DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY
Collection Number
TR81.91
Creator
???
Extent
Number of Containers: Eight (8) Boxes
Linear Feet: Five (5) Linear Feet
Repository
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Archives
705 Front Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Abstract
This collection consists of scrapbook, photographs, and research files on local film history.
Location
The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Preferred Citation
The Barbara Giffen Collection, The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History, Santa Cruz, CA
Publication Rights
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the head of Archives at MAH. Researchers may be responsible for obtaining copyright permission to use material not produced by museum personnel.
Process By
???
Date Completed
???
Barbara Giffen (1920-1991) was born in Sacramento and graduated from U.C. Berkeley in with a degree in history. Barbara moved to Santa Cruz in 1946 and served as an elementary school teacher in Santa Cruz, teaching fourth grade at Westlake school for many years. Her classes were encouraged to study local history through a series of field trips and theatrical pageants. In the mid-1970s, the University of California at Santa Cruz library purchased the photograph collection of local historian Preston Sawyer and the difficult task of organizing and evaluating the images of movie companies on location in Santa Cruz County was assigned to Barbara. She worked for four years as a volunteer on the project. Her research files are part of this collection. The collection represents Barbara Giffen’s work as a school teacher in addition to her research files on local film history.
