Collection Number
No number
Creator
Alice Wilder?
Extent
Number of Containers: One (1) box
Linear Feet: One (1) foot
Abstract
This collection contains only one box, and is not divided into any series. The collection is composed of a single scrap book. This scrapbook itself is about 10.75 inches by 14 inches. The cover is green and says “1952 Personal Greetings.” It was compiled between 1942 and 1943. The book contains various letters, pamphlets, records of the local court system, and newspaper clippings. These numerous newspaper clippings are about the juvenile court system, and other news about the court system in the Santa Cruz area.
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History, Santa Cruz
Preferred Citation
Juvenile Court System/Alice Walker Scrapbook Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History, Santa Cruz.
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
Process By
Shannon Barry
Date Completed
2015
The scrapbook was put together by Alice Earl Wilder. Ms. Wilder was the daughter of State Senator Guy Chaffee Earl of Oakland. In 1912 she graduated from the University of California in Berkeley with a degree in social economics and French. Alice later married Beverly Wilder, an engineer in the Santa Cruz area. She was very active in local Santa Cruz politics and service groups for many years. Alice Wilder was the Executive Secretary of Santa Cruz County Tuberculosis & Health Association, she was also the chairman of the Women’s Non-Partisan Committee on Juvenile Delinquency. This second position explains why the scrapbook and its contents were created by Alice Wilder.
