SERIES I. OVERCOATS AND JACKETS
Four (4) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of four (4) overcoats and two jackets belonging to Dora Andersen. These coats consist of one green, wool overcoat with brass buttons and insignias (1996.3.1); a green wool overcoat liner which can be attached with buttons to the inside of a coat (1996.3.2); and a green cotton jacket with a notched lapel forming the collar (1996.3.3). The collar on this jacket resembles the notched lapels of an “Ike Jacket”. Another item is a wool jacket with knit cuff and collar that resembles the collar of a turtleneck sweater (1996.3.4) ; inside this coat near the collar is Dora Andersen’s name, inscribed.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES II. SUITS
Three (3) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of three (3) sets of suits belonging to Dora Andersen. These suits include a jacket and skirt set, or a suit set of pants and a shirt. The items in this series are the following: one suit consisting of a green, wool, jacket with insignias and a skirt (1996.3.5 a & b); one tan, wool jacket and skirt suit set (1996.3.6a &b); and one green, cotton suit of a fatigues shirt and pants (1996.7a&b).
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES III. PANTS AND SKIRTS
Six (6) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of six (6) items from Dora Andersen’s time as a WAC. These items include cotton and wool pants, and cotton skirts.
This series is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries III.A. Pants
Subseries III.B. Skirts
SUBSERIES III.A. PANTS
Four (4) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of four (4) pants made of cotton and wool. These pants include: one pair of khaki, cotton pants (1996.3.10); one pair of green, cotton pants identified as “rain pants with cuffs” (1996.3.11); one pair of green, wool pants (1996.3.12); and one pair of green wool pants identified as “snow pants with ties” (1996.3.13).
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES III.B. SKIRTS
Two (2) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of two (2) skirts from Dora Andersen’s time as a WAC. These skirts include: one tan, cotton, A-line skirt (1996.3.8) and one khaki colored cotton A-line skirt (1996.3.9).
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES IV. SHIRTS AND SHORTS
Eight (8) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of eight (8) items primarily from Dora Andersen’s WAC uniforms. These items include shirts and shorts such as green, cotton fatigue shirts and seersucker shorts.
This series is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries IV.A. Shirts
Subseries IV.B. Shorts
SUBSERIES IV.A. SHIRTS
Six (6) Shirts
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of six (6) shirts. These shirts comprise 1996.3.14-19. These shirts include two green, wool, long-sleeved shirts; one green, cotton, “fatigue” shirt; one khaki, cotton, long-sleeved shirt; and one khaki, cotton and linen long-sleeved shirt; and one tan, cotton and linen long-sleeved shirt.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES IV.B. SHORTS
Two (2) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of two (2) pairs of shorts belonging to Dora Andersen. These items include two pairs of brown and white seersucker shorts (1996.3.22 & 1996.3.23).
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES V. DRESSES AND BLOOMERS
Four (4) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of dresses and bloomers from Dora Andersen’ WAC uniforms. This series comprises items 1996.3.20-21 and 1996.3.24-25.
This series is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries V.A. Dresses
Subseries V.B. Bloomers
SUBSERIES V.A. DRESSES
Two (2) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of two (2) dresses from Dora Andersen’s time as a WAC. These dresses are short-sleeved, and made of tan cotton. This tan, short-sleeved uniform dress, which resembles the WAC hospital dress, may have served as a uniform for Dora’s time s an occupational therapist at a hospital in Camp Carson, Colorado.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES V.B. BLOOMERS
Two (2) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of two (2) pairs of bloomers. One pair is made of seersucker material and are brown and white in color. The second pair in this subseries is green in color and have been knitted out of heavy green wool.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES VI. UNDER-GARMENTS AND SOCKS
Six (6) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of six (6) items. These items include khaki-colored shorts that served as underwear, and two (2) pairs of long, green socks. This series comprises items 1996.3.26-29 and 1996.3.30-31.
This subseries is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries VI.A. Undergarments
Subseries VI.B. Socks
SUBSERIES VI.A. UNDER-GARMENTS
Four (4) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of four (4) pairs of shorts which served as under-garments or underwear. All four of these pairs are khaki colored, and made of wool, resembling short pants.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES VI.B. SOCKS
Two (2) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of two (2) pairs of socks. These socks are of a wool blend, and olive green color and are roughly mid-ankle to just above the knee in length.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES VII. SCARVES AND TIES
Five (5) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of ties and scarves belonging to Dora Andersen. These scarves and neckties are khaki or green in color, and made of wool or cotton. This series comprises accession #’s 1996.3.32-36.
This series is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries VII.A. Scarves
Subseries VII.B. Ties
SUBSERIES VII.A. SCARVES
One (1) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of one (1) scarf. This scarf is khaki colored and made of wool.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES VII.B. TIES
Four (4) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of four neckties. Two neckties are khaki-colored and made of cotton. The other two neckties are made of wool and are green in color.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Room
SERIES VIII. WALLETS, POUCHES, MASKS
Six (6) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of six items belonging to Dora Andersen. The items in this series include cotton wallets, leather purses, cotton pouches, and snow masks. The items in this series include accession numbers 1996.3.37-42.
This series is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries VIII.A. Wallets
Subseries VIII.B. Pouches, Purses, Masks
SUBSERIES VIII.A. WALLETS
Three (3) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of three (3) wallets belonging to Dora Andersen. These wallets are made of green cotton.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES VIII.B. POUCHES , PURSES, MASKS
Three (3) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of three (3) items. These items include: one (1) brown leather purse belonging to Dora Andersen, and one green, cotton pouch. Another item in this subseries is an olive green knitted mask. This knitted mask is made of heavy olive green wool and when worn, would likely cover the nose, neck, head and possibly the mouth. The mask features a circular oval hole which when worn, would possibly leave only the eyes and some skin around the eyes exposed.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES IX. HATS, CAPS, HOODS
Thirteen (13) items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series include thirteen (13) pieces of headwear from Dora Andersen’s time as a WAC. These items include green cotton and wool caps in the “Fatigue” and “Garrison” style of cap, as well as beige, silk Garrison caps, and khaki Garrison caps. Other items include a rain hood for inclement weather and a green, wool hat with a rain cover in the style of the “Hobby” hat. This series includes accession numbers 1996.3.43-55. Items 1996.44-55 are included in the MAH Textile Headwear Collection Inventory Guide.
This series is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries IX.A. Hats
Subseries IX.B. Caps
Subseries IX.C. Hoods
SUBSERIES IX.A. HATS
Two (2) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of two (2) hats . These hats include one (1) khaki cotton hat which resembles the “bucket hat” style of present day. This hat resembles a WAAC fatigue hat made of khaki cotton twill in the “Daisy Mae” style of fatigue caps [source: blitzkriegbaby.de/homepage.htm]. The second hat in this subseries is a green, wool hat with a visor and a shiny rain cover for inclement weather. This hat resembles the WAC issued “Hobby” Hats named after the WAC director Oveta Culp Hobby. These hats feature a rounded top and a stiff visor for shielding the eyes [source: “ ‘Headgear’ WAC Women’s Uniforms in WWII”, Pub. 2005-2006 by Blitzkriegbaby http://www.blitzkriegbaby.de/homepage.htm site updated 6/15/2015].
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES IX.B. CAPS
Ten (10) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of ten (10) cotton fatigue caps, and wool, silk, and cotton Garrison caps from the WAC. Two (2) cotton fatigue caps are dark olive green in color and feature a visor that sticks out over the eyes. These caps highly resemble the Herringbone Twill cap that was worn for field duty by the WACs [source: “ “Headgear’ WAC Women’s Uniforms in WWII,” Pub. 2005-2006 by Blitzkriegbaby http://www.blitzkriegbaby.de/homepage.htm site updated 6/15/2015. Note: Photos of WAC hats and other attire can be seen here]. The other eight items in this subseries are WAC hats of the Garrison cap style. These items include: two (2) green wool Garrison caps that are very dark olive green in collar with a greenish-yellow-gold braid; two (2) beige silk Garrison caps with greenish-yellow braid trim; and two (2) khaki colored cotton Garrison caps with yellowish green trim; one (1) plain khaki cotton Garrison cap with no trim; and one (1) khaki colored wool Garrison cap with yellowish-green trim.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES IX.C. HOODS
One (1) Item
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of one (1) hood used for inclement weather. This hood, used in rainy weather, is made of green cotton and may have attached to a coat.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES X. GLOVES, MITTENS AND EARMUFFS
Four (4) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of one (1) green wool knit glove, two pairs of green and tan wool knit mittens, and one set of green wool earmuffs belonging to Dora Andersen. The single green wool knit glove, is one of a pair, the other half to the pair is missing.
This series is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries X.A. Gloves and Mittens
Subseries X.B. Earmuffs
SUBSERIES X.A. GLOVES AND MITTENS
Three (3) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of gloves and mittens belonging to Dora Andersen. This subseries includes one (1) olive green wool knit, glove, half of a pair of which one is missing. The other items include two (2) sets of mittens, one with fused fingers (rather than spaces for each finger) that is tan in color, and another set that are olive green with cotton and leather.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES X.B. EARMUFFS
One (1) Item
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of one (1) pair of earmuffs belonging to Dora Andersen. These earmuffs are green in color and made of wool. These earmuffs are accession number 1996.3.65 in the collection.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES XI. COLLARS AND HANDKERCHIEFS
Three (3) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series contains three (3) items belonging to Dora Andersen. These items include two (2) collars of white cotton and green wool, and one (1) handkerchief of green cotton. (Accession numbers 1996.3.59-61).
This series is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries XI.A. Collars
Subseries XI.B. Handkerchiefs
SUBSERIES XI.A. COLLARS
Two (2) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of two (2) collars. One collar (1996.3.59) is made of white cotton. The second collar (1996.3.61) is made of green wool and is what may be described as a “tab collar” which was a detachable collar, often attached with a pin or button, or snap (Source: “History of the Tab Collar”. Pub.10/22/2012 by Thib on “Style Diary” found on hypemeanseverything.com).
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES XI.B. HANDKERCHIEFS
One (1) Item
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of one (1) handkerchief belonging to Dora Andersen. This handkerchief is made of green cotton.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES XII. BELTS, SUSPENDERS, ARMBANDS
Four (4) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series includes four items from Dora Andersen’s collection of WAC uniforms. This series comprises accession numbers 1996.3.62-64 and 1996.3.70. Items in this series include a belt, belt buckle, suspenders, and an armband.
This series is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries XII.A. Belts
Subseries XII.B. Suspenders
Subseries XII.C. Armbands
SUBSERIES XII.A. BELTS
Two (2) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of one (1) belt and one (1) belt buckle. The belt (1996.3.62) is made of green cotton and was likely used to wrap around a uniform or dress. The belt buckle (1996.3.63) is made of green plastic and may have belonged to the green cotton belt.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES XII.B. SUSPENDERS
One (1) Pair
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of one (1) pair of suspenders. These suspenders are green, cotton suspenders and were likely attached to pants.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES XII.C. ARMBANDS
One (1) Item
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of one (1) armband belonging to Dora Andersen. This armband is made of white cotton and may be a Red Cross armband, as it features what appears to be a Red Cross symbol.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SERIES XIII. PINS AND BADGES
Four (4) Items
Series Scope and Content Summary:
This series consists of four (4) pins and badges belonging to Dora Andersen.
This series is divided into the following subseries:
Subseries XIII.A. Pins
Subseries XIII .Badges
SUBSERIES XIII.A. PINS
Three (3) Items
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of three (3) pins belonging to Dora Andersen. These pins include: One (1) brass pin identified as a Medical corps insignia (1996.3.66); this pin features a symbol that resembles snakes coiled around a scepter and topped with wings, that is associated with medical personnel. This pin measures approximately one inch from side to side. The second pin in this subseries (1966.3.67) is a shiny, round, brass pin featuring the symbol of an eagle with wings outstretched. This pin measures approx. 1.5” from side to side. This pin resembles the WAAC Cap device pin which was worn on hats before the WAAC was incorporated into the army in 1943; this type of pin was called the “WAC Eagle”. The third pin (1996.3.68) is also brass, and features the motif of an eagle with wings outstretched and talons outstretched. In the center of the eagle there is what appears to be a shield, and in the eagle’s talons are what may be an olive branch in the talon on the left side of the pin, and what may be a sheath of wheat in the talon of the right side of the pin. Above the eagle are banners and a sun-shaped symbol that resembles a twelve-lobed flower. This pin measures approx. 1.5” side to side and appears to be the WAC Army Cap device pin for Enlisted Personnel or may be a WAC Gilt U.S. Coat of Arms button issued in 1944. The motif on the pin and button were near identical, with some differences in the sun-shaped or flower symbol above the eagle. The “pin” in this subseries more closely resembles the look of the Gilt Coat of Arms button, however it is difficult to be certain. The motif on the WAC Army Cap pin and the Coat of Arms Buttons was called the Army Eagle and worn by the WAC’s after the WAC was integrated into the Army in the middle of 1943, and both pins—the WAC Eagle and the pin with the Army Eagle were sometimes worn together during the time it took for the WAC to be integrated into the Army [Source for all of the above info: “Women’s Army Corps Insignia Part I, Cap Devices” and “Buttons”Pub. 2005-2006 by Blitzkriegbaby http://www.blitzkriegbaby.de/homepage.htm]
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
SUBSERIES XIII.B. BADGES
One (1) Item
Subseries Scope and Content Summary:
This subseries consists of one (1) WAC badge belonging to Dora Andersen. This badge is made of green fabric and features an eagle insignia.
Location:
MAH Curatorial Collection Room
