Guide to the John W. Linscott Collection (1890s – 1931)

The John W. Linscott Collection consists of scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, photographs, and eulogies. The scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings for various school related activities including the California Teachers Convention and talks he may have presented (1896 – 1902). The loose newspaper clippings are primarily obituaries. The eulogies include a typed copy of an obituary that was published in the newspaper and a statement from the Watsonville School Board of Trustees. There are also two (2) scrapbooks, plus some loose items, about his son, Hubert. Hubert Linscott was a world famous Baritone who studied, taught and performed all over the world. This collection reflects the interests and activities of John and Hubert Linscott.

John W. Linscott in an obituary published 18 August 1931 was recognized as a worthy citizen, an educator of note, Prominent in the fraternal life, a churchman loyal to his duties, a devoted husband and father, an ideal family man and one whose influence has been for good for countless numbers.

John W. Linscott was born in Jefferson, Maine on May 7, 1848. At the age of 17 he entered a career as an educator. Listening to glowing stories of life in California he resolved to migrate to California. He arrived in San Francisco on April 21, 1968 after crossing the Isthmus of Panama settling in Santa Cruz to be near family, a cousin J.A. Linscott. He soon attracted the attention of H.E. MacKinney, County Superintendent of Schools, and was appointed teacher at the railroad district near Watsonville. In 1872 he was elected principal of the Watsonville School. Then in 1882 he was elected County Superintendent of Schools. He was also appointed city superintendent of schools for Santa Cruz and remained connected with local schools until his death. He was a trustee of the public library and later served as secretary.

He earned high honors in the fraternal community: Grand Master of the Odd Fellows Pajaro Lodge, Master of the Masons, member of the Knights Templar, and Noble of the Mystic Shrine. The photo shows him wearing the vest and wearing the medal of a Grand Master of IOOF. He was also involved with the Presbyterian Church in Watsonville, and the First Congregational Church of Santa Cruz.

Hubert Linscott was born in Santa Cruz. In 1907 he left for Paris, France to study Voice Culture under Frank King Clark and other teachers. In 1910 and 1912 he was a Teacher of Voice at the Brennan College Conservatory in Gainesville, Georgia. He then returned to Santa Cruz in 1912 to be Director at the First Congregational Church and to perform in numerous concerts and recitals along the Pacific Coast.  He continued his travels, training, and performing drawing rave reviews wherever he sang.

SERIES I. SCRAPBOOKS (1896 – 1902)

SERIES II. PHOTOS (1900s – 1910s)

SERIES III. NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS (1931)

SERIES IV. EULOGY (1931)

SERIES V. SCRAPBOOKS – HUBERT LINSCOTT (1902 – 1940)

SERIES I.  SCRAPBOOKS (1896 – 1902)

One (1) Box

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains scrapbooks with newspaper clippings of school and fraternal related activities (1891 – 1929). These scrapbooks talks John W. Linscott may have presented or attended such as the California Teachers Convention. From his activities it is apparent he was dedicated to expanding the knowledge of all teachers. The collection reflects the school and fraternal related activities of John W. Linscott.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

1:X

SERIES II.  PHOTOS (1900s – 1910s)

One (1) Folder

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains two photographs of John W. Linscott when he was in his 50s or 60s(?). In one of the photos he is wearing . (2 x Photos)

Box ID#: Folder ID#

1:1

SERIES III.  NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS (1931)

One (1) Folder

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains newspaper clippings of obituaries and other articles published upon the death of John W. Linscott (1931).

Box ID#: Folder ID#

1:2

SERIES IV.  EULOGY (1931)

One (1) Folder

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the typed obituary letter published in the paper and a resolution from the Trustees of the Watsonville School District (1931).

Box ID#: Folder ID#

1:3

SERIES V.  SCRAPBOOKS – HUBERT LINSCOTT (1902 – 1940)

Two (2) Boxes

Series Scope and Content Summary

This series contains the scrapbooks for Hubert Linscott. He was born in Santa Cruz. In 1907 he left for Paris, France to study Voice Culture under Frank King Clark and other teachers. In 1910 and 1912 he was a Teacher of Voice at the Brennan College Conservatory in Gainesville, Georgia. He then returned to Santa Cruz in 1912 to be Director at the First Congregational Church and to perform in numerous concerts and recitals along the Pacific Coast. He continued his travels, training, and performing drawing rave reviews wherever he sang.

Box ID#: Folder ID#

2 & 3