Back to Collection Guides Page
DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Collection Number
86.8.1
Creator
Unsure who assembled this collection, names that appear to be associated with this collection are Hollis Peck, A. Davis and C. Davis. It was donated to the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History in 1986 by Curt Johnson.
Extent
Number of Containers: One (1) Box
Linear Feet: 0.5 Linear Feet
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
This collection consists of a photograph album, a scrapbook and some other items from Hollis and Cecil Peck. The album consists of photographs primarily of various locations in Soquel and Capitola, the UC Berkeley campus, and the Lick Observatory. Hollis Briggs Peck was prominent in the insurance business in Santa Cruz County. Believe Hollis Peck collected these photographs from 1900 to the mid-1910s. Cecil Marie Davis graduated from University of California in 1907 and became a school teacher. In 1918 she was elected to the office of Santa Cruz County Superintendent of Schools, serving for 8 years. On December 25, 1924 she married Hollis Briggs Peck. The scrapbook is of various leaves and wild flowers pressed in the pages, this may have been a going away present from Ferndale School in 1926. The collection reflects their interests and activities with family and friends. This collection consists of a photo album, a scrapbook, plus a couple of other items. The album consists of photographs of various locations in and around Soquel and Capitola, CA; the UC Berkeley Campus and the Lick Observatory from 1900 to the mid-1910s. The photograph album includes 93 photographs. The scrapbook may have been a going away gift to Cecil Marie Peck in 1926 when she left her position as superintendent of schools.
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Preferred Citation
The Hollis Peck Photo Album Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
Process By
G. Gardner
Date Completed
2013
Cecil Marie Davis was born April 9, 1886 at Table Rock, Nebraska. Her parents were Dr. and Mrs. A.F. Davis. The family moved to California in 1892, eventually settling in Soquel. Cecil Marie went to school at the University of California Berkeley, graduating with the 1907 class. Upon graduating she became a school teacher. In 1918, she was elected to the office of Santa Cruz County Superintendent of Schools. She held this office for eight years. For six years of this time she also served on the board of directors of the state council of education. On December 25, 1924 she married Hollis Briggs Peck. She was a member of the order of Eastern Star.
Back to Collection Guides Page
SERIES I. PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM (circa 1900 – circa 1913)
One (1) Album
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the photograph album of Hollis Peck from 1900 to the mid-1910s. The photograph album has green cloth cover that is very worn. The album is approximately 7″ x 10″. There are photos of various locations in and around Aptos, Soquel and Capitola, the San Juan Mission, UC Berkeley campus, and the Lick Observatory. The photos include various churches. There are also photos of families and friends at these locations. Some of these photos are labelled with locations and names.(93 x Photos)
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:X
SERIES II. SCRAPBOOK “WILD FLOWERS OF CALIFORNIA” (1908)
One (1) Scrapbook
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains the a scrapbook “Wild Flowers of California” that was drawn freehand by Manuel Rogers, Eighth Grade. There is a note on the inside cover, portion of it is torn off, “- – – Davis, With Compliments of Ferndale School.” There are twenty-five (25) leaves and/or wild flowers pressed in the pages of the scrapbook. There is no date on the scrapbook, though it may have been a going away present when she left her position as superintendent of schools in 1926. The dried flowers in the book include: wake, wild turnip, California poppy, California trillium, toothwort (pepper-root), shepherd’s purse, pussy willow, hound’s tongue, sun cup, zygadene, false Solomon’s seal, fairy bells, Indian paint brush, wild cucumber, common buttercup, creeping wood violet, violet nightshade, blue lupine, miner’s lettuce, wild portubaca, wood anemone, radish, skullcap, woodland star, star flower, and cream cups.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:X
SERIES III. LETTER AND NEWSPAPER CLIPPING (1925 – 1940)
One (1) Envelope
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains a letter from Abbie Richardson dated January 11, 1925 congratulating Mrs. Peck on her wedding. The postmark of the letter is from Olympia, Calif. The newspaper clipping is Mrs. Cecil Marie Davis Peck’s obituary, June 26, 1940.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1:X
