the Bliss family, the Gross family, and the Killey family, with some information dating back to the 16th century. This series also contains various legal documents relating to the family, personal papers, and materials relating to Knight’s Opera House and the California Restaurant. Overall, materials are in excellent condition.
This series is divided into seven subseries.
Subseries III.A Family Genealogies
Subseries III.B Legal Documents
Subseries III.C Benjamin Knight, Jr., personal papers
Subseries III.D Benjamin Knight, Jr., medical books
Subseries III.E Benjamin K. Knight and family, personal papers
Subseries III.F Knight’s Opera House
Subseries III.G California Restaurant
SUBSERIES III.A. Family Genealogies (1550-1971)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries includes the family genealogies of the Knight family, the Ballou family, the Bliss family, the Gross family, and the Killey family. The date range for each folder is taken from how far back the lineage has been traced. For instance, in the Bliss family they traced their line back to 1550, even though this information was largely gathered in the 1940s.
The folders are arranged alphabetically. The contents are kept in the original order the archive received them in.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
5:48 Gross/Bliss Family Genealogy (1550-1976), 1941-1976
5:49 Killey Family Genealogy (1751-1926), 187[?]-1943
5:50 Knight Family Genealogy (1634-1947), n.d.-1947
5:51 Knight Family Genealogy (1524-1932), 192[?]-1932
5:52 Knight/Ballou Family Genealogy (circa 1740-1940), 1934-circa 1940
Additional items in Map Drawers
SUBSERIES III.B. Legal Documents (1866 – 1928)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries includes the legal documents generated by the Knight family. In particular, this subseries includes tax records, pension documents, documents relating to the estate of Lucina K. Plant, land deeds and titles.
Folders are arranged in chronological order.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
5:53 Deed to Land, Bonny Doon Property, 1866-1907
Additional Items (i.e. maps) in Map Drawers
5:54 Deed to 42 Locust Street, 1875
5:55 Tax Records, 1879-1924
5:56 Deed to 42 Locust Street, 1883
5:57 Declaration of Homestead, 1885
5:58 Deed to Knight’s Opera House, 1890
5:59 Deed of Gift of Locust Street Property, 1905
5:60 Legal Document of Louise B. Gibb, 1905
5:61 Pension Documents of Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1890-1928
5:62 Property Document, no address, 1912
5:63 Lucina K. Plant Estate, 1916-1919
5:64 Lucina K. Plant Estate, 1920-1922
6:65 Abstract of Land Title for 42 Locust Street, 1866-1911
6:66 Abstract of Land Title for Bonny Doon Property, 1882-1913
SUBSERIES III.C. Benjamin Knight, Jr., personal papers (1855 – 1905)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the personal papers of Dr. Benjamin Knight collected and generated over his lifetime. These fonds include his medical school records, documents from the Civil War, his teaching certificates, remnants of a scrapbook, journals, and various other papers. Items of interest in this subseries include an autograph book filled with the signatures of California state senators and other politicians in 1885.
Folders and the materials within them are arranged chronologically.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
6:67 Benjamin Knight, Jr., Teaching Certificates, 1855-1867
6:68 Benjamin Knight, Jr., Reports of School Committees, 1859-1867
6:69 Benjamin Knight, Jr., Civil War Papers, 1861-1863
Additional Items in Map Drawers
6:70 Benjamin Knight, Jr., Medical School Records, 1867-1869
Additional Items in Map Drawers
6:71 Benjamin Knight, Jr., Journals, 1868-1878
6:72 Benjamin Knight, Jr., Various Papers, 1868-1905
Additional Items in Map Drawers
6:73 Benjamin Knight, Jr., Contents from Scrapbook, 1868-1887
6:74 Benjamin Knight, Jr., Medical Appointments, 1880-1885
Additional Items in Map Drawers
6:75 Benjamin Knight, Jr., State Senator, circa 1880s
Additional Items in Map Drawers
10 Benjamin Knight, Jr., Autograph Book, 1885
10 Benjamin Knight, Jr. or Sr., Sons of Temperance Medal
SUBSERIES III.D. Benjamin Knight, Jr., medical books (1862 – 1911)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the medical books of Dr. Benjamin Knight collected during his medical school years and after. These books include a medical dictionary, surgery techniques and medical theories of the 1860s, and studies on sexual psychology.
Books are located in the bookcase in the reference library.
Bartholow, Roberts. 1884. A practical treatise on material medica and therapeutics, 5th ed. New York: D. Appleton and Co.
Druitt, Robert. 1867. The principles and practice of modern surgery, rev. American ed. Philadelphia: Henry C. Lea.
Ellis, Havelock. 1911. Studies in the psychology of sex, vol. 6. Philadelphia: F.A. Davis Co.
Gray, Henry. 1862. Anatomy, descriptive and surgical, 2nd American ed. Philadelphia: Blanchard & Lea.
Gross, Samuel D. 1866. A system of surgery: Pathological, diagnostic, therapeutic and operative, 4th ed., vol. 2. Philadelphia: Henry C. Lea.
Thomas, Joseph. 1886. A complete pronouncing medical dictionary. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott Co.
Wood, George B., and Franklin Bache. 1868. The dispensary of the United States of America, 12th ed. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott Co.
SUBSERIES III.E. Benjamin K. Knight and family, personal papers (1876 – 1984)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries includes the personal fonds generated by Benjamin K. Knight and his family, including school yearbooks, personal papers, University publications, and name cards.
Folders are arranged alphabetically by the person who generated the fonds. Within the folders items are arranged chronologically.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
7:76 Marion K. Jones Papers, 1939-1942
10 Marion K. Jones Scrapbook, 1919-1920
7:77 Benjamin K. Knight Papers, 1899-1984
Additional Items in Map Drawers
7:78 Edith Knight High School Literary Magazines, 1924-1926
7:79 Edith Knight Papers, 1923-circa 1960s
7:80 Lydia Knight Papers, 1876
7:81 Name Cards, Election Cards for Benjamin K. Knight and Benjamin B. Knight, circa 1890s-1934
7:82 University Publications, 1894-1918
SUBSERIES III.F. Knight’s Opera House (1886 – n.d.)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of announcements for Knight’s Opera House productions in the 1880s. Edith Knight was an actor in one of the productions and is listed on the promotional flyer.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
7:83 Knight’s Opera House, 1886-n.d.
SUBSERIES III.G. California Restaurant (1911 – 1928)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
The granddaughter of Benjamin K. Knight, Barbara Jones, married into the Stipovich family, who were responsible for the operation of the California Restaurant on Pacific Avenue. Items in this folder include newspaper articles and menus.
Items are arranged chronologically.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
7:84 California Restaurant, 1911-1928
SERIES IV. NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS (1876 – 1959)
0.42 Linear ft.
Series Scope and Content Summary
These are newspaper clippings relating to the Knight family. This includes newspapers saved by Benjamin Knight, Jr., newspaper coverage of district attorney elections for both Benjamin K. Knight and Benjamin B. Knight, as well as death notices for several family members. Newspapers are in various states of decay, and many of the clippings are undated.
The folders, as well as the materials within the folders, are arranged chronologically.
This series is divided into four subseries.
Subseries IV.A Benjamin Knight, Jr.: Newspapers
Subseries IV.B Benjamin K. Knight Articles
Subseries IV.C Benjamin B. Knight Articles
Subseries IV.D Death Notices
SUBSERIES IV.A. Benjamin Knight, Jr., Newspapers (1876 – 1879)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
These newspapers dating from the late 19th century belonged to Benjamin Knight, Jr. During his lifetime Benjamin Knight, Jr., collected articles about himself in a scrapbook; the remnants of that scrapbook can be found in subseries III.C.
The folders and the materials within them are arranged chronologically.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
7:85 Benjamin Knight, Jr.: Newspapers, 1876-1879
SUBSERIES IV.B. Benjamin K. Knight Articles (1898 – 1940)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
These articles are in connection with Benjamin K. Knight and his life as a district attorney, an appellate judge, and other events which led to his coverage in local and state newspapers.
The articles are arranged chronologically.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
7:86 Benjamin K. Knight Articles, 1898-1919
7:87 Benjamin K. Knight Articles, 1924-1940
SUBSERIES IV.C. Benjamin B. Knight Articles (1934 – 1954)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
A majority of these articles are related to the 1934 race for the District Attorney’s seat in Santa Cruz County. The articles after 1934 concern Benjamin B. Knight in his role as District Attorney, his involvement in World War II, and his position at the Pentagon after the war.
Folders and the materials within them are arranged chronologically.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
8:88 Benjamin B. Knight Articles, June 1934- October 1934
8:89 Benjamin B. Knight Articles, November 1934-1954
SUBSERIES IV.D. Death Notices (1903 – 1959)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the death notices and obituaries of various friends and family of the Knights.
Folders and the materials within them are arranged chronologically.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
8:90 Benjamin Knight, Jr., 1905
8:91 Benjamin K. Knight, 1947
8:92 Various Friends and Family, 1903-1959
SERIES V. JOURNALS OF BENJAMIN KNIGHT, SR. (1854 – 1881)
0.96 Linear ft.
Series Scope and Content Summary
For nearly thirty years Benjamin Knight, Sr., a machinist from Rhode Island, kept a daily journal in which he recorded the weather, the work he did that day, outstanding payments and debts, shopping lists, and significant events. Most journals include a pocket, in which Mr. Knight kept an assortment of papers, newspaper clippings, and other items of historical interest. Journals and their contents are in various stages of decay.
All items in this series are arranged chronologically.
This series is divided into two subseries.
Subseries V.A Journals
Subseries V.B Journal Contents
SUBSERIES V.A. Journals (1854 – 1881)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the actual journals of Benjamin Knight, Sr., as a record of his daily life. In particular, the author recorded the weather, the amount of work he performed, and any significant personal or world events, such as the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln and the end of the Civil War. All journals before 1872 refer to life in Rhode Island and Connecticut. After 1872 all journals refer to life in California. The only journals missing in this timeframe are from 1855, 1877, and 1880.
Journals are arranged chronologically.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
9:xxx Journal, 1853
9:110 Journal, 1854
9:xxx Journal, 1855
9:111 Journal, 1856
9:112 Journal, 1857
9:113 Journal, 1858
9:114 Journal, 1859
9:115 Journal, 1860
9:116 Journal, 1861
9:117 Journal, 1862
9:118 Journal, 1863
9:119 Journal, 1864
9:120 Journal, 1865
9:121 Journal, 1866
9:122 Journal, 1867
9:123 Journal, 1868
9:124 Journal, 1869
9:125 Journal, 1870
9:126 Journal, 1871
9:127 Journal, 1872
9:128 Journal, 1873
9:129 Journal, 1874
9:130 Journal, 1875
9:131 Journal, 1876
9:xxx Journal, 1877
9:132 Journal, 1878
9:133 Journal, 1879
9:xxx Journal, 1880
9:134 Journal, 1881
SUBSERIES V.B. Journal Contents (1856 – 1881)
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
A significant number of the journals had a small pouch or pocket containing various items, usually receipts, shopping lists, bills, newspaper clippings, etc. We have laid out these items and placed them in folders in order to lessen wear and tear on both the journal and the individual pieces.
Items within the folders are arranged loosely by date or function when it was possible to discern. All folders are arranged chronologically.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
8:93 Journal Contents, 1856
8:94 Journal Contents, 1859
8:95 Journal Contents, 1860
8:96 Journal Contents, 1861
8:97 Journal Contents, 1863
8:98 Journal Contents, 1864
8:99 Journal Contents, 1865
8:100 Journal Contents, 1866
8:101 Journal Contents, 1867
8:102 Journal Contents, 1868
8:103 Journal Contents, 1870
8:104 Journal Contents, 1872
8:105 Journal Contents, 1874
8:106 Journal Contents, 1876
8:107 Journal Contents, 1878
8:108 Journal Contents, 1879
8:109 Journal Contents, 1881
SERIES VI. ARTIFACTS (1800s – n.d.)
Linear ft.
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series is made up of artifacts of the Knight Family. This includes a temperance medal belonging to either Benjamin Knight Sr., or Benjamin Knight Jr. There is also a baby’s christening gown, baby shoes, and a medical bag.
ITEMS REMOVED FROM COLLECTION
The following are the items taken out of Knight Family Collection and are currently kept in the Reference Library:
The American Mercury: A Monthly Review, February 1926. New York: Alfred A. Knopf Publisher.
The American Mercury: A Monthly Review, July 1926. New York: Alfred A. Knopf Publisher.
The American Mercury: A Monthly Review, August 1926. New York: Alfred A. Knopf Publisher.
The Bookman, April 1926. New York: George H. Doran Co. Publishers.
College Humor: The Best Comedy in America, March 1925. Chicago: Collegiate World Publishing Co.
Paxson, Frederic L., Edward S. Corwin, and Samuel B Harding, eds. 1918. War cyclopedia: A handbook for ready reference on the Great War. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office.
Stanford University Bulletin, February 1921. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press.
Thimm, Franz. 1893. Spanish at a glance: A new system on the most simple principles for universal self-tuition with complete English pronunciation of every word, rev. ed. New York: Excelsior Publishing House.
