Back to Collection Guides Page
SERIES I: WEEKLY REPORTS
Nine (9) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of several weekly reports from Henry Washburn. Each report is bound in a folder, beings with a filled out reports page (information on who was visited and the type of work undertaken, as well as a list of meetings), contains various relevant newspaper clippings, official documents, letters from that week. The other reports lack much of this information. Many of the reports consist only of images and detailed captions, these do pertain to each week listed, but with no documents or newspaper clippings.
This Series is divided into nine (9) subseries
Subseries I.A. Weekly Report: Oct 13, 1934
Subseries I.B. Weekly Report: Nov 24, 1934
Subseries I.C. Weekly Report: March 23, 1935
Subseries I.D. Weekly Report: March 30, 1935
Subseries I.E. Weekly Report: April 6, 1935
Subseries I.F. Weekly Report: Oct 7, 1936
Subseries I.G. Weekly Report: Feb 29, 1936
Subseries I.H. Weekly Report: March 14, 1936
Subseries I.I. Weekly Report: March 21, 1936
Subseries I.A. Weekly Report: Oct 13, 1934
One (1) folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of the report for the week ending on October 13, 1934. The report page shows that Henry Washburn visited 44 people that week. One meeting was held. The folder contains 17 newspaper clippings covering various topics from soil erosion in the local areas to Mr. Washburn’s work. The other documents included were: a letter from the President of the Santa Cruz County Farm Bureau, copy of a ‘Petition for Branch of US Soil Erosion Service in Santa Cruz County,’ and a summary of major crops in Santa Cruz County for 1933.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:1
Subseries I.B. Weekly Report: Nov 24, 1934
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This report was for the week ending on November 24th, 1934. The form at the beginning of the report indicates that Mr. Washburn visited 24 places and held four meetings. The newspaper clippings from this report (nine in number) cover topics from soil erosion, its effects on the local area, and storm damage.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:2
Subseries I.C. Weekly Report: March 23, 1935
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This report is very different. The usual documents and newspaper clippings are absent. The report consists of images. Each picture has very detailed captions, usually with dates. The pictures are from March 1935 (and make sense to be part of this weekly report). The images include: an entomologist at a meeting conducted on March 19th by the Agricultural Extension Service, Paul Knudsen demonstrating application of tree bands, equipment made by Mr. Knudsen, and a tree band being put into place.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:3
Subseries I.D. Weekly Report: March 30, 1935
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This report is also missing the weekly paperwork, newspaper clippings, and various documents. It consists of pictures from late March 1935. The images include: FJ Hickey’s poultry farm (picture missing), JP Fairbank talking with FJ Hickey, AN Jerenich attempting to disk a crop of horse beans, and others relating to the various incidents mentioned in the captions.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:4
Subseries I.E. Weekly Report: April 6, 1935
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This report contains many images and detailed captions. It is lacking a weekly report form, newspaper clippings, or other documents. The pictures pertain to the week ending on April 6, 1935. The Pictures include: EF Hockenbeamer Jr. discussing the policy of his power company, a new bridge built by the Soil Erosion Service (image missing), John Trembly with farming equipment, Fairbanks and Hockenbeamer talking at a meeting in Hollister.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:5
Subseries I.F. Weekly Report: Oct 7, 1936
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This report contains many images and detailed captions. It is lacking a weekly report form, newspaper clippings, or other documents. The Pictures include: gopher control (Salem, Massachusetts, 1769), Farm advisor shows Captain Foss (on a movie set in Salem) how to kill gophers. The pictures are fairly puzzling and come from different dates. It seems that maybe the report was about travel or a very particular problem with gophers.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:6
Subseries I.G. Weekly Report: Feb 29, 1936
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This report contains many images and detailed captions. It is lacking a weekly report form, newspaper clippings, or other documents. The pictures pertain to the week ending on Feb 29, 1936. The Pictures include: A group organizing into a Soil Conservation Association, plus three missing images.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:7
Subseries I.H. Weekly Report: March 14, 1936
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This report contains many images and detailed captions. It is lacking a weekly report form, newspaper clippings, or other documents. The pictures pertain to the week ending on March 14, 1936. This weekly report also has images that relate to ‘gopher control.’ The images include: a demonstration on March 9th, and PM Shoaf tries out the gopher probe.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:8
Subseries I.I. Weekly Report: March 21, 1936
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This report contains many images and detailed captions. It is lacking a weekly report form, newspaper clippings, or other documents. The pictures pertain to the week ending on March 21, 1936. The images include: Land Use Project brings results, consulting with Mr. M. Selak, and other images of a group of men surveying what is likely the Land Use Project area.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:9
SERIES II: IMAGES
Fifty Four (54) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series is very large. The subseries each contain multiple images pertaining to their various subjects. Some of the pictures are very well captioned, while others have no information associated with them at all. Many of the photographs were taken by Henry Washburn.
This series is divided into forty one (41) subseries
Subseries II.A. Photographic Correspondence 1934-36
Subseries II.B. FB Meetings/tours unidentified
Subseries II.C. WPA Project Tour
Subseries II.D. Projects/Tours
Subseries II.E Highland Contour Meeting
Subseries II.F Gopher and contour irrigation meeting
Subseries II.G Water Conservation
Subseries II.H Irrigation
Subseries II.I. Erosion Control
Subseries II.J. Soil Erosion Demo
Subseries II.K. Moth Spray Demo
Subseries II.L. Spraying Crops
Subseries II.M. Plume Moth Close Ups
Subseries II.N. Termites
Subseries II.O. Crops/Orchard
Subseries II.P. Apple
Subseries II.Q. Artichokes
Subseries II.R. Corn
Subseries II.S. Lettuce trials Berk
Subseries II.T. Livestock/Animals
Subseries II.U. Poultry
Subseries II.V. Rancho Pacines Round Up
Subseries II.W. Stallion
Subseries II.X. California Rodeo at Salinas/Salinas Rodeo
Subseries II.Y. Fox Farming
Subseries II.Z. Forestry Tour, Santa Cruz County (May 10, 1935)
Subseries II.AA. Forestry
Subseries II.BB. Fire Control Demonstrations
Subseries II.CC. Christmas Trees
Subseries II.DD. 4-H
Subseries II.EE. Home Demo – Textiles
Subseries II.FF. Home Ground Improvement Tour (May 23, 1934)
Subseries II.GG. Candid Photos, Triple A meeting
Subseries II.HH. FB Events and related
Subseries II.II. FB (Farm Bureau) People
Subseries II.JJ. Watsonville Flood (Events)
Subseries II.KK. Lulu Carpenter File
Subseries II.LL. Non-FB Photos
Subseries II.MM Unidentified People
Subseries II.NN. ‘Cowman’s Relaxation’ Portraits
Subseries II.OO. Possible Soquel Photos 1930
Subseries II.A. Photographic Correspondence (1934 – 1936)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries has images from a ‘photographic correspondence’ from 1934 to 1936. There are about nine images. The folder contains a list (of which there is a photocopy as well. The pictures include:
• 6 * 4 BW photo of 4-H demonstration
• 9 * 5 BW photo of 4-H demonstration
• 4 * 2 ½ BW photo and neg of cabin with little boy kneeling on front porch
• 4 * 2 ½ BW photo of Ann McCormick (Buchanan) Home advisor
• 4 * 2 ½ neg. group of people watching a planting demonstration
• 5 * 3 BW photo of extension tour talk
• 5 * 4 BW photo of farm implements laying in hay
• 6 * 2 BW photo of unidentified objects (2)
• Cardboard backed selection of three BW photos, matched together (ditch digging? Irrigation?)
BW= Black and White, Neg= negative
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:12
Subseries II.B. FB Meetings/tours unidentified
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This folder holds many unlabeled images. Some of these images appear to be groups meeting, individuals at work (whether inspectors or farmers). There are pictures of buildings, fields, tools, cars, and lectures. About half of the images are post-card size, while the other half are almost full page sized.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:15
Subseries II.C. WPA Project Tour
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is a bound folder that contains images of the Capitola and Santa Cruzareas, particularly focusing on the ‘WPA’ Project. The images include (in order of appearance in folder):
• Capitola Sewer Project sown Britten Hill under railway trestle
• Capitola Bridge at center of Capitola Sewer Project
• Capitola Outfall fed by WPA Capitola Sewer Project (looking East)
• Capitola Outfall fed by WPA Capitola Sewer Project looking North from the beach
• Capitola Sea Wall approach to outfall
• WPA tour goes up Bay Avenue, line of Easterly branch of the Capitola Sewer Project
• Supervisor George Morgan outlines WPA Valencia Bridge Project on tour
• Valencia Bridge WPA Project looking East
• E.V. Woodehouse, one of Capitola’s leading citizens and extensive property owner of Capitola, County Engineer Lloyd Bowman with a cigar, and J.A. Harris, owner of Monterey Bay Redwood Company, discussing WPA Project on tour
• Soquel district rock quarry nearing completion at San Francisco Mountain on property of Monterey Redwood Company, looking north
• Same, looking south. Caravan delegates viewing face of quarry
• Face of quarry. Sutton Christian, editor. Sentinel, with handkerchief
• Supervisor Morgan explains process of crushing rock to made road material
• Conveyor from crusher to bunkers
• Tour delegates watch screen operation part of WPA contribution
• Tour delegates watch screen operations
• Crowd goes below to see bunker compartments
• Inspection foundation for plant
• Watching conveyor from different angle
• A. Frank Oettl, President Santa Cruz County Farm Bureau, represents his organization on tour
• Tour of finished section of Old San Jose Road
• Supervisor Morgan outlines facts re completed section, and discusses roughed in conditions of read in original conditions ahead
• Supervisor Morgan outlines WPA contributions on San Jose Road
• Inspecting flood damage to fill. 15,000 yards washed out
• Another view of damaged fill, showing original culvert on old road, and new roughed in road
• Bob Day, a pioneer settler and large property owner in district
• Lloyd Pringle, postmaster of Soquel, takes notes
• Col. Hugh A. Beaton, director of Ninth California District, WPA, speaks at completion of tour
• Three old timers, Don Emery, A.L. Sears, and Any Miletak, jubilant over new San Jose Road
• Supervisor Morgan at end of tour summarizes the various projects inspected
• L.C. Macabee, WPA Project Engineer in Charge of Ninth District
• Don Emery, right, one of leaders in promoting Old San Jose Road improvement
Besides these bound images, there are a number of loose images. These are also associated with the WPA project, but lack captions or detailed information. The first images is of a group of men with two women observing machinery at work. The second is a copy of one of the earlier images of a group walking along the Capitola Sea Wall. The third image is of a large group of me (workers?) near a truck. The final image is of a smaller group of men getting onto a pick-up truck.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:14
Subseries II.D. Projects/Tours
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
The images of this subseries show a ‘Budding Demonstration.’ This was presented by the State of California. It was supervised by Henry Washburn and Professor Butterfield. There are nine images: a group of men and women gathering around a ‘Budding Demonstration’ sign, groups in an orchard, groups observing various things and tools in an orchard.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
2:4
Subseries II.E Highland Contour Meeting
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of nine images with a blank piece of stationary from the Highland Contour Meeting in 1939. The images, black and white, are all about post-card sized. The images include: groups of men using surveying tools, men observing various plants, men overserving a berm, and a few others in the vein.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
2:6
Subseries II.F Gopher and contour irrigation meeting
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
The subseries contains information from a ‘Gopher and Contour Irrigation Meeting’ held on June 3, 1934. The meeting was on the Frank Modolo Ranch, in Davenport. The photos were developed by Jarvis Studio, the envelope for the photos comes along with the folder. The images include:
• Leon Collin, Davenport 4-H club leader discusses land leveling with Mr. Tambellini
• Frank Modolo (left) and 4-H club leader Leon Collin, Davenport, show farm level and rod used for laying out Frank’s irrigation ditches
• Farm advisor runs level on Frank Modolo’s Brussel Sprouts land, four miles north of Davenport
• Determining which way water will run for Frank Modolo’s Brussel sprout planting. 4-H club leader, Leon Collins, holds rod for farm advisor, while Frank Moldolo looks on
• Farm Advisor, Henry L. Washburn, asks everyone to guess land level before sighting through instrument. Guesses turned out to be 95% wrong
• Mr. ___________ checks his guess on lay of land with instrument
• Mr. ___________ checks rod for rest of group when they check their guesses with instrument
• Mr. ___________ checks his guess with the instrument
• A.A. Wilson, Coast Road boss, has a look through the level
• Mr. ____________ finds that land has one foot fall instead of the raise guessed by 95% of growers at the meeting
Box ID #: Folder ID #
2:10
Subseries II.G Water Conservation
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries covers a water conservation district. The folder itself holds an explanation: “Santa Clara Valley Water Conservation District. Shots of Chief Engineer Tibbetts. Last shot in Water Conservation folder is of Boulder and Dam worker. Others are of Tibbetts in action showing water conservation and farm bureau directors over the $2,000,000 project. (Many of these shots around noon with extremely hard lighting.” This series of pictures are not captioned as many others in the Washburn Collection are. The pictures include: images of construction equipment, men working on the project, groups observing the work, a man observing a mechanism with two large gears, men talking, and a worker on a break.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
2:11
Subseries II.H Irrigation
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is quite large. It includes many, many images (lots of which are labeled). It also includes documents explaining the purpose of the demonstration. The documents and images show a drainage demonstration put on by cooperative effort of the University of California (college of agriculture), the United States Department of Agriculture, and the Board of Supervisors of Santa Cruz County. There are documents mentioning what, who, and when events happened. Other documents contain lots of measurements and observations about the drainage demonstration itself. Within the bound document are also many images. There are 16 images all with detailed captions. Many of the images are of people inspecting the work, people doing work, images of the land and water itself, as well as images of the demonstration itself. Beyond the bound volume there are quite a few loose images. The one large image shows a big group observing a piece of machinery. There are 16 postcard-sized images. These also show people observing things being built, groups discussing, how water is flowing, a number of ditches and farmland, and people doing equations. The last set of images are seven (7) smaller pictures of calculations and drawings on a blackboard.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
2:12
Subseries II.I. Erosion Control
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This group of photos shows an Erosion Control meeting in March of 1936. The images show various farmers and people from local and state bureaus interacting. There are about four loose images that show machinery, men looking at a soil core, a ditch, and an image of various newspaper clippings. The pictures in the folder include:
• March 9th – The Corralitos group inspects the junction of a contour ditch with the main line ditch
• March 9th – The Corralitos group sees how the cover crop has protected the contour ditch while listening to Dr. Logan S. Carter explain the drainage outlet for the community
• March 9th – They see vegetated contour ditches on the Rose place in Corralitos
• March 9th – Seventy-three local farmers came on six one-half day field tours to learn about soil conservation work done by the Soil Conservation Service in their area. The Larkin Valley group inspects fully control by pipe and wire damns on the Bradley Ranch
• March 10th – One of the most interest groups came from the Highland Farm Center to see the result of a little nitrogenous fertilizer on the cover crops on Bob Day’s ranch
• March 9th – The Corralitos groups sees the tremendous need for nitrogen on cover crops was shown in this test plot on the Enos Ranch, where 200 pounds of Ammonium Sulphate was applied next to a beck plot on the right which received no fertilizer
• March 10th – While Bill Adams asks a question
• March 10th – Mr. Wrtight of Wrights, (left) is satisfied
• March 10th – Jack Enos
• March 10th – While Frank Oettl, Preseident of the Santa Cruz County Farm Bureau, takes notes
• March 10th – Tells the group the tremendous saving he has made by the use of the depth gauge rollers on his disk. It uses about half the power, the machine turns easier, and leaves a shallow mulch which helps to prevent soil erosion
• March 10th – Arno Fidel and Mr. Lewis wonder if the roller will work on their soil
• March 10th – Dr. Carter drive a point home
• March 10th – This grower is astonished at what a little nitrogen will do for a cover crop
• March 10th – And the same amount and kind of fertilizer on Frank Rowe’s ranch
• March 10th – and 200 pounds of ammonium sulphate on Jericich ranch next to Bob Day’s
• March 10th – On the way home the Higland group insects their district supervisor’s new bridge
• March 10th – but, Bill Adams wants more information
Box ID #: Folder ID #
2:8
Subseries II.J. Soil Erosion Demo
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains images from a soil erosion demo held near Santa Cruz. The pictures range in dates, but are all from 1936. This may represent multiple demonstrations held in the area during the year. The pictures include:
• January 28 – Three men who are very much interested
• Three men discussing something and leaning on the front of a car (2 copies in folder)
• March 21 – The committee submits a tough question to Ben Madson, University of California Agronomy Division
• March 21 – Likewise part of the Adams Ranch. After losing its top soil, it became unprofitable and is going back to forest (image missing)
Box ID #: Folder ID #
2:9
Subseries II.K. Moth Spray Demo
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is small. It has a handful of pictures showing a moth spray demonstration in October of 1939. The images include: men looking at signs describing the sprays, a group of men listening to someone explain the method, Paul King checking and controlling the summer flight of the codlin moth, and a large group of men in an orchard.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
3: ID 14
Subseries II.L. Spraying Crops
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This file contains many images showing the spraying of crops in the Santa Cruz area. Some of the images are simply pictures of data, others are of plants during the spraying and possible experiments. The images include (there are also some repeat images and reverse images in different sizes): spray plots, Bartlett pear test plots, test fields, soil from tests, plants that were sprayed with chemicals, and a car with a spraying rig.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
3: ID 15
Subseries II.M. Plume Moth Close Ups (1938)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is very small. It contains two close up photographs of plume moths. This was use by the U.S. Department of Agriculture Extension Service in the Santa Cruz area. The images are possibly from 1938.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
3: ID 16
Subseries II.N. Termites
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries has information and images of termites. The file opens with a note stating that a ‘Leica’ was the only camera that could take the shots included. Next, there is a letter from Paul C. Baker to Mr. Allen Horton discussing a termite problem and suggestions to fix it. The pictures include:
• Aerial tubes in dark, undisturbed area beneath floors, are characteristic of subterranean termites
• Nesting in damp soil termites build numberless tubes upward, searching for new food supplies
• Supporter by the outer casing of a floor furnace, termites extend their tubes upwardto the floor joists
• Beyond the furnace are countless aerial tubes arising from a pile of debris left by careless carpenters
Box ID #: Folder ID #
3: ID 17
Subseries II.O. Crops/Orchard
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains a large number of images. They range in size and most are unlabeled. But the images include: men using surveying tools, various graphs showing wheat production in the US, trucks carrying produce, test fields, tractors being used, people observing plants, groups observing saplings, Mr. and Mrs. George Cowells fertilizing in preparation to set out cabbage plants, Watsonville, thorny vines propped up on trellis (2 copies), man and woman cutting plants, Large palette in an orchard, the back of a house with a very full field of leafy plants, women studying plants (Carrots? Parsnips?), and three people packing lettuce.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
3: IE 1
Subseries II.P. Apple
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is made up solely of pictures. There are about thirty (30) images. There are about eight (8) images that have people in them, but the rest are of apple trees. There are larger images of orchards, images of single trees, and the trees in different seasons as well.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
3: IE 2
Subseries II.Q. Artichokes
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries focuses on artichokes. Though the folder is mostly made up of image, there is one document present. It is a letter from Donald D. Wolf to the Artichoke & Sprout Growers Association in Santa Cruz (dated 20 January, 1954). Some of the images are of graphs showing artichoke yields in Santa Cruz, others are images of artichoke fields, people gathering artichokes, artichokes being harvested and planted. In all there are twenty three images.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
3: IE 3
Subseries II.R. Corn
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries focuses on corn. The images show corn fields, people in corn fields, experiments and demonstrations being done, corn being planted and harvested. There are fifteen of these images. There are also four loose images at the back of the folder, two of which show the inside of a bar, the third shows a field, the last shows gourds on a ground.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
3: IE 4
Subseries II.S. Lettuce trials Berk
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
The subseries is made up of image of lettuce trials. The images show a group of men observing plants both in a field and studying images of plants while inside. There are photographs that show various growing conditions for potted lettuce (inside, outside). The images present a story of testing ways to grow lettuce and the group was trying to learn how best to grow lettuce in the area.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
3: IE 5
Subseries II.T. Livestock/Animals
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries has various images showing animals and livestock. There are three section within the folder. The first is a series of three images of a bobcat kitten. The next is a series of photos of horses. There are six images of horses, some of horses, others of people riding horses. The last group of photos is of cattle. The eight photographs show cows in the field, and people buying and butchering meat.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
4: IF 1
Subseries II.U. Poultry
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains images (and negatives of photos) showing both chickens and turkeys. Other images show a chicken coop and two people. One series of photos shows the California Farm Bureau Egg Laying Contest building and surrounding area.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
4: IF 2
Subseries II.V. Rancho Paicines Round Up
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries has images of a cattle round up on Rancho Paicines (also spelled Pacines). There are various images of large herds of cattle moving over the hills. Among the pictures are images of individual cattle, horses, and a shot of two cowboys on horseback.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
4: IF 3
Subseries II.W. Stallion
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains four photographs of stallions. There is also a bit of information included in the folder about Stallion 1, and two other stallions.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
4: IF 4
Subseries II.X. California Rodeo at Salinas/Salinas Rodeo (1930s)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is made up of two folders, one of which is dated 1936. The many images show the various parts of the rodeo. There are images of the men participating in the rodeo, some of these are almost portrait-like in style. Other photos show different events at the rodeo including: bull riding, lassoing, mustang riding, and a few others.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
4: IF 5 4: IF 6
Subseries II.Y. Fox Farming
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries shows ‘fox farming.’ There are more than ten (10) images showing live foxes in cages, fox pelts, and a building that the foxes were likely kept in.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
4: IF 7
Subseries II.Z. Forestry Tour, Santa Cruz County (May 10, 1935)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is made of images showing a Forestry tour in Santa Cruz County on May 10th of 1935. There are about twenty (20) images showing the various people and stops on the tour. Many of the captions are very detailed and mention specific people and places.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
5: IG 1
Subseries II.AA. Forestry
Five (5) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries has 129 images and a number of negatives. The numerous images show many scenes. Some are simply photos of trees and forests, others are of clear cut areas. Some show groups observing or discussing while in a forest setting (might be images from various tours). The images range in size from 2’ by 2” to the full 8” by 11” size.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
5: IG 2 5: IG 3 5: IG 4 5: IG 5 5: IG 6
Subseries II.BB. Fire Control Demonstrations (1935 – 1941)
Three (3) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is made up of three folders, each showing fire demonstrations in particular years. The first is from May 10th, 1935 and the demonstration was held at Highland Farm Center. The second is dated August 13th of 1936. The last folder has images from the fire demonstrations in both 1940 and 1941. The sixteen (16) images in the first two folders show groups attending meetings that seem to center on fire control in more forested and rural areas. These series of pictures has very detailed captions. The last folder in the subseries has no captions. The nine photographs in this folder show demonstrations at local schools.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
6: IG 7 6: IG 8 6: IG 9
Subseries II.CC. Christmas Trees
Three (3) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains three folders. The first contains two images of a Christmas tree nursery with young trees, a document providing some history of the industry in the Santa Cruz area, and a map showing where ‘Christmas Tree Plantations’ were located. The second folder has seven (7) smaller envelopes, each containing photos and negatives, from Ed Weber’s Photo Craft Shop. These numerous smaller images also show Christmas trees in various settings. The third folder has seventeen (17) photographs of local Christmas tree farm. It shows the trees in all stages, from very small, to saplings, to full grown. Other activities on the farm are also documented in the images.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
6: IH 1 6: IH 2 6: IH 3
Subseries II.DD. 4-H
Four (4) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries has a large number of photos, spread through four folders. The images document the 4-H groups in the general Santa Cruz area. They are likely from the 1940s and 50s. The images include 4-H groups in classrooms, during tutorial, at fairs, competing in local (and likely state) fairs, and camping. All together there are about seventy (70) images. The photos vary in size.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
7: II 1 7: II 2 7: II 3 7: II 4
Subseries II.EE. Home Demo – Textiles
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This is a very small subseries. It consists of only two photographs. The images show a presentation or lecture about new textiles, there is a large group of women there to learn.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
7: II 5
Subseries II.FF. Home Ground Improvement Tour (May 23, 1934) and Home Improvement Landscaping
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries has two folders both relating to home improvement, of both landscaping and the ground. The first folder contains about twenty six (26) images of a tour held on May 23, 1934. Women are heavily represented in the images. The photos include shots of the whole group, certain locations, and portraits of the speakers in action. The second folder is slightly different. Overall it has about thirty one (31) images. Included are pictures of houses and their yards, some shots of tours, groups in outside settings, and speakers at events. Along with these are a few random photos depicting children and more domestic settings. There are also a number of photo negatives in the folder.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
7: II 6 7: II 7
Subseries II.GG. Candid Photos, Triple A meeting (Feb 9, 1935)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is comprised of ten (10) pictures. They are candid shots in a portrait style of people at an Apple Growers & Packers meeting. The meeting was held in the Hotel Resetar at 7pm on the 9th of February, 1935.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
7: IJ 1
Subseries II.HH. Farm Bureau Events and related
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is constituted of two folders. The first folder has two sets of photographs, the first being multiple prints of a family eating at a table, the second being photographs of various meetings both indoors and out. Some of the images were of people speaking at the meetings. The second folder has images of meetings, tours, and dinners for Farm Bureau.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
7: IJ 2 7: IJ 3
Subseries II.II. Farm Bureau People
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains forty (40) photographs of people associated with the Farm Bureau group. Most are informal portraits, many are candid. Some show people at events, outside on tours, or in discussion with others.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
7: IK 1
Subseries II.JJ. Watsonville Flood (Events)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains five smaller envelopes each holding a number of 5 by 7 photographs. In all there are more than fifty (50) pictures in these smaller envelopes showing the Watsonville flood and its aftermath. Beyond this there are two other images of the flood. The folder also has a typed list of the images on two reels of film (likely captions for the images in the smaller envelopes).
Box ID #: Folder ID #
9: A1
Subseries II.KK. Lulu Carpenter File
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains images of a fire in Santa Cruz. The images show the fire, firefighters, bystanders, and the aftermath and extensive damage the fire caused. One of the buildings effected was the Lulu Carpenter Press Shoppe.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
9: A2
Subseries II.LL. Non-Farm Bureau Photos
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries is ‘Non-Farm Bureau’ photographs. These are images of Santa Cruz, the surrounding areas and the people of the city. There are images of buildings, one of the Miss California pageant at the Boardwalk, and gatherings throughout town. The folder includes a handful of images of Lela Borden, a local champion swimmer in 1936. Another small collection of photos shows football being played in a large stadium. The file also contains landscape images, portraits of locals, an image of ‘Frog Pond,’ and people on the beach.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
9: B1
Subseries II.MM Unidentified People
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains eighteen (18) images. Some are formal portraits, others are images of people in landscape settings, and pictures of local children. There is a handful of images of an airplane, and there are images of what looks to be a film set.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
9: B2
Subseries II.NN. ‘Cowman’s Relaxation’ Portraits
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries only contains two photographs. The first, an image of two men, is labeled as: Wealthy cattlemen spend government payments in King City saloon. The second photo is of just one man: One of the largest cattlemen, Mr. Eade, is seeing his surroundings as the lens shows him, slightly out of focus. He and his family are very proud of this picture. Ig was taken as the same time as no. 1 in the King City saloon.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
9: B3
Subseries II.OO. Possible Soquel Photos (1930)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries possibly shows the Soquel area. These images were not fully identified by Henry Washburn. He was guessing at the area, and hoping others could help him to identify it. The photographs include images of homes, farms, farmers plowing land, and farmers tending crops.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
9: B4
SERIES III: ‘SECTION MAPS’ FARM LABOR OFFICES
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series consists of number of hand drawn maps of the Santa Cruz Area, some show different features (each map likely had differing purposes). The folder also contains a document showing a notice of bankruptcy by the Santa Cruz Frozen Foods store. The rest of the contents are maps. These maps are:
• Farm Labor Offices, map of Monterrey Bay (6 copies)
• Farm Labor Office, 527 Main Street Watsonville (2 copies)
• Farm Labor Office, Watsonville
• Farm Labor Office map showing Kelly Lake and College Lake (3 copies)
• Farm Labor Office, Watsonville – Calif. (2 copies)
• Farm Labor Office, map No. 3 (4 copies)
• Map of Plantation Christmas Trees (13 copies)
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:10
SERIES IV: C. MARTENS CORRESPONDENCE
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains letters both to and from Henry Washburn, Carson Martens, and between the two men. The file has both personal and professional correspondence between the two men. Some are short handwritten notes, while others are typed missives. One letter, from Henry Washburn to Warren B. Tufts, is accompanied by pictures of the latter’s visit to Santa Cruz county. The images include:
• Dr. Warren B. Tufts explains that these young apple trees were headed back too far the first year
• The grower lost at least one year’s time by heading this young orchard back too far. Main limbs are nicely spread, how-ever
• Dr. Tufts’ method of spreading limbs with two branches twisted together
• Young tree headed back to closely. Note sunburned apple typical of damage done in Santa Cruz county during 1936
• This young tree should be thinned out rather than headed back, Dr. Tufts explains to Carl Bronson, Pajaro Valley Apple grower
• Heading back this twig will promote still longer shoot growth from the cut. Twigs should be headed back only where branching is wanted, otherwise, they should be turned out
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:11
SERIES V: TOURS
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains information and documentation of tours given by local farming associations in association with government groups. Each of the files contains documents, programs, and images with detailed captions providing information on the participants and activities of each tour.
This series is divided into two (2) subseries
Bankers and Businessmen Tour
Soil Erosion Tour
Subseries V.A. Bankers and Businessmen Tour (16 May 1932)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of only one folder. It contains information about the Bankers and Business Men’s Tour. This tour of Santa Cruz County was held on May 16th of 1932. A bound folder makes up the main bulk of information. This includes the program for the event. This program contains: a purpose page, a foreward, information for each stop of the tour (of which there were 12), and information about the various programs in the area that the bankers and businessmen would be learning about. Along with this packet, is a large collection of newspaper clippings about the event. There are also ten pictures of the tour (mostly of the cars in procession).
Box ID #: Folder ID #
1:13
Subseries V.B. Soil Erosion Tour
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains documents and images from a Soil Erosion tour. It was the first of such tours and was conducted by the Agricultural Extension Service (Santa Cruz County) in cooperation with the Soil Erosion Service. The first page of the program states “The delegation will travel by automobile twenty-four miles through a part of the Santa Crus County Demonstration Area, for which $200,000 has been allocated by the Soil Erosion Service. This fund is for the purpose of putting into operation erosion control measures in cooperation with the property owners or operators.” The program also includes distance to location, time of visit, and place of stop. Following the program are more than twenty (20) images, with detailed captions, showing the various locations visited and the people who visited them. Beyond this there are 21 newspaper clippings discussing the Soil Erosion Tour. There are also two loose pictures in the file: One of an orchard, and the other of a windmill.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
2:7
SERIES VI: BULB IMPROVEMENT (1920s)
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series shows the documentation of a ‘Bulb Improvement’ project. It was a “cooperative extension work” of the University of California (College of Agriculture), the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and the Board of Supervisors of Santa Cruz County. This meeting was in July of 1923. The main objectives of this gathering were to: study the best local practices, to test out locally and on different varieties the uses of fertilizers, to get the best growers to carefully select and plant their best stock, to teach the principles of economics, and to assist them by advice in plans for promotion of cooperative business organizations. There were goals outlined for the year of 1923, as well as history, procedures were set as well. A large part of the document is dedicated to mentioning each demonstration. This mentions: name, farm center, kind of test, planted by. Other tests were documented, the information taken down was: row, wt. of bulbs, volume of bulbs, wt. of bulblets, measure of bulblets, fertilizer applied, and method of application. Many of the plots that these experiments were used for are drawn showing their location, size, and proximity to roads. Near the end of the document are status reports, summaries, plans for 1924 and 1925, and outcomes of the various demonstrations. Included with these documents are 28 images (on 14 pages) showing the experiments, demonstrations, visitors, leaders of the group, and boxes of bulbs used for the demonstrations.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
2:5
SERIES VII: WIREWORM CONTROL
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains lots of information about wireworm control in the Santa Cruz area. Within the file are three pamphlets on the issue: Wireworm Control Bulletin, Preliminary Report on the Use of Calcium Cyanide as a Soil Fumigant for Wireworms, and a section of the Journal of Economic Entomology. There are also a number of letters to Henry Washburn from John N. Stone and C.F. Elwood. A progress report on wireworm control is also included. The bulk of this subseries is the bound Wireworm Control Project. The project was another cooperative effort of the University of CA, the US Department of Agriculture, and the Board of Supervisors of Santa Cruz County. The object of the project is “to determine an effective control of wireworms, and when found to put such measures into general use.” The program includes other documentation of different experiments, other data, test data, and advisor reports. This packet also includes six images (with detailed captions) of the tests. There are two loose images in the folder as well showing different methods to control wireworms.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
3: ID 13
SERIES VIII: CHRISTMAS TREES (1950s)
Two (2) Folders
Series Content and Scope
This series shows the beginnings of the Christmas tree growing industry in the Santa Cruz area. Henry Washburn was integral to the industry. The two subseries show studies of Christmas trees and how they were grown, and a feature about the trees in an annual farm advisors report.
This series is divided into two (2) subseries
Christmas tree Studies
Feature of Farm Advisors Annual Report (1953)
Subseries VIII.A. Christmas tree Studies (1950s)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains information on the Christmas tree industry in the Santa Cruz area in the early 1950s. The folder begins with two copies of an article in the Santa Cruz Sentinel about Christmas trees. There is also a business card for Minnig’s Certified Tree Farm in Washington. This must have been another west coast contact for the industry in the area. There is also a letter from Edward C. Koch (a farm advisor) to area Christmas tree growers inviting them to a quarterly meeting. There is an article from Sunset Magazine (December 1956) titled Country Living: Growing Christmas trees as a cash crop. The most significant part of this subseries is the Santa Cruz County Christmas Tree Study compiled by Henry Washburn. It contains thirty (30) images with very detailed captions from 1951.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
6: IH 4
Subseries VIII.B. Feature of Farm Advisors Annual Report (1953)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries consists of a ‘Feature of the Farm Advisor’s Annual Report’ from 1953, by Henry Washburn (County Director of Agricultural Extension, Santa Cruz County). The report is called: A Program of Growing Christmas Trees. The first page explains why this topic is the feature of the 1953 report. After this there are two newspaper clippings, both about local tree farms. Though there is one more page of text later in the report, the rest of the booklet is comprise of fifty (50) images with very detailed captions.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
6: IH 5
SERIES IX: EPHEMERA AND BOOKS
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains various forms of ephemera belonging to Henry Washburn. Included are Santa Cruz Nature Club cards, Santa Cruz Society for Historical Preservation Member card, and a few notes. Also within this series is a copy of Lecture Note on “The Grammar of Picture Making” by Nicholas Haz. The last item in the series is a book titled Man and the Soil, by Karl B. Mickey, and published in 1945.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
7: IM 1
SERIES X: SLIDES
Twenty five (25) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains twenty five folders of slides. Each page within the folders hold, at most, twenty slides. Some contain a photocopy of the box they were mailed in to Henry Washburn. They were developed by Eastman Kodak Company. The boxes are all labeled ‘Kodakslide’ and each of the slides has a cardboard label around the image, this is labeled with ‘Kodachrome.’ Each folder contains a different number of slides.
• Folder 1: Fourteen (14) slides
• Folder 2: Twenty (20) slides
• Folder 3: One (1) slide
• Folder 4: Seven (7) slides
• Folder 5: Seventeen (17) slides
• Folder 6: Seven (7) slides
• Folder 7: Eight (8) slides
• Folder 8: Six (6) slides
• Folder 9: Seven (7) slides
• Folder 10: Five (5) slides
• Folder 11: Eleven (11) slides
• Folder 12: Thirteen (13) slides
• Folder 13: Twelve (12) slides
• Folder 14: Seven (7) slides
• Folder 15: Seven (7) slides
• Folder 16: Nine (9) slides
• Folder 17: Five (5) slides
• Folder 18: Twenty three (23) slides
• Folder 19: Four (4) slides
• Folder 20: Six (6) slides
• Folder 21: Fifteen (15) slides
• Folder 22: Ten (10) slides
• Folder 23: Seventeen (17) slides
• Folder 24: Two (2) slides
• Folder 25: Ten (10) slides
Box ID #: Folder ID #
8:1 8:2 8:3 8:4 8:5 8:6 8:7 8:8 8:9 8:10 8:11 8:12 8:13
8:14 8:15 8:16 8:17 8:18 8:19 8:20 8:21 8:22 8:23 8:24 8:25
SERIES XI: LILLIAN HUEBNER’S FLOOD CONTROL MATERIALS
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains information compiled by Lillian Huebner. The file begins with a handful of newspaper clippings pertaining to flood control on the California coast, with a particular focus on the Santa Cruz area. There are also handwritten notes from a commission meeting. The bulk of the series is constituted by correspondence. These numerous letters are both to and from Lillian Huebner. She communicated with various government agencies and people from the local level to the state and federal levels.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
9: C1
SERIES XII: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series is constituted by newspapers and newspaper clippings. There are a handful of complete newspapers from 1929, but the articles in the rest of the file span to the mid 1950’s. The articles cover farm bureau activity, local weather issues, and stories about Henry Washburn himself.
Box ID #: Folder ID #
9: C2
