SERIES I. BOOKS
Eight (8) Books
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains eight (8) books collected by Dan Dickmeyer. These books express the interests of Dan Dickmeyer. These books have been added to the museum reference library.
SERIES II. PAMPHLETS AND NEWSLETTERS (1971 – 2005)
Three (3) Boxes; Twenty (20) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains various pamphlets collected by Dan Dickmeyer. These pamphlets express the interests of, and political, community and personal activism of Dan Dickmeyer.
Subseries II.A. Zeitgeist (1980 – 1984)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
Zeitgeist was a monthly publication edited by Harry Stoll from 1980 to 1984. Additional copies are available at the University of California Special Collections.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1: 1
Subseries II.B. Loaded (1971 – 1972)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
Loaded was a monthly newsletter published in Santa Cruz by the Loaded Collective (Barbara Zheutlin, Stephanie Graham, Jeff Snyder, Mike Fox, Mike Rotkin, Bruce Dancis, Lorna Hall, and Vicki Bolam). University of California Santa Cruz Socialist Student Publication. It was published from 1971 to 1972. Additional copies of this publication can be found on the UCSC Campus History – Publications – Student Publications webpage.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1: 2
Subseries II.C. Definitely Biased
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
The Definitely Biased Collective was created when the Santa Cruz Women’s Center closed. They were attempting to establish a traditional Women’s center with some functions while others functions were handled by other groups. This was a monthly University of California Santa Cruz Student Publication. It was published in 1974. Additional copies of this publication can be found on the UCSC Campus History – Publications – Student Publications webpage.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1: 3
Subseries II.D. The Red Seed (1976 – 1982)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
The Red Seed was a Socialist – Feminist pamphlet irregularly published in Santa Cruz in 1976 to 1982. The Red Seed Collective was made up of Angie Bean, Tom Edminster, Andy Fierberg, Frances Fuchs, Tim Jenkins, Eric Nee, Mike Rotkin, Jill Sabina, Paul Schieffer, Richard Shapiro, and Walter Smith. Additional copies are available at the University of California Santa Cruz Special Collections.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1: 4
Subseries II.E. Festival or Exhibit Pamphlets (1985 – 2005)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains pamphlets or brochures for various events in or around Santa Cruz. Included are:
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1: 5-6
Subseries II.F. Santa Cruz Road and Biking
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains road, biking and tourist maps.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1: 7
Subseries II.G. Pamphlets on University of California, Santa Cruz (1992 – 1995)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains pamphlets on the University of California, Santa Cruz and its economic impact.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
1: 8
Subseries II.H. The Lavender Reader (1987 – 1998)
Two (2) Boxes; Twelve (12) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains the Lavender Reader. The Lavender Reader was a quarterly publication on the News and Review for Santa Cruz County’s Gay and Lesbian Community. The Lavender Reader was published by the Freedom Democratic Caucus.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
2-3: 9-20
SERIES III. PUBLIC ART ACTIVISM (1984 – 1985)
Two (2) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains correspondence and newspaper clippings related to the Seating at Ocean View Park and to the DiPasquale’s Fiberglass Indian. The correspondence includes letters, handwritten notes, and petitions. The newspaper clippings include articles and letters to the editor from multiple points of view.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4: 21-22
SERIES IV. 1989 LOMA PRIETA EARTHQUAKE (1989 – 1990)
Two (2) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains newspaper and magazine articles from the aftermath of the 1989 Loma Prieta Eathquake. The papers include the University of California, Santa Cruz City on a Hill Press, The Monthly Planet, The Sun, and The EpiCenter. Some of the articles in the EpiCenter include “The Teacup is Bloody but Unbowed,” “The Great Wall of Santa Cruz,” “Rising from the Rubble”, “And the Bookshop came Tumbling Down.” One of the articles in the EpiCenter “Doomed to Repeat the Same Mistakes” talks about the danger and damage to the archives and the efforts to preserve them.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4: 23-24
SERIES V. ENVIRONMENTAL ACTIVISM (1972 – 1998)
Six (6) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains material about environmental activism in Santa Cruz County including 1) Logging in Santa Cruz County, 2) Santa Cruz Beach Development, and 3) Neary Lagoon.
Subseries V.A. Santa Cruz Action Network and Other Publications (1985 – 1992)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains some publications from the Santa Cruz Action Network (SCAN). There is also a newsletter from Citizens for Planning Reform, two newsletters from FORUM published by People of Santa Cruz County, and a pullout section from the Santa Cruz Sentinel.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4: 25
Subseries V.B. Seabright Area Plan (1981)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains a draft of the Seabright Area Plan dated July 1981. This area plan was developed to 1) preserve the small-scale residential character of the area through time, 2) diminish the deleterious impacts of tourism in the immediate neighborhood, and 3) provide policies and programs to guide future physical development within the Seabright area.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4: 26
Subseries V.C. Logging in Santa Cruz County: Can Our Forests Survive? (1993)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains materials related to the organization of a Sierra Club Conference on 6 November 1993 at the Santa Cruz Congregational Church. Dan Dickmeyer was the conference coordinator. The materials include correspondence to and from Gary Patton, County Supervisor, the organization of the conference, and budget.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4: 27
Subseries V.D. Beach/South of Laurel Plan (1998)
One (1) Folder
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains material related to the 1998 Beach Area Plan. This material contains a pamphlet explaining why a Beach Area Plan. There are also newspaper articles from Metro Santa Cruz and the Epicenter critical of the plan. There are other materials both for and against.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4: 28
Subseries V.E. Affordable Housing Projects in the Vicinity of Neary Lagoon (1972 – 1989)
Two (2) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains material related to Housing Projects near Neary Lagoon. There is a map showing the proposed development. There is a small scrapbook containing letters from local residents against this project, the scrapbook also contains information on the impacted wildlife. There are environmental impact reports and newspaper clippings related to this proposal.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
4: 29-30
SERIES VI. LESBIAN, GAY, BISEXUAL, TRANSGENDERED (LGBT) ACTIVISM (1975 – 2009)
Two (2) Boxes, Twenty-three (23) Folders
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains material related to Dan Dickmeyer’s LGBT Activism. This material includes flyers, newsletters, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, handwritten notes, and business directories. This material reflects Dan’s interest in promoting basic rights for the LGBT Community.
Subseries VI.A. Gay Pride (1975 – 2008)
Five (5) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains material related to Gay Pride Events held in Santa Cruz. There are newspaper clippings, schedules, pamphlets, flyers, copies of permit applications submitted to the city, and a poster of typical anti-LGBT newspaper stories from across the country. There are also newspaper clippings from 1975 providing background to efforts to organize the first gay pride event.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
5: 31-35
Subseries VI.B. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered Information Especially Concerning AIDS/HIV (1975 – 1997)
Five (5) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains material to inform the LGBT Community. Primarily this information concerns AIDS/HIV. There are newspaper clippings, flyers, meeting agendas, and letters to the editor to raise awareness and to dispel myths.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
5: 36-40
Subseries VI.C. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered Organizing and Protests (1975 – 1991)
Four (4) Folders
Subseries Scope and Content Summary
This subseries contains material related to protest organizing by the LGBT Community. There is a flyer and meeting schedule for a protest against Capitola Police arrests at Capitola Beach. There is a statement about the Santa Cruz Orange Juice Boycott, and the Statement of Purpose for the Santa Cruz Gay Rights Coalition. There is also information about the protest against the draft plus other materials and newspaper clippings.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
5: 41-44
Subseries VI.D. Flyers, Pamphlets and Newsletters (1975 – 2009)
Nine (9) Folders
Subseries Scope, Content and Summary
This subseries contains flyers, pamphlets and newsletters for the LGBT Community. These include People Like Us (monthly publication in Santa Cruz in 1981): Gay & Lesbian Community News, the Last Thursday’s Men’s Group, the Lesbian and Gay Men’s Union, the Santa Cruz Gay Calendar, the Freedom Democratic Caucus, and A Gay Evening in May.
Box ID#: Folder ID #
6: 45-53
SERIES VII. Photographs
One (1) Folder
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains photographs taken and collected by Dan Dickmeyer. There are fifteen (15) loose photographs of a Hot Air Balloon Festival in Santa Cruz County. There is also a small plastic covered photo album. The cover is blue. This album contains twenty-four (24) photographs of different building wall murals in and around Santa Cruz.
Box ID#: Folder ID#
6: 54
SERIES VIII. EPHEMERA
One (1) Box
Series Scope and Content Summary
This series contains ephemera collected by Dan Dickmeyer. Included is a 25 Years of Pride, Santa Cruz, CA t-shirt. There is a flyer for “The Gay Closet: Do You Dare Open It.” There is a benefit for the Lesbian and Gay Men’s Union ticket. There are seven (7) cassette tapes labelled “Logging Conf.” There is also the following political buttons:
