DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Collection Number
This collection has no accession number.
Creator
It is not known who assembled this collection. It was donated to the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History on November 12, 1996 by Cherry McCormick of the Santa Cruz Historic Preservation Commission.
Extent
Number of Containers: 1 Box
Linear Feet: 1.5 Linear Feet
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
This collection consists of nine (9), roughly 10”x13” prints of Santa Cruz scenes made by Jim Mitchell. It is not known when the sketches were completed as they are not dated, however the prints all feature the artist’s signature. The prints are in good condition, on thick beige paper and are of historic scenes such as Live Oak School in 1914.The prints were donated by Cherry McCormick of the Santa Cruz Historic Preservation Commission to the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History in November of 1996.
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Note
This collection currently shares a box with the MAH Archives Koch Collection, accession number 1996.27 (see the collection guide on the Santa Cruz MAH website).
Preferred Citation
The Jim Mitchell Print Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
Process By
Renata McRee
Date Completed
2014
Jim Mitchell (1927-2011? Tributes.com) was a Felton Commercial artist who lived on Old Zayante road in Felton, California with his wife and three children. In 1963 he formed Zumwalt and Mitchell Commercial Art in San Jose with Gail Zumwalt of Los Gatos with whom he had been a partner with at Long Advertising, Inc. (S.C. Sentinel 10/11/1963). The Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History has nine (9) prints by Jim Mitchell of Santa Cruz scenes donated in 1996 by Cherry McCormick of the Santa Cruz Historic Preservation Commission.
JIM MITCHELL PRINTS
Nine (9) Prints, one (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consist of nine (9) prints of artworks created by artist Jim Mitchell. It is not known when the works were created since they are not dated, however the artist’s name appears on all of them. The prints are in good condition, and are on beige paper roughly 10”x13” in size. The drawings appear to have been in sepia tone. The prints are of historic Santa Cruz scenes such as the Live Oak School 1914 building, Buckhart’s Candies, a Farm Bureau Egg Laying Contest, the Live Oak fire department and some horse drawn carriage and beach scenes, among others. These prints are in a Folder labeled Jim Mitchell Prints Folder 1 in the same Box as the MAH Archive Koch Collection (accession number 1996.27). These prints are non-accessioned.
BOX ID#: Folder #:
1:1
