DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Collection Number
1996.27
Creator
This collection was assembled by Ernest Damkroger and Harriet Firestein Damkroger.
Extent:
Numberof Containers: One (1) Box
Linear Feet: One (1) Foot
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
This collection contains one photo album and an envelope. The envelope contains newspaper clippings and invitations sent to Harriet Firestein. The photo album was compiled around 1914. It contains black and white pictures, postcards, ribbons, and brochures. The photo album has references to Ernest Damkroger. Harriet and Ernest later married in 1917.
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Preferred Citation
Damkrogen/Firestein Photo Album Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
ProcessBy
Shannon E. Barry
Date Completed
2015
Ernest Damkroger – Born in Forest Lake, Illinois in 1895. His family later moved to Santa Cruz. He graduated from Santa Cruz High school in 1914. He graduated Springfield College in Massachusetts in 1917. After graduating Ernest enlisted in the US Army and served in France. He married Harriet Firestein, another Santa Cruz High School graduate, at the end of 1917. The couple moved to Hawaii. Ernest and Harriet had two sons. The Damkrogers retired to Santa Cruz in 1951. Ernest was very involved in Santa Cruz life, starting the Santa Cruz Boy’s Club, working with the Retired Men’s Club and the Masonic Lodge. He died on the 6th of June, 1984.
Harriet Firestein – Born in Illinois in 1896. She came to Santa Cruz with her family at the age of two. Harriet attended Santa Cruz High School. Harriet Firestein married Ernest Damkroger on December 22nd 1917. They were married in Tacoma, Washington. She lived in Hawaii for more than 30 years, and returned to Santa Cruz in 1951. Harriet and Ernest had three children, Patricia Ann was born in 1920 in Hawaii, but seems to have passed away very young. Their son Ernest died while fighting in Italy during World War Two. The couple’s son Donald survived them and had a family of his own. Harriet passed at the age of 84 in August 1980 in Santa Cruz.
SERIES I. PHOTO ALBUM (1910s)
One (1) Album
Series Content and Scope
This series contains a black photo album. It was compiled around 1914. The album is filled with various photographs, postcards, brochures and ribbons. The photographs are black and white images of family and friends, Natural Bridges, the early Boardwalk, church groups, and many vacation and trip pictures. The ribbons are from Santa Cruz, Watsonville, the YMCA, and other groups.
Box ID #
1
SERIES II. VARIOUS INVITATIONS AND NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
One (1) Envelope
Series Content and Scope
This series consists of a small envelope. Its contents are newspaper clippings and invitations. The invitations were addressed to Miss Harriet Firestein for local events.
Box ID #
1
